Tap to unmute

iPhone 14 Pro Review: This Will Be Copied!

Share
Embed

Comments • 18 509

  • Mubin Noor
    Mubin Noor 2 months ago +14869

    LG has made significant contributions to the things we've normalized today like a dedicated wide-angle camera, double tap to wake or sleep and now the shortcuts bar. Kinda miss having LG as a flagship competitor.

    • crackedKing
      crackedKing 13 days ago

      HTC was a big contributor as well. Complex beautiful phones

    • Random Click
      Random Click 27 days ago

      Lg G series always known for video recording.

    • Pranav Sharma
      Pranav Sharma Month ago

      Don’t forget “LG Optimus 3D “ a 3Dscreen phone with 3D video and pictures shoot, which can be played back not only phone itself but also on 3D TVs for your own memories come to life , I think that was too early for some people to play with around 2010

    • dumm005
      dumm005 Month ago

      Yessss! This! Their V series was amazing and was lightyears ahead! Apple and Samsung are just better in marketing which the mass consumers fall for 💔

    • CJ Henline
      CJ Henline Month ago

      LG was the Nintendo of the telecom world. Incredibly innovative, but always behind the curve on the standards for mass-market consumption. I'd love to have LG back, but they'd need to actually maintain updates in a timely manner, and match other qualities of competition along the way. Continue to innovative, but don't allow yourself to be a gimmick.

  • Raymond DeVries
    Raymond DeVries 2 months ago +458

    As an avid mountaineer the satellite communication is groundbreaking. Maybe for some that feature seems like something you would never use, but I spend almost every weekend out of cell service. The ability to keep family updated with my location quickly and easily and have the ability to call for rescue is an absolute insane feature for me 😄

    • Cyan_Oxy
      Cyan_Oxy 26 days ago +2

      If you're regularly outside of cell service and you're having such thoughs then don't buy the iphone but just buy a normal satellite phone to keep around. They have these hughe antennas for a reason and are probably a worthwhile investment for people like you

    • Nikolai Bardin-Siekawitch
      Nikolai Bardin-Siekawitch 2 months ago +3

      They gave everybody 2 years free and then you’ll have to pay a subscription to call 911 from the wilderness.

    • B******_ M******
      B******_ M****** 2 months ago +2

      Tmobile will have this service for thier customers as well using skylink.

    • Itsaperiona Sentinel
      Itsaperiona Sentinel 2 months ago +14

      @Jackie Florendo turns out you get 2 years for free then you have to pay a subscription after that

    • Jackie Florendo
      Jackie Florendo 2 months ago +12

      Regardless if you can text family or not but the fact that you don’t feel like your going to die in the middle of nowhere is a great relief. I don’t even do outdoor things but from watching all those horror films 😂 about getting lost and having to cut your arm or getting lost in nature! 😢 or even getting stranded in the middle of the ocean! Imagine titanic passengers having iphones that couldve sent sos to responders!

  • Steve Kannan
    Steve Kannan 2 months ago +1352

    Never been a fan of apple, I just switched to an iPhone about a year ago after airtag was out. Got my self smartwallet to put it in. The amount of times it saved me from shouting "Where is my wallet"??? One of the best invention out there.

    • Frisky _ Dart
      Frisky _ Dart 11 days ago

      This comment is so facts

    • ctwilli09
      ctwilli09 18 days ago

      @AverageGuyDude I don't know what you mean. The airtag lasts a year which is pretty bad compared to the Tile Mate, Tile Slim, and Tile Sticker which have 3 years of battery life. Tile trackers have better battery life than the airtag. Also you can track a Tile much the same way as an airtag. You can put your Tile into lost mode from the app. Which allows phones with the Tile app installed to check for marked lost Tiles in the area and report the location of Tiles that have been marked lost. Exactly the same as the airtags system but it works across iOS and Android.
      The only downside is that the battery is not replaceable. But in my experience as someone who lives in a household with both IOS and Android devices the Tile seems to work better than the airtag (and yes I have used both). Especially when you leave something further away from other devices.

    • Midnightwolf313
      Midnightwolf313 20 days ago

      Listen @Jon Jones it's a Clip-Share comment section we can argue about whatever we wish to so get off that high horse of yours. And of course you are not going to look for the Airtag fist you would look for the Phone first but if you can't find it and you know you have an Airtag on it chances are that if you have one Apple product you probably have another so you can use that to find the phone.

    • Jon Jones
      Jon Jones 21 day ago

      First of all if you lose your’e phone you’re not gonna be looking for a damn AirTag but your actual phone first. Air tag is just 29 bucks. And second how they work is it uses every iPhone in the world as a tower to pin point you to the point of interest as accurately as possible and third, you guys are just arguing about useless matters🤦🏾‍♂️

    • Midnightwolf313
      Midnightwolf313 26 days ago

      @Ggg Gggg Simply put. You’re irresponsible and should not have a phone at all. I do hope you don’t think Android can do it because it can’t stop making stupidly extreme scenarios that will happen to 1% of the human population. AirTags are meant to find general items like your backpack, purse, etc not meant to find your phone (obviously you can still use it for that) anyways stop making dumb stories in your head you told someone that they have nothing else to say but all you’re doing is making up extreme examples that will almost never happen.

  • Rick Rodriguez
    Rick Rodriguez 28 days ago +30

    You've become my favorite phone reviewer.
    Aside from this, I just upgraded from my 12 Pro Max to the 14 Max, and I love it.
    The Dynamic Island is fun! and definitely the camera feels even better.. I've been taking more pictures than I've ever had lol
    Thanks for a great review! :D

  • JLF
    JLF 20 days ago +11

    With the dynamic island - I'm wondering if the 'touch' will interfere with the physical sensors / cameras? The complete omission of updates to Siri continues to surprise me. Great review overall Markus - you make awesome content.

