Tap to unmute

Embarrassingly Bad: HP Pavilion $1430 Prebuilt Gaming PC (TG01-1160XT Review)

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 28, 2022 veröffentlicht
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 4 794

  • Gamers Nexus
    Gamers Nexus  Year ago +315

    Pre-built gaming PC review playlist: clip-share.net/video/XYyBeYW4FX4/video.html
    We're running very low on Volt Modmats! If you want to get one while supporting us, place a back-order here (ships this week!): store.gamersnexus.net/products/modmat-volt-large

    • Roger Dodger
      Roger Dodger Month ago

      Try uploading to RUMBLE for as tart. Clip-Share will eventually order you to dress in pink & pretend to be a guy pretending to be a chick.

    • Jose caballero martinez
      Jose caballero martinez 6 months ago

      My was $600

    • [ViceVersa] Starjackers
      [ViceVersa] Starjackers 8 months ago

      Man thanks for taking one for the team and purchasing these low end gaming rigs so others don't have to... I bet you saved lots of people from wasting money on garbage :D Next time you should casually grab a sledge hammer from off screen and go at the case a bit rofl 🤣

    • BurntFaceMan
      BurntFaceMan 8 months ago

      What id really like to see is for for to go back to all of the prebuilds you bought and make it better. Litterally all the same parts, but installed properly, bloatware removed, clean install, xmp enabled, drill holes im the case for air etc. Just getting the absolute best out of the equipment you bought. To see if you could make any of them truely worth buying if you know what you are doing.

    • David Holmes
      David Holmes 8 months ago

      Who wants to see an Alienware R13 godbox?

  • Mare Bello
    Mare Bello Year ago +1658

    Honestly, knocking the case onto the floor probably improved airflow.

    • CamoTech
      CamoTech Month ago +1

      Doubt that would even help 😂

    • Bill Jamal
      Bill Jamal 3 months ago +1

      I had one of these. I ripped the front plastic panel off the day I got it 💀

    • zombievac
      zombievac 4 months ago

      Why?

    • Sangie Nativus
      Sangie Nativus 5 months ago +1

      Assstttoollffooooo-kuunnn.... also yes

    • SLIK
      SLIK 7 months ago

      I have one and my airflow is great

  • perking
    perking Year ago +917

    "We've run all the tests, so now we can take it apart without accidentally making it better when we reassemble it"
    That one was good

    • R9A9
      R9A9 7 months ago +19

      line so intense it could fuse iron to cobalt

  • Everyone
    Everyone Year ago +1172

    "AMD is for cheap PCs and Intel is for high end gaming."
    Sounds like something an Apple user would say.

    • Thomas B
      Thomas B 20 days ago

      @Jeffrey b amd for price+performance, intel for a 5% gain in gaming, 2x the electricity cost

    • Thomas B
      Thomas B 20 days ago

      @Allen Walker yeah, those 4 core 8 thread $450 i7's were dominating for almost a decade, people are still stuck in the 2010s

    • you vanced
      you vanced 22 days ago

      @Gan Airforce General actually alot better

    • AstroidexAdam
      AstroidexAdam 22 days ago

      Didn't Macbooks usually use an AMD GPU in some ocasions like the Radeon Pros?

    • Crisperz
      Crisperz 29 days ago

      Greetings from the future I'm here to say your comment aged poorly

  • Daniel
    Daniel 9 months ago +181

    HP has lost their minds! There is absolutely NO WAY that collection of parts should cost $1400!! Even in today's crazy PC parts price gouged world.

    • Drew
      Drew 2 months ago

      @Diego Lopez I’m bout to buy the 3060 version for 750 16gb ram. Eventually I’m gonna case/mobo swap but it’ll do until then

    • Diego Lopez
      Diego Lopez 2 months ago

      @stellan stafford I just got the one for 600 3060 10400f 16 gbs of ram

    • R B D
      R B D 4 months ago

      @Gapplebees the lower end "gaming" pavillions do sometimes end up being a bargain. i got a $400 one in 2017-2018 black friday, i5 7400 with a 1060 3gb, had to upgrade the storage since it came with an hdd. but damn i loved that thing and its single stick of ram to bits.

