Tap to unmute

ASUS Didn't Deeply Offend Us: $1400 Pre-Built Gaming PC Review (ASUS GL10DH)

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 28, 2022 veröffentlicht
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 1 385

  • Gamers Nexus
    Gamers Nexus  4 months ago +93

    We have an entire playlist of Prebuilt system reviews on the channel here: clip-share.net/p/PLsuVSmND84QuM2HKzG7ipbIbE_R5EnCLM
    Buy our GN toolkits! IN STOCK & SHIPPING NOW: store.gamersnexus.net/products/gamersnexus-tear-down-toolkit
    FINAL RUN of the Disappointment Shirt is now closing! Last chance: Cotton - store.gamersnexus.net/products/disappointment-pc-t-shirt-2021-100-cotton-black & tri-blend store.gamersnexus.net/products/disappointment-pc-t-shirt-2021-triblend-black
    Or the GN Anti-Static Modmat for PC building: store.gamersnexus.net/products/modmat-volt-large

    • riba2233
      riba2233 4 months ago

      @joshcryer try to se arch sfftime mnlt if you want to see some really clean case design :)

    • joshcryer
      joshcryer 4 months ago

      Steve @Gamers Nexus I know you've touched on this before, but why, oh why, are they not making clean case designs literally, quite literally, based on the state of the art. It's one iteration. And it could change everything for their reviews, for consumer access, everything. Are they beholden to the old case manufacturers in some godfathered in way that is making them be this obtuse? Even a freaking $30 New Egg case beats this stuff. But again we see this highly flow resistant, OEM style, legacy case that is so much more complicated than it needs to be. I'm all about the plastic and contouring and making it look cool. But they could so easily make it look cool, and cool effectively. It's so weird and I don't think you've given me a good answer as to why these billion dollar companies don't do it. Seems like backwards thinking despite what reviewers like you have said for *years*.

    • Bits BFG
      Bits BFG 4 months ago

      @IIHAIAHII Did they raise the price from the original?

    • Aleksa Žunjić
      Aleksa Žunjić 4 months ago

      You will notice that ASUS actually charges way more for basically same components as Dell. But since they "donated" to GN, they get better review ;)

  • Twigg Sherman
    Twigg Sherman 4 months ago +1639

    Let's be honest, you're never going to find a system worse then Dell. It just isn't going to happen... unless Gigabyte makes one that explodes.

    • Josh Mason
      Josh Mason 6 days ago

      PMG5 liquid cooled would like to have a word. That thing, which was otherwise the fastest system in its class during its production run or one of the fastest, had its reputation destroyed by that faulty liquid cooler.

    • Frodo
      Frodo Month ago

      Let me introduce you to the MSI Aegis R.

    • Nova Leader
      Nova Leader 2 months ago

      @TheFinagle the dell didnt burn my house down

    • TheFinagle
      TheFinagle 2 months ago

      @Nova Leader Still better than a Dell. For one you dont have a Dell. As a bonus you get fire on top of not having a Dell

    • Nova Leader
      Nova Leader 2 months ago

      What if NZXT makes one that just bursts into flames when you plug it in?

  • Nick Llama
    Nick Llama 4 months ago +814

    Steve: "It looks bad at the front, and the side, and the back... and the other side... but..."
    Asus: "YES! He likes the top and bottom!"

    • Acme. Nipp-on-AiR
      Acme. Nipp-on-AiR 4 months ago +5

      ... You mean the top with the FAKED air holes... that wouldn't even work if they would be real, because this shield would hinder any air to go out at the top?
      Who designs such crap? And who comes to the stupid idea, that you should choke a PC air wise to heat death?

    • qgame
      qgame 4 months ago +19

      Then he saw the inside of the top

  • The Maf Garage
    The Maf Garage 4 months ago +777

    I just call these prebuilt reviews now as the "It's better than Dell" segment. 😎👍

    • Josh Smith
      Josh Smith 3 months ago

      I've said that for years lol. Just about anything is better besides HP.

    • Shadman Sudipto
      Shadman Sudipto 3 months ago

      @The Maf Garage on the low end, Dell laptops seem to be the better value at least where I'm from.

    • Fly By
      Fly By 3 months ago +1

      @The Maf Garage deal! or should I say dell instead of deal after I get screwed over.

    • ben russ
      ben russ 4 months ago

      @Gate of hell Heaven bridge I think dell is comparable to HP, in that it matters on the specific line. I think Acer will sell you a comparable product to dell, the difference being with Acer you don't get as much bloatware, BS support subscription (and just better support in general), and it will probably be 100-200 dollars cheaper. I honestly don;t have as much experience with MSI's laptops, the one I have used was solid, but that is a sample size of one.

    • Gate of hell Heaven bridge
      Gate of hell Heaven bridge 4 months ago

      @ben russ i would dissagree. I think dell is better than acer hp vs msi

  • The IGPU Gamer
    The IGPU Gamer 4 months ago +781

    Shows you how screwed we really are in the prebuilt market and GPU market when this is one of the better option available and it has a 1660

    • Excalligator
      Excalligator 28 days ago

      @KYSMO 6600xt is around $410 right now

    • Justin Smith
      Justin Smith Month ago

      you can get a solid one now for like 1600 with a 3060 ti

    • Aleksa Žunjić
      Aleksa Žunjić 3 months ago

      @Jinsoku440 First of all, people were updating Dell BIOS-es Like A03 to A09 or A10 like 8 years ago. Second, PSU does not give a s*it what components you install - only requirement would be not to draw more current at certain voltage than it could deliver. As I said, PSUs are selected to have at least 25% headroom compared to maximum power draw of the components. Third, there a ton of adapters on the market, even for proprietary Dell crap , so you could basically turn molex into 8-pin or whatever you need. Forth, people were modding Dell computers (i.e. upgrading RAM, GPU, CPU ...) for years and will continue to do so. I agree with you that this is a question of price to performance, i.e. you could sometimes get good deals if you are ready to ignore proprietary Dell crap. And that is about it,

    • Jinsoku440
      Jinsoku440 3 months ago

      @Aleksa Žunjić No, that's literally not what I'm talking about. A03 and C series bios disable any GPU without specific hardware profiles supplied by Dell, there isn't a 'work around' for something built into the motherboard's operating program. Also, Dell's proprietary power supplies are rated for the components for that particular unit; which is how you could purchase two Optiplex units with slightly different RAM and the PSU would require a different SKU all together. Your brown out buffer only applies to the very specific components in the computer at point of assembly. Also, Dell power supplies usually lack any spare sata or 4 pin molex connectors for upgrades; once again there are usually six or seven power supplies per model that are for the few sub models that call for it.
      Returning to your first point; people were not 'using Dell computers' but were snatching the non proprietary components (CPU, Harddrives, Disk drives, IO Headers, and fan components) because at the time that was easier than buying those components new and checking for compatibility. I was building when the DP45SG was a top of the line board, and if you knew an auction or Ebay listing with a retired Dell was coming up, you could save a few dollars.
      I've talked briefly about what qualifications I have to discuss this topic, but your replies implore me to ask what your tech background is, so I know I'm not talking over you...

