Tap to unmute

Google Pixel Buds Pro Review: Just Get These!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 29, 2022 veröffentlicht
  • Pixel Buds Pro are excellent across the board... spoiler alert
    MKBHD Merch: shop.MKBHD.com
    Buy the Google Pixel Buds Pro at geni.us/sXpaTnB
    Buy the Google Pixel Buds A-Series at geni.us/Qpqf
    Buy the Sony WF-1000XM4 earbuds at geni.us/poQmv6U
    Buy the Google Pixel 6 Pro at geni.us/BnKjcO
    Playlist of MKBHD Intro music: goo.gl/B3AWV5
    ~
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 841

  • Hyper-_-Atreus
    Hyper-_-Atreus 3 days ago +3

    Personally, I just got galaxy buds 2 recently, and my parents got these pixel buds pro. I like my galaxy buds cuz they are just a little louder and have better noise cancelling. However, the pixel buds pro are almost identical with everything else. Slightly faster than the buds2 obviously cuz they are slightly newer, but I highly recommend. Don't get airpods, get Pixel or Galaxy buds

  • Vandal G
    Vandal G 2 days ago

    The Sony's have the best anc and features. However, these have proper anc at a 190 ish price range...beating out Sony by a bit, still I'd go with seeing if you can get renewed or used Sony's at 170.

  • David Harris
    David Harris Day ago

    I'm gonna have to try these pixel buds out.

  • Maxim Krivov
    Maxim Krivov 3 months ago +349

    Interesting, I found the touch volume controls working like magic for me sooooo smooth and spot on. Ignores accidental touches and always registers when I want to change the volume. Incredible.

    • Anthony Parker
      Anthony Parker Month ago

      It's harder to use 0n the pro versions vs. Buds 2 because the buds are more matte finish this go around. Pixel Buds 2 were definitely more glossy and so my finger glided much better over them for swipe gestures.

    • TraceguyRune
      TraceguyRune Month ago

      @Saban Tander Not as sus as your mom was under my sheets last night

    • Dustin Box
      Dustin Box Month ago

      I had no issue with the volume feature either. I've only had them for 2 hours so far, though.

    • Vaibhav G
      Vaibhav G Month ago

      Hey MKBHD, are you advocating for 'Telegram'? Just noticed that logo on your Tshirt 🤔

    • KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷
      KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷ 2 months ago

      @Saban Tander Bruh why?? I need to know why I'm so confused 😖😁

  • Alynis W
    Alynis W 3 months ago +4089

    I personally also love the Live Translate feature of the pixel buds pro. It's a niche feature but for those of us who will use it for travel or for business, its really nice.

    • قلب التنين
      قلب التنين 15 days ago

      Hmm will need to see how the Arabic to English works during jumma Australia

    • Priscilla S
      Priscilla S Month ago

      @Kadesh Ramlakhan the exact reason why im considering purchasing

    • Rohit Shrivastava
      Rohit Shrivastava Month ago

      @TraceguyRune lucky you

    • TraceguyRune
      TraceguyRune Month ago

      @Rohit Shrivastava Every authentic chinese restaurant I've ever been to works fine using english.

    • Kyle Smith
      Kyle Smith 2 months ago

      This feels very Star Trek! If only everyone had a pair, translation device for universal communication 🤯

  • keith doak
    keith doak 2 days ago

    Just updated from the pixel a series went with the pro buds I like it much better

  • Big Jay
    Big Jay 23 hours ago +1

    It's actually a watch pocket..tho most people call it a coin pocket these days.

  • darealfunkyguns
    darealfunkyguns 3 months ago +142

    This was honestly the most down-to-earth, classic MKBHD video I think i've seen in a long time. Felt like old times with this one. Thanks for the recommend!

  • Aziz alhadi
    Aziz alhadi 4 days ago

    Is it practical for calls and meetings ?

  • Neoxon
    Neoxon 3 months ago +6091

    It feels like yesterday that we just lost the ability to use wired headphones. Now it’s simply feels normal to look for wireless earbuds.

    • Jerimiah Gentry
      Jerimiah Gentry Month ago

      Having another thing to charge and or lose his stressful and I have a really decent pair of wired headphones so I'm not quite there yet

    • Kevin
      Kevin Month ago

      I was very angry when phones started getting rid of the headphone jack. I thought I'd never like wireless earbuds. I specifically searched for a phone that still had a headphone jack then like overnight thousands of good Bluetooth earbuds came out and my headphone jack has never been used.

    • morgan ghetti
      morgan ghetti Month ago

      @ardaduck lol what?

    • MechanicalMonk
      MechanicalMonk Month ago

      @Tom Bendar the market is literally filled with the so called CHIFI headphones. I have one that I got for $30 and they're great.

    • Joel
      Joel Month ago

      @Tom Bendar I get you but if you still haven't found a solution just get google's usb c wired ones and if you have devices that have 3.5mm jacks get the adaptor, those were really reliable when I had them and sound pretty good, not too cheap and not too expensive like an audiophile one.

  • VeeTeeF
    VeeTeeF 3 months ago +237

    The biggest restriction for me when it comes to buying earbuds is battery life. I wear 1 earbud (and occasionally the 2nd) basically my entire 9+ hour workday 5 days a week for listening to music/audiobooks/Clip-Share and for taking calls and joining meetings. Comfort is also a concern, but I haven't had much issue with most of the earbuds I've owned.
    I'm using the Creative Outlier Pro's and Galaxy Buds+ right now because they both ACTUALLY give the 10+ hour battery life they're rated for, although neither sound particularly good. The Outlier Pro's actually sound almost bad stock but after some heavy EQ they're fine. Also they can reproduce wild amounts of sub-bass (when desired) with basically zero distortion which I love. The Pixel Buds Pro's seem to have all the features I like about both my current earbuds but with better sound and even more features. I'll def give them a try for $175.

