Tap to unmute

Chef Reviews Kitchen Gadgets | WHICH ARE WORTH BUYING? | S2 E6 SORTEDfood

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 18, 2022 veröffentlicht
  • We’re back with another reviewing KITCHEN GADGETS episode and this one is a good’un! Time savers, cheffy hacks and of course BENnuendos!!
    You can find out more about the gadgets we've reviewed in the links below.
    Wanna become an awesome home cook? Sign up to our Sidekick app and be the hero of your kitchen: bit.ly/3tfFgsR
    Cookut Sushi Press: www.amazon.co.uk/Cookut-Soosh...
    Smart Samosa Maker: www.amazon.co.uk/Silver-SAMOS...
    Once For All Vegetable Slicer: www.amazon.co.uk/ONCE-ALL-Veg...
    Philips Perfect Draft Beer Machine: www.beerhawk.co.uk/perfectdra...
  • Howto & StyleHowto & Style

Comments • 1 470

  • Jambone0908
    Jambone0908 4 months ago +2423

    Would love to see a "week in the life of sorted" series or at least a video. See all the behind the scenes stuff, the ideas from conception, the shopping for gadgets and ingredients, the 'business' type stuff! See what the rest of the team do on a daily basis and the while mechanics of a successful, entertaining and long-running food Clip-Share channel - a Clip-Share food channel wasn't even really a thing when you guys started!

  • Heather Riddell-Ide
    Heather Riddell-Ide 4 months ago +496

    The Once for All Vegetable Slicer is going to be a HUGE help for my hubby in the kitchen. He has rheumatoid arthritis, so he's not very dextrous with his hands making him clumsy at slicing; and using a regular mandoline is dangerous for him. This is definitely going on my "I have to buy this on payday" list!

    • Gregor Armstrong
      Gregor Armstrong 11 days ago

      Yeah that’s the kind of gadget that can really help. Works an absolute charm for me.

    • Terra Marini
      Terra Marini 3 months ago

      @Kirrlaos Blackwind My oldest is now minus a fingerprint due to a mandolin.

    • Naomi Hutchin
      Naomi Hutchin 3 months ago +2

      I have functional Neurological Disorder and it is incredibly helpful

    • Kirrlaos Blackwind
      Kirrlaos Blackwind 3 months ago +2

      As someone who sliced a hunk of his finger off with a regular mandoline ... The once for all is a god send :3

    • Gigi Nelson
      Gigi Nelson 3 months ago +4

      I have both osteoarthritis and RA, and when making holiday dinners I need extra help (not from parents; they suck at prep work). Literally took me two days to recover from making thanksgiving and Christmas meals. This is a NEED.

  • Bence Vörös
    Bence Vörös 4 months ago +294

    The joy on Mike's face while drinking from the tap was exactly what I needed after a rough day.

    • Akul’s Inator
      Akul’s Inator 26 days ago

      Hope your day gets better

    • rmcastillo83
      rmcastillo83 2 months ago +1

      I would get this just for the opportunity to that.

    • Juan Martin
      Juan Martin 4 months ago +9

      His "best job evah" sounded so sincere

    • Kris
      Kris 4 months ago +5

      Absolutely! Same with what Jenna said. This one really got to me, had to wipe away tears of laughter after rewinding. Holy hell xD

    • Jenna
      Jenna 4 months ago +6

      It is going to be one of those moments that sticks in your head forever like "Where's the dish!?"

  • Karma
    Karma 4 months ago +333

    I have been making my own sushi for about 20 years now and still get the occasional wonky roll, but I would still prefer something that is not quite aesthetically correct than the homogeneous wet ricy pulp that seems to come out of most sushi "guns". They just seem to lose all texture and become far too much like porridge. Honestly, making proper sushi is not all that difficult and far more fun, especially with friends.

    • Bebo Rulz
      Bebo Rulz 21 day ago

      After the noises & mention of how wet the rice was I thought a VERY light rub of oil would be an option, idk though

    • Tina Chen
      Tina Chen 3 months ago +1

      I think putting sesame oil would be better to stop the rice from sticking I don’t like wet rice taste bad.

    • prdprdprdprdprdel
      prdprdprdprdprdel 3 months ago +1

      The rice consistency is one of the most important parts of sushi.. it might look better, but there's a good chance that the "wonky roll" you did by hand will taste better..

    • milomilo55
      milomilo55 4 months ago +5

      Yes that wet sludgy rice would be horrible to eat and I can't even imagine what the nori would be like after soaking up all that excess liquid though _squidgy_ comes to mind.

    • Clifford Lee
      Clifford Lee 4 months ago +6

      I died a little inside seeing that soggy sushi

  • TetraFlash
    TetraFlash 4 months ago +1019

    I wish everyone in this amazing community of people could be as happy as Mike looks when he realizes what Jamie is up to after removing the drip tray.

    • Louise Morter
      Louise Morter 4 months ago +1

      Yes!!!

    • Yamanaka Ino
      Yamanaka Ino 4 months ago +8

      I have never seen him run that fast xD

    • Ian Rose
      Ian Rose 4 months ago +26

      That exact instant when his Lad brain kicks in is amazing.

