Tap to unmute

AirPods Pro 2 Review: 1 Underrated Thing!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 26, 2022 veröffentlicht
  • AirPods Pro take computational audio to the limits, which makes them hard to review, but great to listen to
    The water bottle: shop.MKBHD.com
    Get a dbrand grip case for your Apple AirPods Pro at dbrand.com/airpods
    Grab yourself an Apple AirPods Pro 2 at geni.us/dCEfCC
    Check out Bose's new QuietComfort II Earbuds at geni.us/R0ft
    Check out the Sony WF-1000XM4 at geni.us/pQzAB
    Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD
    Intro Track: clip-share.net/user/20syl
    Playlist of MKBHD Intro music: goo.gl/B3AWV5
    Headphones provided by Apple for review.
    ~
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 6 121

  • K33ISH
    K33ISH 2 months ago +16980

    I really love watching about stuff I cannot afford.

    • ItsToasty
      ItsToasty 11 days ago

      lmao rip u guys I got mine free from Mr.Beast last week. Didn’t get featured in a video sadly but who cares lol

    • kurayami
      kurayami 19 days ago +1

      Same

    • Jaylin the goat
      Jaylin the goat 28 days ago

      @M like whatttt

    • Dougie
      Dougie 28 days ago

      Work harder

    • therealtwerkman
      therealtwerkman Month ago

      @Pukka Gaming you can always buy used, w ppl's earwax pre-installed for $150

  • frank2398
    frank2398 5 days ago +51

    I have to admit, I do dig this guy. Not for the Air Pod thing but the quality of his videos. He is really good at what he does. Nicely done.

    • Michael Phothasone Travel Vlogs
      Michael Phothasone Travel Vlogs 15 hours ago +1

      💯💯💯💯👍 Very True

    • Ronny Y
      Ronny Y Day ago +2

      I watch this guy on video topics I’m not even interested in and find he makes it interesting. The background research he does and the way he explains things is second to none, and I watch a lot of tech channels. He’s the best of them.

  • Ronny Y
    Ronny Y Day ago +1

    I watch this guy on various tech topics I'm not even interested in and find he ALWAYS makes it interesting and useful to the masses and nerds alike. The background research he does and the way he explains things is second to none, and I watch a lot of tech channels. He's the best of them.

  • The Knight Team
    The Knight Team  Day ago +3

    Great video! I just got my first pair of Air Pod's, love them!

  • Hooded Dreamers
    Hooded Dreamers Month ago +358

    Modern tech will never fail to amaze me. How they do all that in such a little device blows my little normal mind.

  • Viktor Rencelj
    Viktor Rencelj Day ago +1

    Two faults with the AirPods Pro after only 6 months. Left headphones not charging and annoying crackling. Got a call with Apple Care. Repeated telephone, what a service! They don't believe it is a hardware defect. A total of 5 phone calls and 4 months (!!!) later. Everything was exchanged and never against AirPods Pro. Thanks for no more music after 6 months. Such bad service. This text is still too small for this disappointment. Very unfortunate for me as a customer and I cannot recommend the service of this company. And yes I'm a Mac user for 20 years.

  • NYC Raw Girl
    NYC Raw Girl 13 hours ago

    I just got these for an early Christmas present today. I love them but I can’t figure out how to work the volume, play, pause or any of the features, lol. But I still love them.

  • Orion
    Orion 2 months ago +189

    I purchased these a few days ago, I was astounded by the noise cancelling and equally impressive transparency mode. Highly recommend if you are in the market and willing to stomach the price tag. I work in a laboratory, and when the equipment is energized there is a steady hum that is fairly noisy, probably around 65-70 decibels. This completely eliminates it. Work has never been so quiet.

    • ATR
      ATR 9 days ago

      Same here, work in a warehouse similar to Target Fulfillment and the equipment runs at around 79-86 Decibels. First Gen Pros for me reduce audio to around 50-60 which is much more tolerable.

    • Stanley Li
      Stanley Li 12 days ago

      @tonk_Guy Did you get them on sale? Just curious because Black Friday was today

    • damian
      damian 14 days ago

      @tonk_Guy I hope the ones you get malfunction 😈

    • tonk_Guy
      tonk_Guy 25 days ago +1

      I’m getting these for my birthday soon and im so excited!!

    • Naim
      Naim Month ago +7

      @🆆HaTsApP+①③⓪⑦②①⑨①①④⑧ scammer

  • JamesAL
    JamesAL 20 hours ago +1

    I’m a new guy. Could you comment on the live talk feature. I’m trying to use it as a hearing assist or aid. Kudos to you for the excellent reviews.

  • Hiro
    Hiro 2 months ago +1772

    the technology behind the ability for them to reduce noise is underrated asf. The signal processing there is on point.

    • Madly_ Beaver
      Madly_ Beaver 4 days ago

      @TheKumbucket I feel bad for your dad

    • Hiro
      Hiro 2 months ago

      @cheesesteakphilly I don’t see them showing the actual tech behind it. Signal analysis is a hard subject and it’s crazy that they made something like that. I’m not saying the noise cancellation is underrated, the signal processing using behind it. Seeing it as a glass box rather than a black box.

    • cheesesteakphilly
      cheesesteakphilly 2 months ago

      How is it underrated if that’s one of the major selling points?

    • Shilp Vaishnav
      Shilp Vaishnav 2 months ago

      ​@Juice Not Yes! call quality needed a lot of improvement. some other reviews showed it has improved noticeably in the pro 2's (but still not as good as the phone directly of course)

    • Vaughn
      Vaughn 2 months ago

      @Discoloured You’ve never heard of destructive interference, apparently. Sound is a wave. A longitudinal wave. Please revisit physics I.

  • Techie21
    Techie21 Hour ago

    Just got these and man! They’re amazing…

  • jeroen van gelder
    jeroen van gelder 4 hours ago

    I have bought airpods 2 and tested them for 2-3 weeks. Noise cancellation is not as good as the previous version, also they don't fit aswell. I'm quite dissapointed tbh. When someone is calling infront of me I still hear the hole conversation.