    • LaterNerd
      LaterNerd Month ago

      In exactly the same boat. I really love having one headphone with the Galaxy buds. Their battery life is insane. But I guess popping them in the case for 20 minutes while you take lunch of whatever isn't so bad. Can always just use the other one while it was charging as well.

    • KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷
      KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷ 2 months ago

      @SMK Dude wtf are you smoking?? Why did you just say all those words and type all those letters??😭 and where can I buy some of that shit also?

    • KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷
      KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷ 2 months ago

      @Teal Ruby Dude over ears would hurt like hell after 2 hours idk I couldn't do that but some people can take it I guess idk

    • King Wavy
      King Wavy 3 months ago

      I have the Galaxy Buds 2 I think? not +. Anyway I've found that they're terrible for taking calls at work. Sound quality for my coworkers are really bad. I'm trying to see if theres a good pair of earbuds for taking calls, not just music/podcasts/yt. Or if I just have to pony up and buy a good wireless headset.

    • MATT FIOCCHI
      MATT FIOCCHI 3 months ago

      @Teal Ruby I think it depends on volume; I keep just loud enough to hear..

  • Bailey Dunne
    Bailey Dunne 2 months ago +97

    Disabling the Absolute Volume setting may allow the volume to be a lot louder. It allows independent volume on both the device and the Pixel Buds Pro. When my Airpods were connected to my Pixel 3a, they'd always sound really quiet, but the Absolute Volume fixed that.

    • TraceguyRune
      TraceguyRune Month ago +1

      @Anthony Parker It's not recommended because it allows you to make sound louder than the headphones were built for.

    • Fallen family
      Fallen family Month ago

      @Bailey Dunne it's not always under the dev options for instance on my OnePlus u pro it's under sound and vibration and then earphone mode

    • Bailey Dunne
      Bailey Dunne Month ago +1

      @Anthony Parker It'll be on your phone under developer options 'Disable absolute volume'

    • Anthony Parker
      Anthony Parker Month ago

      Where is the absolute volume located? In the Pixel buds app or on the phone ?

  • Sean Grimes
    Sean Grimes Month ago +42

    The equalizer update was recently added. I like the multipoint setting also.

  • BrobaFett
    BrobaFett 3 months ago +97

    I really like the design, sound and battery life of these ear buds but getting the proper fit has been a pain. They stay in fine but they feel like they'll fall out easier than they should. And I didn't hear anything about the ANC but I feel like mine let in more sound then I'd like.

  • Buckminster II
    Buckminster II 3 months ago +17

    I've been using the Skullcandy Push Actives for a few months now, will say they're pretty good with base and do stick in my ears pretty well.
    Still thinking of getting these though, I want a bit of an upgrade to audio and the noise cancelling on the push actives is rather dull, not to mention the transparency mode.
    Just gotta reason with myself whether I actually want to spend 200 bucks on a pair of earbuds lol.

    • معراج
      معراج Month ago +1

      LMAO skullcandy make the absolute worse ear buds, their headphones are good but everyone knows to never buy ear buds from them 💀💀

  • Michael Lewis
    Michael Lewis Month ago +6

    I would love to have an EQ setting that makes the buds be as close to studio reference as they can make them. That's the kind of sound I like.

  • João Costa
    João Costa 2 months ago +9

    Google clearly drew some inspiration from the redmi buds and they actually did a great job. It's really nice when rivalry goes at another level like this! 👍👏🙌

  • Enthusiastic Gamer
    Enthusiastic Gamer 3 months ago +6

    I absolutely love my Pixel 6 and can't wait to see what Google comes out with next. I got the normal Buds for free with my phone and only use them on occasion when out and about so they work great for me despite being imperfect.

  • Sir Green
    Sir Green 3 months ago +646

    Finally, I've been waiting for this review. The battery life and sound quality on the Galaxy buds + has kept me satisfied. Definitely won't step down to less than the same 11 hrs of battery life (even if others may sound better). And I use a pixel so this should naturally be the next pair I buy right?

    • Niya S
      Niya S 3 months ago

      i unfortunately just lost my Galaxy Buds+ and now im struggling to find some just like it :/

    • Patrick Olender
      Patrick Olender 3 months ago

      @GH0STST4RSCR34M I really don't know what your point is. I will take a recap:
      1) there is a comment talking about WF-1000XM4. You answer to the commenter and tell him, the battery life is like so and so.
      2) because you clearly refer to the comment about wf-1000xm4, I tell you the real battery life
      3) you answer that you mean the galaxy buds or whatever
      4) I tell you that I referred to wf1000xm4... Like it's what the comment is about that you answered to.
      5) you tell me your point stands and even "no shit". Like, you tell me "no shit", even though your answer on my comment tells me the exact opposite, as you again refer to the galaxy buds. What wasn't my talking point.
      So there are two possibilities - there was another comment from the original commenter that isn't here anymore because deleted or whatever... Or you are just not really good at reading.

    • nexusofjoseph
      nexusofjoseph 3 months ago

      I listen to my buds+ for more than 8 hours sometimes - when I need to sleep for a while without being disturbed by young children or other noises. Heck, long hall flights too!

    • Prokelley1992
      Prokelley1992 3 months ago

      @Godminnette2 - No, I've had these for a year and a half.

    • Patrick Olender
      Patrick Olender 3 months ago

      @GH0STST4RSCR34M you were responding to a comment talking about the wf1000xm4. That's what I referred to.

  • Samuel Clarke
    Samuel Clarke 3 months ago +12

    After spending two weeks with the Pixel Buds Pro, I agree with everything Marques covered in this review. They are fantastic earbuds...slightly better than the Airpods Pro 1st Gen IMO. Pair perfectly with the Pixel 6 Pro and seamlessly switch to my MacBook Pro and back depending on what device I'm active on - this would have to be their best feature outside of audio quality!

    • iii
      iii 17 days ago

      How are they with blocking outside noise?
      I had the regular buds and all I could hear was everything around me. Like when mowing the lawn, I could barely hear the music. I'm sure I did something wrong because I'm old and dense now. But I actually had to return them because they stopped connecting to Bluetooth.