    • Bryton Peter
      Bryton Peter 16 days ago

      no it wont interfere with the physical sensors/ camera

  • Lens
    Lens 2 months ago +27332

    I honestly think the Dynamic Island is just another one of the small marketing schemes that apple does that works so well. Even though there is still a notch, this new feature made it look new for most people.

  • Xion Pentagast
    Xion Pentagast 2 months ago +15

    Dynamic island is a pretty smart solution for the notch, and allows ios a level of multitasking that is often taken for granted on Android. It makes even less sense on MacBooks but that's where this is going. If anyone remembers clippy or bonzybuddy they were interactive gui elements this is exactly that minus the annoyance.

  • noble o
    noble o Month ago +1

    I did think of LG’s double screens but at the same time the dynamic island is still different. We’ve never had a marriage of software and hardware quite in this way, especially considering that this is just a combination of screen cutouts and cameras, there’s no actual screen. So I still think it’s innovative on Apple’s part.

  • Izzy May IS ready
    Izzy May IS ready  2 months ago +12

    Love the LG mention. It’s a shame that they were so slow with updates, because their hardware was always great and innovative. Thinking that they might not release a new phone ever again… I’m actually planning to buy some of them just for “collector” purposes

  • Adam Eisan
    Adam Eisan 24 days ago +6

    The satellite connectivity is not just for emergency cases. I'm looking forward to testing it out. I do a lot of hiking and often times will be without cellular signal for days. I have a Garmin inReach mini that I have to pay a service fee for that lets me send texts via satellite and also send SOS in case of an actual emergency. Thankfully I have never had to send the SOS, but the ability to update my wife and family each night that I'm OK, or if we get off schedule, etc. and send a GPS location to show we are on track is priceless and provides peace of mind. Can't wait too see if this new iPhone feature can replace the need to bring an inReach along.

  • Linwood Arrington
    Linwood Arrington 2 months ago +2981

    Glad you gave LG its props. LG definitely contributed a lot of creative ways we use our smart phones! 🙌🏾

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • star-bangled spanner
      star-bangled spanner 2 months ago

      @Pacificus Veteris iPhone was not the first smart phone lol. LG literally released a touch screen iPhone in 2006. The iPhone came out in 2007

    • star-bangled spanner
      star-bangled spanner 2 months ago

      LG came out with a touch screen smart phone the year before the iPhone

    • JosephTheFirst1
      JosephTheFirst1 2 months ago +2

      .

    • Viral Brick
      Viral Brick 2 months ago

      Dont Translate this😡
      Եթե ​​թարգմանես սա, անիծված ես, անեծքը վերացնելու միակ միջոցը իմ ալիքին հետևելն է

  • ・your non favorite person 👍・

    Love the LG mention. It’s a shame that they were so slow with updates, because their hardware was always great and innovative. Thinking that they might not release a new phone ever again… I’m actually planning to buy some of them just for “collector” purposes

  • LBlush
    LBlush Month ago +3

    Always very nice review and providing explanations in simple terms for the less techies out here. Thank you.

  • Allan In Space
    Allan In Space Month ago

    With regards to the new phones brightness, would using Accessibility - Zoom and changing the filter to Low Light work to save battery, because the screen is way dimmer? or use more battery, because you're dimming it through a secondary means.

  • SooSirius
    SooSirius 2 months ago +2

    I had an LG V10 and absolutely loved that phone and the second screen. It didn't do a whole lot in retrospect, but it felt nice to have.

  • Nav Subedi
    Nav Subedi 2 months ago +2158

    It's amazing how some features like 'Car crash detection' seems so simple for people but I think this might have made the engineers and designers scratch their head to make it precise.

    • Tyler Schmidt
      Tyler Schmidt Month ago

      @smartalic5 idk if you've heard but supposedly tons of iPhones are calling 911 mid-ride. You called it about 2 weeks early lol

    • Ry Hol
      Ry Hol 2 months ago

      Cars have been doing this automatically for a decade at least. Likely not that challenging

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • star-bangled spanner
      star-bangled spanner 2 months ago +3

      @Casper Sørensen lol if you hadn't read that comment you would have assumed apple invented it. Apple doesn't always do things better (look at their front facing camera "notch" (read: big block eating into your screen) compared to the hole punch on the pixels, Samsung's etc..
      Apple is actually planning on introducing the hole punch for the iPhone 15 and every fan boy will think they invented it hahaha

    • star-bangled spanner
      star-bangled spanner 2 months ago

      What? The technology has been around for years.

  • Nex
    Nex 26 days ago +9

    A few years ago I made the decision of switching phones every 3-5 years (depends) and always going for the largest storage option available.. No regrets yet.

    • Donnie Darko
      Donnie Darko 25 days ago +1

      I’m still on the 8plus & there’s nothing that I’ve wished it had except a better battery life (bc mine is at 75% max capacity vs original capacity) & I recently cracked the screen after daily use since launch. So now I’m on the fence, upgrade to 14 pro, fix the screen/replace battery on my 8plus, or just get something like the 13 since it’s cheaper than the newest model. Don’t take/edit pics or vids & I legitimately only use social media apps, iMessage & what’s app.

  • Quanta Solace
    Quanta Solace 2 months ago +29

    I just upgraded from my 12 Pro Max. The Dynamic Island sold it for me. Good on Apple for making the notch useful. I picked up the new purple. It looks a lot better in person and better than the lavender. I’m throwing a case on it anyways so it’s not a big deal what color I got. The Crash Detection was another thing that sold me on this phone. I hope I’ll never have to use it but I’m glad I have it since I don’t have OnStar.

    • Cyan_Oxy
      Cyan_Oxy 26 days ago

      Have fun getting on a rollercoaster and your phone calling the police on you

    • Quanta Solace
      Quanta Solace Month ago

      @Mitchell Valentin The 16.1 update must have fixed something. I noticed an improvement in battery life. At the end of the day, I’m now left with 70-75% battery life with AOD on.

