Tap to unmute

Alien: Isolation Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 29, 2023 veröffentlicht
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 2 767

  • MandaloreGaming
    MandaloreGaming  2 months ago +709

    Alien Isolation on GOG - gog.la/alien2
    Alias Isolation - github.com/aliasIsolation/aliasIsolation/releases
    It's a dark and smokey game which Clip-Share compression does no favors for, but it eternally looks recent to me.

    • Bert Carroll
      Bert Carroll Month ago

      Or Prometheus I love that movie

    • Toaster
      Toaster Month ago

      How many Guinness Book of World Record Gaming Editions have you deposited in AirBnbs so far?

    • Zacharilliach
      Zacharilliach 2 months ago

      When's the Darktide review? It looks like a lot of fun.

    • The Nameless One
      The Nameless One 2 months ago

      Are you ever going to review 8 Crazy nights starting Adam Sandler?

    • ShadowsandCityLights
      ShadowsandCityLights 2 months ago

      You should do a video on the rusty lake series!

  • thebassplayification
    thebassplayification 2 months ago +4508

    I'm an Australian Electrician. And this game really nails the feel of working in someone's roof after finding a 7ft long snake skin.

    • Collin McLean
      Collin McLean 3 days ago

      @Broba Fett Sometimes they camp out around your toilet

    • Dr Coomer
      Dr Coomer 13 days ago

      Of course you'd scare easy sparkie scum
      This comment was made by the alpha plumber gang

    • Christopher Anderson
      Christopher Anderson 25 days ago

      @Sivrn Val Uru? We not in Myst

    • Christopher Anderson
      Christopher Anderson 25 days ago

      LOL

    • Rowe 4900 Snack Candy Vending Machine
      Rowe 4900 Snack Candy Vending Machine 27 days ago

      I work in an auto shop that is really open and one time a really long like 6 to 7 foot black snake slithered up into the rafters while we were putting an engine into a truck. So we have this v8 engine hanging on a cherry picker having to do some pretty precise motions to get it connected to the trucks transmission while also knowing a snake could fall down from the roof onto us at any second. I know black snakes are non venomous usually pretty chill and just like small animals, but they still stress me out when I see them.

  • Kurt Yarish
    Kurt Yarish 2 months ago +1261

    I got to learn first-hand that the Alien can get you in the early levels when I accidentally bumped the "swing wrench" button just after getting into that tram you have to wait a long time for. I hit the wall, making noise, and the Alien nearly immediately dropped from a nearby vent and bum rushed me before I could react in time to send the tram off. I didn't just shit a chicken, I shit the whole roost.

    • Josep Andreu Hernández
      Josep Andreu Hernández 7 days ago +1

      many pants were shat playing this game

    • MisschiefLolz
      MisschiefLolz 21 day ago

      If you play on hard or nightmare, and I've tried this because I was curious, just after axel dies it either drops just as you're getting in the tram, or I did have one instance where it dropped before the doors of the tram opened and killed me.
      I've seen some get spooked by it happening and chalking it down to being scripted. No, that could 100% kill you right then and there, it's just... you'd think it would be scriped but nope.

    • Elian
      Elian Month ago +1

      Not bad.. not bad :'3, I feel your pain partner

    • Kurt Yarish
      Kurt Yarish Month ago +11

      @Syler Fleck That is a phrase, yes. "Shit a [insert extraneous object here]" is fairly common phrase structure to denote stress, tension, or fear. The most common variation of which is "shit a brick", or "shit bricks". "Shit a chicken" is less common, but not unique to me. Seems to be more prevalent in rural folks, from my experience.

    • Syler Fleck
      Syler Fleck Month ago +1

      Shit a chicken? Is that a phrase or did you come up with it yourself? Either way I'm stealing that

  • Prof Naps
    Prof Naps 2 months ago +526

    It felt like a love-letter to the original film which is all most people are asking for out of a movie-game.

    • Collin McLean
      Collin McLean 3 days ago +1

      @Daniel Munoz Hey now, Aliens was just as good as Alien and in a lot of ways I consider it a stronger film.
      But... yeah everything from 3 onward was just bad... Prometheus was good but it's more of a loose spinoff movie than anything else...

    • Varangian af Scaniae
      Varangian af Scaniae Month ago +18

      @Daniel Munoz Aliens is one of my favorite movies. But you are correct this game is a much better sequel to the first movie.

    • Son_Of_Perdition
      Son_Of_Perdition Month ago +22

      Couldn't have said it better myself. This passion project is the polar opposite of mass-market movie games.

    • Daniel Munoz
      Daniel Munoz Month ago +40

      Seriously. Feels like a better sequel to the original movie than the actual sequels themselves.

  • Zachary Goldberg
    Zachary Goldberg 2 months ago +624

    I still cannot believe this game is 8 years old... It looks so good and was so good mechanically/story wise it's hard for me to realize

    • Homuya
      Homuya 5 days ago

      @Ben Richards
      2010 ended a long time ago fyi
      I can play it without jank or a single bug, check out Anomaly. What you describe is stuff from the far far past.

    • Ben Richards
      Ben Richards 5 days ago

      @Homuya Stalker's gameplay consists of dodging bugs and working around jank.

    • Zachary Goldberg
      Zachary Goldberg Month ago +6

      @Homuya 🤨

    • Homuya
      Homuya Month ago

      I enjoyed the mechanic the most where you can run around a table and the alien can't catch up to you.
      Alien Isolaten is just another boring walking simulator with a terrible checkpoint system *yawn* If you want actual spooks and proper AI play Stalker. You even got gameplay.
      10:05 is a good example. The tram is not agonizingly slow and there is no tension because you know this was meant to happen. You know there is no other way around. You know its just a bunch of scripts doing their work. Boring. No mechanics, just linear walking simulator design. Kudos though for making the alien actually come out if you wait long enough.

    • Cass
      Cass 2 months ago

      @ArcaneAzmadi Inquisition was actually a cross-gen game. Hard to believe.

  • Brother Coa
    Brother Coa 2 months ago +3152

    Fun little fact: story was written by Dan Abentt. For those who do not know him he is one of the best Warhammer 40k writers.
    His most famous 40k novels are Gaunt's Ghosts and Eisenhorn. If you wondered why story is this long you just need to read one of his books to see.

    • Evan Harrison
      Evan Harrison 2 days ago

      Now we just need William King to write the story for a video game.

    • stronkman
      stronkman Month ago

      @MandaloreGaming talking about industrial levels of books and book length brandon sanderson fits the bill

    • Darek Baird
      Darek Baird Month ago +1

      @jic1 I can't afford the figures so yeah. Books, Games and fan content for me.

