Tap to unmute

Apple Watch Ultra Review: Worth It Or Nah?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 20, 2022 veröffentlicht
  • The Apple Watch Ultra is $800, which makes it worth it only for a certain set of people...
    Grab an MKBHD x Moment Apple Watch leather strap: mkbhd.com
    Waveform podcast interviews: clip-share.net/video/vGlbCM2coDU/video.html
    Check out the Apple Watch Ultra at geni.us/BslguaO
    Check out the Apple Watch Series 8 at geni.us/lBcRAy
    Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD
    Dive computers: www.divein.com/diving/dive-co...
    Intro Track: clip-share.net/user/20syl
    Playlist of MKBHD Intro music: goo.gl/B3AWV5
    Watch provided by Apple for review.
    ~
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
    MKBHD
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 7 968

  • BBROPHOTO
    BBROPHOTO 2 months ago +13342

    This watch has an absolutely enormous pull for me as an astronomer. It has a red filter for the display, which is absolutely crucial for astronomy to protect night vision. My current Apple Watch, if I accidentally tilt my wrist, kills my night vision. However, the biggest reason is the waypoint markers. Often us astronomers need to travel far and to remote locations to find darker skies. My closest dark sky area is BEAUTIFUL, but has absolutely zero signal of any degree and can be pretty easy to get lost. Something like the waypoint markers (if accurate and reliable) would massively increase my confidence and enjoyment traveling to remote sites and further my enjoyment of astronomy.

    • Allan Nielsen
      Allan Nielsen 2 days ago

      A red filter is useful for stalking your enemies at night.

    • Bill Gates’ Supporter
      Bill Gates’ Supporter 3 days ago

      @Alind Tahir astronomy :)

    • undefined
      undefined 3 days ago

      I grabbed it to test against my Garmin dive board / nab board. First HAHO jump was flawless really impressed.

    • Al Briano
      Al Briano 6 days ago

      …who cares

    • Allan Nielsen
      Allan Nielsen 8 days ago

      @Alind Tahir astronomy

  • Eric Flores
    Eric Flores 2 months ago +303

    The quality of these videos are insane, I feel like I’m watching an apple showcase. You even go on a trail just to show one of the features. Insane dedication. Love u mkbhd

  • stelLamoi1234
    stelLamoi1234 17 hours ago

    Lol they finally did it. I’ve been in apple ecosystem for a while but I don’t find the apple watch really helpful. The old watches won’t even last a marathon or ultramarathons that takes 10+hours that’s why most runners I know spend on pricey Garmin or Suunto multisport watch. This is also the reason why I stick with my miband for now because I prefer the sleep and heart rate tracking functionality with battery lasting 5-7 days. Don’t know, will check it maybe in the future. I am already lazy charging my phone, airpods and macbook. I prefer if they can build the watch battery to last one week cuz yah know, it’s just a watch lol.

  • Miag Vip
    Miag Vip 21 hour ago

    That's just the price to charge it everyday day for a month.

  • Spiros Ropas
    Spiros Ropas Month ago +71

    This was one of, if not, the best review of a piece of tech I’ve seen. Can’t believe how far he’s come. Incredible video man!

  • Kevin Smith
    Kevin Smith 2 months ago +7505

    As a person that works in construction, and also wears an Apple Watch every day while working I decided to upgrade from my series 5 to this. Will I ever use the marathon, the hiking or the diving features probably not. But the ruggedness, the battery life, the bright screen, and how big it is all speak to my needs. Keep up the good reviews MKBHD. 👍🏽

    • CJ
      CJ Month ago

      @Ale Zuvic yep we’re starting to make more because tradesmen are being lost

    • CJ
      CJ Month ago

      @Kenneth 🙃 plumber can make two Apple Watches in a day… all in perspective.

    • CJ
      CJ Month ago

      @OW finally someone points this out 🤦🏾‍♂️. Even headphones are not the same if it’s not integrated with phone!

    • XxklusivV Gaming
      XxklusivV Gaming Month ago

      I'm sort of in the same boat. I work from home 100% and have no real "need" for any of the extra features of this watch.
      I simply wanted it - so I bought it. I do like the large display, and the overall look of the watch. The extra durability coming from my Series 7 is definately an upgrade.

    • James S
      James S 2 months ago

      @Christianx8a it's different when you can claim it as the owner of your own build company haha which applies to me. I'll probably get an ultra in the new year.

  • ??????
    ?????? 2 days ago

    Upgraded from my series 4 aluminum, difference is night and day

  • Kabes
    Kabes Month ago +20

    Curious on what your settings are to get that kind of battery life. That’s well beyond Apple’s claim of 36 hours which is what I typically get.

    • mgoblue
      mgoblue Day ago

      In my experience, without two 3 hour workouts on consecutive days, I got 3 days from my first wearing of the watch, with sleep monitoring turned on (including the Sleep Focus setting). Charged to 100% at about 10pm, and 71 hours later (at 9pm), I was at 18%. I could have gone one more sleep, but then charging would have taken too long in the morning and it wouldn't have been at 100% before going to work. I don't use the always on, but I may try that to see how much of a hit it is. I am at 24 hours since that second charge right now, and I am at 75% remaining, so if that trend continued I could do a full 4 days down to 0%...

  • chargerman 65
    chargerman 65 Month ago +8

    Had every Apple Watch since original. Upgraded from 7 to 8 then watched reviews of Ultra including yours which I very much enjoyed. After wanted an Ultra but Apple showed delivery a month out and Verizon in December. Best Buy site stated delivery in two days so I said OK and ordered one. Sure enough would have gotten in two days but delay with UPS which hardly ever happens got it in three days. Not had it a week yet and have about another week and a half to return it. I really like it but go back and forth whether to keep or return. I like the bigger size and then I don’t like the bigger size. I like the bright screen then I don’t like the brighter screen. I like the design but then I don’t like the design. This is all compared to my 8 but then I do like the fact it is tough and I don’t have to worry about damaging it. I do not like the fact that I accidentally bought one with the small Alpine Loop band and Best Buy said they can’t just swap band and would have to send watch and band back to get swapped or go to my local store an hour away which doesn’t have any in stock. Band works just hard to get on over my hand and I don’t have large wrists and medium size hands. There is a lot I like but is it worth $800. Probably will keep it but if I do will also probably keep the 8 for dress up times although I wear a suit for work everyday. As heck it’s just money. People would say to me you are crazy and even my wife who I love with all my heart even says so. But I don’t spend money on race cars, fishing boats, campers, motorcycles, etc. but my passion is tech stuff, iPhones, Apple Watches, home assistant devices, etc. and these are things I use everyday. Love your video. Thanks. Oh I do workout daily and love it for that.