    • Iron Man
      Iron Man Month ago +1

      I got black

    • Quanta Solace
      Quanta Solace Month ago

      @Mitchell Valentin I have it and love it. Every now and then will see a battery drain. Lately, even with AOD on, I’m at 40 or 30 at the end of the day. 50 with AOD off. Dynamic Island is a nice addition if you listen to music, podcasts, and are on the phone a lot.

    • Mitchell Valentin
      Mitchell Valentin Month ago

      @Quanta Solace I was also thinking about upgrading from my 12 PM. Honestly because I just like how the 14 PM looks. Did you receive your phone yet? Do you like it?

  • Michal Brat
    Michal Brat 2 months ago +18

    I dont hate the Dynamic Island. However, I think Samsungs OneUI approach that tries to put as many controls as possible under your thumb makes more sense. I dont like having to use both hands or do an awkward gesture across the whole display just to switch something.

    • Planefan 08
      Planefan 08 2 months ago +3

      Exactly. I don't think that moving everything to the very top on progressively larger displays is a good move, unless they're trying to get you to use both hands all the time

  • Unknown Astroid _
    Unknown Astroid _ 2 months ago +2

    The car crash feature and emergency sos system is incredible. I got the 13 pro max now and as a DoorDasher this is amazing feature too hear. Upgrading next week to the 14 pro red or new color, have 13 pro max for a year now really exited for this one

  • Joe
    Joe 2 months ago +1357

    I really hope the dynamic island isn't copied! We've spent the last few years making selfie camera close to invisible with small holepunch cameras, and I'd hate to have a massive chunk of my screen taken up by a floating widget just because Apple did it.

    • Bayu Irsan
      Bayu Irsan 12 days ago

      @Startingbark035 all phones in the market that using the under display camera like zte, samsung did turn off the screen, but the image still crap because the glass is technically not clear anymore. I guess we still far away to get clear photo with this tech

    • Startingbark035
      Startingbark035 12 days ago

      @Adam if im right thats a feature you can turn on on both androids and iPhones

    • Adam
      Adam 12 days ago

      @Startingbark035 beta tester

    • Startingbark035
      Startingbark035 12 days ago

      @Adam youre living under a enormous boulder if you think modern androids are poorly optimized

    • Adam
      Adam 13 days ago

      @Startingbark035 I'm take polish and UX over beta testing Andriod trash

  • Kunal Rajda
    Kunal Rajda Month ago

    Excellent as it gets from you on these reviews as always! Thanks MB!!

  • Jonathan
    Jonathan Month ago +1

    I’ve had an iPhone X for about 4.5 years and had to make the upgrade, I love it so far after a few days and think the camera and screen quality have been huge upgrades

  • kevin stonerock
    kevin stonerock 2 months ago +1

    Based on tech notes out there they believed that Apple was going to incorporate a Wi-Fi 6E version. With previous versions the data rates were less than half of the 6E. Because of how it operates there’s a better chance to download data successfully. With the somewhat faster A16 chip, 1 TB storage, and what I thought would be the 6E Wi-Fi which is what Samsung ultra models currently have I was ready to upgrade. After learning it wasn’t in there, everything went full stop. I’ve got the same 6ax Wi-Fi in my iPhone 11 so I guess I’ll have to either get a Samsung or hope the 15 has it included.

    • Perinne
      Perinne 2 months ago

      kevin I suggest watch a 13 part series called _What on earth happened_ by Ewaranon to learn that the earth is not a globe. Link in my about tab.

  • rukahs
    rukahs 2 months ago +4

    With 10 years of android phones - Im tempted to try Apple again, first time since iPhone 1 -Should i try the iPhone 14 pro max or wait for next year 15 ? Or will it be similar to the 14 pro max ?

  • Inadover
    Inadover 2 months ago +838

    Love the LG mention. It’s a shame that they were so slow with updates, because their hardware was always great and innovative. Thinking that they might not release a new phone ever again… I’m actually planning to buy some of them just for “collector” purposes

    • USMCKoontz
      USMCKoontz 2 months ago

      @Ivan Richard Samsung makes the IPhone Displays not LG

    • Casswash Wash
      Casswash Wash 2 months ago

      @Johnny Chin i have one. I like it a lot. Only issues is the full screen is not as great because the screen is small so vids are more cropped. But i still love it.

    • Houssam Alucad
      Houssam Alucad 2 months ago +1

      Planning to get a V20 just for collection purposes, and a V30 as an android development phone because I love them both so much

    • skinnynotsoskinny
      skinnynotsoskinny 2 months ago +1

      @Damian Cruz I agree! I miss that phone.

    • I_am_O_O
      I_am_O_O 2 months ago +1

      I loved their phones and their amazing audio DAC & even software options

  • Jonathan Sanders
    Jonathan Sanders 2 months ago +3

    Satellite connectivity is actually a really cool feature. Namely for those who explore the outdoors, camping/hiking, skiing/biking etc. numerous times you’re without service and IF something should happen a little more piece of mind is nice.

  • Ben Weeks
    Ben Weeks Month ago +1

    Your explanations and reviews are really on point man, love the delivery.

  • TOPP3R1993
    TOPP3R1993 2 months ago +4

    What bugs me is that these animations would be easily implemented in the old iPhones up to the X as well. A bit poor that apple has to do this to make the phone feel somewhat new this year…

  • H5-Phil
    H5-Phil 2 months ago +2

    Question for you and/or your readers. Does the 14 Pro allow you to label a timer?
    Currently with the Apple watch 7 you can set a timer and easily add a name to that timer. Example; hey Siri set a timer for 45 minutes to pick up the mail. The timer displays "pick up the mail" throughout the countdown and when it alerts you. I'm using an 11 pro (soon 14 pro) and it does not let me label a custom timer.
    Thanks for your outstanding review of the 14 Pro...

  • Andrew Ahigian
    Andrew Ahigian 2 months ago +715

    Continuously impressed by the production quality standard you and your team hold yourselves to. Seriously the best tech channel on Clip-Share.