    • Jacob Day
      Jacob Day Month ago

      How is the ANC?

    • Mitch Baltazar
      Mitch Baltazar Month ago

      I have the Airpods Pro first gen.. would you recommend buying the Pixel Buds Pro to replace them? I went from iPhone to Pixel 7 Pro but still use a Mac everyday and my Airpods is paired to both Pixel and Mac. I'm interested in the better battery life of the Pixel Buds Pro.. but would like your opinion on if they're worth replacing my Airpods with. Thanks!

    • Samuel Clarke
      Samuel Clarke Month ago +1

      @music neurons transparency mode is good, letting in most sounds clearly just a bit muted compared to having nothing in the ears. Also wind noise throws them a bit with more of a low woosh sound akin to background noise on an airplane. Both of those issues I imagine can be improved by Google via firmware updates, so hopefully they improve. Six weeks of using them as my primary earbuds and I'm very happy overall. They are a true Airpods Pro alternative with the benefits of native Android integration.

    • Samuel Clarke
      Samuel Clarke Month ago

      @Jacob Day overall it does a good job, but could do with some tweaking by Google. Noise cancelling is very effective, however I've noticed I need a tighter earpiece fit than Airpods Pro 1st gen to achieve similar noise cancelling - but this is more an ear fit difference than anything. Transparency mode works fantastic in all but windy conditions where the Pixel Buds Pro struggle with how much wind noise to filter compared to Airpods Pro. Battery life is excellent also even with ANC on.

  • Damien Lee
    Damien Lee Month ago

    Great to see Google pushing the products. With the new Pixel 7 and this, they are quietly creeping into the space of the big boys, and a serious option with their entire established ecosystem

  • Lee McLaren
    Lee McLaren 3 months ago +7

    I was really looking forward to this review having the Google pixel 6 I thought these would work great. Unfortunately I'm not confident in the volume area as I use my earbuds a lot for travel where using the extra volume is needed.
    But I think I'll keep my jabra elite 85t. Highly recommend these buds, only thing is they do get a little sore after a few hours of wearing. But I think this is an issue with all earbuds.

    • SavouryLobster
      SavouryLobster 3 months ago

      +1 for jabras. I have the elite 7 actives paired with my pixel 4 and they're great

  • TheRealGimmle
    TheRealGimmle 2 months ago

    I love this review, you nailed every feature and everything I was looking for in this review. great job! subscribed too 😁

  • Jordan Wiens
    Jordan Wiens 3 months ago +610

    Would have loved to hear more details about whether it's worth using on iOS devices and what you lose/gain by using the "official" bud on each platform.

    • Smitty
      Smitty 3 months ago

      @Jo E Yeah, I was more intending on letting the original commenter know about what you gain on the iOS side.

    • Smitty
      Smitty 3 months ago

      @nicklas sivén He literally said “would have loved to hear more details about whether it’s worth using on iOS devices and what you lose/gain using the “official” bud on each platform” each platform.

    • Smitty
      Smitty 3 months ago +2

      @Ryan Martin not hilariously, but Google assistant is still better. Siri is the second best voice assistant. Siri trades intelligence for privacy

    • Gerald Mumphrey
      Gerald Mumphrey 3 months ago +1

      With Apples ecosystem, it really doesn't make sense for them to use any bluetooth headphones besides AirPods and Beats.

    • Lionel B
      Lionel B 3 months ago

      @Daniel YESSSSSSSS

  • nefariou5
    nefariou5 3 months ago +9

    surprisingly positive review. just ordered some.
    my main concern is fit, I always struggle finding earbuds that fit well but we'll see how I get on when they arrive
    edit: they arrived, i love them, sound is great and they dont fall out. but the seal check on the app tells me to use bigger tips, and im using the biggest tips that come with it..
    regardless i am very happy with them. the case attracts scuff like crazy. one hour in my pocket and they look like i've owned them for years, completely scuffed up. definitely need some sort of case/skin with these

  • Overthought
    Overthought 25 days ago +1

    My biggest gripe with PBP is they fall out too easily, sometimes even just around the house. I've had no problem with the volume adjustment swipe gesture. It's actually very forgiving. Maybe Google updated it sometime after this review was posted?

  • DoctorJT
    DoctorJT 2 months ago +2

    When you mentioned the tap to google assistant feature, I thought of an interesting idea. Tap the buds to open nearest light. If you have a light switch connected to google home it will turn on/off light in the room you're in

  • Chaim Goldberg
    Chaim Goldberg 26 days ago +1

    You are the standard when it comes to reviewing tech. Not just for being thorough and honest, I feel like you have opened the door for other people of color as tech reviewers.

  • Basim Newby
    Basim Newby 3 months ago +267

    Always a great review. 👍🏾 In regards to the swiping for volume...I found that with any ear buds to be able to reliably use gestures I would have to first put my thumb behind my earlobe this would completely stabilize my hand during and allowed me to perform any gesture (multi-taps, swiping, tap and hold) during any activity with complete accuracy everytime. I'm not sure why this isn't advertised as it really should be the way to use any earbuds gestures.

    • denyle
      denyle 2 months ago

      @KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷ not with the buds+. You can do that with the Pixel Buds Pro, but the person I was responding to was talking about the Samsung Buds+. Those you need both buds in to do volume up on one side, and down on the other

    • KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷
      KRATOS jr⁸¹⁷ 2 months ago

      @denyle So you cant use just one bud and still have the gesture features??? That would actually be a bummer for me because I kind of want these, they look pretty slappy

    • denyle
      denyle 2 months ago

      @Alexander Koch yeah that worked well, but the problem is I only like to use one bud at a time. There are no other earbuds other than the Nothing Ear1 that allow me to change volume with just one bud.