    • Darek Baird
      Darek Baird Month ago

      @iñigo montoya have you tried the Ciaphas Cain novels?

    • Darek Baird
      Darek Baird Month ago

      @samzilla567 well..I dabble in reading the Tomes

  • Thomas Dye
    Thomas Dye 2 months ago +449

    If I remember correctly the Alien actually has 2 AI's. One that always knows where you are, and one whos job is to find you and actually controls the Alien, the first one just gives it hints. That's how they deliver the combination of it being unscripted and yet still able to perform.

    • Cmdr Orion
      Cmdr Orion  5 days ago

      @Igor Igor lol you’re getting ratio’d after ratio’d. Just shut up

    • Fast Forward
      Fast Forward 12 days ago

      @Igor Igor Confidently Wrong.😂😂😂

    • GmodPlusWoW
      GmodPlusWoW 23 days ago

      So the first AI is basically the Alien's nose?

    • Raquya
      Raquya Month ago +1

      @Igor Igor alot of games do design their npc ais that way, but not all of them. The kicker for Alien isolation is how well the omniscient and blind AI systems work together to create a seemingly intelligent alien.

    • Catzilla
      Catzilla Month ago +2

      The second AI is like the Director in Left4Dead. The Alien has it's own AI that controls how it reacts to its immediate surroundings. The Director works on a strategic level and manages the overall tension in the game. For example, if you haven't seen the Alien in a while, the Director will nudge the Alien to look in your general area but it won't tell the Alien exactly where you are. The Director also handles the music selection and keeps the Alien from wasting time looking for you in areas that you haven't unlocked yet.

  • GrippeeTV
    GrippeeTV 2 months ago +94

    To this day it’s crazy to me that it took Creative Assembly, a strategy game developer, to make one of the best alien games.

    • GrippeeTV
      GrippeeTV 3 days ago +1

      @Louie Cartoon strategy games require a lot more effort AI wise for unit pathing and reaction so yeah, that’s probably a good skill that translates well to other genres like horror.

    • MurkyFoogerX
      MurkyFoogerX 3 days ago

      Angry Joe lol

    • Louie Cartoon
      Louie Cartoon 27 days ago +1

      it must have been the learned habits of creating AI in war/civilization games applied to the Alien genre, its interesting, makes me wonder what would happen if we had more video game developers jump around genres

  • phrozac
    phrozac Month ago

    I love this game! I was expecting to see jaggies but I'm glad you have Alias Isolation installed. It's still a great looking game almost 9 years later and would look modern if raytracing were added. I play through it at least once a year. Plays great on Steam Deck as well with Alias Isolation installed, though you might want to cap fps to 50 to lessen the fps variance.

  • Nepenthe
    Nepenthe 2 months ago +804

    I loved The Empty Man. We need more horror movies where the characters take one look at spooky shenanigans going on and say “Screw this, I’m out.”

    • Syler Fleck
      Syler Fleck Month ago +1

      My experience with the movie is this. I work at a movie theater and when It came out I didn't hear much about it and the trailers made it seem kinda generic so I didn't have any plans to see it.
      Then one day we were really slow up front so I went in 10 minutes early to clean the theater it was playing in and saw the absolutely insane ending with no context whatsoever. I was intrigued though and thought "oh yeah I'm definitely seeing this tommorow".
      But turns out that was the last day we were showing it and it hasn't popped up on any of the streaming services I have so I've yet to see it.

    • 201hastings
      201hastings Month ago

      Nuke the entire site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure.

    • Matthew Rawls
      Matthew Rawls 2 months ago +4

      @Thunder Soul No idea what you're on about. We're both using Clip-Share by the way so what is your point.

    • Herbion
      Herbion 2 months ago +1

      @Matthew Rawls i also highly recommend soviet Sherlock Holmes (приключения шерлока холмса и доктора ватсона) it is on youtube but no subs, and Kin-Dza-Dza - it is soviet sci-fi isekai and it is also on youtube and has good english subs.

    • Thunder Soul
      Thunder Soul 2 months ago

      @Matthew Rawls Honestly tho, how does one go from reading "a soviet movie" to thinking "Amazon is the place to buy/watch that"? One born every minute, as they say...

  • WrightOnTarget
    WrightOnTarget Month ago

    This game is so great I've bought it on every platform that has it available, I think multiple times on PC. At some point I have to actually complete it

  • KaterinaPendejo
    KaterinaPendejo Month ago

    Absolutely loved this game, although I did experience a lot of frustration with the medical bay. Still, I can’t wait to replay it in a few years. In my top 10 fav games for sure.

  • Saturn666
    Saturn666 Month ago

    A game I adored as a kid (mainly because I had no other games and it came with map editor and multiplayer) was Time Splitter 2. Would love to see a video on that.
    I remember watching a playthrough of Alien Isolation when it came out, and I still think a lot about it. Such a tremendously atmospheric and beautiful game

  • CaptainObvious
    CaptainObvious Month ago

    Just watched the empty man, and holy hell! Thanks so much for the recommendation! That was a great movie and the first one in a while that gave me the creeps with such an intensity

  • Philip Babb
    Philip Babb 2 months ago +1526

    Marlow's encounter with the space-jockey was also key to resolving a plot-hole in the original film series. The crew of the Nostromo visited LV-426 because a signal was detected. Decades later, LV-426 was colonized without finding the derelict until it was too late. So between the two events, the signal was deactivated. Marlow turned it off.

    • MintyLime
      MintyLime Month ago +1

      @Josias Lourenço another bot another report
      Spamming religious trash using bots isn't gonna get you into heaven

    • Shadethewolfy
      Shadethewolfy Month ago

      @Shredjward bug propaganda... We should put a gun to the traitor's head and blow his fucking brains out. Fucking bugs and their fucking worshippers... #StarshipTroopers

    • Philip Babb
      Philip Babb Month ago

      @iñigo montoya Perhaps. Although the signal device appears to be biomechanical, much like the rest of the derelict, so it might not break down so easily. Either way, the game out right states that Marlow deactivated the signal.

    • UDMonk
      UDMonk Month ago

      @iñigo montoya Nothing man-made, sure, but who knows what kind of future proofing aliens have? We don't even know what the thing is made out of to guesstimate how long it'd take to decay meaningfully, either.
      I reckon we can probably just handwave this one.

    • iñigo montoya
      iñigo montoya Month ago +3

      wait is that a plot hole?
      like,nothing survives decades without maintenance, specially electronic equipment.

  • ANTi GRAV
    ANTi GRAV Month ago

    This game does a great job with it's atmosphere. I literally have not made it to the alien yet because the environment scares the shit outta me .