  • Agastya Seth
    Agastya Seth Day ago

    You mention that these do 16/48kHz - but I don't think that's true. These still use Bluetooth AAC codec, so it's nowhere close to CD quality (16/44.1kHz) let alone 16/48kHz. But I think codecs and higher bitrate is in any case pulling hairs especially given these are wireless earbuds, I don't think higher bitrate would've given them much benefit anyway...

  • Mist
    Mist 21 hour ago

    Adaptive Transparency gonna be a game changer, I walk through a tunnel everyday on my way home from school and without fail there's some lunatic revving their car in there, so maybe now I'll be able to walk in peace

  • Nate Mueller
    Nate Mueller 2 months ago +2731

    You just explained the adaptive transparency mode 10x better than Apple did on stage! Great video!

    • kalinin shaw
      kalinin shaw 26 days ago

      apple offical should invites him to introduce the new production

    • John
      John Month ago

      That’s why apple gave him this product for free

    • Craig
      Craig Month ago

      I can’t get over his pronunciation of ambulance

    • marc Lopez
      marc Lopez 2 months ago

      It is an excellent review, the air pods pro 2 are the best in ear headphones I’ve ever worn, the one thing he miss to discuss was how much better the mic sounds while on a phone call, I have to say these AirPods are twice as good as the 1st generation,

    • Vijay Gupta
      Vijay Gupta 2 months ago

      really he did that !

  • Joao Alegrio
    Joao Alegrio 4 days ago

    my airpods pro 2 have a loose case lid compared to the airpods pro 1. is it just mine or is there anyone else whose case lid wobbles more than last generation?

  • xd911
    xd911 2 months ago +78

    For the ear scan for personalised spatial audio i would recommend doing it a couple times until it sounds better, there is a huge difference between normal and spatial especially for orchestral classical sounds, another game changer.

    • Satin
      Satin 7 days ago

      @PU5H 😂

    • Eiron Serrano
      Eiron Serrano 26 days ago

      legit!!

    • PU5H
      PU5H Month ago +5

      I'm gonna scan my dogs ears

    • xd911
      xd911 Month ago +1

      @Harshwardhan A yeah seems to change every time until it’s the most accurate I suppose it’s to do with how precise you measure then with the camera and the lighting conditions around you I can definitely tell a difference though

    • Harshwardhan A
      Harshwardhan A Month ago

      Doing it a couple of times as in registering your ears multiple times?

  • MADSKILLZ TEAMCC
    MADSKILLZ TEAMCC 12 hours ago

    Thanks My Brother !! Your Dialogue & Reasoning is Very Easy Understanding & Accurate Appreciate You Homie !!!!!

  • Beal Reactionz
    Beal Reactionz Month ago +58

    I just picked up some yesterday after my 1st gens stopped working, and omg they’re so much better than the 1st Gen. The sound quality and the improvements to noise cancellation and transparency is crazy. The option to change the volume on the stem is a nice touch

    • Krithik Singh
      Krithik Singh 6 days ago

      Yeah they are so much better which amazed me because I was so in love with the first gen, mine got ruined the laundry and I grabbed the new ones today. I didnt even think the noise cancellation could be topped to this degree lol so perfect for when im working out or studying.

  • Ryan Griffin
    Ryan Griffin 2 months ago +5605

    One thing I've noticed is the directionality of the transparency mode seems much improved. I go on a lot of walks with my camera and take pictures of birds, and often have my Airpods in listening to music, but use transparency mode to listen for birds. On the previous generation, it was often difficult to pinpoint exactly where a bird was. It was more a general direction, like to the left or right of me, but pinpointing a specific direction or height was difficult. First walk with the new ones and I was hearing the birds so clearly and coming from such a specific direction that I couldn't initially tell if it was coming from the song I was listening to or not. I heard a bird from directly above me and looked up just in time to see a bird flying directly overhead, exactly where I heard the sound come from. I could easily hear the footsteps of people coming up from behind me on the walking path too. Really excited to go for my first run with them tonight and hopefully get some experience with the adaptive part of the transparency mode.

    • Funmachine
      Funmachine Month ago

      Absolutely agree. I still think the AirPods Max does transparency mode better. The pro 2 are really good but you can still tell the sound is coming through an earbud. But with the AirPods Max it literally sounds like there is nothing between your ears and the surroundings (unless you turn you head quickly or quickly moving objects making the sounds)

    • MT
      MT 2 months ago

      6:27 Realme buds air 3 in available this type noise cancellation better in 4k rupees 😊😊 please reply bro

    • emes
      emes 2 months ago

      Bro runs at night 💀

    • Nater Fernat
      Nater Fernat 2 months ago

      It's the Dolby ATMOS codec, its not wizardly

    • Neo cuh
      Neo cuh 2 months ago +2

      My guy wrote an entire novel

  • kirkindog
    kirkindog Month ago +37

    I just bought a pair of these, and they do sound better than my previous Air pods Pro, however, the volume controls on the stalks don't work as smoothly as I thought. I wish they had put the volume controls on the OUTSIDE of the stalks. Other than that, I feel they are a major upgrade.

    • ItsBrendoni
      ItsBrendoni 12 days ago

      @Rikk da Grinder as somebody who also has them it’s not bad. Try to pinch your earlobe, and you will notice the natural position of your hand is similar to the volume control placement.

    • Rikk da Grinder
      Rikk da Grinder Month ago +2

      I was about to buy airpods pro 2 just for the volume control, I might have to save my money since you mentioned it. Thank you.

  • wslwang
    wslwang Month ago +5

    The biggest selling point to me the the noise cancellation. I work in huge data center environment which has lots of noise around. The first gen is working ok but still hearing noise when I step onto data floor. The 2nd gen gets much better and I can even have meeting on data floor troubleshooting things with vendor meeting which is nearly impossible on the 1st gen.

