Tap to unmute

12 Fans, 0 Airflow: One of the Worst Cases We've Reviewed | Abkoncore Ramesses 780

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 31, 2023 veröffentlicht
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 4 118

  • Gamers Nexus
    Gamers Nexus  2 years ago +396

    PC case review playlist: clip-share.net/video/NPe2oXxOhLg/video.html
    Article review of this case: www.gamersnexus.net/hwreviews/3612-abkoncore-ramesses-780-case-review-really-bad
    Find the BPS Customs video here! clip-share.net/video/OBOAMnpBP6A/video.html
    The GN Wireframe Mouse Mats are back in stock & shipping now! Any orders or back-orders we have are shipping daily as we catch up on the huge interest and order volume. Grab one here: store.gamersnexus.net/products/gn-wireframe-mouse-mat (we are also donating 10% of store revenue to Eden Reforestation Projects through August 20!)

    • Alexis Zurex
      Alexis Zurex 10 months ago

      oh my..... i just buy the abkoncore AL700 sync, hope its not THIS bad....

    • Chef Microwave
      Chef Microwave Year ago

      lets face it . its cooler master or lan li . or you get a water cooler custom case thats it the rest of the cases put in th e bin

    • Indiana Stones
      Indiana Stones Year ago

      Send the case to LTT and ask them to redesign this bs case

    • Mc Kuc
      Mc Kuc Year ago

      clip-share.net/user/shorts_AEF6fgurSA?feature=share

    • JaJa’s Mid Grade
      JaJa’s Mid Grade Year ago

      When your project coordinator is not an Engineer.

  • Modrun Official
    Modrun Official 2 years ago +11953

    almost looks like whoever made this case thought that fans produce cool air

    • Rookz
      Rookz 2 months ago +1

      Wait what? That’s not true?

    • Rico Lorenz
      Rico Lorenz 2 months ago +1

      They open the wind path

    • Shaina Shortcake
      Shaina Shortcake 3 months ago

      Thing about ACs is that they produce both hot and cold air, shooting them in two different directions, so that case would still not be effective.

    • Enthusiastic Aizawa
      Enthusiastic Aizawa 3 months ago

      @Evox81 saying big words like “cognitive dissonance” instead of providing evidence and proof to prove people are wrong…

    • Autotrope
      Autotrope 4 months ago

      Like windmills!

  • weetabixharry
    weetabixharry 2 years ago +3110

    He's going to feel so dumb when he realizes he just reviewed a fan oven, thinking it was a PC case.

    • Jean Marceaux
      Jean Marceaux 19 days ago

      @Larry John "clearly you don't own an air fryer" motherfucker I game on an air fryer

    • ano nym
      ano nym Month ago

      @Larry John no, it's called a convection oven. An air fryer is just a type of such.

    • Cale G
      Cale G 5 months ago

      Yes it's actually a high end air fryer

    • Bloodfrost Gaming
      Bloodfrost Gaming 6 months ago

      He reviewed a convection oven

    • Entertain Me
      Entertain Me 7 months ago

      cringe

  • 404cp
    404cp Year ago +478

    Funnily enough, circulating hot air inside a box is how a convection oven works. Those extra fans inside are literally cooking your components.

    • Laughinglion6
      Laughinglion6 11 days ago

      @Alreawon what a bizarre thing to be so defensive about

    • Auturgic Flosculator
      Auturgic Flosculator 23 days ago

      @Alreawon Hot fans fail faster. Hot caps fail faster. 5 years is not a particularly old system. If you get all you need out of it, that's great, but it's an odd hill to choose to die on... "Mine hasn't failed yet and that means it never will, so suck it" seems to be your general attitude here. Silly.

    • solothreedog
      solothreedog 27 days ago

      @Alreawon Bro thats ass temps. My 5700xt runs 70 at 100% usage. And thats cause its dusty af in my shit

    • Xen N
      Xen N Month ago +1

      @Alreawon its safe the same way driving on bald tires is safe. Youll do it, but you wont be doing it for long.

    • Louie Satterwhite
      Louie Satterwhite Month ago

      @Alreawon my gpu, an evga rtx 3080ti, is on an aio cooler. It doesn't go above 50°C when under 100% load, unless I overclock.

  • Bonifaquisha
    Bonifaquisha Year ago +561

    Finally, a PC case that meets the extremely high standards of The Verge.

    • DavesDome
      DavesDome Month ago

      If only he used an Allen wrench, then this case would've been perfect.

    • Elen Degenerate
      Elen Degenerate Month ago +4

      @ChronicNewb [Lea] Im gonna make sure to put all my money into ensuring my gravestone lasts +300 years, and on it will be the words "Never forget the Verge PC build"

    • Big Smoke
      Big Smoke 5 months ago +5

      yes, they got one

    • Sergeant Camacho
      Sergeant Camacho 6 months ago +4

      It seems that The Verge was behind this case design.

    • John Drawn
      John Drawn 7 months ago +8

      Lol, the verge called, they want their case back!

