Google may have cut too many corners... - Pixel 4 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 21, 2019 veröffentlicht
  • Check out the Dbrand Grip at dbrand.com/LinusDropTips
    Sign up for Private Internet Access VPN at lmg.gg/pialinus1
    With the Pixel 4 and Pixel 4 XL, Google has managed to innovate with the camera yet again, delivering an experience that's more accurate and creative than the Apple iPhone 11 Pro.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1115941-apple-should-be-embarrassed-pixel-4-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a VPN today with PIA at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Get a Displate Metal Print at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at lmg.gg/8KV1v
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: clip-share.net/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High clip-share.net/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 7 276

  • Bong ERINO
    Bong ERINO 16 hours ago

    Why tf is 128gb not enough lol

  • Mazib Hassan
    Mazib Hassan 20 hours ago

    4:45 🤣🤣

  • Uzair Atta
    Uzair Atta 3 days ago

    I'm waiting for the pixel 4a I think it's going to be great this is just not it

  • Caden Churchill
    Caden Churchill 3 days ago

    Honestly, if it weren’t for the battery and lack of an ultra-wide lens, the Pixel 4 would easily be my favourite Android phone fo the year - even if it just had a better battery. Too bad it doesn’t 😂 Really impresses me that the original Pixel is the oldest phone I can find that actually runs Android 10 now.

  • Aks_135
    Aks_135 3 days ago

    I kinda like the swipe up to unlock because then I can just read my notifications that come real quickly and close it

  • Qurahn
    Qurahn 4 days ago +4

    Worst design in years from a flagship.

  • Qurahn
    Qurahn 4 days ago

    Just like they do every year

  • AguyCalledBruno
    AguyCalledBruno 4 days ago

    10:40 my "awesome" pocophone has the same but worse and more often

  • 4ksandknives
    4ksandknives 7 days ago

    Oof.... Hot piece of garbage...

  • Drake Dodson
    Drake Dodson 7 days ago

    I'm a big fan of stock Android software; currently using a Pixel 3XL and had a Nexus 6P before that. But, Google is making it really hard to want to stick with their phones. I love the camera and software, but until Google starts really packing a large battery into their phones, it's gonna be a no go for me. My battery anxiety is real with the 3XL and has led me to consider actually switching to an iPhone despite being a BIG Android fan for many years. Hopefully Google will show us something good in the Pixel 5 next year.

  • awesomeferret
    awesomeferret 8 days ago

    What does "highlights and lowlights" moan in a camera app? The way you presented it made it look like these sliders do what LG has been doing for about 4 years now.

  • [NF]llamas kingdom[NF]

    Can I have my braincells back?

  • Ryan Mcconkey
    Ryan Mcconkey 8 days ago

    I laughed a little too hard at the intro when he transitioned to his sponsor while he was thinking lmao :p I didn't expect that at all lol

  • Amaan Aslam
    Amaan Aslam 9 days ago

    what is that pixel 3 case at 4:28???

  • Alex
    Alex 10 days ago

    Funnily enough my note 9 will turn the screen on + starts looking for faces as soon as i pick it up.

    Idk if i need a radar for that linus...

    Also, wave control worked properly on the OnePlus 2

  • Khushpreet Singh
    Khushpreet Singh 12 days ago

    I don't get it why every reviewer is saying the gestures don't work well. In literally all of the pixel 4 reviews I've seen, they show a music app in which they get to the end of a playlist and try to swipe. Obviously it wont work, there is nothing to swipe to, they should be swiping the other way and it would work fine then.

  • Belinda Ginete
    Belinda Ginete 13 days ago +1

    Pixel cut too many corners- except for the price!

  • Eine kleine Nachtmusik

    I had really hoped for a great phone, but this thing is like a budget phone for middle schoolers. And Dear Tech Reviewers -- Why are you all so obsessed with foreheads? It's just fine and in no way looks "last gen". Stop trying to push your zero design sense on the rest of the world.

  • The Whacc
    The Whacc 14 days ago

    The storage problem is actually what keeps me away from the Pixel lineup and what stopped me from getting the OnePlus 7T version that was available in the US. I don't always have internet access, so I tend to keep at least a few of my favourite albums on my phone. Adding that to the amount of apps I use, amount of videos I take, and the amount of PDFs I also store locally, and I ended up going with Mi Note 10 Pro. It's definitely not the best phone out there, but pretty good for my purposes.

  • Aditya Bhardwaj
    Aditya Bhardwaj 15 days ago +1

    This guy will never admit an android is inferior to the iPhone

    • lil strap
      lil strap 13 days ago

      *Gives incredibly positive review of iPhone 11 and pro variants* *Gives negative review of pixel 4* Hmmmmmmm

  • Lucifer
    Lucifer 15 days ago

    ads ads ads ads!