    • evilwolf72
      evilwolf72 4 months ago +3

      your too sweet for this world

  • Kyte
    Kyte 4 months ago +90

    The veggie slicer is so much more safe than a regular mandolin it's unreal. That alone would make it worth it IMO.

    • Der Dörk
      Der Dörk 2 months ago

      Yea i have like a mandoline/plunge slicer thingy and its meh. Wanted to make potato slices and cut my thumb really deep.

  • Martin Schou
    Martin Schou 4 months ago +248

    Here's an idea for a video (or four):
    Give the normals a budget (maybe three different levels) to buy what's needed for a kitchen (think people moving out for the first time) and set them cooking challenges they must complete using only the equipment they bought (plus the oven, stove, fridge and freezer).
    Then finish off with Ben doing the same thing with those budgets and compare the differences.

    • Macarena.G
      Macarena.G 4 months ago +2

      Yes

    • CircleThinker
      CircleThinker 4 months ago +2

      ooh that's a really fun idea!

    • 부비Dan
      부비Dan 4 months ago +2

      I really love this idea!

    • laartje24
      laartje24 4 months ago +11

      I can really see Ben get back with one thing like a fancy chefs knife and then actually make it work in a way we normals can't. But sounds interesting, I am up.

  • Carla O'Connell
    Carla O'Connell 4 months ago +98

    My husband has a hand-eye coordination disability and immediately turned around and told me he wants to buy the slicer. It's perfect for anyone with mobility issues 👐

  • Hannah Yamauchi
    Hannah Yamauchi 4 months ago +57

    That slicer actually looks great! Sushi roller on the other hand.... imagining the texture of that rice makes me want to cry

    • hamster1
      hamster1 2 months ago +1

      That sushi thing is not even new it’s been made out of plastic for years this one is just made from wood.
      With the plastic one you don’t have to wet it so much as it doesn’t stick so easily

  • Alex Christodoulou
    Alex Christodoulou 4 months ago +1135

    I would love to see a video where they review previously reviewed gadge that they have now used for a couple of years, like that spatular with the link in it to help empty jars as I see them use it in videos all the time

    • Shannon Kelly
      Shannon Kelly 3 months ago

      @Sorted Food yes! This would be a great! What are the must/top buy items from these sorts of reviews that actually make cooking better.

    • stone5against1
      stone5against1 4 months ago

      @Jakob Hermansson hahaha glad you appreciate the super bad pun :p

    • Santiago Perez
      Santiago Perez 4 months ago

      Ooooooh! That would be interesting.....maybe the first gadgets

    • Grant Price
      Grant Price 4 months ago +1

      @Sorted Food When will you boys start using a drop cloth to hide bigger products instead of that cloche? 🤣🤣 love you guys ❤❤

    • Gaina
      Gaina 4 months ago +4

      I was disappointed by the Samosa maker because I initially thought it was a Waffle maker, but I love the Sushi set! 😁 I still feel like I'd want to make both foods the 'slow' way, though. 😊
      Also, the 'coffee machine' turned out to be beer! Why are you messing with my head today?! 😂

  • Katy
    Katy 4 months ago +223

    I actually got the “mandolin” for Christmas from a friend because she wanted to make sure she got me a safe one haha. It unfortunately doesn’t work great for small things that you want a precise angle on, like slicing garlic, but I think it’ll be quite handy for larger items like you demonstrated here! Without having to get out a whole food processor.

    • KornyKev
      KornyKev 4 months ago

      I got one and the only limit on it is not being able to do longer juliennes and slices. Because the cutting opening is so small you have to trim off a lot to just get it to fit. If you like 2 inch fries then it's perfect. Works great on making slices in bulk but the angle on it will always make your slices at an angle so no perfect rounds unless you hold it just right (so why not get a traditional mandolin and cutting glove instead?).

    • CoolAsFreya
      CoolAsFreya 4 months ago +1

      I've always been terrified of mandolins, never owned one because of that, but I'd actually consider this one

    • Houshou Pirate Crew Member
      Houshou Pirate Crew Member 4 months ago

      I had the exact opposite problem, it wasn't working out for bigger things. I tried slicing potatoes with it to make chips(not fries) and the blade wouldn't go through all of the way sometimes.

    • Ellulellu
      Ellulellu 4 months ago +1

      I use something similar when I'm making big vegetable soups, I used to get blisters on my hand for all that knife work but a proper sharp mandolin helps with that, also I slice my cucumbre all at once bc otherwise I "forget" it in the fidge and slicing it with a mandolin is so much easier😁 I wouldn't get one that isn't mashine washable tho, that would be the time I would cut my finger off 😅

    • Samantha Will
      Samantha Will 4 months ago +2

      We use it to slice garlic to fry crispy mmmmm. The reason we got it is so I could stop getting stitches

  • nikiichan
    nikiichan 4 months ago +61

    The best part about samosa for me is the dough at the top of the triangle and the base where its folded over itself. It doesn't matter how good the filling is the satisfying part for me is always the crunchy shell so this machine basically takes that away :/ I am going to try baking mine now though based on Kushs mum method :o

    • Rowan Lara
      Rowan Lara 4 months ago +2

      i wonder if its possible to put two sheets of pastry down?
      on one side at least, like double it up a bit?