    • Alexander Koch
      Alexander Koch 3 months ago

      Galaxy Buds+ had a beta feature (when I tested them two years ago) where you could tap your right helix twice for volume up and left helix for volume down. That was a really cool feature but they didn't have Google assistant integration so I returned them.

    • BeActive Behappy
      BeActive Behappy 3 months ago +5

      @foapwh jkre I second this. He always brushes of the actual audio quality stuff by labelling it as audio phile, But if you ask him to make hundred-thousand video on ecosystems and tech bro gossip, he will happily take a dime for it

  • iagohfs
    iagohfs 3 months ago +5

    I got LG Tone Free Lp8 and I think they're worth a review, a lot of reviewers were comparing them to AIrpods Pro and I'm more than happy with how they sound and the diversity of the app. Also they fit well.🎧

  • Soultaker93
    Soultaker93 Month ago +2

    I think the reason why volume threshold is raised with these buds is simply because of the bigger driver (also why there is more base). More powerful driver, more impedance, and usually this means it requires more power to drive (lower sensitivity). But this is actually a good thing with bluetooth buds. Often times, in order to conserve space, they opt for a smaller, less demanding driver (usually 6 mm or so) which is usually much more sensitive since it requires less power from the amp. This is why on more budget earbuds you get a lot of hiss when there is no playback, because the noisefloor is raised due to the heightened sensitivity (low impedance) and also because cheaper dacs/amps are being used.

  • thaimbomb
    thaimbomb 2 months ago +7

    I got really hooked on winged earbuds starting from the wired Bose sports then I got really hyped when the buds 2 had them. I hope this wingless version doesn't disappoint me.

    • Michael Down
      Michael Down 21 day ago

      How have you got along with the wingless buds? Do they fall out Alot?

  • LogicalWaste
    LogicalWaste 3 months ago +1

    Man, I loved the small form factor and wingtips of the buds and A series buds that i both have, not sure if i'd like these larger buds with no wingtip as they may not stay in my smaller ears....

  • Ian Grams
    Ian Grams 3 months ago +297

    I've been using the A-series that I got with my 6 Pro and wholly agree about the Assistant "superpower". Only just recently realized you can say "take a photo/selfie in X seconds" where X is anywhere from 3 to 30 and it will open the camera and set the countdown as you requested. I haven't had to take a group photo since learning of this but I imagine this will be much better than having to set it to 10 seconds, start it, and run back over to the group.
    I really like using it for home control too and it's pretty neat how when using the hotword my other Google Home devices wake then recognize I have the buds in and then go back to sleep as my buds respond. And when using the tap and hold it feels like magic at how quick it turns my lamp off or responds to a question after taking my finger off.
    Honestly would love to know how they manage to reproduce such low bass with such tiny drivers. They reproduce the low note in songs that I use to test the low end of speakers. But the original Google Home managed that as well so it seems they have some folks working on these products that really know how to get the most out of the speakers.
    I'd also recommend testing out their connection strength as I've been thoroughly impressed. I tried putting my phone on the opposite side of my apartment with a couple walls in between and they remained connected. Even putting my phone in my fridge didn't make them drop or stutter. The only thing that actually did the trick was putting my phone in my microwave, closing it, and then putting a wall between it. That's literally a faraday cage for 2.4GHz so I really expected just closing the door would be enough. Granted, it's an older one that came with the apartment so the shielding might not be as good as more modern ones.
    Honestly if they could make ones that had user replaceable batteries I don't think I'd have any qualms about wireless earbuds anymore. It definitely feels like "the future" to have tiny little devices in my ears that transform rapidly flashing light I can't see into my favorite music. But that feeling is a bit soured by the fact that some day they're gonna stop holding a charge and I'll have to buy new ones and figure out Google's recycling program.

    • Ian Grams
      Ian Grams 3 months ago

      @Rac3r4Life I might check out whatever gen of the Pros is out by the time these stop holding a charge. I'm already plenty satisfied with the battery life and sound quality and don't really have a need for ANC.

    • Ian Grams
      Ian Grams 3 months ago +1

      @Gießkannenbauer My go-to is Musicbx by Moody Good as about 22 seconds in it has one of the lowest sub-basses I've found so far. Don't Need You Anymore by Cyntel and Drop Bomb by MeSo & Bass-ILL are the other two I have in my SoundCloud playlist. There's also Moth by 16bit but that seemingly only exists on Clip-Share.

    • Ian Grams
      Ian Grams 3 months ago +2

      @Barry glad to hear! I was pleasantly surprised when I stumbled on that and hoped to spread the word.

    • Ian Grams
      Ian Grams 3 months ago +4

      @newfnshow031 not sure if you stopped reading at the word selfie but I went on to explain the use case I'd most likely use it for is group photos. I can prop the phone up on something and line up the shot, get back in the group, then remotely take the pic. Just mentioned selfie so people were aware that was an option too if for whatever reason they needed it. Maybe someone with limited mobility might find that useful.

    • Rac3r4Life
      Rac3r4Life 3 months ago

      I got the A-Series for free with my Pixel 6 also. I pre-ordered the Pro because I wanted the ANC. I would highly recommend getting them. They sound a lot better and the extra battery life is great.

  • Icesco_op
    Icesco_op 3 months ago +33

    Already have had them for a while and they are great, even with an iPhone, loosing the “hey Siri” or announcing texts etc. still very much worth it

    • I'm getting Old
      I'm getting Old 3 months ago

      Do you stilk get the assistant features and the voice translate?? These are the only features that make them worth $200.00 imo

    • jonnysquirrels
      jonnysquirrels 3 months ago +1

      How’s the mic? That’s my biggest concern when using wireless buds. Am I gonna have to take them off cause I sound like I’m in a can.

    • Vijfhoek
      Vijfhoek 3 months ago +4

      @Cloud Arthur just living your life, and suddenly your pocket goes HMMM?

    • Paint Paint Paint Co.
      Paint Paint Paint Co. 3 months ago +2

      @Cloud Arthur can’t you change that in the iPhone settings?