  • vtipoman
    vtipoman Month ago

    I've completed the entire game and only through this video learned you can actually melee with the wrench. I thought it was something they had removed during development, given the animations when you find it and when you get grabbed by a lying Joe.

  • PsychoWolf14
    PsychoWolf14 Month ago

    We got this for my dad, purely for the level of recreation the team went through, Figuring, even if he can't quite get through the game, He'd have fun in this Nostromo-look alike.

  • Curtis
    Curtis Month ago

    I played this on nightmare mode on my 1st go. Absolutely worth it.

  • Jai
    Jai 2 months ago +1508

    "Beyond just being unnecessary, it's redundant."
    what a beautiful sentence

    • Nipah Auauau
      Nipah Auauau 2 months ago +1

      It helps no one to be reductive.

    • LoneColamarine
      LoneColamarine 2 months ago +7

      @Milky Ways that’s the definition of redundant.
      Unneeded repetition.

    • Milky Ways
      Milky Ways 2 months ago +2

      Dont get it, arent redundant and unnecessary basically the same?

    • LoneColamarine
      LoneColamarine 2 months ago +2

      I’m somewhat of a grammar nazi and I didn’t even catch that. 😂

    • WK-47
      WK-47 2 months ago +23

      'It's like poetry. It rhymes.'

  • Megan Wood
    Megan Wood Month ago +3

    One of the most under rated games of all time…and arguably the best survival horror game ever made

  • Horsemanray
    Horsemanray 2 months ago +512

    I would argue that Axl is useful for moving the plot along. He establishes that not every human NPC you encounter is going to be friendly. It only makes sense that Ripley would ask the first human she comes in contact with what's going on too so I don't see the elevator as unnecessary exposition.

    • ApocalypticJoker
      ApocalypticJoker 2 months ago

      If Axl was a shaky ball in a corner muttering about "a killer" and how everyone's gonna die THAT would have been better imo

    • Nikki Budders
      Nikki Budders 2 months ago +6

      I'd say it also highlights reasons Ripley may not want to just group up with others, which is probably called out as a weird pothole. Sometimes it's easier to go alone and not have to worry about loose canon characters and conflicts of interest and trust. My only real complaint about him is that from the second you meet him you're instantly thinking "Oh, he's going to die..." Ik that's more of a meta-issue but since they taught you the majority of the game before you got a tag-along it only makes sense to dispose of him as dramatically as possible so the player can get on with the rest of the game. I also don't have a problem with him taking control and leading Ripley around as Ripley hasn't been established as the typical "I am a leader who can handle everything" type of player character. It makes sense to me that she would defer to him since he's far more experienced with living and surviving on the hellhole ship.

    • Horsemanray
      Horsemanray 2 months ago +14

      @klyxes ....Which relies on the premise that I'm going to sit there and listen in on their conversation or else we are back to square one where I'm confused as to why people are shooting at me. OR....we just sit through the 3 seconds of dialogue Axl delivers while traveling to another part of the map.
      I understand. You've decided you have an opinion about a video game. And that it matters. Which is why you will argue about this completely inconsequential plot point from a game that was made almost 10 years ago. You'll do it forever because anyone with enough misplaced confidence can argue anything for any length of time on the internet. I just don't know what you want me to "do" with that. I just don't care enough that you like arguing with strangers.

    • klyxes
      klyxes 2 months ago +2

      @Horsemanray just change what they say, introduce the armed survivors as aggressive and why. They're jumpy because they're talking about something killing them and unable to trust others. Later on show the survivors who don't want to kill you. Simple. A guide like how axl was done is lazy storytelling, as it is something similar to an exposition dump

    • Horsemanray
      Horsemanray 2 months ago +11

      @klyxes Unless you try interacting with them and then you get to spend the rest of your time trying to infer why people are shooting at you until the next cut scene.

  • Fink
    Fink 2 months ago +1

    Colonial Marines multiplayer is my favorite game of all time if you actually know how to play the alien, there is nothing like it. Makes fire team not only a terribly made game( which I can't even put in for a bit of fun) but it also makes it half and game and half and experience

  • Manawa
    Manawa Month ago

    The Alien is a really good dynamic enemy, except like you said "when it wouldn't f*** leave". Forcing you to confront the alien seems like a good idea for gameplay, but it just isn't. Takes away my immersion and agency. I want to be able to hide like a roach until it leaves. That would be smart and it would be a way for me to control the level of stress I am willing to put up with.

  • Michael B
    Michael B 2 months ago +583

    During my first playthrough, I spent most of the game thinking that the alien couldn't enter the vents and I was safe there. Seeing him suddenly crawling towards me in a vent about 12 hours into the game is probably the most terrifying thing that's ever happened to me in my life.

    • TwoJacksAndAnAce
      TwoJacksAndAnAce Month ago

      @M. Black The alien AI is a masterpiece because it actually learns as it encounters you and even when it doesn't see you the AI learns from your actions, if you keep hiding in the lockers the AI will have the Alien start checking lockers. I think it's a double layer AI so you have the core alien that governs it's own actions and responds to stimuli while the other AI is more of an overwatch that will unlock parts of the aliens learning tree and will also spawn the alien near you, apparently when you haven't seen the alien in a while the director AI will spawn it near you to intentionally scare the shit out of you. There are so many video's and reviews that literally just praise and AI and don't talk about the other parts of the game, it's quite the feat.

    • Дэвид
      Дэвид Month ago

      I played Dead Space before I played AI, not to mention having seen the Alien movies as well, so I had a really hard time accepting that entering the vents could sometimes be helpful out of sheer terror.

    • Ben Halverson
      Ben Halverson 2 months ago +3

      I always broke line of sight with the alien, even behind the legs of a table while I hid under it, just to be on the safe side. During my first playthrough of the hospital escape sequence, I was doing precisely that when it dropped to the floor and looked underneath to narrowly miss me. Needless to say, my paranoia only got worse after that.

    • Kristina Downs
      Kristina Downs 2 months ago +1

      I literally had the exact same experience oh my god

    • Ángel EM
      Ángel EM 2 months ago

      In the first movie the second guy to die does so because he gets outmanouvered in the vents.

  • Keller Harris
    Keller Harris Month ago +1

    If 19:30 isn't scripted then it's probably the single greatest scare I've seen in a game

  • Chopins Butler
    Chopins Butler Month ago

    I play it right now on a exemtremly mediocre PC connected to a 4k TV and it looks fantastic. High Immersion. Aged very well overall. Recommended even for those how don´t have high end graphic hardware.