  • Erik Nielsen
    Erik Nielsen Month ago +59

    2:48 That unboxing was SOO much better than I expected from Apple! It's nice to finally get some satisfaction from them. ❤

    • Ryan Lennox-Bradley
      Ryan Lennox-Bradley Month ago +1

      But they already have the most satisfying unboxings?
      I see what you were were saying, it is incredible
      But it shouldn’t be a surprise

  • Jean, but in french
    Jean, but in french 2 months ago +909

    It seems no matter how crazy a tech can be thrown at mkbhd, he’ll always gonna go back at it with a “pretty good”

    • David Robinson
      David Robinson 3 days ago

      Trust me… getting a “pretty good” is a amazing review

    • A Realist
      A Realist 2 months ago +4

      It's so wierd (and kind of an expected thing) seeing all these Clip-Sharers wearing an Apple watch Ultra just because it is the latest and the greatest and the most expensive thing Apple has to offer. Even if they don't need it or it was not designed for them or for their activiites. It was the same thing with the Mac Pro or the Expensive wheels or the Airpods Max. They buy 1TB varient of iPhone Pro Max every year just to switch it the next year without even using the full memory! Just because it is the top of the line model, they want to get it and show it off. It never helps a regular viewer or the regular customer in any way. Most of the people can't afford such things and won't be bothered for their everyday use review.

    • subcinctus
      subcinctus 2 months ago +1

      @Dhiraj Singh he has been on top of the game for too long, matured

    • Dhiraj Singh
      Dhiraj Singh 2 months ago +1

      @subcinctus only good at appreciating apple

    • Gecko
      Gecko 2 months ago +1

      Because its not incredible. You sheep are ignorant as can be..

  • Robert L
    Robert L 3 days ago

    Great review. When Apple adds the Pro name it is because of increased technology. The Ultra has increased technology and increased durability. So I agree with Apple's naming decision.

  • Mohammad Hamdallah
    Mohammad Hamdallah Month ago +12

    I bought the Apple Watch ultra after watching the review while I was in the US and found out that I can’t use the cellular function whenI moved to Denmark. This is a huge disadvantage that you cannot use the watch in another region. When I called Apple and asked them to help me with replacing it they declined me. I think all users should be aware of this very important disadvantage.

    • Mohammad Hamdallah
      Mohammad Hamdallah 2 days ago

      @Mohit Pandey they just sent me a link about the watch compatibility in each region. So you come to know this information only if you buy the watch from another country than where you live.

    • Mohit Pandey
      Mohit Pandey 3 days ago

      Thanks for letting us know. Did the apple people tell you how can we check whether a US variant Apple Watch cellular version is going to work in another country or not?

  • t3llmike
    t3llmike 2 months ago

    Nice, this is the first Apple Watch I would buy just for the dive features. But I really hope they make the battery exchange much more user servicable since right now it looks like a mess (check iFixit for that).

  • Wes Hager
    Wes Hager Month ago +23

    Yo! Man, I just want to say how supremely impressive your videos are. You cover every logical angle and your production value is equally pro. Outstanding work sir.

  • Miller Bento
    Miller Bento 2 months ago +484

    Those motion graphics were sick! Well done team, the video intro never disappoints.

    • Neon Playz
      Neon Playz 2 months ago +1

      @Gabriel Recchi nice

    • Adriana HG
      Adriana HG 2 months ago +5

      Absolutely 🙌🏽 getting better and better each time

    • Gabriel Recchi
      Gabriel Recchi 2 months ago +3

      The neon-like icons were... Pretty good, let's say 😅

  • Trey sanders
    Trey sanders Month ago +10

    I have a Garmin tactix delta. So I use my watch a lot more for the outdoor capabilities. I love it. I had 3 other Apple Watches and just not impressed. Soon I heard this was coming out, it definitely got my attention. Went to the store to try it in. Fell in love with it. Definitely can’t wait to try this watch out. The features seem way better. Especially when I ride my motorcycle.I like how ican see and talk into it.

    • Trey sanders
      Trey sanders 20 days ago

      @Elías Güitrón it’s not a bad watch. But personally I like the garmin tactix better. I’ve used the ultra in the same situations I use the delta and the features are a little better. Garmin is just an all around outdoor watch. The ultra is not bad but I would use it if I had to. The battery life between them both is just not comparable. So if your planing on being out for days at a time. I wouldn’t recommend the ultra. I got the ultra more for when I’m on my bike. Especially using the gps features for when I’m in the road. I did test it out in the woods and it not bad. Just try to Cary an external power supply.

    • Trey sanders
      Trey sanders 20 days ago

      @NomadPrax ye I felt the same way. I kinda go back and forth between both.

    • Elías Güitrón
      Elías Güitrón 20 days ago

      I’m thinking about getting it too, sometimes we get too far on the dirt trails and having the gps in the watch is nice too

    • NomadPrax
      NomadPrax Month ago

      I own a delta too and want this watch I feel bad switching to this because the Tactix is expensive

  • TheWarptOne
    TheWarptOne Month ago +3

    I love the look of the Ultra and the hardened features, but I hesitate to spend $800+ on a watch that's battery will degrade in a couple years' time no matter what you do. I'll stick with the normal Apple watch for almost half the cost of the Ultra.

  • Kai Kalino
    Kai Kalino 2 months ago +8

    I’ve been using the Ultra with work currently for the past 2 days. The size is nothing to me since I am accustomed to dive watches. I was shocked how light it is. In the past 48 hours the watch currently sits at 48%. I check my watch on occasion checking in with physicians I work with, utilizing the timer for 10 hrs a day when I work as a phlebotomist on site and texting. I suspect I will be charging this on the 3rd day but the screen size makes visualizing all text easier on the eyes. I am hiking this weekend and I am very excited to utilize the wayfinder and backtracking. I will be traveling to surf spots in a couple of months and indulged in diving soon that’ll be fun to explore. I am not an extreme athlete but the new features and the price point being cheaper then the ceramic watches a few years. I’m happy!

    • one4all all4one
      one4all all4one Month ago

      Are you going to pay for the dive computer?

    • couu alis
      couu alis Month ago

      Those intros never feel bored. Hats off to the MKBHD editors

  • All Pinck
    All Pinck 2 months ago +6

    I'm very interested to see how well the battery holds up long term, my Series 4 apple watch barely lasts a full day now but when I got it, it would last a day and a half with my usage. Great video Marques!

    • G T
      G T 2 months ago +2

      I was developing a companion app for the watch and fiddling with some haptic feedback stuff.
      trying some longer slightly custom haptics(they are pretty locked down on the watch)...killed the battery in 15 minutes.
      fun times, needless to say we didn't include those.