    • Rome The Revenant
      Rome The Revenant 2 months ago

      @Drew Kavi true

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality But I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

    • Fantasytky
      Fantasytky 2 months ago

      @Nishant Prakash blocking the display area even further compared to the notch that was just working fine. Especially during watching video.v

    • Nishant Prakash
      Nishant Prakash 2 months ago

      @Fantasytky please open my eyes.
      What's so bad about this phone, mkbhd missed

    • Fantasytky
      Fantasytky 2 months ago

      @Nishant Prakash shure. Like you would even know how bad the phone would look when watching video on the pills which is avoided in two of his videos. Sure you get more knowledges but only the good things, all the bad things are avoided

  • Synapse
    Synapse Month ago +3

    I remember the first video I watched of Marques had this song”disarm” as the background intro. It just feels so nostalgic listening and watching this intro, Marques have been very loyal to this song. Also the birds chirping sound when the focus shifts on the “dynamic island” is just too perfect. What an amazing team to put in so much effort to provide quality content. 😊

  • Edymark On The Go
    Edymark On The Go 2 months ago +1

    Look forward for an iphone with horizontal leveling and 4k action mode stabilization. This could be a game changer.

  • grzymsiu
    grzymsiu 2 months ago

    Tbh i know that they wanted to make its look different, but it grabs even more screen estate from usability, because that thin stripe above is pretty much useless for displaying anything and the software features could be easily adopted to notch also(which they ofc won't do).

  • JPTrey
    JPTrey 2 months ago +1

    For anyone curious about the battery life costs of using Always-On Display: ~0.7% extra per hour, and it disables in your pocket, upside down, and during Sleep hours.

  • Ethen Jordan
    Ethen Jordan 2 months ago +2303

    i like how they made IOS 16, more "one hand friendly" on the lock screen. Moving notifications to the bottom. But then make EVERYTHING go to the very top so its almost impossible to one hand it because of this "dynamic Island". However i like the implementation and idea.

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • dj vt
      dj vt 2 months ago

      Maybe it’s a reminder of “always reach for the top”😂😅

    • Down Them
      Down Them 2 months ago

      @Jaime Sotelo so true!

    • Down Them
      Down Them 2 months ago

      @Ellie your Apple fetish is the worst take I've seen.

    • Anilu
      Anilu 2 months ago

      In iOS 16.1 beta it’s available with reachability mode

  • Spinks345
    Spinks345 2 months ago +6

    MKBHD shows why he’s the king again, by being the only interviewer to explain what dynamic island is, and not just what it does.

  • TechStuff
    TechStuff 14 days ago +1

    Feels good to watch this on a 14 pro. 10/10 recommended, upgraded from a X 👍🏼

  • total overdose
    total overdose 2 months ago +2

    After 12 years of Android it's time to make the change
    reason: OS and security features
    Great review!!!

    • Perinne
      Perinne 2 months ago

      total I suggest watch a 13 part series called _What on earth happened_ by Ewaranon to learn that the earth is not a globe. Link in my about tab.

  • Michael Duran
    Michael Duran Month ago

    Pro tip that I'm surprised more reviewers don't talk about. Turn your phone to dark mode. Turns the OS mostly black instead of mostly white. OLED screen means those pixels aren't using any power. Boom overcompensation for the always on display. My 14 pro max lasts 2 days with average usage and I literally have to try my best to kill it in one day with extreme usage and pretty high brightness.

  • Liron
    Liron 2 months ago +451

    Real question, how annoying are all the fingerprints on the selfie camera from all the times you touch it when interacting with the island?

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • star-bangled spanner
      star-bangled spanner 2 months ago

      @Dothraki it's for facial recognition too

    • Down Them
      Down Them 2 months ago

      Oh definitely and another question, how ergonomic is it to use the top part of your screen constantly. And how "new" is a punchout thats the size of my finger. Overrated nonsense!

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality But I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

    • rockzdaddy
      rockzdaddy 2 months ago

      @Dothraki leave him alone, probably he is or even better, she is 14 and they do selfies 24/7. ;)

  • Sony George Thomas
    Sony George Thomas Month ago

    All these subtle changes Apple brings every year can be seen in older versions of Android. The Dynamic Island is more of a marketing gimmick. And these small improvements in CPU hardly matter to regular iPhone users unless they are into heavy gaming or cinematography.

  • STKPYL
    STKPYL 2 months ago +3

    I was disappointed there was no new iteration of TouchID. There were rumours of it being built into the screen. I would have been happy with something like the iPad TouchID button on the side.

  • Ryan K.
    Ryan K. 2 months ago +2

    Hey Marques: are there any updates as to when the Belkin iPhone mount will be available? I really wanna get that mount ASAP so that I can use it as my MacBook Pro’s webcam once MacOS Ventura’s finally released plus I’d also imagine that it’d also make a great additional accessory for the new iPhone 14 lineup too!

  • Chloe Cali
    Chloe Cali 2 months ago +1

    I prefer clean beautiful display without a notch. Most newer phones are moving away from the notch already. I think the notch is distracting. Now the dynamic notch is even a more distraction to the display. This feature might be useful and copied but it can be done without using the notch. Such as on the side like Samsung navigation bar and it can be hidden or disabled. This is like put a lot of makeup over the notch. Seems like people are more excited about new features than the beauty of the display.

  • Ryan Soltani
    Ryan Soltani 2 months ago +724

    LG was an extremely innovative company when it came to phones, trying new things all the time and having other phones adopt what it has done proves that, sad that they no longer make phones

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

    • 669
      669 2 months ago

      @German Henry blaming it on americans as usual

    • Mask Girl - Try ON Haul
      Mask Girl - Try ON Haul 2 months ago

      It is a pity that LG does not make a cell phone.

    • Fantasytky
      Fantasytky 2 months ago

      @David Floro part of LG death was thanks to his statement to LG as "master of none".

  • Shantanu Chaudhary
    Shantanu Chaudhary Month ago +2

    Man i always love the honest opinion in the end whether we should upgrade it to or not, nice way to end a fantastic review.