    • Aleksa Žunjić
      Aleksa Žunjić 3 months ago

      @Jinsoku440 Not true. You get the warning about unsupported hardware, but you could override it. Thousands of people were upgrading their old Dell computers with new GPUs. Also, you cannot design PSU in a manner you described. PSUs generally have at least 25% "reserve power" , just in case, so you could definitely add RAM or extra fan, cause they do not use much energy. Yes, it is true that sometimes is a hassle to add new power hungry card or CPU, but that is about it.

  • Bro Guy ‘
    Bro Guy ‘ 4 months ago +106

    You should do a “how much performance is left on the table” segment. Benchmark before fresh install and after and see who puts the most bloatware on their system.

    • ben russ
      ben russ 4 months ago +1

      @Gamers Nexus And it was glorious... If I remember correctly you guys had one specific test case where it affected performance by 50%, although most if the time it was at around a 20% hit.

    • To The GAMES
      To The GAMES 4 months ago +7

      @Gamers Nexus would love to see one for all the (incompetent) systems!

    • ABeeinSpace
      ABeeinSpace 4 months ago +4

      @Gamers Nexus Maybe a follow up for this machine too?

    • Gamers Nexus
      Gamers Nexus  4 months ago +88

      We've done that before, haha. The Dell system had a special bloatware video!

  • Steez
    Steez 4 months ago +318

    The amount of content recently has been amazing!

    • The Alien_Ali
      The Alien_Ali 4 months ago +1

      @Gamers Nexus your awesome, love Ur videos

    • Steez
      Steez 4 months ago +31

      @Gamers Nexus I have noticed! Just don’t burn yourself out so early in the year, as I am sure most of the people watching would be fine with 1-2 less videos a week if it means better physical and mental health of the GN team. But you got a lot of smart people at GN so I’m sure you took this into account when increasing video production. Still just want to let you know that more videos is great, but isn’t required!

    • Gamers Nexus
      Gamers Nexus  4 months ago +109

      Thank you! We're working hard to hit more publication days!

  • Stahlmann
    Stahlmann 4 months ago +134

    It's so ridiculous that a legitimate selling point of a prebuilt is "didn't deeply offend", but here we are.

    • Allan Curtis
      Allan Curtis Month ago

      It's up there with "I have no major complaints".

    • Niels Unnerup
      Niels Unnerup 4 months ago +14

      To be fair that is high praise for any product when it comes to GN reviews.

  • Frodo
    Frodo 4 months ago +423

    I heard bad things bout this one, but it's apparently surprisingly good (well, relatively, I guess).
    God, though. 1400 for a 1660 TI. Like seriously that money should at least get you a 3060 TI or 6700XT. Shows how much bad the GPU market is.

    • Timothy Gibney
      Timothy Gibney 4 months ago

      @Xiaochen Li If you have a 1080p screen I would wait. Bitcoin and Ethereum have went much lower in price recently and new AND and Nvidia will be out next summer. If you can't wait buy an Xbox series vX. It's GPU is faster than this. Also ddr 5 will be reasonable by this summer too for newer cpu architectures

    • guy fawkes
      guy fawkes 4 months ago

      Yeah 1400 is INSANE. Also getting a reference 6700xt at msrp is incredibly easy, and I mean INCREDIBLY EASY especially when compared to any other card on the market just about (excluding scalper priced zotac and aib amd cards), I recommend it to everyone and I've bought them for several people lol. Also antonline has bundles all the time in stock for $870 that gives you a psu, 60ti, keyboard, and I think a mouse. It's *technically* ripoff but not terrible considering evga is the best priced aib at the moment outside of scalping the 12gb 3080 to all hell.

    • Yousef Al-A'ssaf يوسف العسّاف
      Yousef Al-A'ssaf يوسف العسّاف 4 months ago +1

      $1400 will never get you a 3060 ti these days. You're looking at $1500-1600 minimum

    • Patrick Willmann
      Patrick Willmann 4 months ago

      It's pretty brutal these days. I just got my hands on a 3070 Ti (not because I wanted the Ti specifically, just because it was actually available) and paid nearly double what I paid for my old GTX 970 back in the day. My computer in its current state has definitely not been on the more affordable end of builds I've done over the years. Probably about $2600 CAD all in (alongside a 3600x in a Define 7 Compact), and a full $1200 of that was the GPU. My last build (aforementioned GTX 970, i7 4790) was only about $1600 (about $1800, inflation adjusted).

    • NightFlash24
      NightFlash24 4 months ago

      Value of this system is terrible, even in this market. I agree with others that for 1400 USD, you can get a prebuilt with a 3060 or 3060Ti...both MASSIVELY more powerful than the 1660TI, with the latter being almost twice as fast. DONT BUY THIS SHIT

  • CaptainSwag101
    CaptainSwag101 4 months ago +31

    Wow, who needs DDR5 memory when ASUS, in their infinite wisdom, are capable of running DDR4 at 2.666 THz?! Absolutely stunning engineering work, and impressive that they don't need heatsinks, too!

  • Petyr
    Petyr 4 months ago +59

    Honestly one of the few tech channels where I love (and watch) pretty much every video. Props to you guys for staying relevant while the industry generally struggles to maintain an engaged audience.

    • Petyr
      Petyr 4 months ago +1

      @djtechsys I really enjoy the WAN show - where it feels more genuine and he's not talking down to the audience as much. But for. The most part yea I agree.

    • djtechsys
      djtechsys 4 months ago +2

      I credit Steve’s consistent delivery. I can watch him everyday, where with the others, I have to take in small amounts, especially He-Who-Drops-GPUs.

  • bigbenisdaman
    bigbenisdaman 4 months ago +33

    We need a laptop series on this take. Most reviews are obviously aimed at positive, and not just a neutral take on the hardware and placement where it lands.

    • Völundr Frey
      Völundr Frey 18 days ago

      People get crazy mad if you criticise laptops they've bought, try to go onto anything LMG and leave warranted criticism of lenovo or dell laptops and watch people explode in rage.