  • Kayd Zeal
    Kayd Zeal Month ago +1

    I bought this game some years ago but i still refuse to play it yet until i get at least a RTX 3050 so i can play this at ultra, this is still one of the most beautiful games i've seen

  • rswpt
    rswpt Month ago

    brilliant game, not perfect, but i would love if the team who made this one would be allowed to develope a new AI game, or some other with a different theme, like john carpenter's the thing

  • James
    James 2 months ago +815

    Sseth and Mandalore have such inconsistent upload schedules that they've somehow finally gotten in sync

    • BeeTheImmortal
      BeeTheImmortal 2 months ago

      Well, they are one guy, so it makes sense

    • Josias Lourenço
      Josias Lourenço 2 months ago +2

      Hebrews
      12:14 Make every effort to live in peace with all men and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord.
      Acts
      3:19 Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord,
      James 2:24,26
      Ye see then how that by works a man is justified, and not by faith only. For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.

    • pnutz 2
      pnutz 2 2 months ago +1

      sseth posts and then takes his meds

    • Noah Pippart
      Noah Pippart 2 months ago +1

      Which one is the alpha womb?

    • Ammar I. Borovnica
      Ammar I. Borovnica 2 months ago

      @I want to die FUCKIN WHAT?

  • Noodleman
    Noodleman Month ago

    Fun fact: this game was originally developed for the Playstation 3 and Xbox360, and was a cross gen release when it was ported to PC and 8th gen systems. That alone should tell you how impressive it really is visually.

  • Чё Бля
    Чё Бля Month ago

    The one thing that always made my heart skip a beat is how thin and fragile Ripley's arms are.
    Prime waifu material.

  • DeDarkwood
    DeDarkwood Month ago

    Yup, i just played this last summer and christ this is truly the most authentic movie game there is. I really, really want a sequel done by the same team. They really get alien 1&2. Rest of the movies we can forget utterly and completely. Maybe predator we hold in our thoughts. Nothing more.

  • Kip The Ott
    Kip The Ott 2 months ago +65

    I actually died to the alien at the first possible opportunity before the tram when I played the game for the first time. When your NPC friend got snatched by it I thought it had been alerted and I needed to run away, but running makes noise that can quickly attract it. I may have actually died a few times before I realized that your ally being eaten didn't actually mean you were in immediate danger and proceeded down to the tram quietly.

    • Arturo Aguilar
      Arturo Aguilar 11 days ago

      Weird. I ran away in that part, and the noise didn't attract the Alien.

    • Tiztu
      Tiztu 2 months ago +2

      The exact same thing happened to me lol

    • Yu Denton
      Yu Denton 2 months ago +1

      I didn't realize that was possible.

  • Paxiros
    Paxiros Month ago

    Hey Mando great review as always, I don't recall if its on The List but are you playing on doing a review for Freespace 2? That would be awesome!

  • ziggelito
    ziggelito Month ago

    The sadest thing about this is that you CAN make a good aliens survival horror, yet no one thought about having this team make a collonial marines game

  • Kuniku778
    Kuniku778 Month ago +1

    First time watching i did not realized you actually placed a VHS recorded back play in there; you absolute mad lad.

  • Orzorn
    Orzorn 2 months ago +89

    I remember being absolutely blown away by the design in this game. The UI felt so diagetic and well put together and really remains a shining example of how set design and UIs should be done.

  • WatchingEqualsExp
    WatchingEqualsExp 2 months ago +2358

    A Sseth and Mandalore video in one day. What a gift.

    • TheBarser
      TheBarser 2 months ago

      @Antonio Lucas Furtado sseth is danish. I noticed wile watching his videos it was danish candies and smokes. Then I slightly noticed an accent

    • Stan Darsh
      Stan Darsh 2 months ago

      @Shiramizu he's actually a Ugandan polished immigrant...

    • Enrique Garcia Cota
      Enrique Garcia Cota 2 months ago +1

      Yes, he has been busy

    • Elven At Heart
      Elven At Heart 2 months ago

      @WatchingEqualsExp thanks

    • WatchingEqualsExp
      WatchingEqualsExp 2 months ago +1

      @Elven At Heart SsethTzeentach is another youtuber who reviews video games, but unlike Mandalore, does it in a more comedic way.
      Also, his humor is what some call "edgy" in case you care about that.
      You're also probably wondering why people mnetion that Mandalore is on his meds again. That is because Seth and him are quite similar which caused people to joke that they're the same person, but Mandalore is just Seth on medication.

  • Yoji FFXIV
    Yoji FFXIV 2 months ago +11

    The reason the music syncs so perfectly is because it uses Wwise. Wwise can essentially link specific events in the game to specific parts of music or tracks and dynamically switch between them immediately. Some of the Total War games also use Wwise and it's why the music there so perfectly flows between ambient idle in battle, to more tense build-up during the first charge into the enemy army, into full on battle music after contact is made. All of that is done entirely unscripted obviously and the sound engine itself handles all of it based on what's actually happening in the game. So, the music changing from scary horror running away music to something more intense and action-like when you turn around to fight the alien is because the sound engine picked up your actions and is suiting it.
    I'm sure other audio engines also use this capability in a similar way, but I've personally modded with Wwise and it was really impressive how easy it was to use and how effective it is too.

  • Vincent Torrijos
    Vincent Torrijos Month ago

    Can you still enable the mic in this game so noises your actual mic picks up can alert enemies?

  • fokosmok
    fokosmok Month ago

    10:07 it was worth to play this game even just for that scene :)

  • Peter Marron
    Peter Marron 2 months ago +75

    I loved this game and really wish there had been a full blown sequel.

    • A Fistful of 4K
      A Fistful of 4K Month ago +1

      It's a totally different type of game and if you go into it saying "this is going to be shit because it's on a phone" you're certainly going to agree with yourself and decide that it's shit, but there's a short (hour or two) phone game that acts as a mini pseudo-sequel. There's not much to it, but it's only a few bucks and it's the only phone game I didn't uninstall in disgust after about 5 minutes of playing. For what it is, it's very well-made IMO. It's called Alien Blackout or something and I played it on an Android phone like... dunno, 4 years ago.

    • Guzio
      Guzio 2 months ago +5

      It deserves a sequel so hard, what a great game. Cant believe it honestly

    • Bush Monster
      Bush Monster 2 months ago +18

      It deserved it. One of the best games in the last 20 years.

  • The ASMR Review Show
    The ASMR Review Show 2 months ago +7

    I feel in some ways that this game was made to be the "anti-let's play" game. It has very slow stretches purely for pacing and atmosphere that doesn't necessarily make it entertaining to watch someone else play it. Also it avoids having too many scripted jumpscares that the let's-players can overreact to. And that's probably why I love it!