  • Ast3rix Music
    Ast3rix Music Month ago +2

    I just received the new ultra and the size is not a surprise from a 45mm. I like the overall look, but the battery is what I'm waiting to see if it's going to do it for me. I can't wait for that software update that is suppose to add more battery life as well. The durability is what got me looking at this one as well. I banged up my series 7 the glass around the curve was always taking hits. I like the flat top with the protective rim of the ultra. It feels heavier to me than a 45mm. When I put it on I was like .... ok I thought the weight was not a thing, but it is noticeable.

  • Dominic Domson
    Dominic Domson 2 months ago +6

    i think it looks like one of the first smartwatches. like a mini smartphone strapped to the wrist.
    i am an extreme sport person (skydive, basejump, wingsuit, dive, freedive, rock climbing, etc) and to me the biggest issue is the form factor (entanglement) and battery life.
    theres no way 2 days is enough.
    my go to watch is a garmin descent g1 solar. it looks like a gshock, is super durable, has gps, is a full blown dive computer WITHOUT subscription, and has weeks of battery life with solar recharging
    to me the apple watch ultra is like a porsche SUV. its for people who want to feel "as if" without actually needing the functionality.
    a hiker can use the normal apple watch, a runner as well.
    a real diver (not just 1,2 scuba dives occasionally per year) would not trust this watch.
    in the mountains and snow, the cold will drain the battery even faster...
    i also dont like the display, bright sunlight and polarized sunglasses will make it hard to read. garmin uses a technology where the watch becomes better readable the more sunlight reflects off the screen.

  • RocketMoose
    RocketMoose 2 months ago

    Their strategy for this (replacing ultra watch/dive computers) reminds me of how they targeted expensive color correction monitors with the Pro Display

  • Billy Miller
    Billy Miller 23 days ago

    I am willing to bet you could use the Apple Watch as a complete dive computer replacement with Tank PSI integration. There are a bunch of wireless dive computers already. A developer or Dive gear company would just have to make a tank pressure transmitter that would communicate wirelessly with the Apple Watch Ultra. That would actually be incredibly cool and at $799 a rather inexpensive dive computer.

  • Vister
    Vister 2 months ago +2616

    Those intros never feel bored.😍
    Hats off to the MKBHD editors

    • Vister
      Vister 2 months ago +1

      @Hashtag aroma what did u meant by boring 🤭🤭

    • Hashtag aroma
      Hashtag aroma 2 months ago

      *boring

    • TECHBUDDYLK
      TECHBUDDYLK 2 months ago +2

      😍

    • Thorfinn
      Thorfinn 2 months ago

      @Squirky he does.

    • Vister
      Vister 2 months ago +1

      @Scorpiomannen He made boring videos very attractive 😉

  • Eyekosaeder
    Eyekosaeder  2 months ago

    I am really interested in this watch because of the longer battery life, the compass and the red light filter. While I understand that battery life is pretty limited on the normal apple watch, I find that the compass app and the filter are things they definitely could add.
    I am not into any extreme sports though, so I cannot justify buying an apple watch ultra.

  • Thomas Cole
    Thomas Cole 15 hours ago

    Doesn't really make sense.. Comparing a typical watch to essentially a phone on your wrist. Of course it has to charge.

  • Martha Turner
    Martha Turner Month ago +1

    Honestly, the SE has worked fine for me forever. I run around, bang my hand into things, and it’s still fine. It’s gotten to the point where I need a new watch, and I got the SE again.

  • MultiTacs
    MultiTacs Month ago +6

    I decided to charge my ultra and run it till the battery was dead. I performed my normal use, a few phone calls. Texting, daily work outs and kept on normal power mode and always on display. I got exactly 54 hours and 10 minutes. Big improvement!!!

  • Zero Bruhmomento
    Zero Bruhmomento 2 months ago +290

    It's certainly an impressive watch, but I think most people will get it purely for the battery and increased screen brightness. Hopefully this trickles down to the regular watches in the future...

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam, I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy!❤❤❤

    • Sam Saltwell
      Sam Saltwell 2 months ago

      💯

    • SageLegacy
      SageLegacy 2 months ago

      Yet we'll still see kids wear it and find ways to break it lol

  • France4me
    France4me 2 months ago

    Love the new design of this new Apple Watch Ultra. However, I think Apple should also get a smaller size as displayed on the Apple Watch 8 so people with smaller wrist can also enjoy the funky design too

    • unbox_therapy_12 on TELEGRAM
      unbox_therapy_12 on TELEGRAM 2 months ago

      Thanks for watching and commenting your a lucky random winner in my giveaway DM on TELEGRAM let's claim your prize 🎁🎁

  • CFC44
    CFC44 2 hours ago

    The rings you put bro are wrong in my opinion. The rings are dependent on how much cash you have, not what you desire.

  • Sapiens Strength
    Sapiens Strength 2 months ago +7

    Casio Pro Trek is my tried and true watch ! Currently I have my Apple Watch 7, which is my fitness & daily driver ; and the Timex expedition, which charges via solar ( but no gps or receivers) and use when I’m at work, rugged outdoors or even diving. For me it boils down to , how much tech do I need for the moment . I’m excited to eventually get the Ultra and test it myself… Still got to keep my Casio though, it’s been through ALOT and still works .

    • G T
      G T Month ago

      @P W prg-70t titanium case and bracelet and stainless steel back.

    • P W
      P W Month ago

      @G T damn what's the model? I will never wear an Apple watch because I don't need that kind of analytic over my daily life. Anything on my wrist, I want durability, reliability and low maintenance. I find having to charge a watch (or being aware of it's power level) every 2-3 days to be a tedious task I'll save for my phone and that alone. This Casio Pro Trek sounds like a winner in my eyes. I have a couple Titanium/Sapphire/Solar watches myself (one being a Casio) and they're always my go-to (vs the mechanical watches I wear only for vanity sake).

    • G T
      G T 2 months ago +1

      Had my Casio pro trek for about 17 years, titanium/solar/sapphire glass digital compass that for some reason is still pretty accurate, temp sensor is still pretty good, altimeter is off by about 10 or so meters though...still works survived a tour in Iraq and many a beating and even saved my hand from getting crushed in a tank track. It now rests on a shelf safe and sound....has some very minor scratches despite the abuse it took.
      think it cost the same as this Apple Ultra too.

  • Freddy N
    Freddy N 2 months ago

    I work in the construction field and a couple years ago I bought the Apple Watch. I think the series 4 and within a week it was all scratched up. Now the Ultra with the Sapphire crystal would be a game changer for me because it is way more scratch resistant and also the battery life of course.