    • Zach Conant
      Zach Conant 4 months ago +1

      I Agree, almost no reviewer talks extensively on downsides or cons only the pros.

    • MiGujack3
      MiGujack3 4 months ago +2

      They did them in the past but GN is REALLY avoiding them now. Which is sad considering laptops are the better deal these days. Could be also staff reasons too.

    • F.B.We.
      F.B.We. 4 months ago

      I second these

    • Miv Avian Arkara
      Miv Avian Arkara 4 months ago +3

      We also need the software side for laptops too (armory crate) so that companies can fix software bugs especially since laptops now uses digitally controlled mux switches

  • MrQ
    MrQ 4 months ago +52

    Question: Since this series started last year have there been updates to the prices to reflect the growing costs in hardware purchases? I like Asus a lot (I buy their laptops and motherboards exclusively), but I recognize the superior setup and cost for performance the ABS and Lenovo systems offer. However, as inflation in the US has gone through the roof, costs have fluctuated significantly than when these systems were originally tested and it would be interesting to see if the systems still hold that same value in today's market, for better or worse.
    Edit: Newegg has the upgraded ABS challenger with the 11400F for $1150 (price increase of $150, may be negligible with the new CPU performance). Per Lenovo's website the (now discontinued) Legion Tower 5i was last priced at $1460, a staggering $400 price increase. With this data the Legion's actual cost for performance dips below the ASUS unit (not significantly, but worth mentioning) while the ABS unit continues to offer good value in comparison

    • ben russ
      ben russ 4 months ago +1

      @Emir K ... This series was started BECAUSE of the shortage and we are still in it...

    • Emir K
      Emir K 4 months ago +5

      I think this is a valid point, sort of. Ones bought during gpu shortage should get an asterisk next to their price

  • yokai
    yokai 4 months ago +24

    I love how we are soon approaching the 40 Series of RTX cards and we are still talking about the 1650/1660/2060 in machines that are $1250+. Really shows you how dry the market is of supply

    • Rebel Tvshka
      Rebel Tvshka Month ago

      @Jae Zone which is why you rescue the components for your own build.

    • Jae Zone
      Jae Zone Month ago

      @Rebel Tvshka Walmart brand sucks ass..he's already covered that brand of gaming PC's lmao

    • Rebel Tvshka
      Rebel Tvshka 2 months ago

      @Nex Gamez I could go to Walmart right now and buy a 3060/70/80 pre built at my local Walmart. *With it being around that price.

    • Nex Gamez
      Nex Gamez 3 months ago +6

      @Abraham Doubt.

  • Vendémiaire
    Vendémiaire 4 months ago +48

    This PC reminds me of the old PCs I had decades ago when I used cheap cases and airflow wasn't so important. Cases with just a single side intake fan and one rear exhaust fan were really common and some had an array of holes in the side panel(s) for ventilation. At some point clear acrylic panels became popular and I remember some modders putting CCFLs for lighting, which was the precursor of the RGB lighting that's so common nowadays.

    • Vendémiaire
      Vendémiaire 4 months ago

      @Steven V True, those beige cases weren't so great because they invariably became yellow after a while. Not just the cases but pretty much everything else like keyboards, mice, monitors, etc.

    • Steven V
      Steven V 4 months ago

      Yes, back in the mid-late 90s. You can go to the store and buy a case - they are all beige!
      Stripped an Antec case and painted it with four coats of Krylon midnight black metallic, then two coats clear. Wet sanded between clear coats. The project took over a week (while working). But, after putting a coat of carnuba wax on it - Mirror finish.

    • Vendémiaire
      Vendémiaire 4 months ago +1

      @Mister The Geoff What I really find hard to understand is that it's possible to create a cheap case with good ventilation. It's just a matter of putting enough vents and fan mountings so air can circulate. I'm a medical doctor by profession but I bet I can design a case with better ventilation than this "professionally designed" case. 😁

    • Vendémiaire
      Vendémiaire 4 months ago +3

      @BenjiMC1 I really dislike what I call as "RGB vomit" that's so common nowadays. I do have RGB lighting for my current PC BUT it's just a single LED strip with a single color turned down to the lowest brightness. The stuff I see nowadays with fans cycling through a rainbow of colors, RAM sticks with LEDs, etc. I find really tacky.

    • Mister The Geoff
      Mister The Geoff 4 months ago +4

      Aside from the PSU mounted at the bottom of the case and the drive cages being removed this is basically indistinguishable from the case that came with the Escom Pentium 100 prebuilt I got in 1995. I bet the beige side panels I had for that machine would just slide right onto the Asus.

  • Smiling Bandit
    Smiling Bandit 4 months ago +56

    It still absolutely baffles me how less computer power you get for so much money. Every time you guys introduce a prebuilt I wait for the price being just some kind of joke.

    • STOP TRANSLATING VIDEO TITLES!
      STOP TRANSLATING VIDEO TITLES! 4 months ago +5

      They've gotten really close to DIY prices before the chip shortage, though.
      Nowadays it's the entire market being ridiculously overpriced, not just pre-builts

    • The Alien_Ali
      The Alien_Ali 4 months ago +1

      Ikr it's just fancy cases and RGB and weak performance

  • Termitreter
    Termitreter 4 months ago +29

    You know, one thing (among many) thats crazy to me is the coolers. I got a Freezer 34, was 23€, and does a great job keeping mid end CPUs super cool while being completely inaudible. Yet in 1500 Dollar build, they just stick one of those aluminium garbage cans atop of the CPU? And some pathetic 80mm Fan? They could stick a single 140 or so over the open side, and you'd get actually goo and quiet thermals, which even casual buyers should be happy about. Its almost as dumb as saving the

    • Cheyanne I
      Cheyanne I 4 months ago

      Problem is margins, price points. You'll find spec equivalent prebuilts $200 apart because the more expensive one spent budget on things like fans and materials, rather than padding the margin.
      At that point, the consumer wonders why not just buy the $200 more with a better *x* or they buy the cheaper option. In either situation, they didn't buy your prebuilt. Experience is hard to advertise when you sell specs.

    • Termitreter
      Termitreter 4 months ago +3

      @Mohamed Fathallah Are fans really a limited commodity? At least the consumer sources, eg Amazon in Germany, sells arctics pressure optimized 120mm fans for 6€.
      Not to mention, this apparently has been the standard for 20 years or so; these PCs seem to use almost the same ancient technology. Is that even efficient, youd think theres new and better ways to do stuff? There was more than enough before Corona to stop being this bad.

    • Mohamed Fathallah
      Mohamed Fathallah 4 months ago

      The main problem is supply. They can't get such parts(good ram, fans, heat sinks...) in large enough quantity.