  • Kclanks
    Kclanks Month ago +3

    This case probably has the worse cooling ever, literally the only thing that could top this is putting a radiator inside of a solid steel box.

  • Taco T
    Taco T 2 years ago +3794

    If eBay sellers got their hands on this, they’d put in a Pentium and a GT 1030 and call it a “gaming PC” selling for $1000

    • JJ's Grand Adventure
      JJ's Grand Adventure 11 days ago

      @Mark Paul Pangan I've got a RTX 3050 paired with a i5 11400f

    • 4GB MEANS 4GB
      4GB MEANS 4GB 2 months ago

      That can't be worse then the ugly a$$ msi gpu and cpu cooler and motherboard lol.

    • nope nope
      nope nope 4 months ago

      @Shay OConnor the gddr5 version with a decent cpu can still run most games.

    • nope nope
      nope nope 4 months ago

      I think I still have a small form 1030 ddr5 around here somewhere...

    • AlreadyFemboy
      AlreadyFemboy 7 months ago

      ive had a friend fall for that sadly.

  • Marc-André Servant
    Marc-André Servant Year ago +144

    Maybe we can create a processor that decreases entropy? As in, it takes an already solved math problem as an input, un-solves it, and creates cold instead of heat. This case would be perfect!

    • bruh
      bruh 6 months ago +2

      Better yet we can make an engine that make fuel from co2

    • No-Life Noah
      No-Life Noah 7 months ago +5

      @da bo it's giving it a factored polynomial and then having the nth degree polynomial theorem removed from existence when it finishes processing

    • da bo
      da bo Year ago +3

      Wouldn’t that be factoring?

  • AmazingChina
    AmazingChina Month ago +10

    That's not a PC case, it's a convection oven.

  • Swollos
    Swollos 2 years ago +418

    You guys should blow smoke through/around the case to watch the “airflow” through this monstrosity. (Not sure if this would damage components or anything like that)

    • G S
      G S 9 months ago

      The amount of stupidity in this thread is mind-blowing. No, smoke is not going to hurt the components and/or BUILD UP IN THE CASE for a 5 minute test! Phewwwwwwwwww.

    • Mikołaj Nowak
      Mikołaj Nowak 10 months ago

      When I blow my vape close to my pc it always sucks it up like mad and it goes behind my desk lmao

    • Auturgic Flosculator
      Auturgic Flosculator Year ago

      @JonatasAdoM I do :)

    • JonatasAdoM
      JonatasAdoM Year ago

      @Auturgic Flosculator Speak for yourself

    • JonatasAdoM
      JonatasAdoM Year ago

      The result will be a smokescreen.

  • Securi-T
    Securi-T 2 years ago +50

    This has been my biggest pet peeve building a system recently for the first time in many years. So many cases have pretty RGB fans on the front. Behind a PANE OF GLASS. Which, last I checked, glass sucks for airflow.

    • MadeInHeaven
      MadeInHeaven 4 months ago

      @Artyom Alexandrov Lian Li mini

    • Artyom Alexandrov
      Artyom Alexandrov 6 months ago +2

      Legit trying to find an rgb case that doesn’t have any gimmicks that limit airflow is a huge concern of mine and thus far I’ve found a few I like

  • Rogeh
    Rogeh Year ago +42

    Funny, I bought an Abkoncore case (can't remember the model) for a simple "office spec" PC, just a 2200G nothing fancy. It has 3 fans at the front, supposedly for intake, and 1 at the back (the usual place). Thing is, there's absolutely NO holes AT ALL on the front plate, it's sealed shut, just plain metal and a semi-transparent strip for the RGB. There are small slits at the top, which seems to be more of a decoration than anything else, you can't even install any fan there. So the only functional hole is the exhaust one at the back, which pulls air out without allowing any air in (or the minuscule amount of air sucked in through that decoration slits).
    I think it's designed by the same guy. The fact they have 3 fans at the front with ZERO holes to let air in is mind blowing, no pun intended

  • GetMePaid2Day
    GetMePaid2Day Year ago +49

    The funny thing is, with a few modifications and some elbow grease you could turn this monstrosity into a cooling monster. There's certainly enough space to do so

    • CPFS
      CPFS 5 days ago

      I was just thinking the same. You could build a honkin' big computer inside and still have enough room for a diorama. 😉

    • Clayton Mashburn
      Clayton Mashburn Month ago +1

      Far less time money and effort to just buy a competent case though.

    • John Gillis
      John Gillis 3 months ago +1

      It could be a cooling monster with half the fans....can't imagine the noise it makes.

    • Psythik
      Psythik 4 months ago +4

      It wouldn't be half bad if you drilled a bunch of holes in the SSD slots (just use m.2s), replaced the glass back panel with a metal mesh, and used some furniture risers to lift the case off the ground a bit more. But at that point you've basically converted it to an O11 Dynamic Evo, so you might as well save the time and the money and just buy that case instead.