    • NicoR.
      NicoR. 3 days ago +1

      dude i watched 3 let's plays of that game

  • Kriminal
    Kriminal 2 months ago +5

    I absolutely love this game to death but, I can't agree enough on how stretched out it felt
    The entire latter half of the game was just me going, "Is this it? is it finally over..?"
    Only for it to be like, "Nah, bro, you thought Ellen had a rough time? We're not even CLOSE to done."
    in a way, it kinda made me love the game even more. It really makes you FEEL like the whole universe wants you dead.

  • Trip Hazard
    Trip Hazard Month ago

    I didn't particularly like how the alien was tethered to the player, it became quite obvious in just the few first hours.
    It also doesn't make sense to me that, on a space station where there are many people still alive, the alien would be particularly interested in you. As far I know, there's nothing in the alien lore to suggest that it is capable of "enjoying a challenge" or anything other than just wanting to kill, eat, recreate

    • Yu Denton
      Yu Denton Month ago

      It's not tied to the player for lore reasons. (though you could probably connect it to the mid-game twist)
      We can use the mod, but it would have been nice if they made how "sticky" the alien is a configurable option.

  • Siptom
    Siptom Month ago +1

    The best horror game who doesn't lose its colors

  • neocore
    neocore 2 months ago +806

    i never managed to finish this game myself, although due to no fault of its own- its just that when the alien first shows up and is hunting you, i was so utterly terrified that i turned it off and never played it myself again. hearing that sound of the alien running and chasing you in this video activated my fight or flight. its the only horror game that ive never been able to go back to, they really nailed it.

    • Ron
      Ron 2 months ago

      I got jumpscared once or twice but mostly unleashed anger after getting killed by the alien.

    • Josias Lourenço
      Josias Lourenço 2 months ago

      Hebrews
      12:14 Make every effort to live in peace with all men and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord.
      Acts
      3:19 Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord,
      James 2:24,26
      Ye see then how that by works a man is justified, and not by faith only. For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.

    • Kodesuper
      Kodesuper 2 months ago

      I just stopped at the end bits bc the alien is just annoying

    • Max Florschutz
      Max Florschutz 2 months ago +1

      It says a lot of how GOOD this game is that your experience is a common one. There are both Steam reviews AND professional reviews that amount to "Total time played: 6 hours. Couldn't finish it. Best horror game ever."
      So scary it beat the players.

    • Jimmy Little
      Jimmy Little 2 months ago

      I was fine till the facehuggers appeared. Absolute nightmare fuel haha. Got it finished but not keen for a replay.

  • Roguestriker
    Roguestriker 2 months ago +89

    Honestly, one of the best things about this game is the fact that so many people can play it and have different experiences. I know the AI can be a bit flakey at times but the fact that it can take so many variables into account and not become a complete mess is amazing. There are some good articles out there interviewing the creators about all the things the AI does and take into account.

    • Cass
      Cass Month ago

      @NekoiNemo Looks like your comment got removed by Clip-Share. People can't respond to something they can't read. Happens sometimes.

    • NekoiNemo
      NekoiNemo Month ago

      @Cass Huh, weird - the moment i specify what's wrong with the game - everyone just went really quiet with telling how great the game is and just quietly upvoting other people fellating the game...

    • NekoiNemo
      NekoiNemo 2 months ago

      @Cass Oh, i did. But because nobody wants to read comments not fellating this shitshow of agame: nobody has read it: clip-share.net/video/NyIA-SRJGco/video.html&lc=UgypfOp_FrcsWsrYtNh4AaABAg.9irOkQ0EoA19izWKhlEv0j

    • Cass
      Cass 2 months ago +6

      @NekoiNemo It might help if you actually specified what you don't like about it. Otherwise you make it look like you're just trolling.

    • NekoiNemo
      NekoiNemo 2 months ago

      @Moon Tiger I would take the suicidal survivor AI of DR 1/2 nay day over the cheating RNG-based Artificial Idiot of this game. I beat DR 1, 2 and Off Record, and never once in any of those games, even when AI spazzed out, never did it fall as low as this game's baseline AI (for the xenomorph, the human/synth AI is inoffensively mediocre, not "broken")

  • 1 1
    1 1 2 months ago +29

    I always found the Working Joes were scarier than anything else in the game. With the alien you know you can't kill it and need to hide. But a blank faced robot briskly walking at your proclaiming it's intentions to help you is horrifying

  • Leszek Orzechowski
    Leszek Orzechowski 2 months ago +511

    The 2137 joke in polish at 6:28 is a God tier meme. How on Earth Mandalore is fluent in contemprorary polish meme templates?! Well done sir :)

    • bESTEL
      bESTEL 2 months ago +5

      Jprdl... I was wondering why he said prosze. Thanks for reminding me.

    • Shadeful
      Shadeful 2 months ago +42

      @Polo the polish pope died at 21:37, which is now called by the Catholic community as the "Pope's Hour". It became a meme together with some smug-like expression of the pope and circulates as kinda underground-but-not-really meme.

    • Fin
      Fin 2 months ago +5

      @Polo Pope John Paul II was polish and is basically a cult figure there. His hour of death 21:37 is so widely known that it became a giant meme

    • Damian Gwardys
      Damian Gwardys 2 months ago +35

      @Polo it's a polish 2137 meme which is about death of polish pope

    • Polo
      Polo 2 months ago +10

      I don't get joke :(

  • Jallorn
    Jallorn Month ago

    I'd love to see a review of Half-Life, including the fan remake Black Mesa.

  • Max Florschutz
    Max Florschutz 2 months ago +85

    It says a lot about how great this game is that even just the xenomorph jumping at the footage gave me a start and brought back flashbacks.
    The best horror game ever made, IMO.

  • Paul Winfrey
    Paul Winfrey 2 months ago +48

    Mega props for the VHS gag. Nobody else on youtube game circuits puts the thought and effort into the audio design as you do.

  • Mentality
    Mentality Month ago +3

    Be Creative Assembly.
    Make one of the best horror games off the tail end of your most disastrous launch.
    Refuse to elaborate.
    Go back to making strategy games.

  • Cani Terrae
    Cani Terrae Month ago

    How do you get the cutscene framerate to be smooth? Mine is always choppy. It’s like 15fps.

  • Ligma Patient 0
    Ligma Patient 0 2 months ago +173

    Mandalore causally flexing his VHS style editing abilities. That was honestly one of the best, most authentic VFX edits I've seen. I legit felt like I was watching an old VHS.

    • Gabrote42
      Gabrote42 2 months ago

      Marble Hornets-level

    • Ligma Patient 0
      Ligma Patient 0 2 months ago +18

      @Israel Storey oh nice! Shout out to Noodle then, that was so clean!

    • Israel Storey
      Israel Storey 2 months ago +68

      At 35:43 he has a brief credit saying that Noodle has a setup for the VHS stuff. So he had him actually put a clip onto a VHS tape and record it, rather than just trying to emulate it with editing.