    • ALT
      ALT 4 months ago +2

      Quality is available at a premium. While bulk products no one will buy is available for practically nothing as a add-on deal.

  • Suhas
    Suhas 4 months ago +11

    We would love to have a laptop series on this . I have a dell gaming laptop and Dell is doing some serious shady stuff that's anti-consumer. Dell had peeled the plastic off of thermal pads on the side of the heatsink that we can see when we are repasting a laptop, but the other side of the pads which are glued to heatsink, has those plastic not peeled which is making those laptops last not much. Please look into this

  • Alex W.
    Alex W. 4 months ago +86

    Be careful steve some ASUS employees almost got a heart attack after reading such a positive title!

    • NASA official
      NASA official 4 months ago +1

      They aim to displease, I'm sure they're having a meeting about this now lol.

    • A Random Gamer 1
      A Random Gamer 1 4 months ago +3

      welp the bots got you

  • Paul_Sleeping
    Paul_Sleeping 4 months ago +33

    The loose screw is probably just a dropped screw while securing the GPU plate. The installer simply didn't bother to retrieve it.

    • sim_ tastic vids
      sim_ tastic vids 4 months ago

      Asus has a lose screw charging £329.99 for thier tuff 6500xt pos crippled laptop gpu

    • Technikchaot
      Technikchaot 4 months ago

      @King Cosmuder That was the hidden joke you found it I'm proud of you. (It wasn't hidden that well but a little bit hidden it was)

    • King Cosmuder
      King Cosmuder 4 months ago +1

      @Technikchaot not if your using a gigabyte psu…..

    • BeerDone
      BeerDone 4 months ago

      That actually looks like an SSD screw to me, the threading on case screws is different.

    • Technikchaot
      Technikchaot 4 months ago +5

      And if it settles really bad on electric contacts you have a problem. (Ok some PSU have a better overcurrent protection than other maybe it saves the day)

  • Zweilous
    Zweilous 4 months ago +12

    Bought the one that came with the 5700G and 3060 from the Walmart I work at discounted cause of the Black Friday deal we get, swapped the case to a better one with fans and its been pretty good so far for the month i've had it. I'm still fairly new to PC's but I wanna thank this channel for helping me in learning all that I can!

    • Sam Loki
      Sam Loki 4 months ago

      @Zweilous epic steal

    • Zweilous
      Zweilous 4 months ago

      @Sam Loki yeah that was the one, i was able to get it for 750$

    • Sam Loki
      Sam Loki 4 months ago

      $999 ROG Strix ?

  • David Lee
    David Lee 4 months ago +7

    I would like to see GN build a “baseline” PC using parts available on the current market (retailer or secondary) for a certain budget ($1000, $1500) and compare the prebuilt to that baseline PC.

    • Joseph Young
      Joseph Young 3 months ago

      cells interlinked

    • MazeFrame
      MazeFrame 4 months ago

      "Better than DELL", that is for sure.

  • Nunya Beeswax
    Nunya Beeswax 4 months ago +82

    Just to clarify on the PSU: even if you haven't heard of great wall, you have probably seen or used a GW power supply in the past. They do indeed make some of Corsair's stuff (in the modern TX-Ms, the SF series, and the non-mod CX, which is double-sourced with CWT.) The unit in this PC appears to be on a similar platform to the 2017 revision Corsair CX or the ASUS TUF, both of which are excellent budget power supplies with working protections.
    This doesn't mean that _all_ Great Wall power supplies are good, just that this one probably is.
    Thanks as always for the great coverage.

    • Nunya Beeswax
      Nunya Beeswax 3 months ago +1

      ​@Nico J When you consider that putting a ROG sticker on it would require them to get it recertified by clearesult to have the 80+ sticker (which would cost $5000 and quite a bit of time,) it makes sense.
      Also, great wall really isn't a no-name brand. Ten minutes of looking at recent PSU reviews will tell you that. The Corsair SF series, for example, is manufactured by Great Wall, as is the ASUS TUF. It's quite rare to find a power supply which isn't made at least in part in china, taiwan, or vietnam, regardless of if it has an EVGA sticker on it or not.
      Being rebranded by a more well-known company is not a guarantee of quality; if you need an example, look at half of the PSUs EVGA has released in the past four years.

    • Nico J
      Nico J 4 months ago

      @Anders Juel Jensen Yes, but then they go and spend that 12 cents to put their "Republic of Gamers" badge on the piece of metal holding the GPU in place - makes total sense, no signs of brain damage here.
      They probably did that to assure the customer that this is a very good, high-quality piece of metal deserving of Asus' stamp of approval and not some cheap piece of metal made by some little known Chinese manufacturer that could break if you look at it too hard. You can't have a cheap, unreliable piece of metal holding your GPU, god only knows what could happen to it when it hangs unsupported in you computer and you don't watch it constantly - a cheap piece of metal failing could destroy your PC, or even worse, burn down your entire house!!! That's why I always make sure to buy only the best GPU holders from reputable brands that guarantee their quality and not the no-name ones made out of chineseium! The power supply in my PC you ask? The cheapest one possible, of course! I mean, what could go wrong with such an unimportant component?

    • Nico J
      Nico J 4 months ago

      @Gamers Nexus Yes, a name doesn't dictate the quality, but at least it can give the consumer something to rely upon when making a purchase decision. A PSU is, from my perspective as a customer, a black box: I have no Idea what components are in it and whether or not they are any good. All I can go by is the specs (which in most cases are similar or identical) and the reputation of the brand on the side of it. The asumption here is, that a reputable manufacturer or seller won't put their name on a bad product and risk their reputation - Gigabyte did, so when buying a PSU, I won't consider them anymore.
      BTW, it's the same with the screwdrivers you advertised in the video: I can go on Amazon and find serveral similar sets of screwdrivers for a fraction of the cost. Those no-name Chinese tools could be equal to yours or even better, but they could also be complete garbage - there is no way for me to know that since I have no idea what materials they used, how they were manufactured or how good their QC is. I don't know either of that with your screwdrivers, but since you put YOUR NAME on them, I assume that it is a good product worth my money.
      So what is it then? Shall I buy your screwdrivers or are you telling me that I might as well buy the cheaper ones by a Chinese supplier on Amazon because they are just as good. I am asking because that's exactly what Asus is telling me by using a Great Wall PSU instead of one their own in their not-so-cheap $1400 pre-build...

