Tap to unmute

iPhone SE (2020) Review: It All Adds Up!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 21, 2020 veröffentlicht
  • iPhone SE might be the most important thing Apple's made this year.
    iPhone SE: www.apple.com/iphone-se/
    iPhone SE cases: dbrand.com/iphone-se-case
    MKBHD Merch: shop.MKBHD.com
    Video Gear I use: kit.co/MKBHD/video-gear#recom.. .
    Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD
    Intro Track: clip-share.net/user/20syl
    Playlist of MKBHD Intro music: goo.gl/B3AWV5
    ~
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 26 584

  • El Tiggy
    El Tiggy 2 years ago +3517

    The iPhone SE is like a Toyota Camry, it’s definitely not the most exciting or innovative piece of hardware, but it’s super reliable and will get you through your day with no problems. It’s pretty fast too.

    • Grogu
      Grogu 2 months ago

      Who cares tho? My iPhone 6 does the same thing as my new iPhone. They are all the same.

    • Beefo
      Beefo 2 months ago

      I bought a 2020 Camry this year. Literally it's all I need. I plan to keep that car forever

    • Mom A
      Mom A 6 months ago

      Yeah 😎 I use it as a replacement phone from time to time

    • Just_Nathaniel
      Just_Nathaniel 6 months ago

      As a iPhone se user, i can agree

    • BAM BAM
      BAM BAM 6 months ago

      Hell yea camrys are bad ass dude...my 2010 has 365,000 miles still runs like a clock barely burns any oil

  • Shivam Sharma
    Shivam Sharma Year ago +218

    Been using it for 45 days. Such a great phone to have must say. Incredibly snappy, good camera, stereo speakers, and a sufficient enough battery which lasts about a day. This is a masterpiece by Apple.

    • Happy Maguire
      Happy Maguire 2 months ago +1

      @Wraith thnx for clearing my doubt mate. Appreciated :)

    • Wraith
      Wraith 2 months ago

      @Happy Maguire the speakers are rock solid. I have the se2 but I believe the se3 has the exact same speakers just the faster a15 bionic chip instead of the a13

    • Happy Maguire
      Happy Maguire 2 months ago

      Can you pls tell how's the speaker because I'm planning to buy one. Not this one the 2022 edition.

    • Happy Maguire
      Happy Maguire 2 months ago

      @Wraith you seriously don't need that "high" processing speed on a 4.7" Panel because honestly people won't be buying or had bought this for gaming or other demanding tasks. But it's good that it's there tho.

    • Wraith
      Wraith 3 months ago +1

      @Aria Mohaghegh yeah and they're not even going to have half of the life an iphone would when it comes to software updates and support, and they're not even gonna be in the same league when it comes to speed.

  • Andrew
    Andrew Day ago

    I bought my iPhone SE 2gen 2 or 3 months ago and I’m very happy with it. I have owned an iPhone 3GS 4G and iPhone 6 then I went a couple years on android and broke a few androids, and got mad no phone repair store fixes any phone unless they are an iPhone or 1000 Samsung. And I hate getting new phones so I bought the iPhone SE 2 gen in hopes if the screen breaks, I or a company can repair it and I won’t have to get a new phone.

    • Andrew
      Andrew Day ago

      iPhones are also great smart phones for old people and they haven’t changed much. You can’t mess with success that’s why apple doesn’t change their stuff much just some minor tweaks.

  • Lauren Hurst
    Lauren Hurst Year ago +307

    I really enjoy my iPhone SE. I had the iPhone 11 Pro Max for a year. I “downgraded” because I missed Touch ID and a smaller phone. The iPhone SE really is the iPhone 11 Pro in a smaller body. Same chip and same camera system. I really thought I’d regret going from the iPhone 11 Pro Max to the iPhone SE. I’ve had my phone for a month now and no complaints. The only thing I could complain about if I want to be picky is the battery life. It’s a smaller phone with a smaller battery. 🤷‍♀️ This phone is great for anyone. Someone who wants an iPhone, but doesn’t want to pay the Apple price tag, elderly, a kid’s first phone, or someone who wants to dabble in the iPhone world the first time. Love my phone. 👍🏻

    • Kween jade
      Kween jade 6 months ago +1

      Thx for sharing

    • Anirudh Gupta
      Anirudh Gupta 8 months ago +1

      @Tristanator btw the moto phone with snapdragon 888 came out last month, which is 2 years after iphone se so its obvi not a fair comparison, also normally androids of around 400 dollars dont have snapdragon 888 , i checked some of the best 400 dollar androids 2022 and none of them came close to the iphone se from 2020

    • Anirudh Gupta
      Anirudh Gupta 8 months ago

      @Tristanator bruh, wdym by iphone se was still selling with the A13 chip in 2021? u good? a phone doesnt automatically upgrade its processor at the start of a new year, obvi the 2020 iphone se will have an A13 chip, tf u expecting? ur comparing a 2020 phone with 2022 phone and then say its a fair comparison because the phone is still selling like wtf man?

    • Tristanator
      Tristanator 8 months ago +1

      @Anirudh Gupta It's relevant because the iPhone SE was still selling past 2020 well into 2021 with an A13 chip. Android phones in the budget market caught up by giving phones the Snapdragon 870, 888, or 888+ chipsets, for the same price of the SE and less. And the battery life was pitiful for a phone released in 2020, let alone 2021 and 2022 before they announced the iPhone SE 3rd generation.

    • Anirudh Gupta
      Anirudh Gupta 8 months ago

      @Tristanator ok??? i remember asking whether the android phones were made in 2020, how is this relevant?

  • Robbie B W
    Robbie B W Year ago +3333

    2014's design
    2016's display
    2017's body
    2018's camera
    2019's processor
    This is a good history.