  • D W
    D W 2 months ago +304

    As someone who dives recreational, it probably won't replace my dive computer, yet. I am excited to see the next generation on what it can possibly do though.
    The current Pros I see:
    -Automatically log your dives if you do electronic dive logs
    -Share your dives with everyone else
    -Perhaps gives you more tangible feedback if you're ascending or descending too quickly, like bigger vibrations. Sometimes hearing the beeps in the ocean is quite hard
    What I hope it can do in the future:
    -GPS tracking of all of your dive buddies and group (if they wear the Ultra or some water-proof AirTag. There were moments where I dove with only 1m of visibility, so it can be hard to track anyone down there. If they had a radar display or an arrow that points where your dive buddy is and how far, that'll be neat).

    • mcp
      mcp 2 months ago +1

      realistically this isnt possible with their current implementation of GPS or their precice location chips in the air tags. They are simply just too high frequency to do anything useful in any appreciable amount of water. You would need some ultra low frequency wave, past the point of data and more as a spatial ping, which just ends up being sonar.

    • D W
      D W 2 months ago +1

      @Corey Johnson that’s right with Oceanic+. I totally forgot about that. Pay extra for something that’s already included in other products

    • Corey Johnson
      Corey Johnson 2 months ago +1

      I have no plans to pay a subscription fee for a dive computer is my biggest gripe.

    • Svante Mellberg
      Svante Mellberg 2 months ago +1

      The issue with this watch when it comes to diving as I see it is then lack of versatility when it comes to deco. It can’t compute different gases and switching in between gasses either. But then it’s not really meant for technical diving either.

    • Brijesh Patel
      Brijesh Patel 2 months ago +2

      @D W it wont be replacing my dive computer (shearwater peregrine) just yet either but im also excited to see where this will end up. although i doubt well see underwater navigation/buddy tracking anytime soon, maybe a few iterations down the road but not in the near future imo. because it would require a seperate radio that uses low frequencys and even then it would only be good to 10-15 feet so unless youre in 5ft or less of viz then it wouldnt really make sense for apple to add a feature like this. i think it would be a great feature on some other dive specific equipment though like if shearwater added it to the perdix or something.

  • Dave M.
    Dave M.  Month ago

    Absolutely love this watch. Best Apple Watch to date, overall, regardless of how you want to use it, in my opinion. Visit a store that has one on display and put your hands on it. May not be for everyone, but this watch will surely be an enormous hit, especially during the Christmas Season.

  • Mitchell Francis
    Mitchell Francis 2 months ago

    Would be sweet if they added some features for aviators. I know there are apps but it would be nice to have some baked-in features for pilots.

  • Rusty Shackleford
    Rusty Shackleford Month ago +2

    I havent upgraded since Watch 4 came out. I kinda want to buy this for the GPS and power saving mode. My Watch 4 can’t handle tracking a full day of hiking. Also the Alpine loop band is fire.

  • Blaze Drinkwine
    Blaze Drinkwine Month ago

    Just ordered my Ultra because I currently have a series 7 small screen product red I originally got solely for working out to replace my series 3 big display but found myself hating it cause of the battery and the size wasn't big enough to do anything with, PLUS always thought the watched looked ugly regardless of the size and color and resembled a spy kids watch. looking forward to the ultra and seeing if the battery life and big screen makes it a good solution... as far as the spy kids look... I wouldn't be wearing any apple watch to the MET gala anytime soon put it that way ;)

  • Marko Boychuk
    Marko Boychuk 2 months ago +937

    While I know I will never own this watch, I'll watch anything Marques makes. Always top tier content!

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam, I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy!❤❤❤

    • RoseCityRider
      RoseCityRider 2 months ago +2

      Simp

    • ktp tanmay
      ktp tanmay 2 months ago

      Same

    • Niclas Thernsjö
      Niclas Thernsjö 2 months ago +1

      Can we stop calling this thing a watch? It's not a watch, one of the features it has is a watch. It's a computer, or whatever new word you want to make up.

    • Steven Novakovich
      Steven Novakovich 2 months ago

      Me too!

  • Boris The German
    Boris The German Month ago

    Left Handed is my biggest gripe. Even with my mainstream Gshock ProTrek Pathfinder collection still growing. The design I think should continue with all apple watches. The flat edge look cleaner imo. Didn't buy into apple watches because of the battery life but gonna give ultra a shot. You get spoiled with tough solar and atomic time.

  • Mike
    Mike Month ago

    The 40m Limit is simply a Safety Problem. I was really hyped for that watch as a non Apple Fan. As a Diver i would like to see my depth at least till 60m. We only go to 45m max but if you went deeper u would like to know it in order to consider it when ascending.

  • Tyler Phillips
    Tyler Phillips Month ago

    I think its going to be a hit for all the people that work outside or with their hands but still want an apple watch. I have a friend who's a conservation officer and another who is a mechanic and both are getting these since they will be more rugged for their physical, dirty jobs.

  • Meg Stafford
    Meg Stafford Month ago

    Just taking a guess but if they continue to drop upgrades for the Ultra, it leads me to believe they would come out with a PRO ULTRA or something like that with a little more to offer. This one is awesome though and a great price for what it offers imo.

    • Matt K
      Matt K 17 days ago

      Yes. Ultra has to do with outdoors. Its a sport watch

  • NOTNA Films
    NOTNA Films 2 months ago +1279

    The quality of editing in these videos improves every single time, and with such little time between each one!

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam, I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy!❤❤❤

    • NOTNA Films
      NOTNA Films 2 months ago

      @Tako Flame I know he doesn't edit them, I'm just appreciating the hard work of the team which produces such high quality stuff. It's still an achievement.

    • Nathan Nguyen
      Nathan Nguyen 2 months ago

      @Tako Flame if you follow the channel long enough, you will not have to ask this question. Yes, he has a very talented team and yes, he edited almost every single MKBHD video until very recently when he hired a new editor to share the work.

    • Devwardhan Kothari
      Devwardhan Kothari 2 months ago

      @Tako Flame But MKBHD has contribution to every aspect of production, after all it is him that we come to the channel for.

    • Devwardhan Kothari
      Devwardhan Kothari 2 months ago

      He actually hired a new editor, suprised that she picked his style up so quickly. Good job to the team though!

  • Ozukum 003
    Ozukum 003 22 hours ago

    Every watch is worth it if you use it wisely ......lol

  • krisztian mihovici
    krisztian mihovici 3 days ago

    Your reviews are the absolute best! I know that your opinion just really is based on facts

  • Sriracha Hero
    Sriracha Hero Month ago

    My current Apple Watch Series 5 gets me throughout the day and has lasted through all my Half Marathons (as long as I remember to charge it... it slipped off the charger and I almost lost the the last two miles of Flying Pig). I do have issues sometimes with GPS in cities like Chicago and Manhattan - the straight lines that cut thru buildings and roads are pretty annoying and mess with the pace but Apple's made GPS better with each WatchOS iteration.
    I guess I don't absolutely *need* this version of the Apple Watch but I do like bigger watch faces and the longer battery life will be nice. My next runs are Vegas and Disney so GPS won't be an issue but coming from Series 5, I'll get VOX - and that metric will be neat to see.
    I'll have to check out the bands on your eStore 🙂

  • Amoeba
    Amoeba 14 days ago

    I wonder how viable it would be to develop a trickle charge ability tapping into body heat and kinetic energy from moving it about? Combined with some advanced solar tech the battery could potentially last way longer. Of course size is an issue too.