  • Ben
    Ben 2 months ago +24

    Oh god the alien sprinting sound was pure terror. I've finished the game and I STILL jumped TWICE watching this video.

    • Arturo Aguilar
      Arturo Aguilar 11 days ago

      ikr. The alien sprinting sound usually is followed by "welp! I died again...".

  • Seabear, kupo!
    Seabear, kupo! Month ago +10

    (Spoiler Warning) I always interpreted the 'tether' as there being multiple xenomorphs on the station, just in different areas. Especially since it seems like it's in places it really shouldn't be able to sometimes. Made a lot more sense as a theory by the end of the game.

    • SHC Demolisher
      SHC Demolisher Month ago +4

      That does make sense, since one xeno cant cover an entire station the size of a town, so multiple ones make you think it's the same one stalking you when instead they're doing it in shifts, covering different areas at once.

  • Iwo Krycki
    Iwo Krycki Month ago +1

    I love how you included Polish Pope and 2137

  • Burrito
    Burrito Month ago

    I was actually killed when I ran into the tram. It really surprised me

  • Athrielle Viera
    Athrielle Viera 2 months ago +845

    Let's celebrate these devs! Only through genuine love and passion for the franchise could they have made such an incredible game starting on the 360 TWO CONSOLE GENERATIONS ago.

    • Bell Drop
      Bell Drop 11 days ago

      @Tim Be real, nobody reads the credits except for making youtube videos or flexing in the comments.
      There's a reason that the actual people who make stuff are at the bottom of the ladder. And it's not because they are as popular as the company name they work under on.

    • Tim
      Tim 11 days ago

      @Bell Drop that's what credits are for

    • Bell Drop
      Bell Drop 2 months ago +2

      @JimmyBoombox That's just the studio. A brand name. They might as well have changed everyone that worked on this game and still can call themselves the same name.

    • JimmyBoombox
      JimmyBoombox 2 months ago

      @Bell Drop Creative Assembly are the devs aka the people that make the Total War games

    • BlueGreyWolf
      BlueGreyWolf 2 months ago

      @Xenon - Yeah! I have it on my Sony Xperia smartphone and it runs and looks great! I was actually surprised by that! I would recommend to get a Xbox controller and connect it through bluetooth to get a better control experience out of it!

  • Chriss Re
    Chriss Re Month ago

    You should use REshade ... not only you can FrameLimit but add a bunch of new effects to the game for it too look much better.

  • Striped Jacket Kid
    Striped Jacket Kid 2 months ago +26

    I liked Axel as an intro because when he's killed off, it makes the "isolation" feel all the more present

  • Bert Carroll
    Bert Carroll Month ago

    The alien reminds me of me going as fast as I can go 😅

  • Paddy Mc
    Paddy Mc Month ago

    I'm what most Alien franchise fans call a Filthy Heathen. I loved Prometheus because it wasn't just a generic action movie like all Alien, Aliens, Alien 3, Alien V Predator, etc, etc. It had real thought, exploration, characters, purposes, etc. It dealt with heady concepts, didn't necessarily pull them all off but they gave it a go and of course it had Fassbender who is excellent.

  • Bagfoot Bandit
    Bagfoot Bandit 2 months ago +482

    In college, I remember watching a friend of mine throwing out his shoulder playing this game while drunk and eating pizza because he was startled by a Working Joe. He catapulted himself backwards out of his seat.
    Good times.

    • Ron
      Ron 2 months ago

      Jumpscares never bugged me I just got angry cursing out loud when the alien catches me

    • A C
      A C 2 months ago

      Kek

    • Thomas Bowe
      Thomas Bowe 2 months ago +3

      @domino2515 that made me laugh

    • domino2515
      domino2515 2 months ago +15

      I used to play this game with friends and we'd switch controllers when one of us died. One of our friends, while playing, went to hide in a vent; we were unaware the alien could go into the vents you can go into. So when the alien went into his vent as he was checking the radar, he got scared so bad he literally screamed at the top of his lungs as if he was literally getting killed by the alien in real life. Like straight up "AAAAH AAAAAAAAHH AAAH!!" It was the funniest shit ever lmao

    • Acer
      Acer 2 months ago +25

      One of my little brother and I’s favorite shared memories is when we rented this from Family Video. As I was playing on our Xbox 360, I tried to mess with him, going “oooo It’s right there!” every so often randomly. This backfired when I climbed into a vent to hide from the alien, unaware that it could hide in vents.
      “Oooh it’s right there! Hahah- OH SHIT IT’S RIGHT THERE-“

  • moonasha
    moonasha 2 months ago +109

    I actually really liked that the story just wouldn't freaking end. Because it's like a nightmare that won't end, you know? You just want it to end, but it won't stop. The shame is that the horror element wears off. But I personally never really thought this game was strong in the horror sense. It was more of a tense game, if that makes sense, not scary. I wasn't scared so much as I was anxious. And I think the game did keep its tension to the end.

    • Luka Pilipovic
      Luka Pilipovic 2 days ago

      I wanted the game to end because it was bad.
      You sound like you are coping...

    • Bloodlyshiva
      Bloodlyshiva Month ago +9

      "You just want it to end, but it won't stop."
      "It just won't STOP!"
      *Bong*"We're under attack!"
      "I know...."

  • Rid Z
    Rid Z 2 months ago +16

    This game is a damn gem. From the plot, environment, sound, level design, visuals and gameplay, It was just a blast. Such a damn good horror game done right. Would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Horror/Aliens Movie or Lore.

  • Mr_StephenB
    Mr_StephenB 2 months ago +4

    I think a good step this game could take forward is implementing VR officially, it's already so immersive that adding that extra level would be perfect. There is a mod to support VR but I don't know how well it works.
    In any case, out of all the Alien games that haven't lived up to expectations over the years it's very refreshing to finally get one that absolutely nails the environment and fear of the original film.

  • PBP1366
    PBP1366 2 months ago +6

    I just want to talk about my favorite part of this game.
    Towards the end of the game you're used to seeing paranoid human survivors who shoot at everything in sight. It's a station full of conflict.
    But then you get to a small room with a couch and a viewport with view of the planet. There's just one lone human survivor just sitting on the couch and staring out the window. He knows he's going to die and is choosing to accept his death in peace.

  • Ricky Vega
    Ricky Vega 2 months ago +421

    Like Mandalore says, there's plenty of things the devs just barely missed the mark with, but what you get in game has a level of polish I'd love to see in the majority of games coming out now. It's a triumph of horror gaming and I hope future development teams look at this game for how to make interactive systems of conflict integrate with an immersive experience.