    • dhgkwsef
      dhgkwsef 2 months ago

      @Adrian Anzano it uses the same display as the iPhone 8.

    • Shane Patrick
      Shane Patrick 2 months ago

      @The Imperial Television you should, it’s a good all around phone, good camera to. I’ve had my SE 2020 since July last year.. 🙂 📱

    • The Imperial Television
      The Imperial Television 4 months ago +1

      Me buying it in 2022 🥲

    • Yo-ma-ma
      Yo-ma-ma 7 months ago

      Ah yes. A historical iPhone

    • Dalton Parker
      Dalton Parker 10 months ago

      @Vihaan Singha yeah, none of that is still worth more than $100 at the most

  • Muhammad Ali Hassan
    Muhammad Ali Hassan 2 years ago +14639

    A moment of silence for those who bought an iPhone 8 a while ago at a much higher price

  • Richard S. Kazimer
    Richard S. Kazimer Year ago +38

    Thank you for this comprehensive review. Was on the fence about getting the SE 2020, but your review sold me. Fantastic job, Marques.

  • v12vanquish
    v12vanquish 2 years ago +619

    Upgraded from an SE to an SE after your review, thanks :)

    • AJ M
      AJ M 6 months ago +2

      Same ahah so happy with it

    • GwenDoll
      GwenDoll 10 months ago +2

      Same😭

    • Subliminal
      Subliminal 11 months ago +2

      Same

    • SIGs
      SIGs 11 months ago +2

      Yep SAME

    • U S Ξ R
      U S Ξ R Year ago +3

      My friend upgraded from the 6s to the SE a few months after the SE came out

  • Jamie Ott
    Jamie Ott Year ago +80

    I just love how you talk about the features as you use them! You’re a great reviewer!

    • Mikeyyyyyy
      Mikeyyyyyy Year ago +2

      Welll it’s a review channel lop

  • Franken Stein
    Franken Stein Year ago +615

    No way am I spending $1200 for a 12. This SE is just fine for me thank you.

    • Neon Playz
      Neon Playz 9 months ago +2

      goddamnit these android and apple fanboy do be fighting

    • Ri
      Ri 10 months ago

      @IceDragon2442 But yes, I agree with you.

    • Ri
      Ri 10 months ago

      @IceDragon2442 you’re*

    • Abhijay S Kumar
      Abhijay S Kumar 10 months ago

      @Math man Chris okay then I will join grammarly by Christopher, what is the difficulty in watching a video if i am spending so much time talking under it

    • Math man Chris
      Math man Chris 10 months ago

      @Abhijay S Kumar you didnt watch the video at all didnt you

  • nick stiltson
    nick stiltson 2 years ago +2534

    MKBHD: “it’s only a 400 dollar phone”
    Me: *starts to think the amount of things I could do with 400 dollars*

    • Aria Mohaghegh
      Aria Mohaghegh 9 months ago

      You could get the poco f3 with this price

    • hijacked
      hijacked 10 months ago

      @Freshyou think Chinese people have different coding languages, your reasoning on why the iphone is better is completely retarted

    • Bluecube
      Bluecube 10 months ago

      @Fresh they did it

    • JOSEPH
      JOSEPH Year ago

      @James BLM is Quiet about the 2000 blacks murdered in chicago, last year because its mostly minority, and black on black crime. They only care if they can race-bait about it. They're hypocrites.
      I live in a leftist city, the place allows anybody to go in a store and steal things and get away with it because the idiots who live here are indoctrinated to believe that Cops are "racist". Leftist cities crime ridden and crime and homocide rate has exploded over 100% since they decided to "defund the cops" because they arbitrary label everything "racist".Because they're stupid i guess. liberals don't have an understanding of how real life works.

    • James
      James Year ago

      @JOSEPH Some are not racists, but they sure are 100% tolerant of racists. Or they're in denial.

  • Elissa Palmer
    Elissa Palmer 8 months ago +3

    I so enjoy Marques' reviews! Thanks for helping me decide what to move onto now that my hand-me-down iPhone 6 is dying! This eco-friendly momma won't have to replace her case, and it sounds like the SE 2nd gen will be faster. Done! I found a refurbished one on amazon!

  • Kamen
    Kamen 2 months ago +1

    Had big expectations from the phone when I got it back in 2020. Battery degraded pretty fast though and two years later I have to charge at noon if I used it heavy in the morning... So getting 4 years of usage from this device is plausible from a CPU-power standpoint, but not really from a battery standpoint. Even if you change out the battery it still is draining super fast compared to bigger and newer iphones.

  • Dont Read The Comments
    Dont Read The Comments 11 months ago +6

    I have an XS (which I was a huge fan of because of the bezel free design but the newer iPhones definitely improved on eliminating the glaring roundness) but I actually think the SE(2) might be my favourite design. It's just nicer to hold and look at tbh -especially in red. I actually have gone back to wanting a bezel, Touch ID even more so.

    • Shane Patrick
      Shane Patrick 2 months ago

      Why not give it a try?? I’ve had this SE 2020 in red for over a year now and it’s perfect for me. I don’t game or watch movies (I do that on my ps4 pro and hd tv 😅) camera is decent to.
      I’m not into all this Face ID stuff don’t like the idea of my facial features being stored in a database 😬

  • Mike Swift
    Mike Swift Year ago +3

    Good review, thanks. I’m still using my 6p with no issues other than battery replacement two years ago. I like the touch rather than face recognition feature and size like the 6p. Only reason I’m thinking about upgrading is to work with an Apple Watch. Going to miss headphone jack though.

  • Silver Woodlawn
    Silver Woodlawn 11 months ago +4

    I'm soo tired of huge phones with gimmicky features I'll stop using a couple of days later. I've decided to buy iPhone SE this January (even if it's two years old at this point). It checks all the boxes of my dream-phone (incl. screen and battery).