  • Verb
    Verb 4 months ago +70

    The mandolin slicer is actually genius! There have been so many incidents in a professional/home kitchen where an accident happens.

    • Dawn Chesbro
      Dawn Chesbro 4 months ago +3

      @Katherine Chu yes! I used to be a chef until my illness took that away from me. I still sharpen my knife skills by cooking at home, but my dexterity is definitely diminishing. I totally can see myself using this!

    • Katherine Chu
      Katherine Chu 4 months ago +11

      Or for people with disabilities who struggle to cut things with precision

  • LasermanSteam
    LasermanSteam 4 months ago +88

    I have seen the cutter before in another video where it gets reviewed on its usability and design (among other features) and both then and now it looked to me like an absolute lifesaver for people with physical disabilities.

    • laartje24
      laartje24 4 months ago +1

      @Jenna Thanks for sharing. I was wondering, does the blade stay sharp for long? Or are you able to switch it out? This is one of the points I always struggle on with finding a good one for my disabilities.

    • laartje24
      laartje24 4 months ago

      It depends, does the blade stay sharp? And if not can it be changed out. I have several disabilities and tried several mandolin designs now (but not this one) and it mostly comes down to how much muscle power and precise movement it needs. And most have blades that dull very quickly and can't be changed out making you have to use more power that I don't have. Also for this one in specific, it spraying the small pieces of veggies everywhere is definitely not gonna help with my disabilities, it needs a better reservoir.

    • westzed23
      westzed23 4 months ago +5

      @Jenna this is something we will get then. Thank you for your information. My sister has arthritis in her fingers, and she has always loved to cook. Somethings she just can't do anymore, but I think this will help her to have the ability to do more. Thanks again.
      🙂🍲❤

    • Jenna
      Jenna 4 months ago +3

      I had my mandolin before my disability got bad and I liked it a lot. Now as things have progressed it is an absolute life saver. Everything from celery and onions to potatoes and aubergine and as long as you use the guard safe as the day is long. I am sure those few add on features this one had with the foot holding the pressure would make it even better!

    • westzed23
      westzed23 4 months ago +5

      This is what I thought. Easy for those with disabilities.

  • alexfsayshi
    alexfsayshi 4 months ago +1162

    I want an ultimate ultimate gadget battle. All food can be cooked with only gadgets from these series. No microwave or camp stove, or blender; unless from this show - a proper gadg-off!

    • Joonha Shcal
      Joonha Shcal 4 months ago +2

      They've literally done that already.

    • Rene Luke
      Rene Luke 4 months ago +2

      A gadget Pass it On!!!

    • Bev Hall
      Bev Hall 4 months ago +5

      Each of them can choose a gadget ahead of time, then get assigned ingredients to cook in it.

    • nightstar6
      nightstar6 4 months ago +9

      @Michael Chester Or each normal has to bring in gadgets to show off during the battle.

    • Michael Chester
      Michael Chester 4 months ago +63

      This, but instead of gadgets they've already reviewed, it's new gadgets. No manual provided, mystery ingredients box which contains some which would be useful for the thing the gadget is for, and some red herrings.

  • Mish Mash
    Mish Mash 4 months ago +10

    there’s special samosa sheets we use in the Middle East where you fold your samosas into that triangular shape. Switz is the brand we used growing up. That’s what I think that machine is for, I think you get a similar result with the filo pastry just with fewer layers

  • Samalamagom
    Samalamagom 4 months ago +11

    The sushi roller looks like it squishes all the rice into a mush instead of having nice individual grains of rice
    Now I know how supermarkets are getting that rice texture in their sushi 😂😭

  • MaikNL
    MaikNL 4 months ago +23

    Kush does an amazing job coming up with all the supplementary foods, hope he joins a challenge or another vid soon.

  • Fallen Raven
    Fallen Raven 4 months ago +10

    I liked the chopper, first one I seen that am actually considering buying, will have to show the wife to see what she thinks. Will have to look up some other videos on it to see how easy it is to clean.

  • uperscors
    uperscors 4 months ago +5

    I can absolutely see the Once For All being used in my kitchen. Considering all the people who have lost chunks of fingers to a Mandoline, I could also see it used in more professional style kitchens since it keeps your hand back from the blades.

  • Inflamma Bull
    Inflamma Bull 4 months ago +24

    I love my perfect draft, you failed to mention that beerhawk give you a fiver back per keg when you return it. Also, to make it easier for others - the kegs are 6 litres or 10.5pints. It’s defo at least 2x the price of cans but Jamie is right about it being on par with draft and if you can afford the initial outlay,have space and don’t mind paying 2x for the beer it’s 100% worth.

  • Isanion
    Isanion 4 months ago +11

    I wish they also reviewed the washing up. That super slicer could be a nightmare if it doesn't disassemble nicely.