    • Icesco_op
      Icesco_op 3 months ago +1

      @Cloud Arthur lol fr though

  • Ananya Bhardwaj
    Ananya Bhardwaj 3 months ago +3

    I already love my buds A - I use them for just working out/soccer, I have nicer headphones for when I actually can sit down and listen or for commutes. But these look like a good upgrade whenever my buds A fail, they're going strong so far!

  • John Munro
    John Munro 2 months ago +1

    Had the OG 2020s and I've only gone for the new ones because I've lost my charging case for my old ones😭
    But I have to say, these new ones are a big improvement on the a already great originals. Better sound. More comfortable. Incredible battery life. Feels like a genuine upgrade.

    • iii
      iii 17 days ago

      How are they with blocking outside noise? Like say using them to while mowing the lawn?

  • David Jurmann
    David Jurmann 3 months ago +1

    I've been using the Pixel Buds Pro for around a week now and I really love them. Only thing I didn't expect and am still weirded out by is the volume being a step quieter than other earbuds. Is this something that can be fixed via updates? It feels weird to have to be at 3/4 max volume to listen comfortably. Otherwise though, these are a super easy recommendation!

    • David Jurmann
      David Jurmann 3 months ago +1

      @jboymoneyfingers I don't think I've really used enough earbuds to compare well. But I have tried AirPods Pro and would say the noise cancellation probably isn't quite up to par with those, but it's solid and gets the job done.

    • jboymoneyfingers
      jboymoneyfingers 3 months ago

      how good would you say the noise cancellation on them is ? compared to any other buds

  • Curtis B
    Curtis B 3 months ago +407

    Microphone quality is where most of these things fall behind. Looking forward to actual tests of these vs competition.

    • Barry
      Barry 3 months ago

      @Curtis B it's on the podcast. Go have a listen to it. Released on August 16/17.

    • Bro Tato
      Bro Tato 3 months ago +1

      how? it's actually better than Airpods now. TF is this fake post lmfao

    • Will Swift
      Will Swift 3 months ago

      I am working on a project that will fix this. anyone interested in good buds that have good microphones?=

    • Will Swift
      Will Swift 3 months ago

      @WhatsNew mkbhd is just a promoter of products. bought and payed. take it for what it is. I like the channel. it gives you many of the answers one needs.

    • Hastyscorpion
      Hastyscorpion 3 months ago +1

      Microphone quality on literally all Bluetooth headphones is really bad. The problem is the Bluetooth not the microphone.

  • Riri Alvin Kimemia
    Riri Alvin Kimemia 3 months ago

    Hey Marques. Love your videos.
    Appreciate what you do and you are one of the people I look up to.
    I love tech and I love the way you present it, continue doing what you do. We appreciate you.

  • Rac3r4Life
    Rac3r4Life 3 months ago

    I've been using mine for a few weeks. They are incredible.

  • Tony Mackie
    Tony Mackie 3 months ago +1

    Good review, interesting point about buds being different for everyone. I use my Pixel Buds April in for gym and running without any problems. Keep the great videos coming. 😀

  • nongroupthought
    nongroupthought Month ago

    Battery life great, sound is great, functionalities are great. It is a simple great piece of tech.

  • TOPSPOT
    TOPSPOT 3 months ago +3

    Amazes me after all these years his editing and presenting keeps improving.

  • Velrethar
    Velrethar 3 months ago

    I've never really had issues with the touch controls on these. Swiping for volume on the buds themselves is so nice

  • Mārtiņš Belte
    Mārtiņš Belte 3 months ago +1

    Happy to see a good viable option for current top brands in earbud space (Samsung and Sony). Still want to see EBPMan's review and tests.

  • SuperMTight
    SuperMTight 3 months ago

    Thanks for your great review. I've seen another review where they said ANC pretty much failed on an airplane. It apparently let in most engine noise. Can you confirm that?

  • Josh Simpson
    Josh Simpson 3 months ago

    Jaybird Vista 2 are my current headphones and I swear by those - everything the pixel buds have with all the EQ already in place and wing tips that have never agitated me even close to 8 hours use in one day 🤟🤟

  • Klust
    Klust Month ago

    Had the A Series, but they didn't stay in my ears very well. I just got the Sony Linkbuds S, because they have all the features these new google one's do, but I know I can trust these to stay in my ears. Sony's sound quality, ANC, ambient sound, volume, and call quality on those are top tier too, so I'd rather take that than pay more for hoping the Pro's remotely match these.

  • Akshay Mali
    Akshay Mali 3 months ago

    The case is amazing! I think every TWS maker should use this idea as we do want to keep the case in our pocket and nowhere else 😅

  • Siim
    Siim 2 months ago

    Volume control works super well. I have quite big fingers. Quite amazed about that product.

  • Schoebelski
    Schoebelski Month ago +1

    same here, changing volume at the earbuds via touchfunction is almost impossible for me - otherwise very nice earbuds👍

  • Ozforce1 C
    Ozforce1 C 2 months ago

    Soundcore A40 ear buds are my go to. And for the price of $99. It has more features and longer battery life. And super comfortable. For me it even beats Apple buds pro. Go check them out.

  • sean field
    sean field 2 months ago

    I currently own the Sony wf-1000xm4, had the xm3's and had the airpod pro. None of these are comfortable to wear for 1 hour. There's a pain in the ear. So I did just go buy these (with the $25 off from an Engadget article) and they are the best fitting earbuds out there.
    Audio quality: Great!
    Fit & comfort: Effortless
    Noise Cancelation: Surprisingly good (I'd say better than the xm4's!)
    Battery life: Not as good as the others
    And I pair this with a OnePlus 7pro and iPhone 13 Pro Max. The switching is seamless unlike the other headphones.
    Definitely well worth it. Makes me think the Pixel 7 will finally be great....one can wish

  • Timothy Chansa
    Timothy Chansa Month ago +4

    Just got my Pixel 7 last week and the buds pro bundled for free. Fantastic combination!! The ecosystem really gives that super power feeling, like the Apple guys

    • Timothy Chansa
      Timothy Chansa 21 day ago

      @Oumuamua The promo was upto 31 October and only in some markets like Germany and UK, in Netherlands, where I live it was not offered so I had to buy my Pixel from the Germany online store and pick it up in Germany during a work trip.