  • SharkTheBear
    SharkTheBear Month ago

    That intro was absolutely insane! Apple should hire you to make their commercials

  • The Wraithe
    The Wraithe 2 months ago

    The iPhone 14 Pro is great, but it’s being slowly overshadowed by an apparent avalanche of iOS 16 bugs: camera noises, activation issues for FaceTime and iMessage, and eSIM problems. Wouldn’t be shocked if we get a rather rapid iOS 16 update this week. Mkbhd won't mention these though, everything apple is perfect in his world.

  • Chrissie Blossom
    Chrissie Blossom 2 months ago +29

    When I used the iPhone 14 pro on a shop display unit, the dynamic island felt instantly intuitive and really well tuned

  • BonusDuckmann
    BonusDuckmann 2 months ago +841

    I used to own an LG G4 as a middle schooler, and no matter how many impressive phones I see, I just can't get over how ahead of its time that phone was. Couple features that have since been introduced to iPhones are the back of the phone taps, front screen tap to wake up, always on display, default weather animations, and the "dynamic island." and absolutely AMAZING camera quality as well. Honestly as a South Korean myself, kinda bummed that my childhood smartphone is never coming back.

    • DoNot Need
      DoNot Need 2 months ago

      @LegacyGMR, I'm not a fan of their current UI and I've read where I'm not the only one.

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • DoNot Need
      DoNot Need 2 months ago

      LG through the years had been my favorite cellphone brand. I've tried Samsung, HTC, Umidigi, Motorola, Nokia Windows but kept going back to LG. There are features in the UI that I just love. Samsung and LG taught me about home screen looping but my Nokia Windows phone was the first smartphone I had with Dark Mode. Samsung AND LG had Dark Mode when other brands didn't.

    • LegacyGMR
      LegacyGMR 2 months ago +1

      @Lalnuntluanga Chhakchhuak well our chargers will still work with New phones that release lol. Samsung drops their support for older phones while apple has contiguous support for all their devices whereas google phones all have different hardware configurations which is why OS so unstable and why you guys need different ice cream flavors in operating system haha but headphone jacks right?

    • Lalnuntluanga Chhakchhuak
      Lalnuntluanga Chhakchhuak 2 months ago

      @LegacyGMR My OnePlus 9 last me all day with few juice left. And i can top it up in a few minutes. iPhone users are literally the one who seeks for friends charger. It's that common.

  • Anirudh Ganesh
    Anirudh Ganesh Month ago +1

    13:22 Yes, LG was at the forefront of a lot of innovations but their marketing team sucked and did the bare minimum to push their products. This is what happens when you don't go big.. you end up going home while the others will take the same thing and call it theirs.

  • Victoria 💋𝔽**СК МЕ - СНЕℂ𝕂 𝕄𝕐 Рℝ𝟘𝔽𝕀𝕃Е💛

    LG has made significant contributions to the things we've normalized today like a dedicated wide-angle camera, double tap to wake or sleep and now the shortcuts bar. Kinda miss having LG as a flagship competitor.

  • Memes n Shet
    Memes n Shet 2 months ago +5

    I think the Dynamic Island name might come more from like a kitchen island or an island in some other part of a house while viewed from above more than an actual island,not sure in a lab or some other industrial setting that kind of surface would be called an island as well
    But for me it makes more sense because you can put lots of useful things in a surface like that,the analogy works better that way than with an actual island

    • Jon Freeman
      Jon Freeman Month ago +1

      @Talltale Well I never found it useful. Maybe for artists who used it for pressure sensitive drawing but outside of that the long press does exactly the same thing. It added bulk and cost to the phone with no appreciable benefit.

    • Talltale
      Talltale Month ago +2

      @Jon Freeman 3D touch was absolutely amazing and it’s a shame they didn’t stick with it. Honestly the worst thing apple has done is dropping 3D touch

    • Jon Freeman
      Jon Freeman 2 months ago +1

      It's a gimmick. Nothing more. Like that 3D touch gimmick. Totally useless so that's why they got rid of it.

  • Rohan Douglas
    Rohan Douglas 2 months ago

    The last couple of iPhones do have physical and e sim. The problem is the next works in some countries have no idea what esim is. It would be great to purchase the esim for what ever country you are traveling to. My iPhone can use multiple esim.

  • Ervin Tagoe
    Ervin Tagoe 2 months ago +704

    A great way to test the crash detection feature would be to put the new iPhones into vehicles undergoing crash testing with the IIHS or NCAP.

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • Jack
      Jack 2 months ago +1

      @HE’S coming soon brother, Jesus is a myth

    • HE’S coming soon
      HE’S coming soon 2 months ago

      Please guys believe in Jesus 🙏. Doomsday is on the horizon. Believe Jesus is the Son of God. If you follow the Bible you will know that most all of the 1,800 prophecies has come to pass. Once the final few happen Jesus Christ will return.
      "If anyone is ashamed of me and my message in these adulterous and sinful days, the Son of Man will be ashamed of that person when he returns in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.” Our Saviour Jesus Christ died so that we will live. Jesus said, "I'm the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me". John 14:6.
      Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit.

    • Jack
      Jack 2 months ago +1

      @ItzMalick stop spamming dude. It’s not how you grow your channel, I promise you

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

  • Monica McCarthy
    Monica McCarthy 2 months ago

    I purchased the 14 Pro Max 256 gb, which was delivered on 9/16. I am extremely dissatisfied with the phone call clarity. Each phone call I make, there is so much static and the conversation is choppy, I cannot hear the other person. Then, if I hang up and call a second time immediately, the call clarity is fine. This happens with outgoing calls. And, does not happen when I call from my iPhone 13 Pro Max or my iPhone 8 Plus. Very disappointing after spending $1200 for this phone. I think I have a couple of days left to return it.

  • Adam Snider
    Adam Snider 2 months ago

    Big props for mentioning that LG invented the "dynamic island" feature 7 years ago.