  • Tackitt
    Tackitt Year ago +47

    given the cost of manufacturing I would legitimately like to know how this makes it to existence

  • Senor Sicon
    Senor Sicon 2 years ago +74

    “The whole system is a trap for hot air...”
    This is easily my favorite PC video review of all time.

    • Kurama
      Kurama 10 months ago +2

      The case is basically just a convection oven for your pc components XD

    • bakermiaz
      bakermiaz Year ago +2

      I suspect an all female design team behind this one. "system is a trap for hot air."

  • iwsfg
    iwsfg 2 years ago +923

    I'm now realizing that GN invented themselves a new niche here: horrible or just odd case review as an entertainment (but doing it with all seriousness).
    And while fun and all it's still educating for us and gives some feedback to manufacturers. Everyone wins, nice

    • Johny40Se7en
      Johny40Se7en 11 months ago

      Damn, that is one seriously positive outlook of such a giant and stupidly funny error, fair play 😅😆😂

    • Sergio Ribeiro
      Sergio Ribeiro 2 years ago

      No no no... GN should beta test for ALL the manufacturers. At this point you either look at hardware canucks for design reviews or GN for performance reviews.
      They should team up and do a case.

    • C. Z.
      C. Z. 2 years ago

      Sincerely hope Steve won't have an aneurysm from this case. The case really ticked every single trigger point that he has. Props for this review though.

    • emperorSbraz
      emperorSbraz 2 years ago

      it's not that hard when the ammunition comes by the truckload..

    • 100 Seconds To Midnight
      100 Seconds To Midnight 2 years ago +3

      In turn causing us to keep track of certain products that peak our own subjective interests and watching them evolve in design, depending on the review good or bad. Good, we probably put it on a wish list or buy asap. Bad, wait and see.

  • Bowie mtl
    Bowie mtl Year ago +10

    I never knew there would be so much that could go wrong with a case, I'll definitely be more wary when choosing my case. Thank you for making this video!

  • Pasha Gaming YT
    Pasha Gaming YT Year ago +10

    This is genius, how did nobody think of this before?!
    Even the best dust filters still let some through, but solid steel lets absolutely no dust through, genius!

  • theminecraftace
    theminecraftace Year ago +18

    This is a prime example of making a PC case look more appealing over having a better cooling system. Some PC cases have this problem but to a lesser extent.

  • John S
    John S 2 months ago +2

    It's actually shocking how a person designed and started manufacturing this without knowing how airflow even works. It's just blowing hot air into a mostly sealed box lmao. It's like, you need to cool your house down so you put 20 fans in each room blowing against the walls and then close the door 😂😂

  • Seth Mullins
    Seth Mullins Year ago +5

    This is actually probably less effective than if it just had rear and bottom fans because of the fans that point nowhere. Turbulence is terrible for airflow. People who build Small Block Ford engines very often grind the turbulence humps out of the exhaust passages to get enough airflow to make real power. I know because I've done it.

  • AcceptYourDeath
    AcceptYourDeath Year ago +8

    I find it really odd you can`t even save this case with a open sidepanel while all 7 fans could push air out without obstruction. How on earth did they manage to do that?

  • Let's Go Brandon
    Let's Go Brandon 2 years ago +2

    Look how far we've come in computing! A WIRELESS remote control to take the drudgery of controlling fan speed. Now if we could only develop the technology to automate fan speed relative to temperature. Who designed this PoS?

  • Aehnkantos
    Aehnkantos Year ago +7

    If you look closely at the image at 3:20 you'll notice that the airflow seems to be coming from removed panels. Also observe that there are no components inside of said case. Such a case would remain at a desirable room temperature. I also love a chassis that with ventilation so large I can stick my finger directly into the rear exhaust.

  • MadScientist512
    MadScientist512 2 years ago +3

    One major unmentioned issue is the lack of proper shrouds around the fan reducing their effectiveness even more, presumably for the sake of the 'spider' design aesthetic.

  • Failed Society
    Failed Society Year ago +3

    This is a really weird oven design, with all the tech stuff *inside* the baking area... Nonetheless I love it. The circulating air function makes the bread extra crisp!

  • Balazs Telek
    Balazs Telek Year ago +5

    Perfect its just what ive been looking for. I hate airflow -- I think they should put rubber gaskets on the side panels to make sure that no air gets in!

  • Wyatt_o7's
    Wyatt_o7's 2 years ago +2

    Man usually you get a full tower for better air options for bigger hardware lol. This case is actually worse than the inwin 303. Impressive. And those fans , who thought that would be a good idea ?

  • jaye1967
    jaye1967 2 years ago +3041

    When your company's only requirement is that everyone has a marketing degree.

    • Vainth
      Vainth Year ago

      @Stormspark apple is shit, but not this shit. this is real bad shit

    • Vooligan
      Vooligan Year ago

      It does seem like the company are a huge "fan" of marketing "degrees" 😎

    • jaye1967
      jaye1967 Year ago

      @Bryan Little So does this mean they are required to hold at least 2 degrees? Or if they do is that just something they can use in their advertising?