    • Timothy Chansa
      Timothy Chansa 21 day ago

      @BlueBarz it's actually great! The switch is seamless. You can still activate the ANC and transparency modes with one ear bud connected.

    • BlueBarz
      BlueBarz 23 days ago

      How is the sound with just one bud in ?

    • Oumuamua
      Oumuamua 23 days ago

      I got the pixel 7 last week I didn't see any bundles

  • Arthur Zakaryan
    Arthur Zakaryan 3 months ago +173

    These improve in the areas I wanted most over the A-series I was using before, primarily battery life. I rarely use ANC so having 11 hours of non-ANC battery life means I can comfortably use them all workday and not worry about battery life.

    • Patrick Olender
      Patrick Olender 3 months ago +1

      @Ari Barra ah okay. Yeah I can definitely see your point, wouldn't suggest that either.

    • Ari Barra
      Ari Barra 3 months ago +1

      @ZombleBee thx, this was exactly my point from my 1st comment :)

    • ZombleBee
      ZombleBee 3 months ago +2

      @Ari Barra I did one of those jobs for 6 months and trust me doing that everyday is not good for you. I got 2 ear infections even though I would clean regulary, my ears would just hurt and my tinnitus worsened. Don't recommend.

    • Ari Barra
      Ari Barra 3 months ago +1

      @Patrick Olender i didnt mean like one would be a weirdo or smth, i meant health-wise im PRETTY sure using in-ear for that many hours for most days of the week are going to screw your hearing in some way

    • Patrick Olender
      Patrick Olender 3 months ago +11

      @Ari Barra you know, there are jobs in fabrics and the kind of stuff where you are doing monotonous stuff and workers are allowed to listen to music while doing that. So for these kind of people it's good to have such battery life.

  • Scoogsy
    Scoogsy Month ago

    I use my earbuds almost exclusively in transparency mode I only opt for noise cancelling when specific situations call for it. As I’m walking or driving most often when using my headphones, I want that situational awareness.

  • Certifiably Mediocre™

    I wanted these already, but I'm glad to see that you're recommending them as well. Look forward to seeing your thoughts on the upcoming watch and tablet when you can get them in hand.

  • LaterNerd
    LaterNerd Month ago

    Anyone have a comparison fit wise to the Galaxy Buds Plus? I'm on my second pair of those. Bought the Galaxy Buds Pro at one point and absolutely hated the fit. Everything else sounds like a worthy upgrade for the most part once the Galaxy Buds die. The multipoint support is especially appreciated. Have it on my Sony XM4's and even if it's buggy sometimes it's still really nice.

  • Captain Rex
    Captain Rex 3 months ago

    Any chance you could do a follow up review and test out Live Translate? That's definitely the coolest feature in my opinion, was really hoping to see how good it works.

  • J Papi
    J Papi 3 months ago

    Sounds like my Samsung Buds+ from 3 years ago still hold up against these. They have a sleeker profile, touch controls, software controls, better battery life and I'm assuming they're louder based on the comment he made about having to be on max volume or close to it. I can wait a few more yrs for a massive improvement at a reasonable price

  • Ted Riggs
    Ted Riggs 2 months ago

    How you feel about the volume slider, I feel that's just the way Google is. I just switched from a Galaxy S9 to a Pixel 6 Pro and find that the screen brightness, for example, needs to be higher to match the S9. I find myself putting the brightness at about 75%, whereas on my S9 I keep it at 50%.
    Anyway, enough about brightness.

  • Elvis Rodriguez
    Elvis Rodriguez 18 days ago

    i currently have the beats fit pro and love the sound and the fit. but will using the pixel pro buds enhance my experience with the pixel 7 pro?
    BUT if some folks have found that the pixel pro buds are not ideal for heavy activity; then id stick with the beats fit pro ( love the wing tip ---they never fall off and i have never felt them to be uncomfortable even for long times of use---maybe google used cheap rubber for their wingtips...

  • MrJerczu
    MrJerczu Month ago

    Agree the volume is a big issue for me was super disappointed with it. But they are great nonetheless it hopefully will get rectified with firmware update

  • Bryan S
    Bryan S 3 months ago +101

    I bought these without hesitation when they dropped and I absolutely love them. I had purchased the original Pixel Buds with the wingtips and I unfortunately had to return them because they were uncomfortable and painful. The new buds without the wingtips are great, and stay in my ear securely. I alternate between these and the OnePlus Buds Pro, though these have way better sound.

    • Lukáš Běhal
      Lukáš Běhal 2 months ago

      do you see any other differences, Bryan? I am contemplating whether to buy OnePlus Buds Pro or Pixel Buds Pro.

  • Shaun Malone
    Shaun Malone 2 months ago +1

    Honestly, them being by google causes hesitation. Pretty much every google device that I've bought works great ... until it doesn't. I got their wi-fi which started having issues after a few years of nearly flawless service. I've got a few speakers/hubs from google. They've been getting slower and slower for no apparent reason.
    I don't doubt that they're a great product, but I do question whether they'll still be a great product in a couple years.

  • Matthew
    Matthew 3 months ago

    for them to have nailed it, you would be able to work out in them with comfort as I feel like that is a main use case for many customers

  • Thelegend27
    Thelegend27 3 months ago

    I recently tried the Pixel Buds A-Series, they are a great budget alternative, but they sound flat or stale, they feel cheaply made and are super uncomfortable with the ear fin and bulky frame sitting in my ear. I returned them immediately, and decided to be patient since I heard about the Pixel Buds Pro. Just received them and they already are much more comfortable, they provide a solid range of mids-highs, the lows are not the best, and the active noise cancellation works for distant noises, but definitely not Bose quality. Still impressed because of the portability and compatibility with my Pixel Phone.