  • drttyu liqm
    drttyu liqm 4 months ago +2

    Love it when a gadget comes with recipes👌🏻

  • LauraKyasarin
    LauraKyasarin 4 months ago +3

    I would 100% buy one of the home beer taps for my partner once I can afford to. We would both love it and it would definitely be a favourite of his.

  • aylith_uk
    aylith_uk 4 months ago +6

    I bought a perfect draft machine a month ago, love it. The only minor drawback is you can't control the temperature, it's locked to 3 degrees Celsius. Which is too cold for some of the beets like Kwak or Leffe. Still not the end of the world and still worth it as far as I'm concerned.

  • lawnjart16
    lawnjart16 4 months ago +4

    I have that exact mandolin and it is worth it for me. My knife skills are weak, and admittedly was too nervous buying a normal mandolin because of risk of injury. This thing works great, and is safer and better than my mediocre knife skills

  • ShadarLogath
    ShadarLogath 4 months ago +3

    I would love to see a "Serving in bulk"-battle, where they each need to cook for 15-20 people.

  • Isaac Alonzo
    Isaac Alonzo 4 months ago +1

    That chopper looks extremely useful, when you see them in stores you know you won't be using them beyond the first couple of weeks, but this looks kine an everyday kitchen tool. Also the draft, I need it in my life.

  • Alexis Hullinger
    Alexis Hullinger 4 months ago +2

    Please do a video of all the ways you could use that samosa maker! I wanna watch Ben play with all the dough he can think of

  • CoolAsFreya
    CoolAsFreya 4 months ago

    I'd love to see a whole video exploring different options with that samosa maker, doing some from the book, then trying some crazy things! Maybe even desert samosas?

  • Paulina E.
    Paulina E. 4 months ago

    Jamie sounded so genuinely impressed and happy by that beer machine! I've never heard him so genuine before. Nice :)

  • Erin Wilson
    Erin Wilson 4 months ago +281

    Okay, so I think I'd make samosas once or twice, but then it would be solidly making little apple, cherry, and pumpkin hand pies.

    • sakura samejima ✰ĖӾØ✰
      sakura samejima ✰ĖӾØ✰ 3 months ago

      I love samosas🤤🤤

    • Blackg00
      Blackg00 3 months ago +2

      choux pastry might work , put in blobs , they expand on cooking and should be hollow then fill with custard . not good for my diet though. Havnt seen it is Auz yet.

    • Muzalli Sam
      Muzalli Sam 3 months ago +1

      I'm thinking of a giant waffle.....

    • A Bhatia
      A Bhatia 3 months ago +6

      @Dwwolf they should have gone with a removable plates design, you could then taylor it to what you want and they could charge extra for plates.

    • Dwwolf
      Dwwolf 3 months ago +2

      Just a single type of grid for a machine like this is a waste.

  • Vinay Patel
    Vinay Patel 4 months ago +13

    Honestly, the samosa machine didn't seem that worth it to me but that's mainly because I can get some really good vegetarian samosas near me for 25p so £49 would just feel wasted on the machine not including the ingredients you'd need for it
    Edit: They're 35p per Samosa now
    Edit 2: 40p

    • william Aldred
      william Aldred 11 hours ago

      So at what point do you deem those pre made ones not worth it

  • TheHeavenlyRice
    TheHeavenlyRice 4 months ago +1

    I know the video is edited and cut but… I love the idea that as soon as Jamie mentioned the drip tray was removable, Mike and Barry IMMEDIATELY knew where he was going this, as Mike sprints around the counter.

  • Terence Heavey
    Terence Heavey 4 months ago +1

    Love all the gadgets apart from the sushi maker made the sushi look too soggy.
    The vegetable cutter was very surprising at how useful that could be.
    I love the Philips beer draft and would love nothing more than to treat myself to one of those and in an ideal world I would
    Well done boys

  • Rob Shaw
    Rob Shaw 4 months ago

    I own the perfect draft and it is one of the best things I’ve ever bought! But you’re 10000% right, it takes a lot of will power!

  • A2
    A2 4 months ago

    I'd love to see a week of each of them bringing home a gadget and using it for once a day for the whole week on regular dishes.

  • Michael Somers
    Michael Somers 4 months ago

    I’ve had my perfect draft for over 2 years. Excellent machine. Great beer. Good times.

  • CTFD & DFTBA
    CTFD & DFTBA 4 months ago

    I would love to see them make sweet pastries with the samosa maker, like cinnamon rolls and cookies

  • PR311
    PR311 4 months ago

    Jamie falls in love with his gadget and Mike with his job. Great video.
    I would proably use the sushi maker as the only gadget there but sure can see a sense in all the other ones. I for myself have already a mandoline which works quite nice but hasn't a spring, which will proably break as first think after plenty of use

  • Kristian Lawrence
    Kristian Lawrence 4 months ago +1

    I’ve got another beer gadget for you! One of those fully automated beer brewers (igulu, MiniBrew, Beer Droid). I’d be more interested in one of the ones that lets you use your own ingredients and recipes (ie. not prepackaged recipe packs).