    • Wicked
      Wicked 2 months ago

      @The Epic Duck or kojima. The second he got booted, the mgs lineage went downhill

    • The Epic Duck
      The Epic Duck 2 months ago +3

      @MumblingSolipsist This exactly: a legacy name is not a guarantee. A good example of this could be Bioware an rpg darling who's hit some hard times with its talent loss. Hope it can turn around with new talent.

    • MumblingSolipsist
      MumblingSolipsist 2 months ago +9

      @warlockd Company names generally mean nothing, it's like animation, what matters is who's working at the company when a game is being made.

    • Gabrote42
      Gabrote42 2 months ago +5

      Meanwhile 2042 and Pokemon today

    • warlockd
      warlockd 2 months ago +5

      I am just amazed the developer of this game made it, considering they are more of a one shot pony dealing with only total war.

  • RedGuy Johnson
    RedGuy Johnson 2 months ago +14

    Personally I think they mostly added Axel to give you a little bit of false security if you were me, a 15 year old in a dark room looking for literally anything as a saving grace lol. When I was younger I cannot explain the dread that everything in this game made me feel because it has never been reproduced, but having Axel around made me feel safer in those few moments than I have ever felt again playing this game, I didn't give a fuck what he was saying cus he had a gun and he was on my side. I'm sure it was because he was some sort of order amongst all the chaos even thought it was tiny to younger me going through for the first time, if Axel was in front of me telling me what to do it meant the alien couldn't appear from the abyss and karate chop out my carotid artery (right?) and that is relative safety for alien isolation even if it is false lol. Works really well when the alien ends up steve irwin-ing the shit out of him, essentially blowing out my nightlight and sending me straight into 'cowabunga it is mode' A.K.A the good ole' Joestar secret technique. Needless to say I died a lot that night. This is a huge bias considering if you're not a 15 year old coward playing for the first time it's probably just going to be exactly what you said, but for me it was sort of a, 'welcome to the jungle' moment. I think this was the first horror game I decided to actually beat as well so more bias lol.

    • Ap0calypseDuck
      Ap0calypseDuck Month ago

      I was 17 when this game came out, and while this was my first real horror game as well, I was already a huge fan of the Alien universe. In fact, Alien was the first horror movie I ever watched as a kid- rented it from my local Block Buster.
      I had a pretty good idea what I was in for, but it was all new to me. When Axel guided me around the tutorial area, I appreciated the handholding as I knew I'd probably be all on my own soon- that "welcome to the jungle" idea you mentioned. As a character he wasn't violent or malicious, he was scared out of his mind and trying to survive. He had a convincingly human reaction to the whole situation in front of him, and his treatment of Ripley spoke of a genuinely paranoid and isolated man. I especially appreciated how he warmed up to Ripley just a little bit before he died. He tried to make Ripley understand the gravity of the situation they were both in now. He wanted her to make it out, but she needed to accept a grim reality first. While he was shortlived, I enjoyed his company. His departure not only helped to set the stage for how I would need to play the game, but also the tone of the game: being alone.
      Deprivation of the human element is what makes most horror so compelling, and by taking away a character in the new, main setting of the story establishes that survival is all on the player.
      Glad I wasn't the only one who enjoyed Axel!

  • Latrine
    Latrine Month ago +1

    Gotta ask now, what did Ridley Scott think the Alien ship was

  • rvryxwanted
    rvryxwanted 2 months ago +57

    My favorite game ever. It's a damn shame it didn't get a sequel :(

    • Luka Pilipovic
      Luka Pilipovic 2 days ago

      I'm happy it was a commercial disappointment.
      I don't live in a world where a sequel exists and a bunch of low standard gamers, coping and acting like that it's a masterpiece.
      Every cheap trick in the book to artificially extend play time is here

    • Strobe9901
      Strobe9901 Month ago +1

      I know it’s not what you meant, but the mobile game Alien Blackout acts as a sequel to the story and is pretty cool. It’s just a completely different style of game

    • Danieke
      Danieke Month ago +12

      I don't think it need it, tho. Put CA making another horror game would have been nice.

  • Jernej Virag
    Jernej Virag 2 months ago +13

    Amazing review of one of the best horror games ever made. As always.

  • SimplexPL
    SimplexPL 2 months ago +12

    The VR mod had huge potential but sadly it was abandoned.
    Also, as a Pole - mad props for the 2137 joke :D

  • Akadius
    Akadius 2 months ago +10

    It's amazing that the aesthetic, pacing and atmosphere are so good, considering that the game was made by a company that only makes strategy games.

  • Christopher Anderson
    Christopher Anderson 2 months ago +8

    17:17 nice Mandalore branded Easter egg there. Every electrocution in a game I expect to hear marv screaming
    “That would be funny”
    No it wouldn’t. :P
    That first medical area with the alien was one of those “it just wouldn’t leave” moments for me.
    It was very intense and memorable but it took way too long because the thing wouldn’t leave me alone.

  • Bob Martin
    Bob Martin Month ago +1

    1:30 I was quite amused at the feet being pixellated.

  • Old Whovian
    Old Whovian 2 months ago +573

    I had no idea it was this studio's first run at a first person game. They really knocked it out of the park in a way I didn't think was possible. This will eternally be my favorite survival horror game and I am heart broken that we will likely never see a proper sequel.

    • TorJucK
      TorJucK 2 months ago

      @Delco in my opinion AAA games which has a lot of people tends to have a lot more conflict on which direction they should go, maybe a lot of back and forths. while small game developers tend to stick to their plan and push through with their decisions.

    • Delco
      Delco 2 months ago

      @Rame_mac It reminds me of Cyberpunk 2077 where AAA studios filled with 500 or so people struggling making a first person games, yet games like Dying light 2 and Ready or Not easily do that...

    • minimimimaxiboy
      minimimimaxiboy 2 months ago +1

      @Rame_mac I mean, they did have the same creative director that worked on God of War 3 on board, Stig Asmussen, and Respawn is just an amazing studio in general.

    • David Renton
      David Renton 2 months ago

      there was a interview with CA and NoClip, CA are aware of the calls for a sequel, and it it appears it isn't out of the question, they seemed to have a lot of love for AI

    • Quarren Everett
      Quarren Everett 2 months ago

      As a studio maybe but the people involved perhaps. The game seemed pretty indie which makes it aparent to have some passion here and there. What do you think

  • Killbauer
    Killbauer 2 months ago +12

    This is definitely one of the best horror games I've played imo. And we will most likely never see such a faithful recreation of the original movie in video game ever again.

  • Wakka: Made in Yevon
    Wakka: Made in Yevon 2 months ago +27

    Glad to see you give EDF the respect it deserves as a seminal piece of gaming history.