  • Stan Yu
    Stan Yu 10 months ago +3

    In keeping with the “parts bin upgrade” engineering of Apple’s SE devices, I would love to see the next iPhone SE to add the dual lens camera from the iPhone 8 Plus. That would substantially enhance its capabilities while keeping its price & performance below the newer iPhone product lines.

  • Ian Berg
    Ian Berg 11 months ago +4

    I've switched to the budget iPhone SE 2020. I hated leaving Portrait Orientation unlocked on my previous phone as there was always a two or three second lag when it changed from portrait to landscape or vice versa. But on the iPhone SE it's fast. This is a small thing but still much appreciated. I prefer a smaller phone that's easy to keep in a pocket.

    • Shane Patrick
      Shane Patrick 2 months ago

      Me to man. I hate these huge phones now! Too big and I like having buttons instead.

  • Andrei Blanca
    Andrei Blanca Year ago

    Thanks for the review as always Marques. Was really looking into this phone because I had an iPhone SE in the past and i loved it! and of course i do prefer a smaller phone.

  • Lawson LaRue
    Lawson LaRue 2 years ago +6419

    As someone who only uses his phone moderately just for music, social media, and communication, this thing would be perfect for me

    • Ted1942_
      Ted1942_ 3 months ago

      thats so amazing cool!!!1111

    • Fruitoffire
      Fruitoffire 6 months ago

      Lol which is literally what everyone uses it for

    • Semih Namli
      Semih Namli 8 months ago

      Adamlar parasından konuşmuyor güvenlik pil görüntüsü hakkında konuşuyor biz pahalı olması dışında konuşmuyoruz onlara sıra gelmiyor Türkiye de 8.000Tl :(

    • Sebastian Garavito
      Sebastian Garavito 10 months ago

      @Eringo Ngueno yeah i literally have to charge my phone three times a day after only a year it sucks the battery is killed so fast i’m not sure why

    • Devil Kazumi
      Devil Kazumi 11 months ago

      @Charli Grace lmao you made my day 😂😂😂

  • arnaved0
    arnaved0 2 years ago +1728

    Conclusion: 7:58
    "Speaker, solid"
    "Camera, solid"
    "Display, solid"
    "Battery, solid"

    • Shane Patrick
      Shane Patrick 2 months ago

      @HoleeCarolee totally agree! I’m not too bothered anyway. I’ve had my iPhone SE 2020 for over a year now and it suits me perfectly, more than perfect actually.. since I usually have cheap phones so this luxury to me.
      I got this phone for a bargain. A couple wanted to make money fast since they were having a kid so I bought this red SE off them for £200 at the time and 99% battery health 😁

    • Kanagawa Yarichin
      Kanagawa Yarichin 10 months ago +1

      “Snake, Solid”

    • Nick higgers
      Nick higgers 11 months ago

      I think its solid 🤔

    • Josué R. Chávez
      Josué R. Chávez Year ago +1

      Metal Gear, Solid

    • HoleeCarolee
      HoleeCarolee Year ago +1

      @Sabo for a 400$ android you might get one high-end aspect, but you know damn well there’s gonna be corners cut. It can have 1440p, 120hz, or a great camera, but only one at a time. Don’t expect 400$ phones to be like flagships, especially androids

  • Paul Kelm
    Paul Kelm Year ago +6

    Great review. Well said! No extra talking, just a really well done review. Thank you.

  • chargerman 65
    chargerman 65 Year ago +1

    I know this video came out several months ago but I just now watched it. I upgraded personally from 12 Pro Max to 13 Pro but my employer provides me a phone at it is an iPhone SE 2020 and I gotta tell you it ain’t bad at all. Actually it is surprisingly good! Plus the size is easy to carry. Great video.

  • Dan
    Dan 2 years ago +3

    Had the 6 since 2014, today bought the SE. At $450 for the 128 GB it's less than I spent on the former phone 6 years ago, and that one was 64 GB.
    I don't take many photos. Use it mainly for speaking on phone, texting, Uber/Lyft, weather app, maps - the basics. I'm pleased this was available.

  • Mario
    Mario 2 years ago +1967

    Who else remembers you can get a high end phone back in the day for 399

    • series333
      series333 Year ago

      @Walt Lonsdale you have a g7 and a iphone se? doubt it.

    • J_Cali2004
      J_Cali2004 Year ago

      @Walt Lonsdale so true just went
      Back and read my comments from years ago and me using a i7+ currently

    • Walt Lonsdale
      Walt Lonsdale Year ago +1

      @J_Cali2004 Price and value are different things.

    • Walt Lonsdale
      Walt Lonsdale Year ago

      @bolson42 Then how does Apple charge the same thing every year?

    • Walt Lonsdale
      Walt Lonsdale Year ago +1

      @series333 Not even close. A Moto isn't any competition for any iPhone. I have have both!

  • Jamie Ott
    Jamie Ott Year ago +2

    That is a pretty phone. I was trying to decide iPhone 12 but I’m thinking this se may be just perfect for my needs.

  • Jaztine Jimenez
    Jaztine Jimenez 3 months ago +3

    It's crazy thinking that Apple released this 2 years ago, a month after the lockdown

  • Fahim Ahmed
    Fahim Ahmed Year ago +56

    Got this phone soon after it came out. I'm watching this video to reaffirm my gratitude for having such a cool phone. I don;t think I'll be changing phones for at least the rest of college.