  • Zombie
    Zombie 3 months ago +2

    I bough the vegetable mandolin after seeing this. It is awesome. It is so useful for sauerkraut, bibimbap or to chop carrots and cucumbers for sushi or kimbap.

  • MrGrimsmith
    MrGrimsmith 4 months ago +2

    I may have to look up the once for all thing, might help my folks a lot as some of the veg prep can get a bit much for them as they're both over 80. I do wonder about the amount of force required to dice a harder root vegetable such as turnip or something like butternut squash. Still safer than my father taking a knife to things but if it needs more force I can see him using a hammer to "assist" things... TBH I'd probably use it myself as I do a Jamie julienne when chopping stuff - starts off regular, then I get bored :D
    No to the beer thing though. You can't get the same as pub systems in something that small, there are a limited number of almost always proprietary refills available and it still isn't the same as a proper pint. I'd prefer to just get a barrel from the local brewery and stick it in the pantry. Better beer, correct temperature and a hell of a lot cheaper.

  • Rachel Woodcraft
    Rachel Woodcraft 4 months ago

    Ooh! I remember tagging the Sorted Food page on Insta on a video of the veggie slicer a couple weeks ago! Thoroughly enjoyed watching them do a more genuine test of it!

  • Jeffrey Wilson
    Jeffrey Wilson 4 months ago

    The beer one for sure might be my favorite gadget ever lol!

  • Amber L
    Amber L 4 months ago +10

    I’d love to see more experiments with the samosa maker! I wonder how this would work with proper wheat samosa dough and not the inauthentic/cheat/hack/sub-par disappointment that is filo pastry. Also I wonder how well this machine would work for things like baklava and some other pastry-enclosed food items.

    • Kizzabell
      Kizzabell 3 months ago +1

      Yea I hate when you order samosas and they end up being made with filo! The dough is my favourite part of a samosa

  • Thomas van den Berg
    Thomas van den Berg 4 months ago

    Great fun, as always!
    I would like to see a knife review/suggestion video by you guys. Not gadget knives, good chef knives :)

  • hunter spot
    hunter spot 4 months ago +1

    I've always wondered what they do with the gadgets after the review them do they take them home or are they on a shelf somewhere

  • Orutakawa Teng'a'
    Orutakawa Teng'a' 3 months ago

    I would go for the sushione first, although getting my Sapporo reserve in a draft style pour would be divine.

  • Carron Greene
    Carron Greene 4 months ago

    I've had a sushi tool similar to the one used and I loved it

  • Alan Wadsworth
    Alan Wadsworth 4 months ago

    The Mandalin is something I have always wanted. It would speed up my meal prep! 😊

  • ProgramaChefeSabor
    ProgramaChefeSabor 3 months ago

    Sortedfood Muito bom seu canal!
    Parabéns!

  • Catherine
    Catherine 4 months ago

    Already running to Amazon for the veggie chopper! I have one of those slap down one and have broken blades multiple times so this has me excited!

  • Karin Cope
    Karin Cope 4 months ago +1

    I have a very similar Chopper, I am an avid canner as well as I love to cook and it is so fast and once you start using it it really does help .
    Safe to for kids to use or someone who is not as stealing with knife skills .

  • Der Dörk
    Der Dörk 4 months ago +1

    The way jamie is sitting with his hands down, ready to pour a draft beer. Hilarious. You can see the excitement.
    Also, of course it's from germany.
    Wir lieben bier. 🍺

  • Monolith247
    Monolith247 4 months ago +6

    On the Phillips Draft “You need immense willpower”. I can confirm 😂 The kegs last 30 days. I live by myself, and not a single one has lasted to the end of day 3. My go to is the 8% Tripel Karmeliet 👌

  • Nicky Plaisier
    Nicky Plaisier 4 months ago

    I have 2 of those perfect drafts, amazing to get some special beers on tap for parties 😁

  • katink19
    katink19 4 months ago

    I actually saw a samosa maker (same as the one reviewed, but different brand) in Aldi after Christmas…this was in Australia, not sure if it was also in other countries.

  • adam dubin
    adam dubin 4 months ago

    I was thinking the samosa maker seemed like a good idea, then you brought out the Draft Keg machine and my only thought was that might make a really good Father's day/birthday gift for my Dad (both are usually in the same week so I often combine his gifts and get him something nice).

  • David Hunt
    David Hunt 3 months ago

    Had the perfect draft machine for about a year now and it's amazing

  • Josh Stevens
    Josh Stevens 4 months ago +5

    My roommate bought that same mandoline recently and it is legitimately good. We love it cause well, it works well and your hands get nowhere near the sharp bits which I’m sure everyone can agree that makes using one nerve wracking. It’s worth it if you find yourself needing to slice lots of veg frequently.

    • Josh Stevens
      Josh Stevens 4 months ago +1

      @Chad Kreutzer it cleans pretty well. it comes with a brush to help get any little bits that may be stuck in there. but otherwise just a scrub brush and hot soapy water and good to go. really didnt take longer than anything else id wash.

    • Chad Kreutzer
      Chad Kreutzer 4 months ago

      My concern for most fiddly gadgets like this is the cleaning. How is that with this?