    • Nunya Beeswax
      Nunya Beeswax 4 months ago +3

      @FRACTURED LIFE Definitely seems strange, but it does make sense once you consider that clearresult charges $5000 for an 80+ certification on a rebranded unit. So despite being the same unit, if ASUS were to make a SKU based on this platform, the fact that it's under the ASUS brand means that it needs a whole new certification. This is an added cost that really wouldn't affect the unit on its own, since this PSU won't be sold on the DIY market.
      I personally think that's one of the reasons that the industry should abandon the 80+ spec as a whole, but that opens up a whole new can of worms.

    • Nunya Beeswax
      Nunya Beeswax 4 months ago

      ​@Nico J The unit in the video is on a similar platform to the TUF units, from what I could find. My guess is that since they ship so many prebuilts, it becomes cheaper to just set up a whole new contract to buy unbranded GW units than to use their TUF power supplies. Similar to ibuypower using unbranded Channel Well Technology units. The CWT GPU, which is used in some of their higher end stuff, is a fantastic power supply, but since they ship so many units, it is likely cheaper to just buy them directly from CWT instead of using a branded one like the bitfenix whisper M (which is on the same platform.)
      I would imagine it comes down to price and logistics. The Great Wall E series is a fairly modern platform with independent regulation and (from what I've seen) working protections. It's not sold retail much in the west, but that doesn't mean it's a bad unit, just that it's less established.

  • Kevin Brewer
    Kevin Brewer 4 months ago +9

    The build quality, cable management, and components look great! I would recommend this system to friends and family…if the price was lower…and it’s performance where more consistent.
    Great content! Thank you for the video.

  • Rory Freeman
    Rory Freeman 4 months ago +10

    These pre-built reviews are honestly so informative and funny that I crave MORE!!!!!!!

  • BagsOfFun96
    BagsOfFun96 4 months ago +16

    You know it's sad that pc gaming has come to this. Before covid, you could find so many great deals on used graphics cards. Ebay was littered with treasure. I always had fun finding "budget" graphics cards because you could play around with it to see how much performance could squeeze out of it by playing with the fan curve, temp limit, overclock ect. In the past from ebay I've had-
    GTX 780 Lightning
    GTX 980
    R9 280
    R9 290
    R9 290X
    R9 Fury
    R9 Nano
    RX 590
    GTX 1070Ti
    All of them I had gotten for a really good price. Usually $100 or less (except the 1070Ti). But now it's like, you can't even recommend pc gaming to your friends because a "mid tier" pc is $1,000 which is a horrible value when compared to an Xbox Series S. I hate that it's like this. But unfortunately there's nothing we can do to change this.

    • Misha M
      Misha M 20 days ago

      @Average Jack Media hey at least after mining booms you can get a lot of graphics cards for cheap, and in pretty good condition considering they are often undervolted and don't go through heat cool cycles

    • One Of Zero
      One Of Zero 4 months ago

      @Average Jack Media Is not the miners. The scalpers are more than the miners.

    • sim_ tastic vids
      sim_ tastic vids 4 months ago

      @madgodzilla12465 yep also sellers price gouging thier 6 or year old gpus for way more than they are realistically worth , the greed is getting worse all most people care about is making a quick buck or ripping people off. Im saying this at some that got a palit gaming Pro 3080 at £730 I do t believe in overpaying for shit even if I hadn't been lucky I still wouldn't of paid like 400- £500 for a used a 1080 etc

    • madgodzilla12465
      madgodzilla12465 4 months ago +3

      @Mister The Geoff Only problem is that's a 7 year old card now and if your buying one used it's really getting in the tooth and is a gamble with it burning out on you. Might as well fork up the extra $250-$300 for a new 1650 with a warranty. Just the move I'd do if I could stretch the budget. Driver support is another thing too.

    • Mister The Geoff
      Mister The Geoff 4 months ago +1

      I've built some systems for friends in 2021 and my go to for an ebay GPU is the GTX960 4GB. I can get one for about £100 and while it's no superstar it can still just about keep up and is half the price of a 1050ti or 1650 which is the cheapest stuff I can find in the shops.

  • TheCyberWrecker
    TheCyberWrecker Month ago

    Thank you for this review, it's very helpful because I've been looking at getting my first prebuilt and I've been thinking about this one but I'm on the fence because of the cooling issues and all but this has helped and after this I'll probably look for something else although I was wondering if you were to remove the middle fan and replace it with something better would it fix it and if so how hard would it be to do? Again thank you for the info I appreciate it alot!

  • Jim H
    Jim H 4 months ago +1

    I think it would be nice to see the date of purchase next to the prices in the charts. The costs of components changing every day and the price being one of the major factors of evaluation of these products I think it would only make sense.

  • madmatt2024
    madmatt2024 4 months ago

    The issue I see with this design is that it relies on a blower style card for thermals. If the owner decided to upgrade it at some point, they'll probably put a twin fan card in it which will make it a serious hot box.

  • djdoo
    djdoo 4 months ago +2

    Greetings from Greece Steve, great fun and informative video as always!
    I believe you gave that thing a very "soft" final grade. I build PCs since early 2000 and seeing that prebuild with ASUS name on it and ROG badge asking 1400$ makes me angry.
    How much do you charge the badges ASUS? Cause definately that PC's parts do not cost more than half its asking price in retail prices!
    My opinion is that it is trash as a construction. That single 92mm fan at the back along with the pathetic AM3 CPU cooler reminds me of 2005-8 era and even at that time it was considered cheap solution. RAM is just sad single rank with so few chips and a cheap steel case with plastic front and rgb lights to cover some of the cheapness.
    Shame shame... Steve keep on smashing them cause they take people for fools!...

  • Gavin Buck
    Gavin Buck 4 months ago +3

    That's going to be a crazy dust trap, the amount of dust n fluff my Be Quiet Base 500DX catches in the front dust filter every month would be a nightmare to clean out of the graphics card fans and CPU fans.
    All cases should be made around the concept of sucking in vast amounts of air through filters, it baffles me when these prebuilds are bordering on ceiled units. :)

  • bruce preston
    bruce preston 4 months ago +2

    Lovin the videos! I dont know why I find these prebuilt videos so interesting, I have a high end build and I would never buy one of these but I enjoy watching anyway! I'm ready to see some fan content!!! :)

  • MrMcGreed
    MrMcGreed 4 months ago

    Loving how the content just keep coming - amazing to see! And as always, well done on the review :)

  • 7861enter
    7861enter 3 months ago

    I've been nervously awaiting this review for months now . I haven't built a system in over 15 years so I don't really trust myself to make my own . So I actually got this exact system and I've only had minor issues with it and this review makes me feel loads better about my buy

  • Shockburn
    Shockburn 4 months ago +1

    When I worked at a computer store one thing we did for quality check before shipping a system out, was shaking the system and rotating it to make sure no loose screws where in there

  • HB Music
    HB Music 4 months ago +5

    Great content, as always.
    I love seeing you rip into these oems for not doing the bare minimum. Maybe some day they'll learn.
    Also big ups for continuously improving this channel's content quality. I'm hooked.