  • Aakash narasimhan
    Aakash narasimhan 2 years ago

    Hey! Thanks for the review. Im confused between iPhone Xr and this iPhone SE. I am expecting bazel-less good looking and pretty bigger displays. Can I go for iPhone XR with A12 chip? Does it make bigger difference? Need your thoughts. Thanks in Advance :)

  • Samarth Khandelwal
    Samarth Khandelwal 2 years ago +403

    Never would have imagined One Plus entering Flagship market and Apple entering the budget (or mid-range) market.
    2020 is indeed a crazy year.

    • Threesword Samurai Threesword Samurai
      Threesword Samurai Threesword Samurai 2 years ago +1

      Marques is smarter than my grade 5 teacher😎

    • Fallen family
      Fallen family 2 years ago +1

      Commentator541 notice he said budget flagship instead of just budget that’s because it has an impact on what is considered budget

    • Commentator541
      Commentator541 2 years ago +4

      400 is not a budget market. 100 usd or less is a budget market.

    • bruh
      bruh 2 years ago

      Jason Epps and so more could afford it

    • bruh
      bruh 2 years ago

      Khadak ! Well yea it’s cheap for iPhone but technically it’s mid-range

  • Sohini Dutta
    Sohini Dutta Year ago +32

    This is a smart choice to make regardless of what phone you're coming from.
    I have an iPhone X, got it when it was fresh and yeah, when I didn't have as much course work, I used to play heavy af games on it and it handled those things like a champ. And it still does that, but I don't have time anymore so really, what do you do with the humongous screen and the power and the fancy bells and whistles? Nothing! Occassional gaming and mostly instagram scrolls, whatsapp messaging and tweeting. It's kinda stupid to pay like double the price for the same functionality.
    I mean yeah, if you're a gamer then the refresh rates would matter a lot, been there done that. But if you think you want to be productive or you just don't game, this is the way to go. I think whenever I update my iphone, I'll go for SE. (and the best part about Apple, almost 3 years later, the iPhone X is still killing it in terms of performance).

  • Herb G
    Herb G 3 months ago

    I love it. And it doesn’t take up my entire pocket!
    Great camera, great storage and fast

  • Skelotania
    Skelotania Year ago +2

    I think the se is good but personally I would like a more modern design so I am getting the 12 and more battery but the 11 is great as well but it’s just a phone so enjoy it👍

  • Expatrocious
    Expatrocious Year ago +9

    They did have to put the A13 in there because they want it to last as long as possible. Also the battery is small so having a chip with more efficiency is good as well.

  • Palmit
    Palmit 2 years ago +346

    Marques really knows his stuff. Honest, enthusiastic, personable and friendly presentation.and always on point about stuff we want to know, not what manufacturers tell us to know.
    Also, I'm jealous of the abosolute clarity and crispness of each video. i NEED that encoding engine/hardware. not that i have anything to upload. Peace.

    • Med Music
      Med Music 2 years ago +1

      Copycatz Yes man ! Fanboys doesn’t make their minds work thats the problem, they are the same persons that buy the latest Macbook Pro at 2000$ and the thing doesn’t even have a dac for audio production cuz apple needs more cash n doesn’t care about the customer by selling boards with engineering repeated mistakes over the years and worse than the 2017 one that got an SSD soldered on, and then here on this iphone they take the same board of an 2017 phone and call it iphone SE 2, RipOFF !! People told them that they want the same size of the old iphone SE or a littlebit taller n with a home button and a headphone jack, and the motherflowers just put the old phone n changed the name, on my side i cant buy a phone that doesn’t have a headphone jack, i got the old SE for 3 years now and wont change it until it dies, the only thing i like in it is the size because a phone is supposed to be held with one hand only not two, well i guess if this thing die i will be back to a flip phone, even this MKBHD guy is an apple fanboy, i see him do a lot of repeated mistakes in the informations he gives, if he was smart he would have managed to make work the NAS server linus made him before, this MKBHD is like that fake psycho called iJUSTINE, hes just a masculine version of her.

    • Mikey Loves Pizza
      Mikey Loves Pizza 2 years ago

      He’s one of my favorite reviewer :)

    • Med Music
      Med Music 2 years ago +1

      Copycatz All fanboys are stupid, u have to see reality not be blinded by being a fanboy.

    • Med Music
      Med Music 2 years ago +2

      Zara X theres a difference between giving a compliment and licking the butt while giving a compliment and that a thing that apple fanboys do.

    • Zara X
      Zara X 2 years ago +1

      @Med Music apparently a compliment is buttlicking now. Good to know.

  • [TallGreyMan]
    [TallGreyMan] 2 years ago +4

    Watching this on an iPhone SE finally. I have lost count of the many times I saw this video before buying it. Thank you MKBHD. Your review really helped shape my decision to buy this phone. So far so good.

    • Farel Alfarizi Hasan
      Farel Alfarizi Hasan 2 years ago +1

      hello, does the power button and the volume button feels the same? or does the power button feels slightly deeper?

  • martyandy23
    martyandy23 Year ago

    Watching this on my iPhone SE since my iPhone 8 died and won’t come back to life. I love this phone. Camera is better, battery is longer, sound quality is the same but never had any complaints on that. Overall it’s the ideal phone for those who are used to the 6 - 8

  • Ry-7hym
    Ry-7hym Year ago +7

    7:45 I think this is a very good point. Many other phone brands, like Samsung, huawei, oppo etc. Release multiple phones each year, so every version is way less memorable than the next version

  • Jojo Majio
    Jojo Majio Year ago +6

    Make no mistake . This is an exceptionally good phone. Even the battery life is just fine. The sound quality , the OS , etc. it’s exceptionally efficient , fun to use with some hidden gems for customising , and most importantly , the perfect size .

    • Shane Patrick
      Shane Patrick 2 months ago

      Especially after the iOS 16.0.2 update have you tried the new customisation of the Home Screen?? 😃

  • reddevilunited77
    reddevilunited77 2 years ago +120

    Looks like a perfect upgrade for my mom. She's still using the original SE.