  • Mason Lorenz
    Mason Lorenz 4 months ago +1

    I love the episodes with 4-5 of the boys. They just hit different.

  • Aaron
    Aaron 4 months ago

    Would love to see a 'normals' battle where they're all aloud to bring in a gadget of their choosing to help them win!

  • Jannah R
    Jannah R 4 months ago +1

    The samosa maker brings me to tears. Traditional way is so much better and nicer to do. Different triangle shapes for different fillings. But so cool to see!!!!!

  • [ T I A]-C0me 0ver L!ve

    I wish everyone in this amazing community of people could be as happy as Mike looks when he realizes what Jamie is up to after removing the drip tray.

  • Van Hart
    Van Hart 4 months ago

    Love how Jamie did not have to ask for a volunteer. Mike volunteered himself as a tribute, immediately going off the camera for a moment to position himself 😂

  • Cathy Frankland
    Cathy Frankland 4 months ago

    It's been a long day at work, but watching this has really made me laugh. Thank you Sorted gang for yet another great video 😚👏🏻

  • Nicole Town
    Nicole Town 4 months ago

    I feel like the last one would be great for anyone who entertains regularly! Just keep extra kegs in a fridge and this could be out on the patio or kitchen bar.

  • khuang96
    khuang96 3 months ago

    Sushi rice was way too soggy 😓
    Love that they said anyone can enjoy beer, after reading the manufacturer's description saying "man cave" 👍🏼

  • Sam Warrior She_Her
    Sam Warrior She_Her 4 months ago

    I wanna know what else we could do with that samosa maker, could we use it to make a toasty with bread or maybe waffles.
    If I could get a Keg of Cola I think I would happily have that machine lol.

  • Clover HighFive
    Clover HighFive 4 months ago

    Now I have this image of Mike lying on a couch with Jamie providing in-mouth beer and Ben pushing sushi between sips. LOL

  • redsail08
    redsail08 4 months ago

    Omg. I just bought that same exact mandolin from Amazon a month ago! I really like it. I’m glad Mike approves as well!

  • HORTONDLFN
    HORTONDLFN 3 months ago +1

    Barry's expression, after they told him it was a samosa maker, nearly made me fall out of my chair.

  • Christina Matzen
    Christina Matzen 4 months ago

    Holy crap you guys were on a roll today 😂 I think I laughed the entire video and got all the Bennuendos, and even the Mikuendo there at the end 😂 I’ve already gone into Amazon and purchased the mandolin. I think you just made my life easier! FWIW on American Amazon it was $39.99-$42.99 depending on what color you wanted.

  • Kerstin Katharina
    Kerstin Katharina 4 months ago

    Ben's look at Jamie, trying to prepare a dirty joke when Jamie starts with "You've got three different knobs". 😂😂 But for once, he just keeps it in his mind.

  • Cynthia Nations
    Cynthia Nations 4 months ago

    Have a different brand of the mini keg dispenser. My hubs loves it so much because it chills it and keeps it chilled.
    I think the slicer would be worth it too.

  • Kaito
    Kaito 4 months ago +62

    theoretically you could use a watered down version of the vinegar mix you normally put into the sushi rice and instead of dunking the whole thing in the water you could brush the insides with the mix so it’ll be less wet…maybe? im not sure if it’s practical and obviously it’s probably not the best idea to season the rice beforehand but yeah something to think about i guess

    • hamster1
      hamster1 2 months ago

      @ScarletRoseLayoska yep seen Japanese chefs use plastic wrap when rolling with a bamboo mat so yes that’s the best way

    • ScarletRoseLayoska
      ScarletRoseLayoska 4 months ago +5

      I would think a good way to fix the soggy mess is use plastic wrap on all the tools and instead of pushing it out, you can lift the roll out with the plastic when transferring to the nori

    • Sweet Bee Urban Pottery
      Sweet Bee Urban Pottery 4 months ago +5

      @Sorted Food I feel when they say “soak” they mean overnight.

    • Stefan
      Stefan 4 months ago +1

      Or... You could just not use this stupid thing at all :)

    • skrenos
      skrenos 4 months ago +8

      Or brush it with sesame oil? That way you can flavor the rice and prevent it from sticking.

  • Jeremy Petro
    Jeremy Petro 3 months ago

    Obviously the philips perfect draft beer machine is amazing. I might have to look into getting that.

  • 1steelcobra
    1steelcobra 4 months ago

    Device 1-
    Good sushi: fluffy, airy rice just pressed together to hold shape.
    Sooshi: Wet, mashed and crushed rice tube.

  • mintes mehari
    mintes mehari 4 months ago

    I love seeing Barry hold in a smile when Jamie was talking about "small knob"s xD

  • Marta S
    Marta S 4 months ago

    lol, have we ever seen the guys THIS happy? Mike was giddy!! Love to see it :D

  • LittleBear
    LittleBear 4 months ago +63

    Genuinely impressed by that beer tap machine! Especially with a refrigerator element I thought it was bound to be like 400 quid.