    • biohazardlnf
      biohazardlnf 4 months ago +1

      I had considered by Alienware or another pre-built like 5 years ago. However, I watched a bunch of these videos so I never did. I just brought the parts and watched Clip-Share to build it 😂

    • KelvynGoated
      KelvynGoated 4 months ago

      @cpt_proslower i have the ryzen 5 1650 super 16 gigs of ram and 2.5 tb of space for 600

  • That boi
    That boi 9 months ago +63

    I unfortunately bought one of these around 5 months before this review and didn’t put the effort into looking too much into it, and it just completely bricked yesterday. I can certainly attest to this not being worth the money.

    • Humboldts Best
      Humboldts Best Month ago +1

      @gmu_alum08 no cpu overclock, just your basic afterburner

    • gmu_alum08
      gmu_alum08 Month ago +1

      @Humboldts Best I'm shocked that motherboard lets you overclock at all

    • txkwrld
      txkwrld 2 months ago

      @Bulletproof47 may i ask what case you got?

    • Humboldts Best
      Humboldts Best 3 months ago

      @ZeroTurn I have the exact same system and I’ve been using it for I think a little over a year with 0 issues even have it over clocked but definitely have to keep the side panel off to keep it cool

    • ZeroTurn
      ZeroTurn 3 months ago

      I got the TG01-0023w back when the PS5 launched, and really regret it. I swapped out the 1650S for a RX6600, and after updating Adrenaline my LAN port is fried (not even recognized in the BIOS even after a reflash) and the GPU is no longer recognized in the PC. Switching it back to the 1650S works and the RX6600 works in other desktops. I might put a 6400 in it, and give it to my kid.
      As far as the LAN port the only thing I recall was installing Virtualbox, to run a NAS VM. Again an Adrenaline update knocked all of this out. These units are not meant to be upgraded at all, regardless what HP claims.

  • Ethyriel Y.
    Ethyriel Y. Year ago +1958

    The absolute lack of a reaction at the case falling really got me.

    • Lord Ransom
      Lord Ransom 17 days ago

      Everyone in my office is now wondering why I am laughing really loud...

    • danner253
      danner253 Month ago

      Then kicking it like the trash it is lmao

    • Richard Stephens
      Richard Stephens 9 months ago

      I was drinking when that happened; almost did a spit-take all over my monitor

    • G.I. Jane
      G.I. Jane 9 months ago

      thats because he hit it on purpose...

    • Mick B
      Mick B 9 months ago

      Saw it, came here to comment on it, saw your comment, liked lol :D

  • SuperTrb0
    SuperTrb0 9 months ago +21

    You do a really great job of steering us away from bad buys on pre-built systems. I wish you’d do a series on smart buys for pre-built systems or even a series on home built systems that are reasonable.

  • Friday Californiaa
    Friday Californiaa 11 days ago +4

    You know Steve is boiling inside when he has absolutely no Fs given knowing the case is falling. 😂

  • Alex G
    Alex G 9 months ago +46

    We just got some new "high end" HP Zbooks for work. And I can't believe how insanely terrible the BIOS is. These are laptops that cost over $2k and they're all still running DDR 4 2666 RAM with no XMP available in the bios. The bios on these is even more limited than the ones in the video. It's just insane how shitty HP machines are for the price you pay.

    • DanB
      DanB 3 months ago +3

      Why would a work based laptop have XMP overclockable ram?

  • Stud Puffin
    Stud Puffin 10 months ago +54

    Thank you for this series! I had actually ordered one of these HP prebuilts before I saw this video. It wasn't scheduled to ship until March 21 so I canceled the order and I have parts for a build coming this weekend.

    • Cee Infiniti
      Cee Infiniti 2 months ago

      @Drew sure

    • Drew
      Drew 2 months ago

      @Cee Infiniti I can send you a link rn of this pc with a Gtx 3060 8 ddr4 and 500gb ssd for 740$

    • Cee Infiniti
      Cee Infiniti 5 months ago

      @criteec Do you know the specs of the build, as in the parts by any chance? I'm into DIY computers and I would like to see how comparable building a computer for $600 compares to what you got. Also good to hear that what you got was solid when you needed it and still is!