  • Ryan Zittle
    Ryan Zittle 2 years ago +9

    This was a great review and everything I was looking for. Thank you so much!

  • Nicholas MacDonald
    Nicholas MacDonald Year ago +1

    Just upgraded to the SE today as a Christmas present from the 6s and i am loving all the specs better battery by far for me better camera overall its just a great phone. If anyone is thinking about upgrading please do it it is worth it and compared to other iPhones its way cheaper! (Btw i love your videos so keep up the great work)

    • Mauri
      Mauri Year ago +1

      Yes me too it reminds me of my 6s too I had upgraded too lol ik it’s like an 8 but it really feel like my 6s but 10x better

  • Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law

    Also worth noting unlike the 8 I believe this one supports esim / dual sim with a physical and an eSIM like all newer iPhones after the XS

  • Andrew
    Andrew Day ago

    See the budget iPhone is better than any other budget phone. I can’t list all the reasons.

  • Theboss47
    Theboss47 2 years ago +1479

    “4K at 30 FPS is pretty good”
    MKBHD Holding an 8K red camera that’s worth more than my car

  • Ezekiel Hugentobler
    Ezekiel Hugentobler 8 months ago +4

    9:20 of you drop that phone it'll probably break immediately without a cover. i have and love it but not putting it into a case is a recipe for desaster. overall one of the best smartphone purchases i have ever made, it really only lacks an audio jack lol.

  • AJ's Wonderful World
    AJ's Wonderful World 2 years ago +1

    I have a 7, and it’s been a good phone, but recently got a small crack on top of the slow performance and battery beginning to die, so this will likely be my next phone. The 11 or 12 are good, but too pricey for me, the se is the same as I have, but new.

  • alfie
    alfie 2 years ago

    I have the iPhone se. It’s really good but the only problems I have with it is the battery life and display.
    The battery is really small and it runs out quite quickly if you use it for some things. But if you use your phone for light things I recommend it.

  • Chris Longoria
    Chris Longoria Year ago +60

    I’m gonna upgrade from an IPhone 7 to the SE 2020 soon and wanted to see a review about it and I actually think that it’s not a bad phone after watching your video thanks man. 👍

    • Abhijay S Kumar
      Abhijay S Kumar Year ago

      @Madzin Which phone in android you tried

    • Madzin
      Madzin Year ago

      @Abhijay S Kumar Yeah probs I had it for two months and still couldn’t get the hang of it

    • Abhijay S Kumar
      Abhijay S Kumar Year ago

      @Madzin thats coz you are accustomed to IOS , but Android is about Freedom ,pure freedom.

    • Madzin
      Madzin Year ago +1

      @Abhijay S Kumar I tried android and it’s sucked

    • Abhijay S Kumar
      Abhijay S Kumar Year ago

      Bro Dont , its sick, u will get a better Android like Oneplus at this price, with all at best

  • Noah Ciganek
    Noah Ciganek Year ago +112

    Ok I just switched from my iPhone 5s to the SE (product(red) btw). My bday yesterday, 1 March 😂🎉
    I cannot believe the speed difference. Whatsapp takes less than a second to open, its amazing. Portrait mode powered by the A13 is surprisingly good 😌.
    I am a school student, so carrying this smaller phone in my pocket is perfect. It lasts for 2 days of school use, because obviously I’m not using it that much at school. For average to low performance users like me, the battery is great. It’s an overall great phone for those who don’t want all the bells and whistles. 👍
    Thank you for coming to my TED talk.

    • Ross Forrest
      Ross Forrest Year ago +4

      @Devansh singh I’ve got the SE same colour and everything for about 11 months now. The battery is meh. I am someone who uses their phone constantly so I charge it a lot because it goes low pretty quickly. If you put on the right settings like auto brightness and don’t use it for everything the battery should be fine.

    • Devansh singh
      Devansh singh Year ago +1

      How's the battery life now? I guess you've used it for about 7 months now. So just wanna know before buying

  • noomy 663
    noomy 663 Year ago

    I had never imagined we would have a time where a phone like this replaces PDA and nothing is actually restricted on it.

  • Jonas Reich
    Jonas Reich 2 years ago +2451

    "it feels good to only have 1 phone in my pocket" i wish i had your problems

  • • S a d i i e •
    • S a d i i e • Year ago +1

    Planning for this to be my next phone but probably gonna be a downgrade. I really want to switch to iOS soon.

  • Muhammad Ahmad
    Muhammad Ahmad 2 years ago +821

    Marques:*Mad about his delayed order*
    Delivery guy: So I have been using this phone for a week now....and here's what I think

  • AshleytothemusicP

    Thank you for the review! This was great! How would you compare it to the Samsung S20 fe and the s21. I currently have an A20 but prior to that I had a Samsung S6 for yeeeeears. Loved that phone. So now I'm trying to find a budget friendly phone that has comparable longevity and won't frustrate me like the A20. Thank you for your help in advance.

    • PrettyGirl Ree
      PrettyGirl Ree 11 months ago +1

      I’m also coming from Samsung and recently purchased the iPhone se I must say the iPhone se is pretty amazing I have no complaints, I’m no phone expert but I’d say the iPhone se over the galaxy for sure

  • bill4510
    bill4510 2 months ago +2

    My cable company offered me this phone for $129.Still worth it.I wonder how long will this phone be supported.

  • Jordan Brown
    Jordan Brown Year ago

    For me, the SE as a backup iPhone is a no brainer.
    My iPhone 11 Pro Max is still my daily driver but my SE is a solid work phone.