    • Hades Janitor
      Hades Janitor 4 months ago

      You can get an actual kegerator for around that much. Or with a bit of diy make one for less. And have access to a wider variety of beers since it wouldn't be limited to their proprietary kegs.

    • Jaqen H'Ghar
      Jaqen H'Ghar 4 months ago

      I mean you can buy an actual keg system that sits in a mini fridge (and comes with it) for that price so it wouldn't make any sense for them to charge that much. I mean at least you could the last time I checked.

    • Jasper Janssen
      Jasper Janssen 4 months ago +5

      @David F it’s basically a Bag In Box system. The beer isn’t replaced by air, it’s replaced by nothing as the bag inside the keg gets smaller.

    • David F
      David F 4 months ago +1

      Disagree, seems quite steep for a machine that doesn't even seem to use co2 (i.e. As you pour beers, oxygen will replace the beer in the keg and it will start oxidizing which is not good, especially for IPAs, instead of replacing it by co2 which would keep it fresh for longer)

    • sirBrouwer
      sirBrouwer 4 months ago +6

      Philips keeps the price low as they will get a cut for all the kegs you will be able to buy. Here in the Netherlands there are always a row of like 4 or 5 (if not more) beers of different brands selling kegs for the draft.

  • Chris
    Chris 4 months ago

    I own one of those mandolines and I absolutely love it. If you're looking for precision cuts it's no substitute for a traditional mandoline, but for chopping veg for a stir fry or coleslaw or salads it works a charm

  • Aa Gg
    Aa Gg 3 months ago

    Got the Philips, love it. (Just to show how good it is, some restaurants in Belgium, who don't have a full tap installation (because they are not a pub), use these machines to still offer tapped beer).

  • MasterOfCoin
    MasterOfCoin 4 months ago

    I personally own the mandolin by my parent's recommendation (they use it for canning in bulk, and I used it to make kimchi), and it was fun seeing it in a Sorted video. I also bought the Potato peeler because of you guys, and my mom bought herself one when I moved out since she loved it so much :D

  • Peter Peters
    Peter Peters 3 months ago

    Is the draft beer machine still a thing? I remember it coming on the market years ago, but I have never seen it since.

  • Turr
    Turr 4 months ago +137

    Now that they mentioned it briefly, now I'm genuinely curious. Do yall keep ALL of the gadgets you've bought since day one or are some of them just given away to people or taken home by the crew or what not. Cuz I imagine that is a buttload of things to keep in the back if ever 😂 or you could maybe put some of 'em up as a giveaway or for auction idk 👀

    • Phased
      Phased 4 months ago

      if they ever want rid of the perfect draft i call dibs!!

    • Lolie Pop
      Lolie Pop 4 months ago +9

      They also definitely clear them out sometimes. Someone asked where the rice cooker was a while ago and it turned out Ben got rid of it!

    • Turr
      Turr 4 months ago +3

      @N HW ohh that's interesting thanks for letting me know!

    • N HW
      N HW 4 months ago +11

      They've actually done giveaways in the past, at least one, if not two by now!

  • Tobias Drioel
    Tobias Drioel 4 months ago

    finaly back to the gadgets it has been a long time , love the slicer and the price,keep up the good work love you guys

  • Charles Mort
    Charles Mort 4 months ago +8

    The veggie slicer would be one of the biggest life savers for me in the kitchen. I'm disabled and prep can take so long sometimes when ny hands aren't working properly. That would make it so much easier. Just wish I could afford it on benefits. 😂

    • Charles Mort
      Charles Mort 4 months ago

      @Marlys Gardner that's really useful to know! Thanks for the information!

    • Marlys Gardner
      Marlys Gardner 4 months ago +2

      I have one, and I absolutely love it. It's also easy to clean, just spray it down in your sink with the faucet sprayer. It also comes with a little brush in case something does get stuck, but I've never had to use it.

    • Charles Mort
      Charles Mort 4 months ago

      @Erin McKenzie yeah, cleaning is always a worry too. Especially as I'm more susceptible to getting ill too. Don't want mould growing in all the crevices.

    • Erin McKenzie
      Erin McKenzie 4 months ago +1

      I have definitely looked at gadgets like this for the same reason! My main hold back has been cleaning. Idk how easy it would be to clean something with so many small parts, which is why I look at reviews like what Sorted does before buying anything for a kitchen

  • Tess
    Tess 4 months ago +1

    That draft beer machine seems good value,
    cheaper than a toaster ;)

  • Shirley Castle
    Shirley Castle 4 months ago

    Nice one Mike that's great you got to do what you've always dreamed of.

  • Hannah Burns
    Hannah Burns 4 months ago +114

    I have one of the draft keg pumps and it is amazing like really great you can remove the keg chuck it in the fridge it’s great, only downside is leaving it plugged in all the time to chill and to Baz’s point it’s about the same size as a coffee machine we have ours on our counter it’s class

    • ThekillingGoku
      ThekillingGoku 4 months ago

      ​@Philip Pugh Not happening these days. But here in Belgium we got mooore than plenty of beer to choose from. Literally 100's of different types in various styles.
      Generally I don't drink many pilsner beers anyway and most of the beers we go for won't be available in min-kegs either.
      Obviously you only find a limited selection in most any café except for some particular ones that are specialized in offering all those 100's of types on their 'menu'. 😋
      In general, this thing's too large to keep setup anyway.