  • girhen
    girhen 4 months ago +1

    I was curious if y'all plan to start doing more with laptops. I feel like your bread and butter viewers largely build their own desktops, but none of us get a choice out of prebuilt laptops. My last one was a dud, despite good components on paper.

  • Invocation
    Invocation 4 months ago

    I like the bonus feature of the product image showing a much nicer air cooler than the one included, granted it wouldn't do much given the airflow

  • Shraken_Of_Darktide
    Shraken_Of_Darktide Month ago +1

    All I can say is this to everyone at Gamers Nexus thank you so much for putting the time and effort and Research into these videos to show how power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely the last pre-built PC I bought was in 2013 and that lasted me up until roughly 2017 but luckily I was able to swap out the hard drive and a couple of other things to keep it running and it finally died permanently and 2019 but by then I had already been doing research on building my own computer if it wasn't for specifically Gamers Nexus and jayz2cents I probably would have bought another pre-built computer but because I wanted to do it myself I took my time I learned how to do it I learned all of the technical aspects of building a computer and pairing certain parts with other parts to make sure that I was getting the best price-to-performance and I wasn't creating bottlenecks and because of J I actually built my first computer with a full custom water-cooled Loop I've done the best I can by showing my appreciation by buying your mouse pads the ones that you had signed with a gentleman that you did a live stream with I can't remember his name right now off the top of my head and I also bought your one millions of t-shirt I want to get my hands on your modmat and toolkit but they're always but they're always out of stock dammit okay this, it's been long enough but I just wanted to put my appreciation out there for everything that you guys do thank you so much.

  • Justin Spoerle
    Justin Spoerle 4 months ago +2

    Fun story to motherboard video outputs. I have been building custom PCs for my old sysadmin for years. Built a nice new 3900X workstation for him and went home. Got a text that I didn't test it, ( Which I did and even installed Windows/drivers) He plugged the DP into the motherboard. With a Nice RX6700XT sitting in it. 25 years of experience doesn't mean plugging in the right display outputs. Wish motherboard display outputs came with covers.

  • Devin Ganz
    Devin Ganz 4 months ago

    Regarding the bloatware on PCs, i'd be curious to see you guys put together a supplemental video where you run through what software you and the team at GamersNexus use/allow on your own personal machines and what you run with on your test benches. it would be fun to see like what type of fan curve software or antivirus software you guys have on your own rigs.

  • flatplanefool
    flatplanefool 4 months ago +1

    So while you do these reviews one interesting metric that I’d like to see is how much would it cost for you to do it similar but better. And I think what I mean by that is building a similar PC with similar specs but assembled correctly with modular parts.

  • Someperson
    Someperson 4 months ago

    I got one of these as my first computer back in like, 2019, it was like $900 and came with a 1660. It came and the cpu cooler had broken off bc it used plastic pins to hold it in place. the power supply was some no name one. I have since canabilized the whole system into another case. The only original parts in my system are the power supply and CPU

  • eroddickONE
    eroddickONE 3 months ago +1

    This looks almost exactly the same as the pre-built Asus that I got back in 2013. Case looks the same, same one small fan inside. I'm still using it, so it held up pretty well.

  • The1RandomFool
    The1RandomFool 4 months ago

    So you're aware, the ABS systems have been using the Gigabyte exploding power supply models. A Twitch streamer bought one based on the recommendation and found that power supply in it. It was causing constant shutdowns in games and he had to buy a new power supply to replace it. The computer worked perfectly after replacing it.

  • C. Z.
    C. Z. 4 months ago +6

    That side hole on the case though. Give me some nostalgia vibes when I managed to strap a case fan as exhaust to aid with the CPU cooling about 10 years ago.

  • Dustin C.H.81
    Dustin C.H.81 4 months ago

    Great review of this Asus pre-built PC Steve! I'm really glad they used non-proprietary components in their computer, but it's too bad that the price/performance is so out of whack! I think it should be no more than $1050 for this system. In the beginning of the video, when you started moving the computer tower around and I heard that 'loose screw' sound rattling around in the case, I was like, ahh...no, Steve's already gonna start finding some issues lol! I loved the look on your face when you heard that screw sound haha! :D

  • ali ali
    ali ali 4 months ago

    i've been wanting to get into PC gaming for a while, have been watching your channel for a while now - and i've come to the sobering conclusion - PC gaming isn't for me
    Prebuilts all seem to stink and trying to build one myself is too expensive - even if i could get the parts
    i'll stick to console gaming. thanks for the valuable insight!

  • Beowulf Schmidt
    Beowulf Schmidt 4 months ago +1

    I got my toolkit. _Very_ nice. I was expecting good; I'm totally impressed.

  • RipTheKidd
    RipTheKidd 2 months ago

    as a tech nerd this is just as much fun to watch as it would be for a general consumer, love this series! exposing cpu companies and keeping the people informed

  • CHITUS💖⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻

    Shows you how screwed we really are in the prebuilt market and GPU market when this is one of the better option available and it has a 1660

  • Josh Hust
    Josh Hust 4 months ago

    question on pricing: is there a way to track the pricing trends of all of these machines clear back to the first system you tested? im thinking this one, and possibly others, were cheaper back before demand pushed prices way up. could be an interesting metric

  • Buggie's Industries
    Buggie's Industries 3 months ago

    Interesting to know that Dell still hasn't made a good name for themselves after all these years

  • Iakona Sisler
    Iakona Sisler 3 months ago

    My first prebuilt was 1100 in 2018 and I was super happy with it for years, it was also super pretty especially compared to this pc

  • Eugen M
    Eugen M 4 months ago

    When i spotted this build at an it store a few months ago, my first toughts were, i wonder how Steve would react to a 1000€ "gamer" pc with a thermal performance of a pentium 3 desktop case!

  • Generic Ninja
    Generic Ninja 4 months ago +10

    ABS prices have gone up since that review. Today, the cheapest ABS system with 10400f + 1660S is $1399.

    • bodd boward
      bodd boward 4 months ago +1

      Kind of the issue with their data referencing older prebuilts. Prices have probably gone up or done. Not just because of user review backlash, or praise, but because of the rise in the price of cards.