    • Bryan Little
      Bryan Little Year ago

      A degree of any caliber from any uncredited institution is required before any application processing.

    • Wayne
      Wayne Year ago

      That is racist!
      /s

  • mattor_man
    mattor_man 2 years ago +6

    Excellent review. I love how your reviews don't just straight-up bash a product, but always seem to give every product an actual chance to shine and let the data speak for itself!
    One thing you could do with the case is pass it over to Linus's team to modify the case to find out what it would take to "fix" all of the horrific problems it has and to make it a passable case.

  • matt odom
    matt odom Year ago +2

    I would love to get my hands on this case to mod and make good. A Dremel and some creativity can make this an awesome case.

  • Richard Holloway
    Richard Holloway Year ago +5

    I always wanted to watch someone show proper airflow by putting a tiny amount of coloured smoke next to the intake and see where it went.

  • Chay Chay
    Chay Chay 2 years ago +15

    "More fans is not, indeed, more better."
    Words to live by.

  • snowhawk
    snowhawk 2 years ago +1339

    "open the wind way" just means that you should remove all the panels before using the case

    • chevalierdel'occident
      chevalierdel'occident 2 years ago

      Sounds like a non-native English speaker slogan.

    • michael gregory
      michael gregory 2 years ago +2

      I thought it was a reference to passing gas.

    • Martin Ivanov
      Martin Ivanov 2 years ago +4

      better remove the case

    • Merlin Athrawes
      Merlin Athrawes 2 years ago +5

      I thought it meant drop yer kegs, bend over and let rip with a Windy Miller.

    • AbsurdDive
      AbsurdDive 2 years ago +32

      Or open your window to yeet this failed experiment out through said window

  • Matthew
    Matthew 2 years ago +52

    "They've somehow managed to make ventilation dangerous and ineffective."
    Got a good chuckle from me, sir. Cheers... now let's burn it so it doesn't reproduce...

    • Ethan
      Ethan Year ago

      This entire video was hilarious.

  • Tim
    Tim 2 years ago +1

    Is it possible for the fans to cause a choke on the exhaust. Like ideally you'd want the fans blowing air from the intake to the exhaust. If those fans on the back are blowing the hot air into a panel and away from the exhaust doesn't that create a loop that keeps air from leaving the case? Or does it not work like that?

  • Eugene Minton
    Eugene Minton Year ago

    if you added extenders to the side with the glass to create a gap, you'd still need (in my opinion) some means of internal flow management. with so many fans fighting for the path of the air, the conflict of each might interfere with other fans. so even with holes, you will probably need some panels or dividers to help direct the flow for it to be effective, which would alter the view through the glass of course... would it be appealing thou?

  • Jordan Rich
    Jordan Rich Year ago +1

    Apparently GN has never seen a Costco air fryer. It’s disheartening to see a man this lost; where he truly believes this culinary tool could somehow replace a modern day desktop computer. I hope GN has gotten help since this air fryer review.

  • ARCAD3BLOOD
    ARCAD3BLOOD Year ago

    It could be good. With fliping rigth side around or replacing those with the same as at the bottom ventilation.
    Then restraining airflow to backfire with srewed metal sheets (and maybe a rubber on edge so it doesn't scrach glass).
    Next making a passage to up and to right with anti-dust mesh. I see it could work. It won't be ideal but if you will use big water cooling radiator, it could make a difference. There kinda would be an gpu airflow and cpu airflow which is a good thing to have. But two water cooling radiators are out of order. It would need a complete redesign.

  • VideoGamePhenom
    VideoGamePhenom Year ago +3

    Only the rear side of the case has openings that lets the air out. Even with all those fans, nothing is as bad as a case like this.

  • MicHaeL MonStaR
    MicHaeL MonStaR Year ago +1

    I'll give an example as to how sensitive components are to the airflow their enclosure provides; So I have this almost cube-shaped case that has a perforated font bezel, but also two perforated side-panels, with one panel being a window, the back has one fan-mount and the bottom has about half of it perforated. - While the front has a foam filter, the two side-panels have some of those magnetic metal filters, and you could breathe through all of those quite comfortably. - So the case is very "arid" in general. Still, despite having a 200mm intake-fan in the front, a 140mm exhaust-fan in the back, and a 120mm-fan going out through a radiator in the top (as well as the PSU doing some light exhausting with its fan), I noticed that, when removing just the metal filters, it would drop the temperature of say the GPU significantly. Even though it could suck in all the air it would like with more than half the case being "open".
    And to go even further; Despite the perforated panels without the metal filters being even more open, taking those off would yet again drop the temperature a significant few degrees. - But I think it also has to do with the fact that GPUs run so hot nowadays and a case just can't get rid of that amount of heat quickly enough. - So now I will just add a bunch more fans to those "open" areas, as they still just choke the components inside. Let alone these cases with completely solid panels.