  • Trevor Lewis
    Trevor Lewis 2 months ago

    I'm getting the Pixel 7 pro. I got the pixel 6 pro twice, one for my mom then one for me. I think the watch will be pretty good I'll get one. Same with the tablet. It will be a good addition to the home ecosystem. However, I'm going to buy the apple air pod pro 2. I was going to get the Bose quite comfort 2. These are 2 years behind the other 2 leading products at best.

  • Honza368
    Honza368 3 months ago +1

    I actually really like the transparency mode. In my opinion, it sounds way better than for example the Airpods. When I turn the transparency mode on, I sometimes can't even tell by the sound whether I have any headphones in.

  • Nigel Wollaston
    Nigel Wollaston Month ago

    As of V3.14, equalizer has been added. Updated as soon as I connected to them from a Pixel 6 Pro.

  • D Gupta
    D Gupta 3 months ago +1

    Is Google or Apple planning to do an adaptive hearing aid feature on any of the buds?
    An EQ that adapts to compensate for your hearing response, probably based on your feedback via a phone app? or let hearing specialists do a profile of your hearing, and submit to your google/apple account? With the AI and speech processing power at Google's disposal, they could probably make most of us achieve super hearing personalised to each of our ears.

  • Nathan Otis
    Nathan Otis 3 months ago

    I find adaptive, environment based, automatic volume changes quite distracting. I just turned the feature off on another set of buds. Looking forward to turning it off on these as soon as it's made available.

  • Greg From Minnesota
    Greg From Minnesota 3 months ago +24

    I currently use the Pixel Buds Series A. Love the fit of them, especially with the Wing Tip. The only Buds I love more are the Bose QuietComfort. The only reason I have these ones are because they don't have a Master Bud that needs to be out all of the time. Was hoping the newest version of the Pixel Buds would be similar to the Series A with a better battery, EQ settings and wireless charging. I'm bummed that the wing tips are gone. Would love to upgrade to get more than 4 hours of play time, but not sure if I'm ready to give up the wing tips.

    • Enlightened Doggo
      Enlightened Doggo 3 months ago +1

      I've used the originals for ages. Good sound quality, but the case and pairing is super annoying. The earbuds frequently try to connect to devices after placed in the case. If you aren't vigilant in making sure they are actually disconnected, then they will fully drain the battery leaving you with dead earbuds next time you go to use them. Would not recommend this or any of the other Google hardware I've used over the years.

    • Klust
      Klust 3 months ago +1

      @MoriartySan Meanwhile, I can't get them to stay fully in if they do have the wingtips because it pushes it out of the sweet spot.

    • Greg From Minnesota
      Greg From Minnesota 3 months ago

      @Mykole I bought them and immediately went to the gym. Loved them immediately. Got home and found out the harsh truth when I switched to wearing 1 bud. Was so disappointed 😞

    • Mykole
      Mykole 3 months ago +1

      It really is a bummer that the Bose QC have to have the right one paired to use the left. Its the one design flaw that keeps me from using them exclusively.

    • Greg From Minnesota
      Greg From Minnesota 3 months ago

      @MoriartySan Yeah, I wanted to like so many different buds on the market, but they wouldn't stay in my ears. Definitely a deal breaker

  • figure807
    figure807 3 months ago

    Wavelet is a really good eq. Remembers different settings for different audio devices.

  • consumer geekaloid
    consumer geekaloid 3 months ago

    If I had the cash to spare I'd probably get them but I still feel insane for preferring wired headphones and having a headphone jack in general.

  • Łukasz Byjoś
    Łukasz Byjoś 3 months ago +1

    I have them for almost a month and I live them! Super comfy, good sound quality, good ANC.

  • Alex Dispoto
    Alex Dispoto 3 months ago +1

    Don't all earbuds have a "tap to activate voice assistant" feature though? And can't you assign that to be Google Assistant on most? What do these have in terms of Assistant that other earbuds wouldn't? I'm in the market for a new pair so wondering what I'm missing here.

  • KevininK
    KevininK 3 months ago +6

    I upgraded from the samsung galaxy buds pro to these a few weeks back and have been loving them! The fit and sound for me are next level. This review nailed it. Would add a couple of extra points. 1. The ear seal check feature is dope. Guess my right ear is slightly bigger than my left. Had no idea but this feature let me choose the right tips for the best seal. 2. If you are on Android there is an app called Wavelet that is a system wide eq . It's amazing! I'm sure they will release a custom EQ setting for the Pixel Buds Pro but in the meantime I've using the Pixel Buds 2020 one for the Pixel Buds A series and it sounds pretty, pretty good.

  • Jason Mok
    Jason Mok 3 months ago

    Interesting you mention the volume control. Haven't had any issues with the forward/backward swipe. I've had an issue with my media (Spotify, Google Podcasts) not playing on Pixel 6 Pro when the buds are connected, and requires a bluetooth on/off reset.

  • PAC_80
    PAC_80 3 months ago +1

    Good to know! I'm planning on buying them for my daughter for Christmas. Was a bit apprehensive due to the cost, thinking I could get something better for a similar price. Will get the coral to match her Pixel.

  • Ollie Wales
    Ollie Wales 2 months ago

    If I'm not mistaken, the volume on these buds is a bit low because the resistance of the drivers is higher which gives a more clear, punchy sound but the phone has to work harder to push the signal through

  • Ozai
    Ozai 3 months ago +1

    Best fit for me still is the Samsung beans. Broke the case and bought second one. Super comfy.

  • Eric Davis
    Eric Davis 3 months ago +52

    Great review. Love when companies make useful, sensible and pragmatic upgrades.

    • I'm getting Old
      I'm getting Old 3 months ago

      @Brandon agreed... they just gave the mere minimum and people are going crazy

    • Eric Davis
      Eric Davis 3 months ago +13

      @Brandon Let us know about all the brilliant innovations Apple has added to their hardware lately. (note: things that Google/Android haven't already been doing.) We'll all be here waiting on that exhaustive list.