  • Brandon Matthews
    Brandon Matthews 2 months ago +97

    Being a pilot I was super excited when I saw this watch. With the altimeter, compass, gps, emergency features, and the red night mode for night flights, this watch brings so much to aviation that the normal Apple Watch doesn’t have. However, knowing what Garmin does for aviation watches I was a little disappointed they didn’t have an angle for flying. Garmin gives you weather updates (METAR) and knows what airport you are at based on its identifier (KSBA). Apple could have worked a little harder to make this an aviation watch and it would be the most complete watch ever. All around though this watch looks still extremely useful for aviation and I will most likely be upgrading to it.

    • Gadgety
      Gadgety 2 months ago +1

      The WatchMETAR Apple Watch app does METAR and TAF and even provides a complication to your regular watch face. Granted it only does US airports. To me this one of the advantages of a smartwatch - there are apps for a lot of stuff.

    • wohmiguel
      wohmiguel 2 months ago +1

      ​@MAB Don't know what you want us to say about this. The watch is targeted towards people who want to use it as a daily driver, and clearly you aren't.

    • Neil Flack
      Neil Flack 2 months ago +2

      Hearing people gush about how these watch features apply to their passions makes me happy.

    • Mb One
      Mb One 2 months ago

      that red watch face you talk about you can nistall on every wear os watch or garmin or suunto..and for less then 800 dollar watch with only 2 days battery.. :)

    • MAB
      MAB 2 months ago +1

      This watch ain’t smart. It’s a dumb notification machine. It’s got no angle. For real they can’t even do alarms right. Don’t make your safety line a barely functioning toy.

  • Witcher Bob's Media Corner

    I've never been a big apple fan but I don't mind the products what does intrigue me about this watch is the feature to set unlimited GPS way points but I know that this item is a high end product and it actually makes good on that title nice review once again

  • Cmdr Flint
    Cmdr Flint Month ago +2

    Got mine earlier today, quite liking it, not as big as I was expecting, but I do worry about that sapphire Crystal, it’s so damn thin, my other watches with sapphire crystals feel really solid (anywhere from 3.5mm-4mm thick),not certain of the specs for the Apple Watch Crystal but just by the flex and the feel of it, I doubt it’s more than 1.5mm thick, this thing is going to shatter really freaking easily!

  • Claire Cre8tes
    Claire Cre8tes 2 months ago +3

    I'm probably considered an "average user" but the battery of the Ultra is very appealing. I use for sleep tracking for health so very appealing indeed to have a few days wear without charging. Is it nice looking on woman wrist too? My wrists are kind of small so I worried about the aesthetic but it is very appealing especially for the charging. Great review thank you!

    • Claire Cre8tes
      Claire Cre8tes Month ago

      @Ste Wood it's called "AutoSleep" app on watch and iPhone and it's great 😊

    • Ste Wood
      Ste Wood Month ago +1

      What sleep tracker do you use??

  • Thenobelfan
    Thenobelfan Month ago

    Would be nice if watches had basic cameras incorporated , would be a cool add on

  • Matt L
    Matt L 2 months ago +252

    Honestly mainly interested in this for the battery life. Especially with the sleep tracking being updated so much right before this release I feel like something that lasts this long is the only way to get accurate info on that and the ruggedness as well I use my current Apple Watch to track and it’s definitely got some battle scars

    • CT Gaming
      CT Gaming 2 months ago

      @tubasweb They don't to me, I don't let them lock me, I don't use iCloud. I have like 500TB of server drives for storing my own files, no typo 500+ TB.

    • you fell for my bait 🪝
      you fell for my bait 🪝 2 months ago

      @DRIXXER you don’t have to pay all that at once though

    • tubasweb
      tubasweb 2 months ago

      @CT Gaming They are, but they tend to pull you in, next thing you know you're locked in via Apple pay, icloud, itunes etc. You can't leave. 30 years from now and you're still paying apple monthly to store your photos and music, that you own.

    • CT Gaming
      CT Gaming 2 months ago

      @tubasweb some of the Apple products are really good but the smart watch lines are just dumb. My Garmin is solar powered too. SMH some people don’t do research at all.

    • Javier Cedillo
      Javier Cedillo 2 months ago +3

      the battery life is a joke, Huawei's best watch has a 15 days battery life!

  • Tyler Thacker
    Tyler Thacker Month ago +4

    After going into enormous debt with AT&T to stay up with current trends, I can without a doubt say that all this shit is for people that are very well off. Will be purchasing with cash from now on when able to ✌🏻❤️

  • Norm Guindon
    Norm Guindon 2 months ago

    I would purchase it just for the size, the bigger the better for me I always love big watches

  • Zhou Yongkang
    Zhou Yongkang 23 days ago

    As a technical diver, this piece of tech has me intrigued. It certainly won't be replacing any dedicated dive computer, but I could see myself using this as a backup for dives under 40 meters.

  • Brennan Mejia
    Brennan Mejia 2 months ago +3

    I just got mine on release day, and love it so far! Great info on the battery optimization yet to release.

  • Chazzy
    Chazzy 2 months ago +252

    The Apple Watch Ultra has a very specific target audience, it’s great if you’re a pro athlete, but someone like me who’d never need any of these features… still wants it.

    • Antenox
      Antenox 2 months ago +2

      That's how luxury products work. They hint at a lifestyle you aspire to, even if you will never have it

    • Richard Blahoušek
      Richard Blahoušek 2 months ago +3

      This is not a watch for professional athletes. 💁🏻‍♂ This is more like for people who want a stronger watches for weekd hiking or for occasional (shorter) running and they like the apple watch .I think it would be really good for divers but other sports im not sure. Cycling ? Nope. It is not possible to connect any plugins. Rear radar, watt meter or display. Ultra runners (trail-runners) how they say ? Nope. If someone is running longer than (according to apple) 17 hours he will be out of battery. Thru-hikers ? I don't think so. 300-500mah of battery you need every evening ? If you are out in mountains for 1-2 weeks you don't want to spare energy on watches or take second power bank just for watches.
      I wished that AW Ultra will be suitable for athletes and put a proper battery and connectivity in to it but no. Maybe 2 or 3 gen will be better.Make it 30 hours on battery with GPS, add connectivity and I will pay anything. 🙂👍

    • Mr. Gr
      Mr. Gr 2 months ago

      But if you have a tiny wrist like mkbhd - nah

    • ayush bhesaniya
      ayush bhesaniya 2 months ago

      try Garmin , you will be impressed ,Specifically Garmin Enduro , or Garmin Epix

    • Fantom
      Fantom  2 months ago

      @Chazzy No probs!