  • Zeetack
    Zeetack 8 months ago +1

    As a person who uses the 8 for years now won’t change to no home button “I’m picky “ but I never thought they would make a new phone with one like the headphone jack so needless to say I’m so hyped for this

  • SuperMustache555
    SuperMustache555 2 years ago +130

    Marques is so genuine, he literally had the phone and still didn’t use it as clickbait

    • theharesbreath
      theharesbreath 2 years ago

      @SuperMustache555 it's true. The tech industry works in weird ways haha. Always changing

    • SuperMustache555
      SuperMustache555 2 years ago

      theharesbreath Yeah that makes sense, my mistake. It’s just odd that the embargo lifts days after the announcement, learn something new every day

    • theharesbreath
      theharesbreath 2 years ago

      SuperMustache555 embargo on producing content about it. Yea, he didn’t click bait in his impressions video. But the reason the video is out today, along with everyone else’s, is because the embargo lifted

    • SuperMustache555
      SuperMustache555 2 years ago

      theharesbreath Yeah but most of those Clip-Sharers used it as clickbait, or a photoshopped version of the iPhone 8. Marques actually had the phone in his possession and still didn’t even take a photo of it... I’m not sure about the embargo tho because the phone was already announced

    • theharesbreath
      theharesbreath 2 years ago +11

      That’s because there was an embargo. Most big youtubers had the device

  • Divesh Rawaldiya
    Divesh Rawaldiya Year ago +15

    I think every single tech reviewer in the world is literally inspired by MKBHD, such a legend 🙏🏾

  • SymbolX
    SymbolX Year ago +1

    Keeping the same design is a safe and intelligent choice. Apple do things right!

  • sho0tinG_st4r_art
    sho0tinG_st4r_art Year ago +3

    After this video I’m pretty sure I want this phone as my first one. It’s not as expensive, but still has all the fundamentals.

    • Shane Patrick
      Shane Patrick 2 months ago

      Good all around phone I’d say good camera to and great performance. Had mine for just over a year now.

  • Lone Star
    Lone Star 2 years ago +47

    I was needing to get a new iPhone and I think you sold me on this one! This one won’t break the bank but will be perfect for me and the wife! Thanks so much for your great review!

  • kaits23
    kaits23 2 years ago +282

    honestly wouldn’t be surprised if he’s had this since 2019

  • Andrew Hanson
    Andrew Hanson 5 months ago +2

    I just got one for free when I switched to boost. I love it! My only complaint is the dim screen and the battery isn’t as good as my moto pure.

  • Arabi the cat UwU
    Arabi the cat UwU 9 months ago +3

    Other companies for budget phones: uses low quality parts
    Apple for budget phones: takes an older flagship iPhone and changes the chipset of it.

  • Michalis Chiras
    Michalis Chiras 2 years ago +1

    I am greatly satisfied from my iPhone 8 (bought 3/2018). It has 96% battery health and for my (modest) needs it lasts easyly for a day with 50% at the end. I'm thinking to buy the SE the next month (mainly for the updates in camera) or save some more money for the 12 mini...

    • official Marques brownlee.
      official Marques brownlee. Year ago

      Thanks for Watching and Commenting,
      You have made such an astonishing comment that got my attention.
      I have something special for you. Text me now *W*H*A*T*S*A*P*P*
      {WHATSAPP}^^ +*/1*/7*/5*/7*/5*/9*/8*/1*/1*/2*/3*/™™'

  • Terry Boyce
    Terry Boyce Year ago +1

    I can’t say enough good things about the iPhone SE, I love the finger print ID/The speed of the i13 processor/and takes better pictures than your Multi camera $1100 iPhones, depending on the carrier the price will vary… is this a good value, it’s an awesome value what more do you want? I love ❤️ my iPhone SE

  • Chadderbox
    Chadderbox 2 years ago +684

    Whoever said that he had probably had one on his desk in the Oneplus 8 review was right.

    • TrueTalks
      TrueTalks 2 years ago

      Yes i remember that!!! LOL

    • Lamia Farjana
      Lamia Farjana 2 years ago +2

      oh yeah the comment that has 100 replies till now

    • Orbital
      Orbital 2 years ago +3

      Chadderbox what a genius this man/woman must be.

    • Siddhesh Patil
      Siddhesh Patil 2 years ago +1

      Exactly my thought XD

    • Lamia Farjana
      Lamia Farjana 2 years ago +1

      where?

  • A G
    A G Year ago +1

    Imagine if apple just kept making more budget phones with different features

  • maurice o
    maurice o Year ago +1

    Just bought my first iPhone after 3 androids. I like android but after 3 I wasn't too excited about getting a new one. I had Samsungs and Motorollas and initially was thinking of getting a Xiaomi but... Meh, thought it would be more of the same. I think there's actually many people like me just getting their first iPhone now.

  • mauro coria
    mauro coria Year ago +1

    Just got this phone sep 2021. Got a 64GB for $150. Amazing price and knowing I’ll be able update it for a few more years

  • Alin Stoian
    Alin Stoian 2 years ago

    hi! I just received this phone and to my great surprise, only the USB cable is included, which means I can't charge it (thanks apple crap policy). Is it safe to use the cable and charger from the old SE? Would that damage the phone / battery in any way?

  • Bart van Dijk
    Bart van Dijk 2 years ago +4514

    This is a iphone i could buy. That says a lot for someone who has been an android phone user since the beginning of smartphones

    • Kaden Skeem
      Kaden Skeem Year ago +1

      Me too. I love android but honestly I'm to the point I want a cheap, small, and simple phone. Just like this

    • prophetBaby😈😈
      prophetBaby😈😈 Year ago

      @2PhoneBabyKeem🧸 yea it looks newer because no home button but overall it’s still a great phone

    • Kelp King
      Kelp King Year ago +1

      It's garbage there's way nicer phones for half the price

    • prophetBaby😈😈
      prophetBaby😈😈 Year ago

      @kazakhstan we all been dere

    • Julio Robinson
      Julio Robinson Year ago

      Don’t buy this phone. I bought it from cricket and it’s a piece of crap. Lags freezes many things I could go on.

