Tap to unmute

legal guarding position

  • Published on Jul 19, 2011 veröffentlicht

Comments • 11

  • Stephen Gaddis
    Stephen Gaddis 4 years ago

    Hi. 1. On In bounds plays. Isn't there a three foot rule for the defender on the passer? 2. On fast breaks, can a defender contact the dribbler with their body, so as to pressure toward a trap, or boundary line? 3. On fast breaks, can the defender use shoulder to shoulder contact, to get an "all ball" steel.

  • hilbertp
    hilbertp 7 years ago +4

    Regarding the examples shown, there are a few problems that I would address
    1) 1:09 I agree (without the hand check, this is a charge)
    2) 1:36 I agree that this is a block but the reasoning is wrong: Thedefender has established his LGP several times! The problem is that he moves parallel to his opponent instead of in front of him when the white guard starts to penetrate. He then initiates several body contacts as stated in the commentary which are illegal since they occur from the side. Thus, the defender moves towards the attacker which is a foul.
    3) 2:04 This is only difficult to get right during the game but certainly not when you can see the replay and even turn on slow motion! I agree that this will be called about 50% a block and 50% a charge in-game but in the replay it is a 100% charge. The defender does a perfect job to stay in front and is run over by the attacker. He never initiates the contact by moving towards the attacker. Thus, all the contact is initiated by the offense and the fouls should be on black.
    4) 2:33 Is almost completely correctly explained. It is a) a foul and the defender has to b) establish his position before the attacker leave the floor IF and only IF he wants to stay on the floor. The part that is incorrect is, that ANY contact that occurs after the attacker has left the floor has to be a blocking foul. The principle of the verticality rule allows the defender to jump up straight (possibly with his hand raised vertically) and still initiate contact which legal and no foul. He may even draw a charge on that! And this can even happen in the restricted area beneath the basket! See this ruling from the official NBA website as reference:
    5) 2:58 Correct, the defender moves back to his left slightly and does not jump up straight, so neither the verticality rule applies here nor has he made legal contact with the attacker by staying in front of him.
    6) 3:22 The call is incorrect, as the commentator states correctly but hisreasoning is slightly off again. The defender does establish LGP shortly before the attacker leaves the floor. He does, however, slide under the attacker then after he has left the floor which is the illegal part of his defense.
    7) 3:47 This is again a 100% charge! I don't understand the commentator's reluctance to concede it... This is very strong defense and it is perfectly clean. Why should you not award the defense a charge? I think this is a fairly easy call even in a live game to make...
    8) 4:21 agreed
    9) 4:43 Now, that's the kind of 50/50 the commentator was talking about earlier.The call could go either way… extremely close. (Please pause the video when the attackers foot lifts off, you can see the defender with both feet on the ground and facing the attacker, establishing his LGP)
    10) 5:15 agreed
    11) 5:39 agreed
    12) 6:06 correct, this should be a block because the white defender has never established LGP. This is because he never had his body facing the attacker, although he had both feet on the ground at the time.
    While I appreciate the effort and the correct rule explanations of this video, I am once again disappointed with some of the commentary. This is not, however, completely the commentator’s fault and the rules regarding guarding should be rework and phrased much more clearly to allow defenders to be appreciated for their hard work instead of punished by bad calls and/or bad basketball rules. There has been lots of friction and lots of frustration between basketball player on the courts for decades now because of these problems.

    • Ray McClure
      Ray McClure 4 years ago

      The Official did not rule a hand-checking foul. He made his ruling a blocking foul, which is and inaccurate ruling. A1 never "beat" B1. If we make one inaccurate ruling, that shouldn't have any bearing on getting the next one right. No "make-up" calls. The accurate ruling on this contact should have been a hand-checking foul, but it wasn't. Then the accurate ruling should have been a player control foul, but it wasn't. The Official is 0 for 2. (very undesirable "batting average)

  • Heron de Souza
    Heron de Souza 5 years ago +1

    Hello and thanks for the video, I would like to use the images and convert to portuguese for our students here in Brasil , , . thanks again!

  • Gmoney yooo
    Gmoney yooo 3 years ago

    The lead @ 3:17 triple bang with 1 leg up🤣🤣

  • Justin Boseman
    Justin Boseman 6 years ago

    please do a video on off the ball fouls

  • milart12
    milart12 5 years ago

    6:06 Love this gym-looks like Hoosiers

  • Mario Vercillo
    Mario Vercillo 3 years ago +1

    he says # should be a block, i disagree, defender clearly has initial guarding position at 1:56, and maintains it laterally and backwards after that

  • hilbertp
    hilbertp 7 years ago

    It is absolutely crucial to stress the part about OBTAINING legal guarding position and the time period AFTER obtaining it!
    There is a very big misconception about this which assumes that a defender needs to have "both feet on the ground and have his torso facing the attacker" WHEN THE CONTACT OCCURS. This is completely wrong! You only need to meet these criteria once before the contact occurs and then maintain a position in front of the attacker. It is then completely irrelevant if your feet move, if you jump up or if you turn away from the attacker. As long as the defender does not initiate the contact, i. e. move into the attacker (even at an angle), is should either be a no-call or a charge.

    • Ray McClure
      Ray McClure 4 years ago

      Well-stated. Here is what I teach because it is rule-based: To OBTAIN an initial LGP, the defender must do three things. 1) get to the spot without fouling or violating 2) have both feet on the floor 3) and facing the opponent. This could take less that a "split second." After OBTAINING, the defender instantly moves into the MAINTAINING defensive "mode." While the defender is MAINTAINING, he/she can do ANYTHING and be legal. ANYTHING...except...CAUSE the contact. In nearly every single collision between A1 & B1...the player who gets KNOCK TO THE FLOOR...is NOT the one who CAUSED the contact.

    • L J
      L J 6 years ago

      hilbertp which is why play #3 is always a CHARGE!