  • Josh de Lange
    Josh de Lange 2 months ago

    For me the watch is an absolute win because of diving. However I still got to see some real world reviews for this. Also my regular Apple Watch doesn’t work that great underwater so I’m curious how it’s gonna be with this one.

  • Zarick Berger
    Zarick Berger 2 months ago

    It's a great watch, with good battery life that doesn't feel heavy or too big on my wrist. I never got a smartwatch and waited years for Apple to come out with a watch like this, because others Apple built look like toys. This looks more like a real watch and the new functions make it pay for itself as a dive computers is pretty expensive too. I wasn't sure in the beginning and my girlfriend hated the idea of a smartwatch, but already after a few days we both think that it is a pretty cool device.

  • Fahad Gilani
    Fahad Gilani 2 months ago +2

    One thing no reviewer seems to cover is the discomfort level of this watch. I've worn every apple watch since Apple Watch 1 (day and night) and after wearing the Ultra for 2 days (and nights) straight, the bone under my watch started to feel sore, such that I had to take the watch off briefly for relief. I thought I'm wearing it too tight but after another day of adjustments, I gave up as my wrist could no longer bear it. Comparing it with my Apple Watch 5 (which I replaced), I noticed the glass used for the bottom sensor is more pronounced, has more depth and roundness and literally digs into your wrist. This "digging" into my wrist was what was giving me the sore bone. This, and the discomfort when scrubbing the crown (as it was very abrasive to my skin touching it as the crown would push the watch down every time I would turn it). The crown is big, has sharp edges and pinches. The top surface also has a very edgy, sharp wall around it (for protection) but if you've got the habit of swiping from the edge of the screen (as you would on older generations), your finger will swipe over the sharp edges and it's not a pleasant experience. The additional weight of the watch, the constant pinching, soreness, uncomfortable overall "squareness" as it sits tall on your wrist, leaning on one side was just too much to handle. Overall I gave up after 3 days and am returning it. I cannot imagine wearing this thing day in and day out, including while I sleep.
    To put things into perspective, I'm an avid runner, very active during the day, use the watch for sleep tracking, I don't have skinny wrists and have no other medical conditions or allergies. This was a dream watch replacement for me until it became obvious it isn't. From the pictures it feels the normal Apple Watch 8 also seems to have added an additional height to the bottom-sensor, which may result in similar discomfort (although I'm not sure as the watch itself is lighter so it may be easier to wear all the time).

  • Chris 509JF
    Chris 509JF Month ago

    Great review. Never owned an Apple Watch before I think I might go for it idk. Gonna have to try it on and see how it looks.

  • Gina Z.
    Gina Z. 2 months ago +439

    As an avid hiker and fitness enthusiast I was drawn to the Ultra. While the battery life is a key feature for me, it’s the ruggedness and lightweight body sold it for me. I didn’t preorder at launch as I wanted to try it out and see how it looked. It’s a big watch and I have skinny wrists but I didn’t find it to be “too” big. It arrives in two days…so excited!

    • Starbase Sights
      Starbase Sights Day ago

      @unske The dual frequency GPS is super useful for me with photography and I’ll leave my phone at home when I go out. It also has very good triangulation with the mics so no wind noise comes in. I also can take this watch skiing and have a big enough display for my huge hands. The night display helps with night photography. It’s great for me! To each their own.

    • unske
      unske 2 days ago

      Lol avid hiker and fitness enthusiast describes half the planet. Trust me you don't need an 900 $ smart watch.. This product is for niche clientele and professionals. But if you want to waste money, be my guest. I warned you .

    • 2Coop4U Part 2
      2Coop4U Part 2 3 days ago

      @Starbase Sights why is everyone attacking me😂

    • Starbase Sights
      Starbase Sights 3 days ago

      @2Coop4U Part 2 and you’re sounding pretty broke

    • Starbase Sights
      Starbase Sights 3 days ago

      @2Coop4U Part 2 you’re the biggest douche I’ve seen on Clip-Share today congrats

  • Scott Cockburn
    Scott Cockburn Month ago

    I think its cool that apple added all these features to there watch but in my opinion it still can’t compare to something like the garmin Fenix 7 witch you can get for cheaper

  • Dave Nine
    Dave Nine Month ago

    You always post a very detailed review. Thank you.

  • Adil H. Chagani
    Adil H. Chagani 15 days ago

    Excellent video, purchased my Ultra yesterday and love it. Purchased (1) black and (1) white cover from Amazon and they ad protection and give you a custom look. Nice.

  • Mark Kolar
    Mark Kolar 8 days ago

    Really great revuew, Bought watch, based on this review (and my wife's insistence). Thank you. Been a long time since I saw one of your reviews but you rock. Thank you!

  • Robsa Walker
    Robsa Walker 2 months ago +1042

    You've missed out people who work in construction, like me! A more rugged Apple Watch with a bigger battery is hugely useful to me, which is why I ordered one.

    • Alarak
      Alarak 2 months ago

      @Z J should live in the UK.

    • Rad Dad
      Rad Dad 2 months ago

      @Robsa Walker I agree. Tradesmen make serious money this day and age. Especially skilled tradesmen.

    • Robsa Walker
      Robsa Walker 2 months ago

      There are a lot of comments on here from people who seem to not understand that there are lots of people who are on site who work trades and make good money... do you need an AW? No. Do you need a Rolex? No. Do you need a BMW instead of a Dacia? No. But weirdly, some people own all these things. So weird, I wonder why.

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam, I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy!❤❤❤

    • kds471
      kds471 2 months ago

      @Mike D when up a 20 foot ladder, being able to take a call, make a call or take a text or send a text hand-free is priceless, a Casio only tells the time. The aluminum case gets wasted by sweat, sand, grit off grinding discs, etc. The titanium is much more “rugged”, and the rounded bezel of the regular watch is a liability when in construction.

  • Tech For Days
    Tech For Days 29 days ago

    I love how they Used Ultra for this Watch and how everything about this watch is different from the others and I am coming from a 7 Nike and SE

  • 👨🏻‍💻
    👨🏻‍💻 Month ago

    I think the watch as it evolves will replace our “communication” (quick text/calls via headphones) device. For content consumption/emails/etc will be a smaller tablet or ultra portable in the near future 🤷🏻‍♂️

  • Josh Knaack
    Josh Knaack 20 days ago

    I bought this specifically to get on the trail more often. I pay about $1.12 per day for payments to help encourage me to get out the door. So far it has worked. I do 1 hour plus treks with a weighted back on and try to do 15 min/miles including hills and rough terrain with my pack on. This is definitely a more military friendly watch.