  • Riding Gambit
    Riding Gambit 17 days ago

    I think in the case of the camera it's technical quality vs artistic intent. In the portrait image closeup we see strong aliasing in the hair from the Pixel's oversharpening of the scene and the higher contrast used creates shadows under the eyes and shows up blemishes, us professional photographers would generally prefer the image from the iPhone in this instance. The other point to make is that photography is not merely an attempt to replicate what the human eye sees, it's purpose is to create an artistic work, in the case of the bar photo I much prefer the lighting on the iPhone image, it's higher key lighting shows up a lot more detail in the plants on the left and is more pleasing to me at least than the more dingy look of the photo from the Pixel. Ugh I actually feel dirty for preferring the Apple products images.

  • Lamarr Bin Yahudah
    Lamarr Bin Yahudah 17 days ago

    I have the Pixel 4, It's the best piece of trash ever lol.. The battery is "doodoo" but the rest of the phone is great😎 I turned off background processing in developer options stopped notifications for everything except my messages. Now the phone is great. I feel like all Android phones need help with background processing, app notifications & the gyroscope.

  • Beans In My DS
    Beans In My DS 18 days ago

    What's with the different intro

  • hamza nab
    hamza nab 18 days ago +1

    Thought that thing on your cheek was summit on my screen lol was trying to wipe it off

  • Lekker Spellen Spelen
    Lekker Spellen Spelen 18 days ago +22

    When he said that 128 GB wasn't enough, I just looked at my Nokia 5.1 with 16 GB with sadness.

    • Cio Dokop
      Cio Dokop 2 days ago

      My dad has 128GB. And let me tell you, it SEEMS as if it’s not enough.
      And I here have a iPhone 6s with 16GB. And it’s not enough.
      I guess your needs automatically expand and the storage expands.....

      Basically, optimizing storage is very very important. Or else you can keep piling data up. I wonder how much “data cleanup” we can do if users actually delete the files which they uploaded and will never access them......

  • nash sanadiki
    nash sanadiki 18 days ago

    I'm gonna go with the Mate 30 Pro, don't really care for Google Play store if my battery life sucks xD

  • Juiced
    Juiced 19 days ago

    This video just wants to align with every other reviewers opinions.
    All Pixel 4 reviews are the same, this is the best example of it.
    1. Nice design
    2. Bad battery
    3. iPhone has a reliable camera, Pixel sometimes takes better photos.

  • ayush pathania
    ayush pathania 19 days ago +1

    Lets just be honest 'this phone is the biggest disappointment of the year'

    • ayush pathania
      ayush pathania 18 days ago

      @TOPSPOT idk how linus gave a positive review

    • TOPSPOT
      TOPSPOT 18 days ago +1

      No doubt about it. Was always a Nexus/Pixel user but jumped ship to OnePlus 7 Pro after this garbage. Completely outta touch (battery, display) and failed once again in the hardware department ... And don't even get me started with the 128GB storage!

  • Icekick
    Icekick 20 days ago

    Google thinks that they have the reputation of apple and can afford to make a phone worse for more praise calm down Google just cause u made a good camera doesn't mean u invented it

  • TBNK x SPEED
    TBNK x SPEED 20 days ago

    Stfu stop talking shit for me it’s way better then any iPhone for me

  • Patrick-André Schröder

    Some people want to read their Notifications first, before the Phone completely unlocks, so I see why Apple uses a 2 Step Unlock. I hate when my Phone just unlocks and I have to pull the Notifications, because maybe I xan't or don't want to Reply directly in that moment.

  • Potong
    Potong 24 days ago

    One of the best camera & best OS smartphone but struggle in storage...

  • Jean-Francois Saine
    Jean-Francois Saine 24 days ago +1

    "Timely Post-Sale Support..." Spoken by someone who hasn't had to deal with returning multiple phones to Google.
    Google support is a painful painful experience.