  • MrJohndoakes
    MrJohndoakes Year ago

    I would have drilled large vent holes in the front for some fans, switched out the fans for better fans......If I were crazy. In reality I would have avoided this case as a heatsink deathtrap for my components and found something better to put them in.

  • DJ Doppler
    DJ Doppler 2 years ago +856

    *_This is basically what happens when you let a designer do what they want without any regard for what the engineer says._*
    I work for one of the big 3 automakers in Detroit and it is terrifying to know that half of our vehicles are barely getting enough airflow to the radiator because some _"genius"_ designer wants to put a pretty-looking plastic grille texture in front of it that doesn't let hardly any air through.

    • floopy
      floopy 4 months ago

      @Psythik {underline}text{underline} _sample_

    • Psythik
      Psythik 4 months ago

      Hey how do you make your text italic? I know how to do *bold* text, but had no idea other types of formatting were possible too!

    • fm5691
      fm5691 6 months ago

      Pretty sure that has more to do with aerodynamics and MPG than with design because most modern car grilles are absolutely massive

    • floopy
      floopy 7 months ago

      "LESS is MORE!!!"

    • Salami99
      Salami99 7 months ago +1

      wait im a designer at big 3... lol at least im in software design. I have a feeling ur not talking about beyond some economy model

  • Robert
    Robert Year ago +3

    This case defies aerodynamics. More power generates more heat, if that heat has no place to go, thanks to the ill-designed case which renders the gorgeous-looking fans useless, the components are doomed as they are bound to catch fire. Aesthetics is what this case is all about, nothing more. Whoever designed this, has no basic knowledge of aerodynamics. Remember that show on national geographic called THE SCIENCE OF STUPID? The guys who made this case would fit right in.
    Unbelievable that this crap actually sells.
    In order to make good use of this case, one would have to place the damn thing inside a gigantic fridge (or freezer depending on how much heat it gives off) and operate the PC from there via a looooong power cable. Also the monitor would need a long cable. Yep, the science of stupid !!!
    f*ing LOL.

    • Miami Wave
      Miami Wave Year ago

      Not even putting this garbage on a freezer would help. Freezers are not designed to keep up with an object generating constant heat. There’s a Linus video on that.

  • Marko Pavlović
    Marko Pavlović Year ago +3

    I seriously want to know how this case made it through the various design, production, and QA (?) steps without anyone asking "does this actually work?"

    • 7piecebucket
      7piecebucket Year ago +1

      Hey, the fans spin. Isn't that enough for you? 😂

  • Marc
    Marc 2 years ago +7

    Could you in theory put spacers/large washers in between the glass panels and use longer screws? Creating maybe half an inch gap?

  • KrazeeCain
    KrazeeCain Year ago +4

    I've always wondered if you could completely seal up a computer case and cool the air inside with a radiator, with coolant fed from the outside that was cooled another way. This case could be a great candidate for such a project (with some modification)

    • Louie Satterwhite
      Louie Satterwhite Month ago +1

      See, that's the theory behind external water cooling. It's absolutely possible, but not super efficient without cooling in the case too, because you are lengthening the path of heat transfer.

  • Mac J
    Mac J 2 years ago +1998

    Q: Should I configure these fans as intake, or exhaust?
    A: No.

  • theBabyDead
    theBabyDead 2 years ago

    The coolest case I've ever had was some Corsair Graphite the size of a building. It looked a lot like the 760T but I believe it was a bit different as it had no glass. Anyway, I noticed it's not on the list and I'm kind of disappointed because it's by far the coolest running case I've ever touched. It had a lot of annoyances though. It was loud, ate dust and the door-like sidepanel kept shaking up against the metal. It was hella heavy and a chore to take it to a computer store when I had some weird issues (Motherboard issue, in the end). Anyway, you should test that one if you can get your hands on it.

  • Jovica Janjic
    Jovica Janjic 2 years ago +9

    "Idiocracy" was not just a movie. It was a disturbingly accurate depiction of the future. This case is confirming the arrival of the future depicted in that movie.

  • The Sage
    The Sage Year ago +2

    This was definitely made to be a fully water cooled pc and even then still wouldn’t be better than other cases

  • Leepshin
    Leepshin Year ago +1

    On the plus side this case has highlighted just how poorly my own 15 year old case is performing and that's with the side panel "off" of mine. (It apparently really is almost as bad. lol)

  • Enfillyon
    Enfillyon 2 years ago +206

    I love reviews like these. That bit about Brian keeping his battery so you too could experience it as he did had me dying

    • hey it's pete
      hey it's pete 10 months ago

      Cringe

    • Enfillyon
      Enfillyon 2 years ago

      @BPS Customs =O i wasnt expecting this lol. love your content too

    • BPS Customs
      BPS Customs 2 years ago +14

      This case doesn't deserve to keep my $3 battery.

    • Nakatomi
      Nakatomi 2 years ago +3

      That was pure gold that bit

  • Commander Roddi
    Commander Roddi 2 years ago

    Would be interesting to see what modifications you could make to make this a good case? (like drill holes in it or something?