    • Angel Cody-Thompson
      Angel Cody-Thompson 6 months ago

      @criteec that's what I was thinking this PC is $600 that's a good deal to me

    • criteec
      criteec 7 months ago +3

      I needed a pc like yesterday for a job I was doing so I bought a HP prebuild just like this one a few years ago for about $600 and it's been the most solid pc I've ever owned. It takes a few minutes to uninstall the third party bloat, I bought it before the massive inflation, upgrades are limited by the motherboard, but it still plays any game I throw at it. I've never had temp issues either. All my buddies are avid pc builders who built pc's around the same time for way more money and they've had nothing but trouble since. Gone through multiple gpu's, bios bricking problems, overheating and so on. The problem I think is that Nexus did this series during the highest pc prices I've ever seen in my life due to limited supplies, and he never thinks about the users like myself who just needed something right now that works and works every time, can't stress every time enough as my job depended on it. Even if I don't get that extra 10fps or I can't upgrade hardware past a couple generations because I'm stuck with a proprietary board I consider it a good $600 investment.

  • Phil T Kaswahl
    Phil T Kaswahl Year ago +2911

    Linus: *drops things by accident*
    Steve: *knocks things over as a sign of contempt*

    • Insight
      Insight 4 months ago +2

      @Aleksa Žunjić The fuck are you talking about?! People complain about Apple and Sony all the fucking time in terms of locking shit down!

    • Aleksa Žunjić
      Aleksa Žunjić 4 months ago

      @Insight Except Lenovo these are relatively small size companies. HP and Dell have their own products (printers, displays etc ...) I do not like it personally, but companies of this size use proprietary parts . Nobody complains to Apple (or Sony) why they have whole ecosystem locked down, not just parts.

    • Insight
      Insight 4 months ago +1

      @Aleksa Žunjić On desktops? Literally ANY OTHER SYSTEM INTEGRATOR uses standard parts. IBuyPower, CyberPower, SkyTech, ABS.. fuck, even LENOVO uses standard components.

    • Derek2k
      Derek2k 4 months ago

      @Aleksa Žunjić so basically you sound like one of those Chinese ppl that work in tech and get mad when ppl won’t shill their products. You probably work at the hp warehouse. Bottom line hp is trash and uses crap trash e waste non standard junk.get off Steve’s cuc btw

    • Derek2k
      Derek2k 4 months ago +1

      @Aleksa Žunjić I still use 16gb of ram and it’s ddr5

  • Laird Barron
    Laird Barron 5 months ago +5

    Funny thing is, my last computer was an HP with a bad airflow case (components were literally stuffed in there), a lone exhaust fan, bad cable management, weirdly put together, etc. Definitely a monstrosity by pro builder standards. Ran five years flawlessly--NY State heat waves in a stifling room. Kept waiting for it to crap out. Never did. I finally threw in the towel and bought a great PC last year. Still, that HP is patiently waiting in storage if I ever need an emergency backup. Edit: a 1500 dollar rig, by the way.

  • Jito463
    Jito463 Year ago +18

    I feel your pain on this, Steve. I work in computer repair, and I've had to disassemble many an HP desktop. Those torx screws are obnoxious. The first thing I do is remove them all and throw them away, then replace them with standard phillips head screws wherever I can.

  • k9cj5
    k9cj5 9 months ago +12

    It's sad to see nothing's really changed with these chep oem builds. I remember when my parents bought our first PC in 99 to quickly find out that upgrading it to play any type of games was extremely limited. Since than I've built every PC I've ever had and never looked back. Luckily channels like this will make this practice more noticed and maybe some change will come. One can hope.

  • XtrAMassivE
    XtrAMassivE 9 months ago +6

    HP is a nightmare when it comes to repair. We had an HP tower, maybe 5 years old with a broken PSU. We couldn't find a replacement anywhere in Europe, literally nobody had it. HP was helpless and we are an HP partner. Had to deem the PC unfixable.

    • Düsseldorfつくば
      Düsseldorfつくば 9 months ago

      So you are telling me that after I stripped it off its components, I got a gold nugget left in the case? xD

  • Zesty
    Zesty Year ago +713

    I work at best buy and we unfortunately have a display for the Dell G5 PC and someone came in and threw on your video about it on a loop lmao

    • gmu_alum08
      gmu_alum08 Month ago

      Mic drop!