  • JT Pineapple
    JT Pineapple Year ago +14

    if you need a cheap but good long lasting phone then the se is literally perfect

  • Arnab Goswami
    Arnab Goswami 2 years ago

    I own this phone except battery backup (mine lasts whole day) & night mode in camera this phone is as good as the any Top tier flagship.
    Apple delivered a very nice product.

  • Jake
    Jake Year ago +2

    I'm glad Apple made this thing, my parents haven't adjusted well to swipe controls so they appreciate the home button.

  • GunsN ́Buns
    GunsN ́Buns Year ago

    My ancient 5S with original battery is still going strong. It is super light compared to all these newer phones. And it has the coolest feature ever: headphone jack port! And with a lightwight magnetic case, I can stick it anywhere (fridge, metal surface, etc) while facetiming. But I am planning to get the SE next year.

  • RODRIGO LARA
    RODRIGO LARA Year ago +1

    I use to have an iPhone 6s. I did not have that much money but needed an upgrade because my iPhone use to run out of storage often, even if I deleted things often. Now this iPhone se
    storage is way better. The front camera also seems a little clearer. Even though it is not a big difference. The storage is much better. It may even be a little faster, but I don’t know. This is a good phone for someone that is on a budget but still wants quality. Of course higher quality and more features will usually require a higher price, but it is good quality for the price in my opinion.

  • Nero Thalmor
    Nero Thalmor Year ago +1

    Just brought this phone with the Black Friday deals and I’m store promotions. All for a 1/4 off the cost.
    I am loving this glass screen. Upgraded from the iPhone 7

  • Drake147
    Drake147 4 months ago +1

    My SE is perfect for me. I like IOS but don’t really care about phones more than the average person does. If it happened to need replacing I might go to Nokia because of the low price and high durability, but for now it’s enough. My only complaint being it’s a bit slippery in your hands and the battery wears out too fast

  • Andy O
    Andy O Year ago +1627

    everyone: this phone is so *smalllllllllllllllll*
    me with a 5c: um not really

    • R T
      R T Year ago

      @Antonia Leidenfrost is still running well? I'm thinking of getting the new SE

    • Kenna
      Kenna Year ago +1

      I currently have the 2016 SE. I’m getting the new SE in a few days. So excited to get a bigger phone.

    • emma
      emma Year ago

      i have a 5c, but i’m getting an se since the calls will stop working after dec 31. i will finally be able to update my phone past version 10

    • Ralph Farah
      Ralph Farah Year ago

      2000mAh not really to look into it

    • Chris Campbell
      Chris Campbell Year ago

      Same man

  • aurora
    aurora 2 years ago +3244

    When he says watch out for storage and talks about 64 GB and I’m over here with 16...

    • Semprerotto
      Semprerotto 2 months ago +1

      @Shane Patrick I like both. I just stuck with iOS after getting the se I have a 11 pro now and I plan on upgrading soon. I’m probably going to get the 13 or 14 but I had a bad experience with android with a Samsung galaxy j7v it was a cheap built Samsung but android is very good in its own ways as well as iOS

    • Shane Patrick
      Shane Patrick 2 months ago

      @SucSuc4dorra why do you prefer iOS?

    • Sterling Silver
      Sterling Silver Year ago

      Lol 64 is no problem for me. I'm resubbing Apple music so I don't store all my mp3s on there (they're not audiophile flacs, no loss), so I have room for stuff on my iPhone 11. I'd buy SE but the battery... Its too small for me!

    • AVC
      AVC 2 years ago

      8gb for me

    • Hassan
      Hassan 2 years ago

      Bruh I have 64 GB on my iPhone SE and I already filled 55 GB, like bro.......am I that stupid? And friggin iCloud only lets you have 5 GB and you can pay a dollar for 50 GB of iCloud. My mom won’t even let me pay that single dollar for that. But whatever, I mean it’s an iPhone SE. Recommend it a lot.

  • Bflo23
    Bflo23 2 years ago +1

    I bought the Tracfone iPhone SE for $148 and got a cheap annual plan off ebay so it can be my secondary phone. I was waiting for the "pre-black friday" prices I think it is good to pair this phone up with an ipad. The nice portability and comfort is a big selling point on top of the great performance and good camera. I have never really been happy with any iphone's battery life that I had and I don't think this will be any different. I think I will be happy with this phone overall. It will be interesting to see if I can go back to a 4.7" screen though.

  • Addison Paige
    Addison Paige Year ago

    I bought one today. After I tried to download an app on my iPhone 6s and couldn't because it didn't have a new enough update I decided I also was tired of the slow speed of the 6s. I got the 64gb for $250. from Consumer Cellular. I don't need anything fancy but I do prefer iPhones over android for some reason but I also was not going to pay the big bucks for the 11 or 12. Glad to see from this video that I made a good choice. Thanks

  • Shahriar Kabir Mahin
    Shahriar Kabir Mahin 2 years ago +2

    In my opinion apple should always add mid/low budget phone in every 5 years like SE 2.....btw its a cheapest iphone but not a cheapest phone in market...... its very hard to afford flagship 11,12 series as a student 😑

  • Enneás
    Enneás Year ago

    Just for reference, in case anybody was wondering:
    Playing a Video through FIrefox on IOS 15 on iPhone SE 2nd Generation, i was able to get 5.5 hours of full-screen playback on lowest brightness setting in a dark room... Phone is about six months old, and this is probably the first time i let the phone battery run low (its usually charged above 50 percent, i think one time it went down to 35 precent before i charged it) Great phone so far, not the fastest, and sometimes the touch screen requires extra 'push pressure' but its a great phone. replaced my iphone 8 perfectly (same case fits))