  • CleetZ
    CleetZ 11 months ago +1

    This pc would actually have incredible air flow if You just leave the glass side off
    I never really understood that about PCs. Cant we just, not put the sliding insert back on?
    Leave the entire side open for air flows

  • Alex Navarro
    Alex Navarro 2 years ago +1

    I got the CM TD500 mesh and I am so glad i see it do so well in every test. Has to be one of the best high end budget case out there

  • David West
    David West Year ago

    I once made a case with 12 fans. Great airflow, much better than this, however, I was basically replacing fans every 2-3 months when the bearings went bad after around the first year. Never again. Much better to have 1 w/ liquid cooling, or 2-3 in optimal positions.

  • vmah0111
    vmah0111 2 years ago +442

    Engineer: We need more airflow, maybe lets add some ventilation?
    Marketing department: **Chuckles in 12 fans**
    Engineer:....ventilation is import-
    Marketing department: **rolls on the floor in tempered glass**

    • Ketamine Poptarts
      Ketamine Poptarts 7 months ago +1

      @Dexter maybe its supposed to be like the "laughs in spanish" meme

    • gu3z1
      gu3z1 2 years ago +3

      @Drewski McG They make sense! In this case, 12 fans represents a spoken language. This meme evolved from "Laughs in German" and others of the same format. All of this is implied but the dude who didn't get it is probably living under some rock.

    • Drewski McG
      Drewski McG 2 years ago +3

      @Dexter
      The OP is using a variation on the "Laughs in" meme.
      These memes have morphed over time to become so unrecognisable, that they no longer even make grammatical sense.
      🤷🏻‍♂️ Such is the internet.

    • Alex R
      Alex R 2 years ago

      @Dexter I said wind wall before but meant wind way. clip-share.net/video/OupiPZybyBE/video.html

    • Anariasis EVE
      Anariasis EVE 2 years ago +3

      @con simit Correct. Even an agricultural engineer could have done a way better job there!

  • awdrifter3
    awdrifter3 2 years ago +1

    It's a good looking case though. Maybe put some stand-offs on the glass side panel so it'll actually have a few MM gap for airflow.

  • Adan Phu
    Adan Phu Year ago

    There must be a vent for inflow and vent for outflow. They have to be placed correctly to maximized efficiency, airflow, and cooling so on 😀

  • Zeek MX
    Zeek MX Year ago

    I had no idea that could happen or that MSI would be involved.
    In the situation of MSI Steve, They really really push the idea of fan cooling and we should not discourage that even if they made a mistake on this one.
    My recommendation to MSI is go ahead and make a brilliant AOI , because as speed increases so does the thermals.
    I totally believe MSI will get the message and switch to AIO giving users the confidence to work and play. I've become some kind of underpaid futurist when it's MSI

  • Hippie Tech
    Hippie Tech Year ago

    If you're watching this channel you are ahead of (according to my unfounded estimates) 80% of the gaming community when it comes to knowing what to look for when buying a case or computer! The first big mistake you'll see all new builders make is buying a pretty case with a glass front, instead of a mesh front for optimal cooling. Tempered glass on the sides people, not the front.

  • ObiWill1
    ObiWill1 4 months ago

    What they meant by "open the wind way" was "YOU, open the wind way" by removing all of the sides & figuring out how to get air in the case by either leaving them off or drilling holes in them for ventilation all by yourself. :D

  • SaturnineXTS
    SaturnineXTS 2 years ago

    I've got a twelve fan case as well - 4 in the front panel and 3 at the bottom for intake, 3 on the top panel and 2 on the back for exhaust. I have no idea if the airflow is good or not - the glass front panel appears to sit pretty tightly over the front fans, but I'm not getting any temp differences when I take it off. My 7700k is heavily OC'd though, running at 5 ghz at all times, so it can go way over 90 degrees in Prime95, but I haven't noticed any improvements by taking off the front panel. Worst case scenario, I could use bigger spacers and longer thumb screws if there's a problem. The case is Redragon Ironhide and the fans are Corsair's 120mm LED fans. I wonder if someone has any experience with that case and can share it, I dumped a shitton of cash on it haha

  • johan vähäsalo
    johan vähäsalo Year ago

    when aircooling i found the base being 1-3 front drawing(preferably low mounted), 1 back 2-3 top being best for flow, side fans are for watercooling, not airflow. cooling should be base knowledge of physics as heat goes up so u just help it get there.

  • SamMurphyHSV
    SamMurphyHSV Year ago

    I have a sneaking suspicion that somebody could potentially take those 6pin fans and rig them into 4 pins. With the additional molex connector, I am wondering if they just stuck an additional load wire and/or ground wire into the connector to make it proprietary and leaving the control and sensor wires dead since there isn't a way to plug the fans into the motherboard and run them normally. Would be interesting to see if it was possible to splice together the two load wires and two ground wires to make the fans work on a 4 pin connector if my suspicion is true. Wouldn't be worth it for a consumer, since a consumer could simply buy a normal fan, but it would make an interesting experiment.