  • Terry Monks
    Terry Monks 2 months ago +4

    I got to play this in VR. Holy cow, that was terrifying

  • Costco Bakery
    Costco Bakery Month ago

    Can you do a review of the armor core series since the new trailer came out?

  • Xan Kreigor
    Xan Kreigor 2 months ago +42

    The AI has 2 parts:
    "The Director" - the Director always knows where you and the alien are, but only in terms of which Room you are in. After X amount of time it will send the Alien towards your last location, depending on several parameters.
    "The Alien" - doesn't know your location if it's not near you. If it's in the same room as you, it will find you after X amount of time, no matter how you're hidden.

  • Julesy69
    Julesy69 2 months ago +5

    I remember the game feeling overly long and weirdly paced the first time I played it. But then I went and played System Shock 2 and then came back a few years later and replayed Alien Isolation and played it with the expectation that its an light immersive sim shock-like and it felt the right length and less weirdly paced.

  • AleXstProduction
    AleXstProduction Month ago +5

    I love how the game feels like it came out in the 80s, that is, if we could have had graphics like that in the 80s, it goes beyond being a product of its time

  • Ray- Chan
    Ray- Chan 2 months ago +2

    for the longest time I thought this game came out in 2017 and was like yeah its getting old but still impressive, that was until I heard you say it was from 2014 and spat out my water, what in the Lovecraftian fuck did dev team do to make a game like this, I'm just impressed and having an existential crisis over times unhating march, anyway, another great video.

  • goukigod
    goukigod 2 months ago +2

    Really great review. I love the game and would even go as far to say that it’s in my top five, but I totally agree with the criticisms you’ve raised. I’d be down for some kind of performance enhancing, or NexGen upgrade, as playing this with less bugs and things like ray tracing would be as good as a sequel at this point

  • Sir Pemberton S. Crevalius
    Sir Pemberton S. Crevalius 2 months ago +333

    Without a doubt the most terrifying horror game I have ever played. The atmosphere, the alien itself, the 1980s sci-fi theme, everything is amazing.
    I always love to talk about the A.I. The Alien uses something called a "Director", which is essentially two AI's working together. One is the A.I. of the Alien itself, and the other is a sort've invisible man guiding and monitoring the player and the Alien, if the stress/activity seems low, it'll up send the Alien to where the player is or make him fall back if he's been near the player too much. It's a brilliant system and is also used by Left 4 Dead 2. All encounters are always different and random which is perfect for a horror game.

    • BeeTheImmortal
      BeeTheImmortal 2 months ago +4

      Left 4 Dead is criminally underrated for its AI. This whole Director idea is really solid and something only old Valve could come up with. It's a shame there's only Alien: Isolation that actually iterated on it and used it, at least I can't really think of anything else.

    • Anna
      Anna 2 months ago +47

      plus the director actually tracks how you've been dealing with the alien and will unlock certain abilities for the alien to directly counter your favorite tools

  • Ashank
    Ashank 2 months ago +4

    This game was surely way ahead of its time. The AI was absolutely fantastic which really made you feel tense all the time and the sound design is one of the best I have ever experienced. Add to this the visuals the game offers and you will know how much of a must play experience this game offers. Sad that since then we have had barely any good games.

  • Digishade
    Digishade 2 months ago +14

    Fireteam Elite is unironically one of my favorite games of the past two years. It's surprisingly satisfying and fun.

  • Christopher Sadlowski
    Christopher Sadlowski 2 months ago

    I got this game for free from EPIC, but I'm too scared to play it. This video will suffice I think. At least I didn't spend money on it...

  • Clay Raynor
    Clay Raynor 2 months ago +1

    While I think at times the pacing can be a little too drawn out, I think it works out well enough on the individual sections of the story. Its still one of my favorite games.

  • OverTheStone
    OverTheStone 2 months ago +4

    I absolutely love the ernesty at the start of these going over the technical issues and fix ups.
    Like hey, you deserve to enjoy the game, heres some things that may get in your way. Its so nice to know in advance.

  • Christopher Kucharski
    Christopher Kucharski 2 months ago +5

    One of the greatest games of all time, IMO. Wish I could experience it again for the first time.

  • eggo
    eggo 2 months ago +15

    Highly recommend playing this in VR. It's an unforgettable experience.

  • Ray Finkle
    Ray Finkle 2 months ago

    Love the review of this classic. Easily one of the best horror games ever made. You did miss a very important aspect about the alien though. When this game was stil being developed one of the chief developers dropped some tidbits about how the alien actually operates. The alien operates off of two AI brains. One AI brain is a know all brain. It knows where you are favorite hiding places pretty much all your tendencies. The second is the one that controls the actual alien. This AI is operating of all the typical human senses ie sight, sound, smell. The first brain will give the second brains hints based on how well or bad you are doing. This is what gives the “being hunted” feeling. It’s why this game is still so playable even today. You can be like yea these lockers work great for hiding until the AI decides they aren’t good anymore. This concept also laid the ground work for all horror games since it’s release. It was groundbreaking development for its time. Great review bud. 🫡

  • Masterzoroark666
    Masterzoroark666 2 months ago +370

    On lore stuff- I like that both eggmorphing and actuall queen are both a thing Xenomorphs do.
    It's just "situation sensitive"- if there are no conditions for queen to be sustainable they do eggmorphing. If the thing resists for longer- then the queen is formed, being more efficient and faster at breeding than turning "prey" into eggs.
    It's a bioweapon and "perfect" one at that so it deffinetly has this sort of adaptation feature to not fail right after deployment and be easier to store

    • RambyZilla
      RambyZilla 2 months ago

      @Masterzoroark666 yeah, check it out, it's available either digitally or in printed format, I only used the digital stuff. It looks pretty neat!

    • RambyZilla
      RambyZilla 2 months ago

      @Aidan Matthew Galea well true that, I guess. Though generally I would call the way Xenomorph biology functions a very confusing thing, especially with the stages of the development.

    • Лорхан Ситисович
      Лорхан Ситисович 2 months ago

      @Xenomorthian "HBO's Chernobyl"... you know that Chernobyl nuclear catastrophe was real and not a TV show plot, right?... right???

    • Masterzoroark666
      Masterzoroark666 2 months ago +1

      @Glambrax
      Intresting.
      I do like both ideas for how Xenomorphs are bred- both the eggmorphing and drone molting into a queen if nescessary.
      I remember first time I got to know about the molting idea was from Alien vs Predator (2 I think) where you turn into a Queen at the end of Alien campaign (god damn, I need to remember to draw 6)

    • Masterzoroark666
      Masterzoroark666 2 months ago +2

      @Happy Krieger
      THE WAR OF SIMPS!!