  • Ege Can
    Ege Can 2 months ago +44

    i havent had the 1st gen pros but upgrading from the 2nd gens to these the noise cancellation is like my own white space, its mindblowing how ill just be in a classroom and it cancels out all the white noise + outside noise so i can focus better without having to have music playing and the transparency mode is just i dont think i have enough words to describe it, needless to say i never take them out of my ear.

    • Huntsman
      Huntsman Month ago

      Damn, you bout to make me upgrade my pros to pros 2 haha

    • HappyBuggy
      HappyBuggy Month ago +3

      You need to take them out of your ear tho. Humidity builds up if your ears are plugged

    • New Ton
      New Ton Month ago

      How the silicone work for u?
      Thanks!

  • Zach Gardner
    Zach Gardner 2 months ago +17

    The two main things for me is the massively improved noise cancellation; I can wear these in a loud gym and get almost no noise bleed at all, and the far more organic sounding transparency mode.

  • shuayb ghaffoor
    shuayb ghaffoor 2 months ago +2076

    I'm a fire alarm technician and we usually do alarm verifications and work near really loud equipment on a day to day basis. I tried the adaptive transparency mode today because we were working near a loud water pump and holy that thing really works well! I can see myself using this feature a lot for my work specially as I work around other team mates and want to be able to hear them but still cut out the loud horn or bell noise whenever we have to ring them which are sometimes over 85 decibels and can be painful to hear when its too loud. Killer feature!

    • So much BS
      So much BS Month ago

      Get the beats version if you have to swim with your headphones.

    • Ken
      Ken Month ago

      @My name's not important we had something like this in the army. Its called a 3m peltor headset

    • Mantis
      Mantis 2 months ago +1

      @Samer R this is completely false. I’m not condoning the use of ear buds where PPE is required, however, you’re wrong. The sound pressure level is reduced by the earbud itself acting as an earplug (even without ANC). With technology such as “adaptive transparency” you might find that the future of PPE will change. It safer to be able to hear important sounds clearly (think of someone else warning you of danger) and yet still block out random high SPL noises.

    • MT
      MT 2 months ago

      6:27 Realme buds air 3 in (42db) available this type noise cancellation better in 4k rupees 😊😊 please reply bro

    • James Aseto
      James Aseto 2 months ago +1

      We welcome you to the AirPods people club hehe

  • Trainz_Liker
    Trainz_Liker Day ago

    Watching with AirPods Pro 2 😂

  • M P
    M P 5 days ago +1

    Got mine yesterday! I love them so much! ❤

  • thiyab haider
    thiyab haider 2 months ago +26

    i love how relaxed he is with allthis info. thanks for not being like other youtube channels and shoving weird stuff at us and not explaning

  • Keeley
    Keeley 2 months ago +16

    I used the AirPods Pro all day everyday basically. So I got the AirPods Pro 2 immediately and wow I’m impressed, the sound is so much better, and the noise cancellation blew me away, definitely happy with them

  • Daniel Williams
    Daniel Williams 2 months ago +1604

    These AirPods Pro have been a game changer for me, I am on a high school drumline and had the 1st generation Pro's that I used for noise canceling. This caused me to always have to have noise cancelation on and constantly have to take them in and out to hear my instructors comments. With the new AirPods I am able to keep transparency mode on. This means, when we're drumming and the loud noises are happening, the sound is reduced, however, the moment the drumming stops and our instructor starts talking, immediately I can hear him and everyone around me clearly. A game changer for drummers.

    • KingJulius
      KingJulius 3 days ago

      @Witachi fr

    • vanco
      vanco 9 days ago

      @Robert Smith Its not BS. Airpod pros ANC work by sending both the noise AND the cancelled out version of the noise. Using them around airplanes actually damages your eardrums at a frequency you cannot hear. Do some research old man.

    • Witachi
      Witachi 10 days ago +1

      @Megasthenes let me know which $25 buds are as good as AirPod pros. If so that’s got to be the dumbest business model ever created

    • Aaron King
      Aaron King 10 days ago

      @Robert Smith I agree, i use airpod max and pros and they stop all that engine whining noise. Especially the max

    • Sparks
      Sparks 11 days ago +1

      @BrainwashAlpha the new mode is perfect for this situation?

  • Vic
    Vic Month ago +8

    I just lost my AirPods Pro (1st Gen) like a couple days ago. So I decided to pick up the 2nd Gen recently and….. man an immediate upgrade from the 1st Gen. The Noise Cancellation is insane and Transparency mode is incredible and really almost feels like the AirPods aren’t even there

  • James Christensen
    James Christensen 12 days ago +5

    the volume control has become much more of a light flick for me, it’s responsive enough that you don’t really need to slide that much

  • FÂ!ŠÄŁ 😵‍💫

    I love watching about 300 dollar AirPods everyone’s talking about with my 150 dollar 2nd gen AirPods that was announced like 3 years ago

  • Luiz
    Luiz Month ago +13

    This is a game changer! I love my Airpods Pro 1st gen, they are holding pretty strong after more than 2 years, and these improvements on 2nd gen seems to be better than what I expected

    • Luiz
      Luiz Month ago

      @Sebas Me too hahaha, they are way too expensive here in Brazil

    • Sebas
      Sebas Month ago +1

      Me too idk if i wanna upgrade tho. 😅

  • Queen of the North
    Queen of the North 2 months ago +3

    i have the old airpod pro 2 and they are fantastic already. i also slept with the noise canceling through a transatlantic flight. loved it ❤ i am amazed by the adaptive transparency mode of the new ones. this is crazily useful! i hate sirens and barking and loud sounds and that makes me think about leveling up!

  • Cormac Holland
    Cormac Holland Month ago +3

    As someone who uses small engines frequently at work, the Airpods Pro have been an absolute gamechanger. I may look into upgrade to these.