    • 575 Motocross
      575 Motocross 4 months ago

      Damn glad i bought mine on black friday, 11400f 2060 for $1100

  • Jablue
    Jablue 4 months ago +104

    "Why?" is a question I can't help but ask whenever a prebuilt is the topic at hand.

    • Michael Smith
      Michael Smith 4 months ago

      @fix0the0spade price is distorting the merits of the choices at the moment. Laptops should be an interesting option for low-mid spec. Higher in the spec range i would expect desktops to be more interesting for cooling + upgradability (storage, multigig networking, replace GPU after a few years)

    • Zan Jayna
      Zan Jayna 4 months ago

      I just get Henry Cavill to build all my computers

    • No Name
      No Name 4 months ago

      Because....you can't buy a gpu alone at a reasonable price but in a pre-built you can get a whole system without losing a kidney.

    • Anders Juel Jensen
      Anders Juel Jensen 4 months ago +1

      Back in the day I recommended Aldi's Medion line to a lot of people. Everything inside was hot-snotted like a gore movie and zip-tied like in a good hentai comic, but everything was decent name-brand stuff and it came without bloatware. I could literally not source the same components and built it for the sticker price in Aldi.... so the answer to "Why?" *ought* to be: "Because some people don't know what electronics vanity is".... These days, unfortunately, the answer is: "Because people don't know they're 99% certain of being ripped off".

  • Goalatio
    Goalatio 4 months ago

    I got this one with a 11700f and 3060 for 1400. I threw in two 8gb ram stacks that were at the same store for $70. Runs really well and took a -100.3 undervolt. Not perfect but it works.

  • Anime Profile Picture
    Anime Profile Picture 4 months ago

    I really do like Asus, one of the few brands I kinda simp for
    bought one of their TUF F15 laptops with a 3060 for pretty cheap with no OS installed (which is a big plus if you ask me)
    recently popped it open to install another M2 (they give you two slots!) and it was well made inside
    better made by far than the Dell Latitudes I open at work all the time haha

  • truggles1
    truggles1 2 months ago

    Sometimes I wish there was an option to direct solder connectors on a pc. Especially the USB header.

  • Kyle G
    Kyle G 4 months ago +3

    8:00 The sheet is there to prevent the LEDs from shining DOWN into the case through the fan holes. Good video 👍

  • kaizer5lock
    kaizer5lock 4 months ago

    Reviewers: "Side vents works!"
    Case makers since early 2000s: "We never knew such technology exist"

  • Martin Gorbush
    Martin Gorbush 4 months ago

    10:30 I'm almost sure that GPU support bracket can be partially assembled outside of the PC case. At least that steel part.

  • Cutechri
    Cutechri 4 months ago +1

    I can't believe a no airflow ASUS prebuilt with a 7700K and GTX 1060 3GB was my dream PC back then... now I have a 3070 and 5900X DIY, how times have changed

  • katnerd
    katnerd 4 months ago +7

    I know all the tech youtubers are struggling on the content front at the moment since most of us viewers simply don't want to hear about GPU's since, frankly, the subject is too depressing. Hat's off for working so hard at coming up with imaginative content that is actually relevant to the current pc hardware environment.

  • Alec Stage
    Alec Stage 4 months ago

    interesting how the pavilion (10400 + 2060S) did almost exactly the same avg fps on 1080p ultra as my home built 10600k 2060 did on 1440p ultra (assuming you guys leave TAA on and set to half resolution)

  • Roboto
    Roboto 4 months ago +2

    More and more I don't feel so bad about paying $1300 for my Lenovo T5 with a ryzen 7 5800, 16gb of dual channel ram and a 3060. Still wish it was easier to find a gpu at a decent price without resorting to a prebuilt.

    • Oliver william
      Oliver william 3 months ago

      I don't know what's the problem with prebuilt all need is the compenents if you don't like it you can just rebuild it again

  • realbadTech
    realbadTech 4 months ago +1

    Check out the MSI Aegis desktops, I ordered one for the research lab I manage and have been impressed with it…basically because it’s all off the shelf and was a good price. 11700k + 240mm AIO + 3070ti and I think we paid about 1800 for it.

  • rmp5s
    rmp5s 4 months ago

    One of my favorite Clip-Share series!! PLEASE KEEP THIS GOING!!

  • Dj spoons on the mic
    Dj spoons on the mic 4 months ago +9

    The thing is I’ve seen and almost bought that exact same system at a Walmart for 1000$ but it had a 5600g and a 3060 but I got a abs challenger instead so I feel like this a worst example price to performance

    • Gavin Buck
      Gavin Buck 4 months ago +3

      Thing is, those 2 components are very capable as a mid-spec gaming machine, it's such a pity that they are often coupled with crap ram in a case with crappy airflow.
      The mark-up on these prebuilts is criminal, they could easily spend an extra $30-$40 on ram and case and have a very respectable gaming PC, but they never do.

  • Bizarny
    Bizarny 4 months ago +19

    Pre-built train wrecks is my favorite series on Gamers Nexus.

  • Jeffrey Knez
    Jeffrey Knez 4 months ago

    Video hasn't started yet but I'm so stoked it feels like it's been years since we had a pre-built review!

  • fossar _
    fossar _ 4 months ago

    I do enjoy the genuine PC hardware info in between the comedy with this series.

  • Olli Martikainen
    Olli Martikainen 4 months ago

    The My Asus app is actually pretty nice if you frequently move files between your phone and PC. I have it on my laptop, where it also controls the battery charge percentage.

  • diegoaccord
    diegoaccord 4 months ago

    Damn. My PC started out as a prebuilt Dec 2019 with a 3700X and 2070 Super for 1299.
    At this point only the case remains but man I got a deal compared to now.

  • Game Tech
    Game Tech 4 months ago +2

    Awesome video, thanks! More pre-builds and laptops please! Really enjoyable content.

  • Fridays f
    Fridays f 4 months ago

    Would be interesting to see how gaming laptops would compare to these in value.

  • Gertso
    Gertso 4 months ago +5

    I can't wrap my head around getting a new machine with a video card worse than my 1080 I bought nearly 6 years ago. Let alone paying these kind of insane prices.

    • Gertso
      Gertso 4 months ago +2

      @Timothy Gibney it is cool that the rest of the hardware is getting cheaper so at least I can upgrade the rest for now but yea...normally priced gpus is looking a good 2 years off.

    • Timothy Gibney
      Timothy Gibney 4 months ago +2

      @Gertso It sucks. I finally have a good enough job to buy an overpriced 3080ti for my dual 1440p setup but when I got into building pcs in my 20s this would have killed me! My love for building pcs is even poor folks in the past could make a custom cool looking decent build. I don't want it a rich man's big d*** hobby only

    • Gertso
      Gertso 4 months ago +2

      @Timothy Gibney yea if you aren't able to hit 1440p with your graphics card you may as well just get a ps5 or xsx

    • Timothy Gibney
      Timothy Gibney 4 months ago +1

      Not to mention below a 2060 you approach console territory for performance.