  • Dragan Gajic
    Dragan Gajic Month ago

    Great video like always. For alpine loop, are you intentionally wearing it other way around? Like, on most Apple videos flat part of the band is on the upper side.

  • Cujobob
    Cujobob 2 months ago +817

    The most compelling part, for me, is that it’s not really much more expensive for all you get extra. A stainless Apple Watch with their version of a sapphire crystal is already in that territory. You might as well get the one that does it all unless the size is just a no go. Giant watches are still popular, so it’s not as striking as you might think, but natural titanium’s finish is kind of more ‘rugged’ looking than classy on a watch. Titanium should anodize well, but the colors don’t pop the same way they do on aluminum.
    I keep looking for a reason to grab a smart watch, but… still waiting for a key feature like a glucose monitor or something. They’ve made it an interesting device, but there’s nothing on it I absolutely need. For this much money and considering it’s outdated in two-three years, it’s just still more of a luxury than a real necessity and I love tech.

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam, I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy!❤❤❤

    • Rad Dad
      Rad Dad 2 months ago

      Glucose monitor apps sync up with health.

    • homehacks
      homehacks 2 months ago

      Almost there with the Dexcom + iPhone. If the watch paired with the Dexcom that would be ideal

    • Cujobob
      Cujobob 2 months ago

      @Mardox they’ve purchased some tech that potentially can allow it. It’s likely at some point.

    • Mateja Marić
      Mateja Marić 2 months ago

      They had titanium Apple Watches in multiple (two) colours in the years past. Probably saving the darker coloured one for next year to get people to upgrade. Also, the screen being 2000 nits makes for a surprisingly bright flashlight already. It has a special app just for that.

  • seeni gzty
    seeni gzty 2 months ago +1

    Hearing Voices by 20syl come up and knowing that there will be an epic intro sequence is just so... You! Keep up the great work, Marques and co!

  • SmartyP89
    SmartyP89 6 days ago

    I been debating on getting the ultra because I like the orange display at night and screen size and the orange band but I want to know what health features it has. I’ve never had an Apple Watch, the last thing is I feel like it’d be too much tech. I have an iPhone 11 Pro, my second iPhone ever and an iPod. Any suggestions for getting it?

  • Kevin Binnie
    Kevin Binnie 2 months ago +1

    Marques, I have gained a lot of very valuable information from you in the past and it's the same for this review, so thank you. I will say, however, as an avid skier, XC triathlete and backcountry hiker, this watch doesn't quite do it. I didn't see in your review if it could download a .gpx file for you to follow with turn-by-turn guidance, the battery, as you said, is very short when compared to other adventure watches (for reference, I work out every day for at least an hour - running, gravel biking, mountain biking, swimming, and many hours on weekends - my Garmin 945 lasts more than a week with all of that activity). I don't think the Ultra can monitor power, which is a key cycling metric which triathletes track. The only thing that I really wish my watch did that the Ultra does is allow me to respond to text messages. If I had a non-iPhone, actually, it would, but unfortunately Apple just doesn't support other brands communicating with its devices very well at all.

  • Big Guy
    Big Guy 9 hours ago

    You know what they say once you go black you never go back😂

  • Toma
    Toma 2 months ago +24

    MKBHD videos always have this professional feel to them. Other tech youtubers, even ones I like such as LTT, feel mass produced, but each of MKBHD and The Studio videos feel focused and like they have an extremely high production value. Anytime I click on a video from this team I know I am always going to get an enjoyable, visually appealing video with little to no bias towards a product. I love LTT but it’s clear Linus has some biases towards certain brands, Marques never gives off that vibe and it absolutely makes the video more enjoyable. I don’t feel like I’m being told that I need to buy the product he’s showcasing

  • Mohammed Faisal
    Mohammed Faisal 22 days ago +1

    My only worry about skipping this watch for next years watch ultra is that the price will either raise or they'll keep the s6 2020 chip for a fourth year in a row. But I'm definitely waiting and I'm hoping next years ultra has exclusive features to the ultra, with more colour options, even smaller bezels, being able to see more with the big screen instead of the same as 45mm where even though the 49mm ultra is bigger, you're seeing the same content where as you're seeing less on the 41mm. An actual new chip in it will be great too. One thing I know apple won't do is give us the option to choose what colour the action button will be. I would have picked red action button with navy blue or black casing.
    Big hope is for a new chip inside instead of a rebranded one like they did last year and this year. Even smaller bezels and more features. Longer battery life. 36 hours is not enough. It may be for others but it genuinely isn't. More watch faces. Wired charging for longer battery health

  • Cam
    Cam 2 months ago

    im returning my se 2 for an ultra i do lot of activities outside and workout 5 days a week i feel like ultra is win for me and its different compared to other watches!!! the battery life got my attention:)

  • porscheoscar
    porscheoscar Month ago

    I was getting 3 days on my Samsung galaxy watch before covid. With the rotating bezel which is still the best feature for an actual watch enthusiast.

  • Simon Fearing
    Simon Fearing 27 days ago

    My second Apple Watch and I love it, the first one I took back as I hated it but this one I love.if anybody is worried about how big it might be it really isn’t that big in fact my first impression was that it was way smaller than I expected

  • Josh Chamberlain
    Josh Chamberlain 2 months ago +627

    As a longtime fan, I think the success of this channel lies in empathy: understanding that every product has a specific user in mind, and that different products make sense in different contexts for different people.

    • A Realist
      A Realist 2 months ago

      It's so wierd (and kind of an expected thing) seeing all these Clip-Sharers wearing an Apple watch Ultra just because it is the latest and the greatest and the most expensive thing Apple has to offer. Even if they don't need it or it was not designed for them or for their activiites. It was the same thing with the Mac Pro or the Expensive wheels or the Airpods Max. They buy 1TB varient of iPhone Pro Max every year just to switch it the next year without even using the full memory! Just because it is the top of the line model, they want to get it and show it off. It never helps a regular viewer or the regular customer in any way. Most of the people can't afford such things and won't be bothered for their everyday use review.

    • Josh Chamberlain
      Josh Chamberlain 2 months ago +1

      @Michael Carter understanding consumers is a form of empathy.

    • Michael Carter
      Michael Carter 2 months ago +1

      no man that isnt "empathy." come on understanding consumer sentiment and product line design isnt something that should impress you

    • Wi Fine
      Wi Fine 2 months ago +3

      Most tech reviewers are tech junkies and don’t look through the average consumer lens, whike MKBHD is the only one who does

    • s13shaka
      s13shaka 2 months ago

      He’s an idiot though. Dude owns a car built by child and slave labor and is a slave himself to mega tech corps

  • Ramon Martinez
    Ramon Martinez Month ago

    One of the best products of Apple in several years.