  • LightningJet
    LightningJet Month ago +72

    Not only is the adaptive transparency really good for the regular people, this can also be a game changer for musicians who want to protect their hearing but don’t want fancy gear specifically for that. Especially helpful for drummers as you could use the transparency mode with apps like GarageBand for a metronome at the same time!

    • PU5H
      PU5H Month ago +4

      But, you are hardly protecting your hearing with any noise canceling headphones. Your percieved volume has been reduced but the actual sound pressure level is being reduced the same as putting anything else in your ear to physically block and reduce the sound pressure level. So ear plugs physically reduced the spl, by blocking it. Noise canceling do not this

  • Paul
    Paul 2 months ago +3

    Lots of very good options in 2022 with unique specialties. That said, these are the overall gold standard. The “if I could only have one set” choice in a whole new way with the gen2.

  • Jacob Holloway
    Jacob Holloway 2 months ago +914

    I tested the transparency in a loud environment and I was amazed. My girlfriend and friends like to go to loud bars and concerts, but because of my Autism I can’t handle the loud sounds like that but I always want to join. I occasionally went out with them using the last gen AirPods Pro and used noise canceling to help. But using the transparency mode on these second gens I can actually listen to the music and not get overstimulated due to the loud sounds. Worth the purchase

    • xers
      xers 20 days ago

      girlfriend? autism? what am I doing wrong?

    • Invictus
      Invictus 22 days ago

      Same! I’m purchasing them for this exact use case. I can’t handle the loud sounds either, so hopefully these will help with that and protect my hearing at the same time.

    • John Mickey
      John Mickey 2 months ago

      I used a neutral earplug when going to shows a lot. Didn’t seal like a foam one or mess with the sound, just turned down the volume. I’d wear them in crowds too if they were overwhelming. If you need an analog option they’re all over Amazon, just look for concert earplugs.

    • Sam Figueroa
      Sam Figueroa 2 months ago

      Thank you for providing a neurodiverse perspective.This was really helpful. I'm actively considering them now for this use case.

    • Kayla L. Kwon
      Kayla L. Kwon 2 months ago +2

      This comment actually helps me too. I’m autistic and I struggle majorly with loud noises, and also over stimulates my sensory system too. And am looking for a perfect ANC ear/headphones. Thank-you for your comment!! 😍

  • CREED
    CREED 2 months ago +3

    I like the volume up and volume down feature now, but I think they should have probably placed it where the black part is, and that could basically just be the slider, up and down for volume. Push a bit and slide up and down, the area it’s at now is kinda small to control volume, I don’t know if this makes sense but I hope someone understands what I’m sauing

  • Dr.Unnikrishnan Narayana Swamy

    @mkhd the new ANC and Transparency mode are super awesome! I actually used it at a concert in the exactly same mode you suggested (before watching your review 😉), and man! It was just exactly as you had dreamt it! I was in the 3rd row from the front, in front of the gigantic speaker and it sounded so much comfortable! Just blew my mind!

  • Ashish Gupta
    Ashish Gupta Month ago +3

    You create the most unbiased and detailed content around any device. Unlike people who just go "i" this "i" that so much so they put "i" in their name itself! Great work.

  • Jadon D’Souza
    Jadon D’Souza 2 months ago

    These AirPods are amazing. Incredible advancement from the 1st Gen.

  • KROMA
    KROMA Month ago +10

    I use transparency mode when filming live sessions with artists/bands - I genuinely didn't realise the work these AirPods were doing until by chance, I took them out whilst the band was sound checking.
    The sudden jump in volume through my ears was startling! I was blown away at how they regulated loud sound, I use them every time I film with loud music acts now, so much easier to focus on my job, whilst still hearing what the band is playing !

    • KROMA
      KROMA 12 days ago

      @ItsBrendoni In that case wow! It's incredibly accurate without any delay (noticeable to human ears at least 😂)

    • ItsBrendoni
      ItsBrendoni 12 days ago +1

      @KROMA from what I know they work in the same way as inverting the sound spectrum in a DAW for a track and canceling it out. I believe they just process the sound and plays a inverted track to what’s going on around you.

    • KROMA
      KROMA 12 days ago

      @ItsBrendoni It's so intelligent! It's like Marques said in this video :) it's just like turning the volume down in the world around you, but just for loud noises above a certain decibel level :) great for working in loud environments! Idk how it works haha but it's impressive!

    • ItsBrendoni
      ItsBrendoni 12 days ago +1

      So how do they work with drums?

  • Airborne Visuals
    Airborne Visuals Month ago

    AirPods Pro have definitely been a huge game changer for me.
    they fit my personal needs to beautifully, I don't think I'll ever look at anything else.
    I still use the first gen AirPods Pro, but I might actually upgrade seeing the improved the most important things

  • Brian Comeault
    Brian Comeault Month ago

    I am still rocking the first iteration of the airpods and one of my biggest complaints is that the microphones pick up so much loud noise. If both people re on a call wearing airpods, and one person does something like open a bag of chips, the sounds coming through the other end is deafening. Has apple done anything to improve that in the other generations?

  • Chris Ingram
    Chris Ingram 22 days ago +2

    I fly for work a lot. I love my air pods first gen but on those long flights, I'd still use my Bose QC 45. These seem like they might be at a level where I can just leave them in on a flight if I'd like. Thanks for an awesome review.

  • Billy Schmidt
    Billy Schmidt 2 months ago +700

    This is honestly really cool to see. The gen 1 pros are already pretty good, and to see the 2s be even better is incredible

    • Alex Tasarov
      Alex Tasarov 2 months ago

      @Connor Clooney I did not know I could do that! Thank you

    • Connor Clooney
      Connor Clooney 2 months ago

      @Alex Tasarov There's a service program on the gen 1 AirPod Pros by the way. I just had mine replaced for free. Static/crackling is gone now.