    • CamoTech
      CamoTech Month ago

      I bet it was a Dell emoloyee

    • peachierose
      peachierose 2 months ago

      amazing

    • McKnightu JC
      McKnightu JC 2 months ago

      @Gamers Nexus I went to best buy and put Best buy pre-built are crap on loop from one of ur vids

    • Gogi Bardy
      Gogi Bardy Year ago +2

      Very disrespectful.I love it!

  • Kyle Falconer
    Kyle Falconer Year ago +41

    Everything else aside, I think one of the worst parts of having the front IO integrated into the motherboard is that the power button is also there: if and when the power button fails, the whole motherboard would need to be replaced.

    • GeneralGeorge
      GeneralGeorge 4 months ago

      @STOP TRANSLATING VIDEO TITLES! Replacing a motherboard and soldering are not at all equivalent. I can do low level repairs but most people can not, nor do they even have a soldering iron. I don't even have one anymore and I know how to do it.
      The average end user probably won't even be comfortable using a paperclip to short the pins to turn it on.

    • GeneralGeorge
      GeneralGeorge 4 months ago

      Well there are options, but not good ones for someone who is inclined to buy a prebuilt

    • STOP TRANSLATING VIDEO TITLES!
      STOP TRANSLATING VIDEO TITLES! 5 months ago +1

      @Nic Parker Well, I 100% agree. I'm not saying that everyone can do it. Heck, I currently have the pain of not having a place where I could do electronics projects, because I live in a rental flat with no electrical power in my basement compartment, so every time I do have to solder something I need to run a long cable over from my washing machine in the laundry room, which is very annoying and feels kinda sketchy even though I'm not doing anything forbidden.
      My point was just that out off all the things that are rather likely to break and shouldn't be fixed to the mainboard, the power button is probably the easiest one to replace and it's quite doable with the right tools and basic skills. Try repairing/replacing a broken USB C port on a mainboard on the other hand, that's gonna be impossible even for most people who have a soldering iron and know how to use it. I'd be much more concerned about those high-speed ports than a simple button.
      Anyway, yes it shouldn't be an issue, it should just be socketed or plugged in rather than soldered. But it would be an entry level repair as far as soldering goes, so pointing out the power button in particular seemed a bit odd to me.

    • Nic Parker
      Nic Parker 5 months ago +2

      @STOP TRANSLATING VIDEO TITLES! Replacing a motherboard is, for an average end user, far easier than soldering- not every person [consumer] has the skills, equipment or experience to solder. He isn't talking about the company's experience with the board, he is referring to the end user's. The average user probably doesn't even have soldering equipment, I'm considered tech Jesus among my coworkers and such and i can just solder things that function after a handful of attempts. In fact, I'm pretty sure that amongst my social circle, I'm the only one with soldering experience and equipment, even though many of us have experience with things like putting PCs together and salvaging builds, shucking etc.
      That aside, this shouldn't be a concern in the first place when daughterboards exist, and the option to simply have the pins exposed and hitting them with a screwdriver is still better than integrating the power button (I mean, it's how i usually turn on test benches...).
      There's even a middle ground solution of having a button integrated into the case that shorts the pins... And you wouldn't even have to get rid of the proprietary nonsense...

    • STOP TRANSLATING VIDEO TITLES!
      STOP TRANSLATING VIDEO TITLES! 10 months ago +9

      Or you could solder on a new button. If you can replace a motherboard, I'm sure you can also learn how to do that. Also the replacement part will be easy to find, because unlike everything else in this PC, they're fairly standard parts.
      I'd be more worried about one of the ports breaking or a damaged trace or broken SMD connection elsewhere on the board due the flexing that the board is subjected each time during plugging in, using and unplugging devices.

  • FiftiethFiend
    FiftiethFiend 8 months ago +24

    I got that build except with a R5 4600G minus the 32gigs of ram but I paid like half of what you paid making it a decent deal considering I eventually just scrapped it and took the GPU and CPU along with other parts I upgraded in it previously

  • Arudanel
    Arudanel 7 months ago +3

    It's almost heartbreaking, can hear Steve go from shocked, to astounded, to confused, to disappointed, and then can almost hear the air going out of his tires as he gets more and more deflated. This should be listed as criminal, I mean holy crap. If congress wants to rant about something, forget phones, this is disgusting. With a whole slew of standard formats that have reduced E-waste for decades now, and HP does this. A proprietary "gaming system" with no usable parts besides an overpriced GPU and CPU, and some amazingly ugly DIMMs right out of 1995. I am amazed, this is incredibly bad.