    • invisiblekid99
      invisiblekid99 4 months ago +4

      @Philip Pugh There is and it’s owned by a massive brewery that cripples choice and only lets me drink cat piss and dish water and hammers the owner for money, the more he makes the more they take. And they don’t offer 30+ varieties of good beer.
      And your asking everyone that they have to go to a pub to have drink?
      I also support a local independent beer shop
      So no I ain’t going to my local.

    • Liam Williams
      Liam Williams 4 months ago +1

      Agree with all of this. I love mine, there’s no comparison with cans/bottles to these.

    • sirBrouwer
      sirBrouwer 4 months ago

      @Philip Pugh not if they are forced to close there doors.

    • Philip Pugh
      Philip Pugh 4 months ago

      @Nick Comyns do you not have a local pub that you can support?

  • XOXheartAmy
    XOXheartAmy 4 months ago

    I am _almost_ certain that my aunt got my uncle that beer tap for Christmas XD
    Don't think he did the with it though, Mike!

  • SettOfTheBrightSky
    SettOfTheBrightSky 4 months ago

    The way I opened Amazon when you said that this choppy thing actually works 🤣

  • wordkyle
    wordkyle 4 months ago

    This was one of the best gadget episodes, and I don't know why. Maybe the particular gadgets elicited a more playful attitude among the guys? Anyway, I really enjoyed it.

  • Kay Johnsen
    Kay Johnsen 4 months ago

    Always love the gadg videos. Would absolutly love if you got an air fryer and tested it the way you did the Pizza oven. What could you use in ut besides the obvious fried chicken etc. Dont think you can fit a sea bass in it though :D

  • Ryver Otter
    Ryver Otter 4 months ago +123

    The samosa machine seems to create a lot of excess waste. A lot of oddly shaped scraps were cut off when he closed the lid. You'd have to plan ahead for that waste on how to use it so it's not wasted.

    • 43 Azka Dalvi
      43 Azka Dalvi 3 months ago

      @Fermitu Poupon if you buy it from samosa makers it does work that way. A really famous samosa maker lives next to me and whenever we buy it from him that is how the dough is always and if you've ever tried switz readymade, idk if you have those where you live but, they also come that way.

    • Kat Scott
      Kat Scott 3 months ago

      Pie crust works great and the excess can be rerolled and reused

    • Fermitu Poupon
      Fermitu Poupon 3 months ago +2

      @43 Azka Dalvi, actual samosa dough doesn't work that way. But then if you made actual samosa dough, it'd be easy enough to make it a hexagon to begin with. Because as we all know, hexagons are bestagons.
      Store bought filo pastry, does work that way though. You could just take the excess raw dough and knead it together and re-roll it into a sheet. So there shouldn't have to be any waste either way.

    • Sarmishta Velury
      Sarmishta Velury 4 months ago +1

      @KungKokkos yeah I figured as much. The thing is unless the square/rectangle grill is the perfect dimension for premade pastry, there will wastage anyway. And all those dimensions differ based on brand, country etc. For example, in India, we get thin long strips of filo pastry for rolling samosas and square pieces for fried spring rolls.
      So I don't know if having a different shape would help much with wastage.

    • KungKokkos
      KungKokkos 4 months ago +2

      @Yoji It's equilateral triangles, not equi triangles. It's not about all triangles being the same shape, equilateral triangles have the same angle on all three corners. If you make squares into four triangles you dont get equilateral triangles.

  • Laura Trucano-Harp
    Laura Trucano-Harp 4 months ago +2

    The “sushi” maker should more accurately be called a “maki sushi” or “makizushi” maker and it is a hard pass for me. Maki rolls come in all different diameters, thus limiting the usefulness of this tool. Plus, the traditional tools are both inexpensive and easy to use.
    Samosa maker: Maybe if my kids were still young & at home, I might use this to make large quantities of pizza bites (in addition to the whole range of encased hot bites from around the world), but otherwise, no thanks.
    Mandolin: Of the four, this is the only I might consider, but I wish you would have tested the cleaning experience. Can it be easily taken apart to clean, is it dishwasher-safe, and does it reassemble well?
    Beer Tap: Sorry to contradict Jaime, but I’m not a fan of beer. (Does hard cider come in mini-kegs? But even then, I don’t crave it very often.) But I can definitely see this being useful for those who regularly partake.

    • Vokunmaar Wolfe
      Vokunmaar Wolfe 4 months ago

      I own a plastic version of ithe sushi maker and it is great for making quick rolls for lots of people, I just hand make rolls when its just for myself though.

  • Kristal Lu
    Kristal Lu 3 months ago

    I agree that the Phillips draft beer thing is amazing and dangerous….. I need it in my life.

  • Trick S.
    Trick S. 4 months ago

    the laugh from the crew makes the beer pouring even more fun