    • Travel Freak
      Travel Freak 2 months ago

      What is already more satisfactory for a person who can’t afford them now but hopes to be in future is when eventually I’d be able to buy I’ll be able to access even better versions 😢😂😅

    • Alex Tasarov
      Alex Tasarov 2 months ago

      My gen ones are starting to get worse lol the cancellation gives me headaches and the speakers have some static (and I never use them above half volume).
      Might be time for me to upgrade… part of me feels like I could wait until gen 3 though

    • MGA
      MGA 2 months ago +2

      Interesting 😊 I’d even make an upgrade just for upgrade on sound quality but if all the package is that much better we’ll then … gotta sell pro I first 😂

  • Andrew
    Andrew 2 months ago +4

    The transparency mode on the original Pro's never blew me away. I always feel like it makes traffic and other ambient noise way too loud but doesn't amplify things that I actually care about like people talking to me. For example, if I'm walking down the street in a busy city and I stop to talk to someone, I still have to take one APP out to have a regular conversation because the city noises are too loud.

  • hel!x
    hel!x 15 days ago

    i still have the 1st gen pros and was blown away by those, i wonder how good the new ones are in comparison to the originals

  • fw1421
    fw1421 7 days ago +10

    I bought a pair and I love them. I only don’t care for the softness of the plastic of the case. It scratches real easy,so what ever you have in your pockets scars the surface.

  • Anthony Wardell
    Anthony Wardell Month ago

    After test driving these for a week in the oil field, the active noise cancellation is almost as good as PPE. A lot of skeptics pointed out you might not hear hazards, but I notice the audio cut and it makes me look around to see where it comes from.
    I don’t think the audio quality of the transparency mode is perfect, however, and I would love to see it improve. Also, just not comfortable enough yet to wear all day as PPE.

  • M Sreeram
    M Sreeram 2 months ago +624

    I like how Marques always conveys the target audience that a particular product is best suited for.. that’s an awesome detail in his videos!

    • Raven Manicdao
      Raven Manicdao 2 months ago

      @J l tell me you know nothing about tech without telling me you know nothing about tech

    • Celisar1
      Celisar1 2 months ago

      If you don’t know by yourself why you want or need something you have a problem.

    • Eww Oppp
      Eww Oppp 2 months ago

      Yea dumb rich people that will buy this shit anyway

    • Wanwan
      Wanwan 2 months ago

      @J l earplugs are not earbuds tho you can’t listen to music nor does it have a mic nor ANC lol how do you compare $25 earplugs with earbuds

    • ooooo
      ooooo 2 months ago +1

      @J l how to advertise that ur comprehension skills are nonexistent

  • D Brooks
    D Brooks 14 days ago

    I wonder how well adaptive transparency work at the gun range. could be a cool alternate ear protection between the tips and cancellation/transparency.

  • Airmk
    Airmk 2 months ago +8

    Your explanation on the new transparency mode is better than what Apple told us on stage 😂
    I got these new AirPods and I'm really impressed by the new noise cancellation, that does an amazing job, better than AirPods Max. And I prefer it over the Bose one that somehow feels "oppressing" for me

  • Darío Martinez
    Darío Martinez Month ago

    Thanks to this video I bought the AirPods Pro 2 and I have to say it was an absolute W, I love every single thing about them, a major upgrade from the original AirPods

  • Howard Mueller
    Howard Mueller 2 months ago

    love these airpods 🔥 Apple really improved one of their products this year.

  • Aaron
    Aaron 2 months ago +388

    As someone who uses these for work to cut out noise , the different between gen 1 to gen 2 is 100% noticeable , combined that with battery and better transparency it’s well worth the upgrade to me .

    • oyaji xiami
      oyaji xiami 2 months ago +1

      @Fatima That's true,Airpods Pro 2 active noise cancelling is a bit "aggressive" than the original Airpods Pro,I take it as a side effect,but it seems only few people notice and mention it.Declaration:I don't own the 2nd generation,just try it out in Apple Store.

    • Fatima
      Fatima 2 months ago

      @Aaron I find the AirPods Pro 1 very comfortable but I was concerned about the gen 2 since the noise canceling is stronger but thanking for giving me your opinion I might consider getting them once the price drop a bit

    • Aaron
      Aaron 2 months ago +2

      @Fatima not that I have noticed , first gen was very comfortable for long period of time for me and I feel the 2nd gen is a little bit better , perhaps the other ear size options might help ?

    • Fatima
      Fatima 2 months ago +2

      But does it feel like more pressure on your ears? I've tried other earbuds and their noise canceling has a-lot of pressure on my ear so would you say its the same as the gen 1s in that department?
      Also I apologize in advance for how i frazed that

    • Rihan Kaiyum
      Rihan Kaiyum 2 months ago

      @Dhairya Katiyar GAREB saala

  • Entrø
    Entrø 10 days ago

    I personally am an “AirPod person” I wear them around quite frequently, typically in transparency mode, and without music playing. However; something that never ceases to sour my mood is when I am walking around and the low battery chime dings in my ears at a sound level way louder than necessary. Sure, Apple will reduce loud sounds yet the chime seems well above the threshold for “safe and sound levels” I didn’t test that of course, but it is loud enough to cause ear discomfort. Hopefully Apple has given the option to turn that chime down, or just off all together, with these second generation AirPod pros.

  • dtannenb
    dtannenb 2 months ago +1

    Really liked your review. I have the AirPods pro 1st gen and they are pretty good but didn’t work well for me on a flight. I am hoping the new ones will. I have the Bose over the ear but it will be more convenient to use the compact AirPods.

  • jonas isaksson
    jonas isaksson 24 days ago

    Great review Marques, my biggest problem with the Airpods is the microphone, as soon as I'm outdoors any person I'm talking to is complaining about all the background noise. Improving this would be the most important feature for me. Did you do a test on this at all?