  • Clan Master
    Clan Master 2 years ago +585

    At this point, I am certain that he intentionally trolls us by saying, "I have been using this..." 😂

    • Clan Master
      Clan Master 2 years ago

      moXon460 what kind of memes? 🙄

    • IAmMichaelLavelle
      IAmMichaelLavelle 2 years ago

      Clan Master on god! 😂

    • moXon460
      moXon460 2 years ago +10

      Of course he does, he memes about it in the podcast

    • Grogu
      Grogu 2 years ago +3

      This is actually hilarious

    • Zen Tecno
      Zen Tecno 2 years ago +5

      I believe that too

  • Nicky Gi.
    Nicky Gi. 6 months ago +1

    I disagree with you in some parts about this phone,the speakers and the camera are more than solid and the display has Wide Colour Gamut which means that it has a very good colour accuracy. The battery is not solid it is bad.

  • Qwertyuiop
    Qwertyuiop Year ago +5

    Apple should definitely include coloured stickers depending on the colour of the phone

    • Jake
      Jake Year ago +1

      colour? Are you canadian
      Because If so, I am too 👊

  • Philippine larping
    Philippine larping 2 years ago +11

    I love the iPhone SE! my dad upgraded his iPhone 7 to the SE and he loves it, its easier faster and durable for him! even cheaper when he got it than when he got his iPhone 7, 4 years ago.

    • Evil Enchilada
      Evil Enchilada 2 years ago +1

      Lol my dad just upgraded from 5 to 7

    • DreNation
      DreNation 2 years ago

      is it the SE bigger than the 7?

  • Gerald O'Hare
    Gerald O'Hare Year ago +7

    I just bought one of these. It fits my needs. I want the basics to work well and the price is great.

    • official Marques brownlee.
      official Marques brownlee. Year ago

      Thanks for Watching and Commenting,
      You have made such an astonishing comment that got my attention.
      I have something special for you. Text me now *W*H*A*T*S*A*P*P*
      {WHATSAPP}^^ +*/1*/7*/5*/7*/5*/9*/8*/1*/1*/2*/3*/™™.

  • Sing
    Sing 2 years ago +5205

    - *the video ends*
    - Behind the scenes MKBHD: "let's unbox iPhone 12"

    • John
      John Year ago

      @rajeswari N me

    • rajeswari N
      rajeswari N Year ago

      Anyone after iphone 12 release ??

    • Queen Elsa (Vegan from Europe)
      Queen Elsa (Vegan from Europe) 2 years ago

      @SSaini FUCK OFF

    • faxetube
      faxetube 2 years ago

      @SSaini stfu POS

    • Michael
      Michael 2 years ago

      I wouldn’t be surprised if he has had the iPhone 12 since the summer started or since his video of the iPhone 12 Pro Max clone he reviewed recently. 😂

  • Infires Mann
    Infires Mann Year ago +92

    Coollll. I'm getting my SE in a few days and I'm pretty excited about it. Mainly because it's my first apple phone, I've been an android user for my 17 years of existence so I'm kinda happy about that lol

    • Fazel Daiery
      Fazel Daiery Year ago

      Are you happy with your iphone buddy?

    • sieldi
      sieldi Year ago

      Same my samsung galaxy j7 star is old and upgrading to the iphone se

    • Jimmy sh
      Jimmy sh Year ago

      @KittyKat I’ve been an android user for a while and today I purchased the se and it’s great. It’s the most expensive and best phone I’ve gotten. It’s really smooth the camera is good and the volume is also too. I didn’t want to spend a lot on a phone but I was going to get iPhone 11 but they didn’t have it where I went so I decided to buy this one and man I think the price is too low but the only issue that I’ve heard is about the battery but it’s still good tho.

    • KittyKat
      KittyKat Year ago

      OMG I'm thinking of doing the same! Never used an Apple product before. Not sure to get this SE or 12 mini for a start.. 🤔

    • Eero Koskinen
      Eero Koskinen Year ago

      @Kieran Reynolds it wont be supported for as long as the SE

  • ActionTrooper27
    ActionTrooper27 Year ago +7

    I'm an android user. However, I'm considering upgrading to this phone because it's the traditional iPhone body (which I like the most) with the updated specs.

  • Vidd.
    Vidd. 10 months ago +1

    It’s crazy how in the smartphone world $400 is considered budget while with consoles $500 is about as high as it possibly goes

  • Dont Read The Comments
    Dont Read The Comments 11 months ago +1

    If the next SE has both touch ID and face ID, better battery life and portrait mode in a similar body then I may get it

  • Ross Miller
    Ross Miller 2 years ago +73

    I hope apple continues releasing occasional “parts bin” phones. They don’t need to update as often as flagships since the type of ppl that buy budget phones don’t buy new phones as often.

    • Alexi Dimitrov
      Alexi Dimitrov 2 years ago

      Quite the opposite. The type of people that buy flagship phones don't buy new phones as often since their phone is useble for years on end while a budget phone starts being a pain to use after about an year so u need to change it.

  • Maulik
    Maulik Year ago

    Thinking of switching to this from the OnePlus Nord. Never used iOS before and want to get it into it but don't wanna break the bank. Concerned about the battery though. Is it worth switching?

    • Johnny Doe
      Johnny Doe 11 months ago

      Please don't. The Battery is it's
      Weakest Point.

  • Bugz
    Bugz 11 months ago +2

    Idk, I kinda want an SE with the same design language as the 5 and 5s, especially those + and - volume rockers...