  • Ace
    Ace 2 months ago +1

    I don't think Samsung's will copy this, they already have a more modern version that's less intrusive/out of reach. For example if you set a timer and go home, alittle widget pop up will have it counting down. You can move this or just dismiss it.

    • Bảo Quốc
      Bảo Quốc Month ago

      yeah, now it's more like between two companies on each their own software tricks and mechanisms now.

  • Kasibhatla Collection
    Kasibhatla Collection 2 months ago

    Is it possible that every year when new iphones are released apple slightly degrades the quality of their existing pro model cameras via software updates so that the new pro cameras look premium and advanced?

  • STROKEZ
    STROKEZ 25 days ago +2

    From iPhone 5s to 14pro the video quality drastically changed in this channel ❤️

  • Steve Swafford
    Steve Swafford 2 months ago +1

    I'm going from 8 plus to the 14 pro plus. I keep getting told that I should see a huge difference between them. I've loved my 8 plus for so long, we'll see.

    • Perinne
      Perinne 2 months ago

      Steve I suggest watch a 13 part series called _What on earth happened_ by Ewaranon to learn that the earth is not a globe. Link in my about tab.

  • Darryl David
    Darryl David Month ago

    Godfather of tech product reviews never miss a beat 👏👏👏👏

  • JESSIE BLANDING JR 1982

    Bro you and your channel has me in the motivation mode to want to get into the tech world and do reviews.
    I am into your channel and Krystal Lora I believe is her name.
    Both of you do some fantastic reviewing and deserve all the subscribers and endorsements you get.

  • Xingyu Zhou
    Xingyu Zhou 2 months ago +433

    I think it might be better if the dynamic island can display notifications as well, like the notification just pops out from the pill instead of a separate box like the one shown in the video

    • Ben
      Ben 2 months ago

      @Thierry Faquet fair enough my main reason for that is not knowing how to use the new system

    • Thierry Faquet
      Thierry Faquet 2 months ago

      @Ben Oh you do you, I don't care what phone you have. As long as you're fine with everything's good.
      Just pointed that praising the home button is weird.

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

    • Victoria
      Victoria 2 months ago

      Another idea for another year

    • Ben
      Ben 2 months ago

      @Thierry Faquet Either way I don’t have a choice and my phone works just fine the new phones are kinda over kill even for mobile games

  • Mii Rich
    Mii Rich 2 months ago

    Every company has been copying Apple since day one. From the simple charging port to hardware designs and software to even remove the headphone jack that every company (hypocritically) made fun and ads about just to do the same later. It’s crazy that Apple is just one company “competing” against so many others yet they do what Apple does

  • Malky R P
    Malky R P Month ago

    I mean, the pill is a pretty big feature for me, since I use customized icons. When you open an app the banner popping up is pretty annoying. This makes it look and feel much better!

  • Todd Johnson
    Todd Johnson 2 months ago +2

    I switched from Apple with the Pixel 2 and been with the pixel range since (between first iPhone and the Pixel 2 Ive had multiple Samsung Galaxies in the mix too) and I sort of really want to go back to the iPhone purely for the more polished look and feel but there's 3 things holding me back:
    1. No USB C charging (I've switched all my tech to only USB C charging now
    2. Notifications reach the level of Android (iOS 16 lockscreen helps but not completely)
    3. True default apps across the OS including voice assistants... Love my google assistant

    • Perinne
      Perinne 2 months ago

      Todd I suggest watch a 13 part series called _What on earth happened_ by Ewaranon to learn that the earth is not a globe. Link in my about tab.

  • Kat A
    Kat A Month ago +1

    I currently have an iPhone 7 plus and looking into upgrading to the iPhone 14 pro but a friend said it's more worth to just do iPhone 13 Pro or just wait for the iPhone 15. What do you guys think on this

  • Blakkset
    Blakkset 2 months ago +519

    Thanks for mentioning LG came up with "Dynamic Island" concept 7 years ago with the LG V10.
    LG took many gambles and had some really cool stuff on their high end phones. Sure some things were a miss but when they hit, they hit hard.
    They're already missed.

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality But I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

    • Mubin Noor
      Mubin Noor 2 months ago

      @photoncages Same man!

    • mmrt
      mmrt 2 months ago +1

      @DZYTNZXT I could literally say the same with every android user here 🤷‍♂️

    • Blakkset
      Blakkset 2 months ago

      @mmrt If the "Island" were not more dynamic than a feature on a phone from SEVEN YEARS AGO, that would be beyond an epic failure.
      Thanks for the brain fart, shorty!

    • - Xnnybimb -
      - Xnnybimb - 2 months ago

      @Artdog yeah maybe if you heard it the wrong way. They might not have even copied and just thought of it independently. He just means because Apple does it, everyone will soon, with the idea being directly from Apple, which always happens. He also mentioned that LG did it first, but this was 7 years ago. And what I really meant by my original comment was when fanboys trash a company for borrowing a feature, because it usually works both ways. Mkb didn’t trash any company, but the comment I replied to seemed as if they were trying to shame Apple and disprove what he said as if it weren’t true and he weren’t aware of the LG.

  • Kaung Khant Wai
    Kaung Khant Wai 2 months ago +2

    That's why I love your review. You tell everything honestly and clearly.

    • Perinne
      Perinne 2 months ago

      Kaung I suggest watch a 13 part series called _What on earth happened_ by Ewaranon to learn that the earth is not a globe. Link in my about tab.

  • Rishi Kishore
    Rishi Kishore 2 months ago

    LG was one of the most innovative cellphone maker, it is sad they don’t make phones anymore.