  • Trxppy Young
    Trxppy Young 24 days ago

    I love these I keep my old AirPods as a backup pair but never use these cause they don’t ever die I love listening to music and the pro 2s just offer cleaner nicer sounding music I never have to take these off when talking to people it’s more out of consideration for them they do have some software glitches that haven’t been fixed like connecting to my phone when the case is closed, and sometimes audio glitches and sounds weird but overall these are amazing headphones and I’ll probably keep using these n just give my old pair to a friend or sum

  • Azmy Hanifa
    Azmy Hanifa 2 months ago +761

    Whoever edited the explanation on how adaptive transparency works did a beautiful job!

    • incarnator
      incarnator 26 days ago +1

      TECHNICALLY wrong, but it works as an explanation and its what matters!

    • incarnator
      incarnator 26 days ago +2

      looks great, but i couldn’t bear with that they showed that the frequency was reduced, not the amplitude

    • undahmongoose96792
      undahmongoose96792 Month ago +4

      I’m a visual learner. So it made it very easy for me to understand.

    • Marvin Addae
      Marvin Addae 2 months ago +8

      AGREED

  • Cole Bevans
    Cole Bevans 2 months ago

    yeah noise canceling is insane on this things. I remember first time I went out grocery shopping and turned on noise canceling and got tripped out. The whole store turned entirely silent. Or riding my motorcycle, I cant do it with noise canceling on because it completely blocks out the engine noise and it messes with my head. Absolutely stunning noise canceling in these airpods.

  • awvandijke
    awvandijke Month ago

    Hi Marques, love your video’s and use them before buying new tech stuff. Just a tip, its about the ear scanning at around 09:18. This is not a new thing, the airpods 3 already had it. Keep the vid’s coming i love them 👍🏻

  • DJ BIS
    DJ BIS 2 months ago +6

    8:34 whoah that scenario is an extremely good use-case for any earbud product. Hopefully you can test it in that scenario and let us know if they didn't just clip/distort and ruin the whole experience.
    As an personal approach to protecting my hearing in abusively loud stages and clubs as a DJ, I invested close to $2000 on a musician-rated professional form of the same technology that Apple is now pioneering. The biggest difference being that my solution is wired and requires a belt pack with batteries. For anybody curious: Sensaphonics Active Ambient 3D is what I use. The sound is amazing (as it should be) and the microphones on the ear-buds can deal with the ridiculous volume levels musicians endure for hours on tours and stages across the world. Apple is definitely the only thing I've tried that has brought similar features to the consumer world, and it's extremely cool to see that they just raised the bar on an already awesome technology!

    • Zacharie Chiron
      Zacharie Chiron Month ago

      Someome in the comments said they went to a concert and used it in the exact same way MKBHD had dreamt of, before seeing the video, and it worked!

  • shiraz ali
    shiraz ali Month ago

    The spacial audio customisation has dramatically improved the sound for me...on my max, blown away

  • NihilRiv3r
    NihilRiv3r 2 months ago +747

    Just wanted to point out that personalized spatial audio is an iOS 16 feature, NOT an H2 exclusive. You can also set it up with gen 1 pros.

    • Raven Manicdao
      Raven Manicdao 2 months ago

      @Shwa #savetheaudiencerating Sony has been doing that with their headphones to scan your ears for spatial audio. Apple uses their highly accurate TrueDepth cameras instead to take a mapping of your ears to mimic how sound enters your ear canals based on the shape of your ears

    • Joe Robinnette Biden
      Joe Robinnette Biden 2 months ago +1

      @Shwa #savetheaudiencerating Not for me. Sound is subjektiv.
      I doesn’t just use the camera it uses the TrueDepth (3D) camera on your iPhone‌ to analyze the shape of your ears in three dimensions and use this mapping to create a personal sound profile that's tuned for you.

    • Serg Skver
      Serg Skver 2 months ago

      Also AirPods 3rd gen

    • Shwa #savetheaudiencerating
      Shwa #savetheaudiencerating 2 months ago +1

      @Joe Robinnette Biden it sounds worse bro. Tell me how a camera is supposed to know what your ear is hearing better than a microphone can? They literally took out a feature and replaced it with a gimmick.

    • Joe Robinnette Biden
      Joe Robinnette Biden 2 months ago

      @Shwa #savetheaudiencerating No it’s works.

  • xd911
    xd911 2 months ago

    Quite a-lot of software issues with sound, the adaptive transparency and certain noise reduction levels with custom transparency but they are miles ahead of the first gen.

  • A Fyn Mess
    A Fyn Mess 2 months ago +1

    Im going to buy mine today. You definitely convinced me to upgrade . I keep my current AirPods Pro in listening to music my entire 8 hours at work daily so I KNOW I’m get great use out of them! Thanks and Great review 😊

  • Bradley Skaggs
    Bradley Skaggs 2 months ago

    They totally rock. So much better and he's right about transparency mode, it's incredible.

  • Michael’s Money
    Michael’s Money 21 day ago +1

    I personally have the AirPods Pro 1. I’ll stick to this because of the price difference. Great video!

  • S. Llednarc
    S. Llednarc 2 months ago

    On the last gen airpod pros I still got a bit of that “ears plugged” sensation even when in transparency mode. Is that aspect of these improved on airpod pros 2? Or for people ultra sensitive to that - is it still an issue? I find airpod pros great if I WANT ANC…but for normal daily wear I much prefer “regular” air pods over the pros as the ambient pass through seems better to me than transparency mode. If transparency mode on pro 2s could Mimic what you get on AirPods - I’d buy a pair. Thoughts?

  • SmokedHam
    SmokedHam 2 months ago

    I wish Apple would also improve transparency and noise canceling mode for wind. When I'm cycling or running, or just when it's windy, I can hear the wind hit the airpods and it's very loud, even with noise cancelling mode. Maybe it's better with adaptive transparency, haven't tried it, but I imagine the wind messes with the microphones

  • Saif Rahman
    Saif Rahman Month ago

    Thanks for coherently explaining "Active Transparency Mode"!