  • SSJ4Nappa
    SSJ4Nappa 2 years ago +447

    So I can essentially run this case without anything in it to cool my bedroom by trapping all the hot air in it. A brand new way to air condition.

    • je suis le taxi
      je suis le taxi 14 days ago

      …. I take my hat off to you for your impressive mental gymnastics.

    • Micheal Persicko
      Micheal Persicko 9 months ago +7

      OR better yet get a dirt cheap motherboard with parts that are dirt cheap but run hot and save a fortune of your heating bills

  • Lawyer Lawyer
    Lawyer Lawyer Month ago +3

    Me with a full mesh front and top:
    Damn I think I’m going to remove the dust filters for better airflow and just clean the pc more often.
    This guys: let’s put solid panels with no holes in front of every fan

  • Trigger Blister
    Trigger Blister 9 months ago

    GN turned me on to the Silverstone RL-06. I’m running Lian Li AL-120’s at front and rear, and two Zalman SF-140’s at the top. Absolutely satisfied with my with airflow. Just wish Lian Li made a AL-140.

  • itachisasku
    itachisasku 2 years ago

    I worked next to an oven that painted aerospace parts go through and ride around in a carousel. After the parts come out of the oven I would flip them so that they would get painted on the other side in another booth, but outside of the oven on the ceiling were attached about 8 or 10 fans.... and I can tell you that when those fans were on... it would just recirculate the heat coming out of the oven and would begin to cook me... and just get hotter and hotter.

  • Andrew Rangel
    Andrew Rangel Year ago +1

    Without waiting for the results I'm gonna make an early prediction and say the configuration of the fans actually push the heat towards the center of the case and motherboard rather than expelling the hot and drawing cool in.

  • Hashbias Shate
    Hashbias Shate 2 years ago +628

    Thumbnails never dissapoint. The case is being cooked by the extreme glare of Tech Jesus..

    • triadwarfare
      triadwarfare 2 years ago +1

      Probably you can cook eggs with that case

    • jjay8319
      jjay8319 2 years ago

      That's a good one. 🤣😂👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾 I need to use that one myself sometime.

    • HarmonyEdge
      HarmonyEdge 2 years ago

      I see it as him looking disappointedly at a dumpster fire... 😅

    • petar
      petar 2 years ago

      hahahah you are so on point. steve will be more known the linus in couple of years i bet

    • DNAReader
      DNAReader 2 years ago

      I love this thumbnail. Great job Steve!

  • Cancerous Nut
    Cancerous Nut Year ago

    Two fans at the rear make it look like a GPU cooler, kind of suiting, seeing that all these fans will do is produce heat.

  • JoeMega
    JoeMega 10 months ago

    This case build looks a lot like the In Win 309, but with a closed glass back instead of a metal back with holes (for the intake)

  • CreamyAndDreamy
    CreamyAndDreamy 10 months ago +3

    It makes me sad inside to think that someone probably bought this for their build. It actually hurts my soul.

  • Liam Dennehy
    Liam Dennehy Year ago +4

    "A standard case has six sides". Outstanding!

  • BattleBeetle
    BattleBeetle 2 years ago +2808

    Named Ramesses because there's about the same amount of air here as in a sarcophagus

    • joel trammell
      joel trammell Year ago +1

      atleast when the cpu dies it will be preserved for archeologists.

    • Zelara
      Zelara Year ago

      these comments 8 months late replying.... my eyes 💀 😂 😭

    • icedidi
      icedidi 2 years ago

      I lol'd

    • Till bot
      Till bot 2 years ago

      Lol

    • GILLZ
      GILLZ 2 years ago

      Nice lmfao

  • P R
    P R Year ago

    Designing for air flow is a specialty in itself. This case just proves that again. Just circulating air is not sufficient. You have to have a pressure differential for it to work. A fan on a cpu heatsink does not cool the cpu. It is the outside cooler air that does that. Here probably turning off most of the fan would save some 50 watts of heat! I would have like to see a measurement of differential flow instead of cpu temp which is too indirect.

  • Fanoir
    Fanoir 2 years ago +19

    "They've somehow managed to make ventilation both dangerous and ineffective." Made me lol way harder than i should have....

  • girald S
    girald S Year ago

    That case is an abomination... But seriously though, when have mainboard and case makers taken a serious approach to airflow? Cooling is still in the dark ages and remain so, until circus lighted PCs are no longer interesting, and function first drives makers to innovate a bit more

  • BPorter
    BPorter Year ago

    I spent the last 18 months with a Phanteks ITX Evolv case.
    At first I was like 'Yay, an ITX case with room for a 280mm AIO, 5x140mm fans and 2 HDD'.
    Except the front ant top are solid metal with the tiniest vents. The inside was basically an oven.
    I recently swapped to the new Lian Li Air Mini which is the same height and depth, just deeper to fit the PSU and drives in the back. My temps have fallen a lot with the same number of fans thanks to mesh on all sides other than the case window.