    • Brandon
      Brandon 3 months ago

      Google making a useful upgrade lmao!!!!! Funniest thing I've heard all year

  • Gray Hollow
    Gray Hollow 2 months ago

    I have the pixel buds a series and I'm considering upgrading to the pixel buds pro. But I'm barely satisfied with the volume of the a series while working out, so hearing that the pixel buds pro have lower volume is slightly concerning. Is this something somehow fixable?

  • Ross Aalgaard
    Ross Aalgaard Month ago

    Woops, I forgot to say, I got the Pixel Buds Pro after listening to this email. I love them! They are my first buds and they are just great.

  • Literary Landslide
    Literary Landslide 3 months ago

    One of the main things I'm curious about for most ANC headphones is how different or consistent is the sound when ANC is on or off. I've tried headphones in the store that have sounded like different audio devices with ANC switch on or off and it's almost never mentioned in these reviews. Personally I don't care much about ANC, I use headphones for sound quality & comfort mostly, not blocking out sound, and ANC adds a lot to the price.

  • WhiteTylerPerry
    WhiteTylerPerry 3 months ago +7

    I really like how the case shape is more tall than wide. That means I can carry it in a pocket without an awkward visible bulge. That's a design trend every company should follow.

    • kyyuhl
      kyyuhl 3 months ago +2

      @Daniel Webber lol

    • Daniel Webber
      Daniel Webber 3 months ago +4

      You could always turn the wide ones.... sideways...

  • Joseph Edwards
    Joseph Edwards 3 months ago +199

    Finally, the competition we've all been waiting for between Apple and Google! If there wasn't already enough lol... Thanks for showing us how much the "Pixel" name has excelled!

    • SantilanaKnows
      SantilanaKnows 3 months ago

      @Kyle Albright i have both aswell and the xm4s are way better than any of my airpods or pros ive ever had.not even close in comparison

    • Kyle Albright
      Kyle Albright 3 months ago

      @FTCPlug indeed. Perhaps it's a sign headphone tech has mostly peaked until battery tech improves

    • FTCPlug
      FTCPlug 3 months ago

      @Kyle Albright still impressive that the AirPods are aging as well as they are. 3 year old tech. And the Sonys XM4s I’ve heard have just better quality, maybe it varies per reviewer.

    • Kyle Albright
      Kyle Albright 3 months ago

      @FTCPlug I have the Sony MX4's and the Buds Pro and the Sony's are good, but definitely not "10x's better". I think the transparency is cleaner on the Buds over the Sony's, but the ANC on the Sony blocks more out, but the Buds alter the sound way less with ANC on than the Sony's. For the price, the Buds Pro absolutely destroys anything else in its class. But if the Airpods or Sony's go on sale around the same price, it's tougher

    • Brandon
      Brandon 3 months ago

      What's the competition? Who can make a more useless product? They're pretty neck and neck as it is. Google having more influence in our lives tho I'd probably call more useless due to how frequently you're forced to deal with their uselessness against your own will.

  • Sandeep Rawat
    Sandeep Rawat 3 months ago

    Hey.
    A Great Review yet again! Nothing more music to ears than hearing good things about Pixel through a Pixel phone ;)
    Small Query though: How good is ANC when it comes to call quality, voice reception, mic etc. I find Airpods Pro working the best in that area. Hoping Pixel Buds Pro come close?

  • Cyba IT
    Cyba IT 3 months ago +1

    Yes, it would be handy having EQ for apps like Clip-Share but for music I use Poweramp which has a great EQ built in so no big deal.

  • BrickShorts
    BrickShorts Month ago +2

    We’ve gone from hating wireless earbuds and constantly searching for wired earbuds, to basically the exact opposite

  • Gurra Tell
    Gurra Tell 3 months ago +3

    There are third party equalizers in the Play Store that can EQ any bluetooth headsets or whatever. Wavelet is one, but personally I didn't get it to work, but Poweramp do work just fine. I already have EQ in my earbuds app, but seeing they are only five band and needed some boost in the absolute lowest bass I can also use Poweramp on top of the regular app since it have ten band. Really handy stuff :)

  • No name
    No name 3 months ago

    Your intros always hit the beat just right it's so satisfying.

  • Ian Bush
    Ian Bush 3 months ago

    I have had air pods pro for over a year now and they are still my favorite headphones and the build is insane on it. I have legitimately washed my AirPods 5 separate times and they work PERFECT still even the noise cancellation and everything else

  • Felix
    Felix 3 months ago

    I bought the sony xm3 over ear back when you did the review of them and overall they are still great, but the touch sensor being triggered by cold temperatures ruins them during winter, have you tested the pixel buds in cold/strong wind?

  • N UvA
    N UvA 3 months ago

    Great review, but about talking in a bit noisy environment? My pain point with the Airpods Pro is that I can't talk on the phone while washing dishes, opening a plastic bag or on a noisy street, because my call companion hears as if it's a middle of a war. Sounds around are amplified immensly. I would be curious to know about this one and other ones!... Thanks and keep up the great work.

  • Orrin Jones Jr
    Orrin Jones Jr 3 months ago

    This is a good review detailed and to the point as always.

  • paul t
    paul t 2 months ago +3

    You're the man. You always save me tons of research but with headphones I'm super picky. Hearing your intro just put my mind at ease. Now to finish the video and keep the algorithm happy.

    • paul t
      paul t 2 months ago +1

      @Square Breaker Nah, just got them today and they slap. Be well.

    • Square Breaker
      Square Breaker 2 months ago

      so you let a algorithm dictate your internet?

  • NiteStrykr
    NiteStrykr 2 months ago

    Don't forget you can use Google Assistant to change your volume! Ask it to turn it up to a certain percentage (50%) or adjust by a percentage (10-20%). :)