  • AK
    AK Month ago

    I’ve had every airpod pro version and thought it was going to be an easy pass not to pick up the 2nd gen… my BOSE headphones got canceled through Verizon so I figured WHY NOT… and am I happy.. yeah they physically look the same but what a difference. Very happy I got the 2nd gen airpod pros.

  • Mike0193Azul
    Mike0193Azul 2 months ago +758

    That transparency mode ear protection by lowering high decibels is game changer 💚

    • John Christian S. Balla
      John Christian S. Balla Month ago

      Yesss so you won’t hear the car honking at youuuu

    • Jim J
      Jim J Month ago

      Just buy some foam earbuds. They reduce noise even more and cost $0.1

    • Urmomsfanny
      Urmomsfanny Month ago

      @Raven Manicdao he doesnt lol people who cant afford good products always hates on them instead

    • unlimitedpowa
      unlimitedpowa Month ago +1

      Your mums a game changer

    • maciek1321994
      maciek1321994 2 months ago

      True!

  • Bry
    Bry 9 days ago

    I came from Airpods Pro 1, And when I used my 2 Pro for the first time, I almost cried. It is amazing 🤩 I just can’t explain the audio is just majestic.

  • Ty Kam
    Ty Kam 2 months ago

    Finally glad that Apple got headphones right with these. I was a skeptic and love my other buds, but these will replace most of my others. The spatial audio is great. ANC is maybe the best I’ve tried amongst other ANC buds. Controls are better than most. The H2 chip is amazing for sure.

  • heySpookyBoogie
    heySpookyBoogie 2 months ago

    I absolutely loved my first gen AirPods, but I’ll never buy airpods again until the battery is replaceable at least to the extent of their other devices. Having $2-300 DISPOSABLE headphones is insane. They’re not something I update often enough to not care about the battery.

  • TheSkaterguy668
    TheSkaterguy668 Month ago

    I lost my AirPods so I bought these just cause I loved the first generation. I had no idea there were this many improvements now I’m super excited to have them 😂

  • FastRedPonyCar
    FastRedPonyCar 2 months ago +563

    I'm a musician in a rock cover band and wore these things this weekend at our gig and the transparency mode was absolutely amazing. I'd never even tried using my first gen pro's but these, man the way they compress the loud sounds down to a normal decibel level into your ears is great. I've resisted using in ear monitors for years because I hate not being able to "hear the room" and these new pro's fix that and my ears weren't ringing the next morning. Bravo.

    • FastRedPonyCar
      FastRedPonyCar 2 months ago

      @Jared Vanaman No bluetooth needed. They're only functioning like active earplugs. No mic signals from the mixer are coming in and no connection to a phone/tablet is needed. They're basically doing what the Etymotic Music Pro Elites are doing without the $400 price tag.

    • FastRedPonyCar
      FastRedPonyCar 2 months ago

      @Andrew Woodhouse We have PSM300's for IEM's and I tried them for a few shows and sent mine back. The air pods are not functioning as monitors, they're just working like fancy "smart" ear plugs. Very similar to the Etymotic music pro elite active earplugs but at a much lower cost.

    • HAWXLEADER
      HAWXLEADER 2 months ago +2

      @Ground Control He is not streaming anything, he is simply using them as smart earplugs

    • Nisco Racing
      Nisco Racing 2 months ago +3

      Found an "AirPod People"

    • Marc Eugeni
      Marc Eugeni 2 months ago +1

      REALLY?!!!! OMG I'm having serious GAS right now!

  • Shay Matheson
    Shay Matheson 2 months ago

    I'm liking the idea of an upgrade to my AirPods Pro for the ANC upgrade. The volume control on the stem isn't such a big deal to me as I always use the crown on my Apple Watch to adjust the volume and seems easier. Great video btw 🙂

  • Virality of Life
    Virality of Life 2 months ago

    The spatial audio was updated to do the “ear thing”, made it quite a bit better actually

  • Cristian Toro
    Cristian Toro Month ago

    I really loved the 1st gen AirPods that I bought back in 2018. They lasted for just 2 years before getting disconnected all the time and losing its battery after 8 minutes. I think these Pro 2 are way too expensive to have them for 2 years. I hope Apple has fixed this issue.

  • KasPer
    KasPer 2 months ago +1

    Dude that transparency mode change is amazing! I have my airpods in at school all the time and since I'm still in high school people are always pulling the fire alarm, and when i have transparency mode on with my airpods in during that it actually makes the alarm even louder and it makes my eardrums hurt so i could definitely use that feature because my lord the amount of times I've thrown my airpods out of my ears because of this is insane.

    • Vega WRLD
      Vega WRLD Month ago +2

      the immaturity of those students

  • Alec Stanley
    Alec Stanley 2 months ago +305

    Just got mine and wore them at my local gym. at first I was thinking the ANC was about the same as my last pair of pro's, but then I took one out to chat with a friend and noticed how LOUD the gym was that day. Seriously impressed by these and I actually love that they were able to do it without changing the design which would have made them stand out more as a "status symbol." Thanks for the great review!

    • Alec Stanley
      Alec Stanley 2 months ago

      @Hong Lee My comment insinuated that I am glad these do not stand out as a status symbol. I am happy they are a descrete update with advantages that I appreciate without sticking out. not sorry you don't agree, but thanks for sharing.

    • Hong Lee
      Hong Lee 2 months ago

      Happy for u to feel status symbol for a pair of cheapo

    • Alec Stanley
      Alec Stanley 2 months ago

      @Nithinraj T not positive but I think mostly the spatial audio is the main feature lost. Auto connection won’t be as seamless, but probably still pretty good. Find my won’t work of course

    • Alec Stanley
      Alec Stanley 2 months ago

      @Allan Malcolm I like anc to block out the sound and have a more silent workout. Easier to take the bus out for a second to chat since it pauses my music as well. No doubt transparency works great and I’ve used it while chilling with my family at home. Seems to work better than gen 1 for transparency as well.