  • chidubem
    chidubem 2 months ago

    I was surprised that Apple went with *Always On Display* instead of *Constant Luminous Projection*

  • Andrea Arlotti
    Andrea Arlotti 2 months ago

    Hi MB!
    Really love your works, always my pref even if not always agree but thats ok.
    I'm just having a question since long time. Yes, that's apple related stuff.
    I've used Android til '19, for 10 years.Then bought my first iphone, 11 pro max. Still with me, w/ ios16.
    TL;DR love iphone(+ my watch + my airpods)but I have really a bee inside my brain when I'm watching new reviews of new iphones.
    1) Why do you (not you but all you reviewers) don't ever say that iOS dialer app is s%$$%t? It's an important app, that in 2022 is a kid toy compared to androids one! No search, no web search, no spam filters. Nothing. That is quite hurting, since phones that have this OS costs more than 1k (in italy even base 14 is 1000 euros)
    2) Why do you (not you but all you reviewers) don't ever say that iOS is still a MONOTASK system? Why don't say some little annoying words to Apple? I know it's going to change anything but if reviews focus also on this, well....pills,dynamic islands, superpower chips, 2k nits, rams....but still need to keep open Instagram to load a story.
    Peace!

  • Eric
    Eric 2 months ago +215

    I‘m sticking to my 11 Pro till the 15 series comes out, still very powerful and feels fresh after the iOS 16 update. Gonna wait for USB-C to finally come to iPhone.

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • snazzlesavage
      snazzlesavage 2 months ago

      @Corey Sturgeon being portless really is the future

    • Zeref Dragneel
      Zeref Dragneel 2 months ago +1

      @SPORTS MAXIMUM same.. mine 11 pro and xs got battery drain issue. even phone on idle, still drain fast than ios 15..

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality But I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

    • Eric
      Eric 2 months ago

      @SbGod the astronomy wallpaper sucked 6% of my batterie, disabled that immediately 😅

  • bsdpowa
    bsdpowa 2 months ago

    I travelled throughout Europe when roaming was still chargeable and never once did I want to use a foreign sim in my phone, I’d rather buy a burner phone for £20 and use it for a limited time, I really don’t understand people who complain about the lack of physical sim slot, this must be the most niche use case ever…

  • Amien Ander
    Amien Ander 2 months ago

    I’m gonna go for this after 2+ years with 11. So excitedd 😬

  • Luis Guzman
    Luis Guzman 2 months ago

    Im still on the gence of switching. I've always had an android, and have upgrqded my Note's every couple years but I've thought about switching to iPhone to see if it would help with being able to keep a phone more than 2 years and lagging issues

  • Making Sense of the World

    I’d love to know who else noticed he said, “connecting AirPods” twice when he’s listing the dynamic island feature

  • paran0ia7
    paran0ia7 2 months ago +560

    While the dynamic Island is a pretty clever use of dead space, I really hope it doesn't catch on as a standard thing. It's just an excuse for manufacturers to put off trying to actually solve the problem of ugly notches/cutouts in otherwise incredible displays, which I feel like we've already gotten way too comfortable with as it is. Also, while oleophobic coatings have gotten very good, inviting the user to constantly touch the camera/sensor area seems unwise, and I can definitely foresee issues and complaints arising once fingerprints begin to accumulate there.

    • cfcreative
      cfcreative 2 months ago

      covid backwards is divoc Look up Divoc in Hebrew

    • abcd
      abcd 2 months ago

      To be precise, that gimmick and trickery called "dynamic Island" is not a use of dead space. Dead space is still dead. It just uses live space around it. Nothing special or new about it.

    • paran0ia7
      paran0ia7 2 months ago

      @Leader 7011 A very good point that I had not considered; Apple is certainly a company that loves brand recognition.

    • paran0ia7
      paran0ia7 2 months ago

      @Smarter Than You The correct answer, yet not one everyone will jump to. I fear that Apple underestimates the laziness of many of their customers.

    • paran0ia7
      paran0ia7 2 months ago

      @MellyFN Of course they are, my point is why does this problem exist at all? If the tech wasn't ready, then why start pushing full-body displays back when they did? We already now have phones with screens that wrap BEYOND the edges even, but if there's a big hole in it can you really call it "all screen"?

  • Matthew Nelson
    Matthew Nelson Month ago +2

    You make very good video’s. Very professional and informative without all that clickbait stuff.

  • michael kotlowski
    michael kotlowski Month ago

    Just ordered my 14 pro, it’s on back order till the 17 but I’m extremely excited! It’s my first pro model and figured I’d treat myself

  • Giuseppe
    Giuseppe 2 months ago

    A note on the repairability : french environmental law makes it mandatory for all electronic devices to have a "repairability index". It's based on ease of disassembly, availability and price of spare parts, etc.
    Iphones11 pro models were 4.6/10, 12 and 13 pro models were 6/10 and the 14 pro scored 7/10.

  • dqwn :o
    dqwn :o Month ago

    maybe apple will allow 8K video in a future software update? i think it’s possible since the hardware required for 8K video is there on the 14 Pro.

  • Prashanth Mohan
    Prashanth Mohan 2 months ago +617

    I was an early adopter of the LG v10. The second screen, removable battery, stitching the front and back camera images made it highly appealing for me. The design was great as well. The battery life though was not. Glad for the shout out to this under-rated device!

    • Nic
      Nic 2 months ago

      @ItzMalick Not a good place to advertise, bossman.

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

    • Mask Girl - Try ON Haul
      Mask Girl - Try ON Haul 2 months ago

      It is a pity that LG does not make a cell phone.

    • Thekeyman1
      Thekeyman1 2 months ago

      It is copied from LG but done much better on this device

    • Nic
      Nic 2 months ago

      @Lyndon Baker You're not wrong, The v10 was designed more like a tool in my opinion, I went with the V30 simply because of that screen to body ratio, notches are a technological accident.

  • Masen
    Masen Month ago

    Just upgraded from the 11 pro and the difference and user experience is so much better. Couldn’t recommend this upgrade enough

    • Alex Darie
      Alex Darie 2 hours ago

      Should I upgrade from the 11? Been so tired of this lcd screen

  • MukDuk
    MukDuk Month ago

    Dude, your intros are literally the best. You're in a league of your own.