  • Simon West
    Simon West 2 years ago +285

    Fun made-up fact:
    "Open the air flow" is not a marketing slogan as many people seem to think... It's a command. You have to do it.

    • TUTruth
      TUTruth 2 years ago +34

      I was thinking it wasn't a marketing slogan but a cry for help.

  • Steve Yuhas
    Steve Yuhas Year ago +1

    This is like the equivalent of me thinking as a kid that I was making an air conditioner if I put a glass of ice water behind a small house fan.

  • Ives
    Ives 2 years ago

    I wonder if you took the glass off, replaced it with plexiglass and added some holes for ventilation if that would make it a decent case or not.

  • Shaun Field
    Shaun Field Year ago

    @11:44 I started chuckling at the remote and then burst into laughter when he talks about the two options of fan speed! I really like this guy.

  • Darth Fetid
    Darth Fetid Year ago

    good case to mod from an engineering stand point... custom stand offs for the front and rear glass approx 5mm tall . give it some taller feet an extra 2 cms should do. front panel, go nuts with a drill and dremmel.

  • Flying Tentacle
    Flying Tentacle 10 months ago

    To be fair, the case does have a lot of airflow. It just doesn't exchange that airflow externally in any way. Like a little tornado in a bottle.

  • quigonkenny
    quigonkenny Year ago

    It's a shame, since all they would have needed to give it decent airflow is put some ventilation in the top of the case (moving the useless decorative fans above the MB to the top) and raise it by a couple cm. That would have even let them raise the MB a bit and have some more space below. They could have then removed the useless decorative fans in front of the MB and allowed support for EATX and/or more room for drives.

  • mtkl23
    mtkl23 Year ago

    I keep my old amd processor around 40-50 c with 3 fans and a huge arctic cooler heat sink. Its all about airflow, and how well you move air trough the case. And that it is not on the floor or against the wall or anything.

  • Krykry
    Krykry 11 months ago

    That FrozrL for a good measure, lol.
    Just a tip for passing-by owners of MSI's FrozrL CPU cooler: buy a second fan. The fin density of that thing is too great for a single fan to push air through at fast enough pace, and it comes with only a single fan.

  • Hadis
    Hadis 2 years ago +5852

    So, you could say this is a "OnlyFans" -case.

  • 2005Guyver02
    2005Guyver02 Year ago

    If I was into case modding. I would probably get the case along with a good glass cutter and some aluminum sheets.

  • Ethan
    Ethan Year ago

    Wow... the flaws with this case just keep on coming throughout the entire video. I'm only half way through and it already sounds like the worst PC case ever designed.

  • yambo59
    yambo59 Year ago

    This case is an excellent candidate for a MAJOR case mod cooling project-!!! Time to break out the rotary cutters along with custom edge bead, custom grilles, new fans, ducts etc. to turn this massive hot box into a seriously effective refrigerator--!!!

  • karlo hunjak
    karlo hunjak 8 months ago

    For me if you want airflow aerocool trinity tower. It has like front whole mesh intake. Top and back exhaust with intake/exhaust 2 fans that mount to psu section. I personaly have trinity mini tower and you can fit up to 7 fans with each and every one of them having full opening to intake or exhaust air. Airflow for days.

  • Caz
    Caz 2 years ago +1384

    Man, the 2020 Disappointment PC is going to be straight fire.
    Literally!

    • mistakenot ou
      mistakenot ou Year ago

      2021 would be literally a burning pile of plastic and metal.

    • ZxChrono
      ZxChrono 2 years ago +3

      It should have won the 2019 award but we’ll settle for 2020.

    • Aaron Thomas
      Aaron Thomas 2 years ago +41

      Looks like Steve needs to make friends with his local fire fighters before he does the next Disappointment PC.....

  • Get Real
    Get Real 2 years ago

    I am no expert even I build a rig once myself. But just after a glance I was thinking: Where the hell is all that sucked in air supposed to exit?
    Whoever designed this was purely optical fixated and didn't thought of simple physics of air flow. Well, at least I got a good (hysterical) laugh out of this stupid design.
    If you run the thing long enough you might put the case on its side and roast some eggs on the glass panels. :)

  • Skywalker Alan
    Skywalker Alan Year ago

    These fans are used to make the thing look good, instead of cooling the thing down, which is precisely what RGB fans made for, comparing to industrial fans at half the price.

  • Reece Tinsman
    Reece Tinsman 2 years ago

    I'm no tech wiz, but even I know fans need to draw air IN to make things cool down. Somewhat easy fix: replace the glass with plexiglass with a number of holes/cutouts for air to come in. At least, that's what I can come up with.
    Edit: never knew about the three panel vent setups.

  • dvdv7777
    dvdv7777 Year ago +1

    One of my favorite GN bad hardware reviews ever. The opening alone is already S tier.