    • Alec Stanley
      Alec Stanley 2 months ago +1

      @Ryan Clover everyone’s ears are different but I have never had that problem. Just went mountains biking on a set of dirt jumps and a bumpy dirt track and they stayed in great for me.

  • Rob Ca
    Rob Ca 23 days ago

    It's happened to me a few times now that it starts to sound duller in 'Own transparency mode' (a bit like in normal mode). I looked in the settings and my OWN TRANSPARENCY MODE that I recently configured by myself was automatically turned off so that the DEFAULT TRANSPARENCY MODE was activated instead. Happens multiple times a day, mostly when I'm outside. Anyone has the same issues?

  • marlin manka
    marlin manka 2 months ago

    I wonder how well these work on non-apple devices, specifically on Windows 10/11 devices? Heard the first gen of the AirPods pro had issues on Windows 10

  • desertflowerz89
    desertflowerz89 Month ago

    Love these and I have the pro maxes too. Can take calls! Great noise canceling. Can charge on my Apple Watch charger. Slowly buying entire apple universe

  • Martin Byrne
    Martin Byrne Month ago +1

    I use the transparency mode in the last version and it's so so useful. Can't wait to try this version. Better than hearing aids

    • George Weaver
      George Weaver Month ago

      I wonder if the 3rd generation will have the ability to enhance sound for people that have hearing issues without the high cost of hearing aids.

  • GhostRabbitv4
    GhostRabbitv4 2 months ago +228

    Apple outsmarted all of their competition when they decided to approach earbuds as a convenience product that would be developed into good audio equipment over time. They officially caught up with the competition in sound, and are still kings of features.

    • vacuumcleaner3000
      vacuumcleaner3000 2 months ago

      @泰坦泥巴号 its better

    • Dogs&Pennies 48
      Dogs&Pennies 48 2 months ago

      @UnderclassRising what earbuds would you recommend?

    • UnderclassRising
      UnderclassRising 2 months ago

      If you own any phone that isn't an iphone, you are barred from using half of the good features instantly because Apple made it that way. Otherwise I might pick some up. The sound absolutely hasn't beaten the competition in the best case. They still only offer AAC or SBC, neither of those are the best Bluetooth codecs and 16 bit audio is also not the best resolution available. That's without getting into driver size and specific sound characteristics.

    • Paterne YAO
      Paterne YAO 2 months ago

      Very good analysis 👍

    • KillerX1279 TV
      KillerX1279 TV 2 months ago +1

      Apple haters are gonna be seething in your replies bro

  • xd911
    xd911 2 months ago

    Been using my airpods pro 1st gen for 2 years now almost, had the problems with sound in the beginning got new eartips that seemed to fix the problem then got static and i decided to see apples replacement plan for models made before oct 2019, got them send off yesterday bought airpods pro gen 2 today, and as someone literally never took them out my ears probably over an estimated 10k+ hours listening they have been an absolute game changer for focusing in a lounge room environment with the noisy tv being able to block it out is what has got me through these past 2 years of school, the gen 2’s increase in noise cancelation of the deconstructive wave frequencies is insane, also the volume slider can’t be put into words of how much it was needed.

  • TxLeftridge
    TxLeftridge 2 months ago

    I really love the new ones. I can tell a HUGE difference in sound and noise cancellation. But I’m that “AirPod” person. That said the active transparency is Apple acting like they thought of something first. My gun shooting muffs have been doing active transparency for almost 20 years. Props to Apple for doing it well and selling it like they invented the idea though. Most will have no idea.

  • Stephen Perez
    Stephen Perez 2 months ago

    Biggest reason I never got the first edition was because of the ear tips. With the addition of the extra I might have to make the switch

  • vineet pardhi
    vineet pardhi 2 months ago

    woah, this level of transparency mode where you amplify the sound is really cool!

  • Padmo
    Padmo 2 months ago +382

    Thought I lost my first gen so bought the second gen. I noticed significantly better sound quality and anc. But the volume touch control is my favorite, it is really convenient and responsive. If you have the first gen I don't think upgrading is necessary.

    • NotDave
      NotDave 2 months ago

      @Caleb Broeker then it might be worth it. Here in the EU you will be paying 300 euro for a new set and getting 60 so then it's harder to justify

    • Caleb Broeker
      Caleb Broeker 2 months ago

      @NotDave Weird, I sold mine the same day I listed them for $130.

    • Never Lookback12
      Never Lookback12 2 months ago

      The first generation is three years old,it's worth the upgrade with better features and battery life.

    • Zhuoyue Tian
      Zhuoyue Tian 2 months ago

      Thought I lost my first gen Airpods pro last weekends, but found them back the second day I placed my order on the Airpods pro 2 lol

    • Zhuoyue Tian
      Zhuoyue Tian 2 months ago

      Same here

  • Nathan Willis
    Nathan Willis 2 months ago

    Great concept about the concert but my belief is that the active noise reduction in earbuds and headphones is not actually removing noise but countering it with the opposite of the spectrum. Your perception is that you don't hear it but the damage still occurs. At least this is what we were taught and I work on aircraft, and the only true way to prevent damage to ears is through double hearing protection, plugs which actually restrict, or a muff.

  • Spencer Gibson
    Spencer Gibson 2 months ago

    Love the review BUT I can see a problem with this adaptive transparency, in that the loudness of things like sirens and horns tell you proximity. I thinking people may not realise how close something is which could be a real problem. Given sirens and horns are specific sounds maybe Apple should exempt these from dampening via machine learning.

  • K L
    K L 2 months ago

    I really love it too, having been using for about 2 weeks. I put my Sony XM4 earbuds away. AirPods Pro 2 is a big jump from AP1, no doubt.