    • Aditya Bhardwaj
      Aditya Bhardwaj 15 days ago

      Jean-Francois Saine not to mention the measly two years of software updates you get on android regardless of whether you buy a 200$ phone or a 1000$ one

  • Sawta
    Sawta 25 days ago

    The review was good but WOW DO I HATE THIS PHONE.
    Pay extra for:
    * less space so Google can have your data. No problem! Just give all of your stuff over to one of the least trustworthy tech companies outside of China.
    * Also give them a copy of your face for some abstract reason about gloves or oil. (This is what rugged phones like the DuraForce Pro II do much better through tactile buttons, or iPhone does more elegantly for tedious rich people with too much time on their hands.)
    * An utterly useless radar senor to barely function, and likely to work accidentally when you don't want it to, or don't expect it to. I'm sure Google has no ulterior motives in mind, just a terrible, stupid idea.
    * Hideous black box on a phone feigning a trendy design. "lol what are aesthetics??"
    * Unwieldly size
    * Less is more design for speakers. Terrible.
    To be fair, the captioning thing sounded nice, but not nice enough to warrant loss of battery life. I also suspect it's yet another way for Google to infest and steal everything they don't already know about you.

  • Becco Life
    Becco Life 25 days ago

    The most exciting bit of news in the is video was that apparently the old Yoshi's Palace is back open.

  • JordanAnimates
    JordanAnimates 25 days ago

    I'm a simple man. Linus likes the Google Pixel 4XL I buy it




    also ill buy it to take pictures of my pug

  • Ahmad Ukasyah
    Ahmad Ukasyah 26 days ago

    128 GB not enough me happily using my 16 GB phone

  • Eric T
    Eric T 27 days ago

    Wtf... lukewarm recommendation? Why not say not recommend because it's a not flagship phone , but has a flagship price?

  • virdewinder singh
    virdewinder singh 27 days ago

    Radar chip doesn't fucking works

  • Greg Whittle
    Greg Whittle 28 days ago +4

    Opening scene: Linus on the toilet

  • The Banksss
    The Banksss 29 days ago

    Middle finger 😂😂😂

  • sid6p0int7
    sid6p0int7 Month ago +8

    Losing the fingerprint reader is a no go for me. I love that feature

    • Sinus Lebastian
      Sinus Lebastian 24 days ago +1

      that feel when the note 9, a year old phone is better than the pixel in nearly every way lmao

  • siloPIRATE
    siloPIRATE Month ago

    Well now part of me wants to come back to Android just for Google Assistant

  • Kevin Curnel
    Kevin Curnel Month ago

    Not sure if it has made the news yet, but the pixel 4 XL has an issue where it likes to randomly shut off? Funny how it only happens while in your packet.

  • David Martrano
    David Martrano Month ago

    Linus the lion, great review. I considered the pixal4 but couldn't pull the trigger. I settled for the true value pixal the 3a XL. Why? I picked it up for 4oo.oo bucks including tax. I believe the Nexus6p & 5x had a set of twins the 3a & 3a XL. That camera & the purist of Android make these two phones worth the price!

  • Paul Matthew
    Paul Matthew Month ago

    pixel 3 is better
    bigger battery
    wide selfie
    original quality photo backups
    front facing speakers

    Thumbs up !

  • Neuro Pulse
    Neuro Pulse Month ago

    I give up. I can't keep track of this shit anymore. I literally don't have time.

  • tommy aronson
    tommy aronson Month ago

    This guy is such a tool

  • Ashton Show 03
    Ashton Show 03 Month ago

    4:45 fifty fucking dollars for 3 pairs of underwear?!?! What the hell is that!??!?!

  • Jared Champagne
    Jared Champagne Month ago

    I have no idea why anyone with a brain would buy a pixel 4, you're paying more money than the rest of them for a phone that looks and performs like one from 3-4 years ago, that forehead and chin are absolutely monstrous, what in gods name were they thinking? Its bigger than the original iphone bezels! Why is the pixel a popular device? Its a terrible phone, and theyve gotten even more greedy!

  • HoodedFreak
    HoodedFreak Month ago

    I will still stick to my Pixel 2 XL lol.

  • Georgie Morrison
    Georgie Morrison Month ago

    Lol I got a pixel 4 ad when I clicked on this

  • niklas johansson
    niklas johansson Month ago

    I dont really get why you need more than 128gb i use pretty much 20 and i cant think of any new app, i have like 2000 pics and 100 videos

  • Moises Cortez
    Moises Cortez Month ago

    Google needs to stop making phones

  • FantasticGYT
    FantasticGYT Month ago +1

    BIG OFF (ROG RIG REBOOT 2019 REFERENCE)

  • GrapheneCarbide
    GrapheneCarbide Month ago

    pixel is ugly.

  • GrapheneCarbide
    GrapheneCarbide Month ago

    you noob. the swipe on iPhone is so that you can see notifications. and replying to those notification on the lock screen

  • Ty
    Ty Month ago +3

    "Big Oof" 😂😂😂

  • Baseshocks
    Baseshocks Month ago

    While google promotes cloud storage other phone brands still allow you to add a micro SD card with insane amounts of storage... Why the fuck do people buy this shit.