    • Gertso
      Gertso 4 months ago +2

      @sea willy it was a little over $700 for the card. And...ehhh $900ish for everything else. Would have been a lot cheaper but SSDs were expensive back then. The point being that was the best card out at the time. A 1660ti doesn't even qualify as mid-range.

  • The Sleepy Craftsman
    The Sleepy Craftsman 4 months ago +1

    Sam's Club was selling this for $1,199 last year with an additional 1TB HDD. It's better at that price point than $1,400.

  • Tierce Gardes
    Tierce Gardes 3 months ago

    I just want to say I liked this review style. Big plus for having the noise review section that I don't see very often and I find to be a big deal.

  • David Chow
    David Chow 4 months ago

    Have you or will you evaluate any MSI pre-built systems? Thanks for this series. It's been super useful to educate me on how many of the big brands develop (or not develop) their systems.

  • Xcesive
    Xcesive 4 months ago +2

    They must be out of their ever loving minds charging $1400 for this.

    • 7861enter
      7861enter 3 months ago

      Not sure about the Nexus guys but when I bought mine it came with a 30 inch Samsung curved screen with the dummy good resolution . I'm guessing that's where 700 bucks of it goes

  • Caramell Dansen
    Caramell Dansen 4 months ago +3

    That downdraft cooler + 90mm extractor fan only setup is the same as I got in my PC World (UK) prebuilt from 2011. In fact, the CPU cooler is the exact same, I think!

    • Ivo Ivanov
      Ivo Ivanov 4 months ago +1

      And you are right - the radiator block is the "box" cooler of AM3 CPUs, I had a Phntom II 840, with exactly the same radiator, just the fan was AMD branded.

  • PostModernCereal
    PostModernCereal 4 months ago

    These pre build reviews save lives (and wallets!) 😆

  • Abaddon_The_Annoyer
    Abaddon_The_Annoyer 4 months ago

    That loose screw triggered my ptsd from when a screw once fell into my gpu thru the fan blades. Took a lot of time and patience to get that sucker out. Then the same bastard almost fell into my psu 🤣

  • gophop
    gophop 4 months ago

    GA15DK can be had for $1650. It's a nicer looking case, RTX 3070, 5800x, better cooler, better motherboard (supports O/C). Still runs hot. I got one a few months ago for the video card. The price fluctuates up to $1980.

  • Tim Janssen
    Tim Janssen 4 months ago

    It really says a lot about the state of pre build PCs, when "it is acceptable" is already an above average result.

  • David Lee
    David Lee 4 months ago +7

    Even at inflated GPU prices, you can still buy parts to assemble a better performing PC than this one for $1400

    • David Lee
      David Lee 4 months ago

      @Maurice Hufnagel Are you sure? This computer is running a 1660ti. RX6600 is available around $450-$470, 6600xt around $540-620. Both are substantially better GPUs than the 1660ti. You can easily put together the rest of the build with an 11400 or 12400 CPU and similar or better specced parts for another $600-$650. Even if you pay full price for a Windows license, the total will still be under $1400.

    • Cheyanne I
      Cheyanne I 4 months ago

      @Maurice Hufnagel Microcenter makes their money off everything else they sell. Complete builds, monitors, keyboards, mice, etc. You're not generally walking into a Microcenter just for your tower.

    • Maurice Hufnagel
      Maurice Hufnagel 4 months ago

      I don't know about that. I priced gaming pcs builds at both Microcenter and Newegg and the pre-builts were a little less expensive.

  • Pringlulz
    Pringlulz 4 months ago

    I was actually able to get the G10DK for almost the same price at Best Buy (1600 CAD) It came with a 5600X and RTX 3060.

  • Snow_hound
    Snow_hound 4 months ago

    This was my first pc before I realized how easy it was to build one., managed to stuff a strix 2070 super in it with a 750 watt psu

  • nicho-uyx
    nicho-uyx 4 months ago

    I am scared to buy a pre-built, but I need a good gpu for work and entertainment and cannot really wait to build. Definitely trying to look at who you guys say aren't bad.

  • Lil Rice Muncher Gaming

    Thank you for pointing out that Great Wall is actually a decent PSU and supplies PSU’s for other brands like Corsair. I was also one of the ones who thought it was sketch from the brand name alone. Lol

  • cee kay
    cee kay 3 months ago +1

    Asus wins the gold medal of the "It's not actively making its components worse via configuration" awards! Or it at least lands somewhere on the podium for silver or bronze. Considering the quality of most pre-builds these days that's pretty impressive for a major brand.
    Also I honestly can't remember a single glowing review of a pre-built on GN so getting ANY praise is noteworthy here lol GG Asus your pre-built isn't bad and the Zephyrus G15 (AMD 5900H + Nvidia 3070) I bought from you guys has been fantastic considering its well...a laptop!
    So while you still can't trust most brands... at least Asus appears to genuinely be trying to do good!

  • Timothy Gibney
    Timothy Gibney 4 months ago +5

    $1400 for a 1660ti system?! Jesus. Even PS5 has more power and only $599. This GPU inflation sucks

    • Micha Raven
      Micha Raven 2 months ago +1

      Where can I get a ps5 for 599$ please tell me

  • Relaxed Batter
    Relaxed Batter 4 months ago +8

    Hell yeahhh another prebuilt review these are my favorite

  • Jon Tobin
    Jon Tobin 3 months ago

    I've purchased several Asus laptops. They've worked great for years with zero issues, admirable performance, even my 10 year old model plays current gen games without too many issues but there is always some shit rattling around inside the casing lol.

  • John K.
    John K. 4 months ago

    Decent job from Asus. Choosing this type of airflow means very low noise if you place your case on the left side of yours.
    To be honest, i would never expect a pre built to have a gpu-support bracket, I barely knew these things existed!

  • Alex H
    Alex H 4 months ago

    Got this same model 6 months ago at Sams club for $1,200.00
    Adding up the parts, it pretty much breaks even. Mine has been a good experience. Pretty sure you can still find them at that price if they are in stock.

  • Reneck
    Reneck 4 months ago +1

    Entry level gaming PCs for $1400, we're truly living in a dystopian future

  • Stuart Lunsford
    Stuart Lunsford 4 months ago

    I love the cheap (but fair) shots, assuming ASUS doesn't install a capacitor backwards.