  • Lino
    Lino Month ago

    I’m shocked the speakers were not talked about! The speakers are a big upgrade from the past iPhones for sure!

  • Natasha Kathureee
    Natasha Kathureee 2 months ago

    I think that apple should limit the phones functionality when on screen lock like : not being able to shut down the phone without face ID to prevent theft . Because it makes it super difficult to track Its when it off.

  • Mental Health Thinking
    Mental Health Thinking 2 months ago +678

    Whenever I hear about satellite modes from US-based reviewers it reminds me of how good their general coverage must be... I live in Australia and it would be epic here! So much of Australia has no coverage and I literally take expensive GPS beacons with me on big hikes just in case. I can't wait to get satellite coverage here.

    • pr0f3ta_YT
      pr0f3ta_YT Month ago

      Nah bro we still need hundred dollars gps units here too.

    • My Dogs Best Fren
      My Dogs Best Fren Month ago

      @jeremeh ññ( NJ no JJ JJ n mm mm ññ nñ no ñ ññ n ññ nñ no j no nn no nn ñ ññ nñ ññ ñññ ññ jnn ñ nññ nñ ññ ññ nñ no nn ññ ñ n
      nnnpkpk
      kk j
      j. nnpjj
      p pnn

    • My Dogs Best Fren
      My Dogs Best Fren Month ago

      @NotJoeMama no

    • RedPixel Games
      RedPixel Games Month ago

      I'm not sure if this service from Apple is in partnership with Tesla satellite free for a couple of month and a paid subscription after. So you might want to check with your provider if this feature will be available anytime soon in your location. If thats the case any iphone user would be able to use this feature since satellites coverage now is gettting better

    • Thomas Johnson
      Thomas Johnson Month ago +2

      its not just the us, literally every western country has good connection in most places except australia...

  • Alex
    Alex Month ago

    Their take on the notch is very smart, and kind of cool. But it does not save it from looking artrocious most of the time..😅
    They somehow made something even MORE visually annoying than their previous massive notch 🤔

  • xSiNx
    xSiNx 2 months ago

    Ahh the LG v10, one of the best phones I ever owned and wish I could have it but updated for 5g and all the current tech

  • Tess Covello
    Tess Covello 2 months ago +5

    I always think there's no way you could come out with a new and better intro, and you always do and it's insane.

  • Speedy65
    Speedy65 Month ago +1

    I just watched your Iphone 5 review, Its just crazy how far tech has gotten

  • azu sdhfjdg
    azu sdhfjdg 2 months ago +800

    in an extremely consumerist environment, where influencers are a walking advertisement at this point and we are all pushed to always have the latest and greatest new gadget, your candidness and honesty is greatly appreciated. you are one of the biggest tech youtubers and you’re constantly getting deals from the big brands and stuff, it would be easy for you to just push ppl to buy this new device but you still take the time to be frank & direct and state the honest truth; no matter how hard brands try to push us to buy their latest product; the *average* iphone 11 or later user wouldn't really notice a big difference between their current phone and upgrading to the 14 pro, no matter how cool that new shiny phone is. thanks for your honesty and great review as always

    • Snicker Doodle
      Snicker Doodle 2 months ago

      Indeed luckily he isn’t like “undick therapy” 🤢

    • Laxman Saravanakumar
      Laxman Saravanakumar 2 months ago

      apple dickrider above me. be warned. engage with caution.

    • Craig Morrison
      Craig Morrison 2 months ago

      @Insane Thunder tell me you're stupid without telling me you are stupid.

    • Insane Thunder
      Insane Thunder 2 months ago

      just say that you're poor. we understand

    • kennymony
      kennymony 2 months ago

      You have SPOKEN well stranger.

  • Pico De Gallío
    Pico De Gallío 2 months ago

    Thanks for the info vid. flawless as always, I'm considering getting my 1st iPhone ever and this is my prime candidate as right now thanks.

  • Brad S
    Brad S 2 months ago

    On September 19, 2014 (8 years ago!) Apple released the Apple 6 Plus. Configured for 128GB of storage at only $949. Walking out of my local Apple Store I noticed the receipt was over $1000 (with sales tax). For 8 years now I keep hearing "oh look a $1000 phone". Value, budget, worth it? etc. Debate amongst yourselves.. .. but there has been a $1000 iPhone for 8 years.

  • stricken1666
    stricken1666 2 months ago

    I like how the new iPhone 14, watch, and earbuds, are finally getting features that android users have had for years. Still no powersharing tho?

  • Logan Williams
    Logan Williams Day ago

    Another reason they don’t do the 8k is due to the pixel binning. Shooting in 8k would cause the pixels used to be non-binned and therefore much smaller, so low light would be much worse

  • Gerald
    Gerald 2 months ago +443

    The LG V10 and V20 had a smaller secondary screen that provided quick access to specific apps, music controls, notifications, etc. It did what the iPhone dynamic island does. I loved that feature. The LG V10 and V20 are my all time favorite android phones based on functionality and aesthetics. Too bad they had flaws related to hardware and now LG doesn't make phones anymore.

    • Álvaro Hernán Aragón
      Álvaro Hernán Aragón 2 months ago

      @ashura zoldyck I don’t understand it either, I guess it’s the envy to Apple that makes them desperately look for anything to be able to say that what they did was copied... or the low intellectual level that they don’t investigate in depth and simply because it’s a black bar up on the screen they already think it’s the same as LG did 😂😂

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality But I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy 🙏🏾💙

    • Mask Girl - Try ON Haul
      Mask Girl - Try ON Haul 2 months ago

      It is a pity that LG does not make a cell phone.

    • Alex Njagi
      Alex Njagi 2 months ago

      HTC U ULTRA had a similar secondary screen

    • ashura zoldyck
      ashura zoldyck 2 months ago +1

      @ro pro I know you're joking but dynamic island looks way different and way more epic then what LG did, I don't even understand how people are comparing the two.