  • Music Fed
    Music Fed 2 months ago +1

    great video. tank pressure monitoring is not really extreme actually, but quite widely available and cool in recreational diving. I love that feature in my suunto Vyper. I hope Apple will find a way to include that feature but it does require integration with a separate antenna or Apple to sign deal with 3rd parties

    • Damon Hayward
      Damon Hayward 2 months ago

      My thoughts, too. When they showed off the dive feature I got really excited, and the moment it ended without show anything about pressure monitoring I felt pretty deflated. I want to replace my S5 with a new apple watch and thought that the dive computer might be enough to push me to upgrade now, but there's no way I'd upgrade for that price without pressure monitoring because then I just won't use it for diving anyway.

  • TAUSMC
    TAUSMC 2 months ago +2

    I still think for hiking, other outdoor activities, and battery life the Garmin Fenix 7S, 7, 7X is the way to go. My Fenix 7x with everything turned, always on display, except the 5 satellites my battery last 3 weeks. If you turn every extra stuff off then the battery last 1 year. If I have the 5 satellites turned on for hiking and other activities, then the battery last 48 hours. The Garmin maps and tracking are superior for hiking and ultra marathons. Most people don't know about the Garmin Fenix and Epic watches. You should check them out.

  • A Realist
    A Realist 2 months ago +1

    It's so wierd (and kind of an expected thing) seeing all these Clip-Sharers wearing an Apple watch Ultra just because it is the latest and the greatest and the most expensive thing Apple has to offer. Even if they don't need it or it was not designed for them or for their activiites. It was the same thing with the Mac Pro or the Expensive wheels or the Airpods Max. They buy 1TB varient of iPhone Pro Max every year just to switch it the next year without even using the full memory! Just because it is the top of the line model, they want to get it and show it off. It never helps a regular viewer or the regular customer in any way. Most of the people can't afford such things and won't be bothered for their everyday use review.

  • Safwaan Habeeb
    Safwaan Habeeb 2 months ago +5

    The production and motion graphics in the intro on a next level.. Ive got to admit MKBHD never fails to make me watch the intros of a video again and again.. 👌🫡

  • Hüseyin Talha Tuncel
    Hüseyin Talha Tuncel 12 days ago

    I have to say something. I’ve been using apple watch 5 since its release. The display has cracked and crown was gone over this time. One fixed from pocket, one fixed by apple. If I had an ultra, these won’t be happen. I’m just a normal everyday user. It’s only 100€ difference between steel version of series 8 and ultra. So if the design is ok, there is no excuse for using apple watch series 8

  • Regular Guy in Carlsbad

    You can Go from 30 to 100 percent within 10-20 minutes! Crazy! I love my ultra so much and it is more than the Battery Life but everything else about it!

  • Blaine D.
    Blaine D. 2 months ago +1

    Great review, but I think you are missing a massive subset of potential users: People who need a simple, rugged watch - with increased battery life - such as police, fire, and EMS. The Apple Watch failed in two aspects prior: it was not rugged enough for jobs that require a more physical nature, and the battery life required to frequent charging - given some occupation's shifts. Some firefighters and EMS work 48hr shifts. A typical Apple Watch would not make it through one complete shift on a single charge - but taking the watch off at night to charge it would not be feasible. The Ultra is the first Apple Watch that is "on the job" compliant, in that it can last an entire shift, plus is hearty enough to take the daily physical abuse. Running an ultra marathon or scuba diving is a niche market that is over glamorized for Apple's marketing..... making a watch that police / Fire / EMS can wear - now THAT is breaking into an untapped market!

  • Michael Sellers
    Michael Sellers Month ago

    That Apple watch looks a million times better than any previous model!
    I feel like if you complain about the size of the watch you must be a tiny human!

  • morpheus9394
    morpheus9394 2 months ago +106

    Even as a non Apple user the watch looks very impressive. Great features and a LOVELY screen. Shame you cannot use standard watch straps like you can with some other smart watches.

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam, I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy!❤❤❤

    • Nicolás Montiel
      Nicolás Montiel 2 months ago

      @TbT they catered to the audience they were going for. Apple doesn’t throw itself into new markets. It tries them out. They will soon see the rest of the market start trying to migrate to it and make new bands. Just be patient and what for earnings next quarter haha

    • kds471
      kds471 2 months ago

      They sell lugs that accommodate the pin type strap attachments

    • Mike965x
      Mike965x 2 months ago

      @TbT Samsung is exactly the same....

    • Mateja Marić
      Mateja Marić 2 months ago

      Also, you can get a special band adapter with which you can use any old traditional watch band. There are people using like 50 year-old bands with their Apple Watches.

  • Leif
    Leif Month ago

    For the second group that does long hiking it still misses too much. Good offline maps are an essential thing which is missing on the apple watch and the battery life is still bad compared to the Garmin watches specialized on that particular group. The two band GPS isn't really knew ..other specialized watches have that too.

  • Leslie
    Leslie Month ago

    I also play ultimate frisbee with an Apple Watch on and I am shocked how it records every single one of my practices and games.

  • bosun99uk
    bosun99uk 2 months ago +2

    The Apple Watch Ultra is awesome, but this video is SUPERB ❤ and excellently made.

  • P W
    P W Month ago

    Titanium can be black with DLC coating. Pretty sure they'll make that an option once they earn a nice profit off this first release, although it is a more expensive process, probably looking at minimum $1k vs $800 for bare titanium. I have two watches with titanium with DLC, they're around $1500, I can imagine Apple charging similar price but yeah, they look a lot better on the wrist and also don't chip or scratch due to DLC.

  • Ladd Gardner
    Ladd Gardner 2 months ago +60

    Great review, as always, Marques. Only thing I'd emphasize more is the incredible improvement in sound quality for anybody considering leaving their iPhone at home, occasionally, and relying on the "Ultra" as a standalone phone. With my Watch 7 -- tooling along in a Jeep with mud-terrain tires -- there was no way to keep hands positioned on steering wheel and hear what the person on the other end of the line was saying. Now, for me, that's totally doable. The "Ultra" is advertised as "40% louder," but it seems twice as loud a previous Apple Watches.

    • ItzMalick
      ItzMalick 2 months ago

      Yo fam, I’m a small content creator, and I make a variety of entertaining reactions, vlogs, and a range of other content and I’m still working on quality but I guarantee you will find something you will enjoy!❤❤❤

    • Jorge Villarruel
      Jorge Villarruel 2 months ago

      I usually just keep a pair of AirPods around, but this would be an improvement.