  • Mr_Geno
    Mr_Geno 11 months ago +31

    This one computer that was looking at and I'm so glad I caught this review. Steve, thanks for breaking this stuff down for us plebs that don't know much about building or shopping for computers. Glad I found this channel and looking forward to supporting this channel. Happy New Year!

  • juurus
    juurus Year ago +278

    It'd be hilarious if the HP motherboard was compatible with the Dell case.

    • peachierose
      peachierose 2 months ago

      that profile picture HAHA

    • Mr. Stone
      Mr. Stone Year ago +2

      That would be too useful. Remember Dell's case had standoffs to mount the CPU cooler to it, while this kind of had a backplate.

    • wrathofsocrus
      wrathofsocrus Year ago +11

      @x8jason8x They fit in larger ATX cases. I snagged a $25 Acer board with nearly identical layout to revive a Skylake i5. Even came with the wifi card at that price. It takes a standard ATX power supply, while most HP boards are proprietary like in this video. HP deserves a swift kick for purposely sabotaging standards to needlessly create e-waste.

    • x8jason8x
      x8jason8x Year ago +5

      I can make any mobo work in almost any case.
      Not that I would. It's just like Steve said, future e-waste. lol

    • andymath89
      andymath89 Year ago +20

      THAT PROFILE PICTURE LMAO

  • Crunch2
    Crunch2 11 months ago +53

    I had this case (component shortages, reasons), and the case is the heatsink. You could cook on it. I ripped out the gaming stuffs, put it all on a real board, and put a office grade CPU in it and gave it to some old folks.

    • Scorch Wave
      Scorch Wave 8 months ago +2

      Gave it to some old folks 😂 not sure why I find that so funny.

  • The Lott Cast
    The Lott Cast 11 months ago +21

    My first pc I owned was an HP prebuilt work station. Upgrading was a nightmare. I had to get a sata to 6 pin adapter just to put a gpu in it. Now a year later , all that remains from the original is the 10700 and the 8 gb stick of ram

  • Bulgogi Prince
    Bulgogi Prince 8 months ago +10

    Gosh this takes me back to 2008 when I bought my first "gaming pc" from Bestbuy rocking a phenom x4 processor. It was an HP unit (arguably the best they had on the shelf at the time) which had very poor air flow and overheated frequently. I distinctly remember the PSU provided being below the minimum recommended PSU for the processor, let alone any extras such as a video card or sound card. Once I delved into PC building I soon learned what a POS I had actually wasted money on. The motherboard was a funky sized $4 dollar waste of space as was the crappy graphics card at the time. I picked up an ASUS ROG Crosshair II board and a Radeon HD4890 a year later - Best decision ever!

    • Fergal Stack
      Fergal Stack 3 months ago

      My ASUS lasted me 12 years. I'd have bought one again, but they're out of my price range for what I require.

  • Slam
    Slam 5 months ago +2

    2:08 it's amazing that these companies are STILL putting out pre-built "gaming PC's" with extremely shitty/ultra-low-end GPU's to this day, of course they're still selling because there's a lot of parents that buy them for their kids as a Minecraft machine so they'll likely never know how bad of a deal they got.
    Also if you're shopping for a pre-built just don't and take the time to learn how to build PC's yourself. There are extremely few pre-builts you can get that won't have a sketchy power supply, some OEM motherboard with no shrouds or anything, and unshrouded cheapo RAM.

  • Dan Simms
    Dan Simms Year ago +419

    "Timeless design, could be from any decade" got me real good, that was class.

    • Proudnerd
      Proudnerd Year ago +2

      Its spot on to it really looks like something from the 90s! So great!

    • Jakub Lulek
      Jakub Lulek Year ago +7

      HP is like Nintendo, cashing in on our nostalgia. Allegedly.

    • HappyBeezerStudios - by Lord_Mogul
      HappyBeezerStudios - by Lord_Mogul Year ago +2

      The thing is I had a better case than that in 2007! More airflow, more mounting points for drives, better cable management. And that was a case I got for like 40€
      HP went back more than that.

    • Jamie H
      Jamie H Year ago +4

      Lol I have a 286 @ 386 boards that are green from the 90s so the statement is as funny as it is true.
      At least my 386 was AT form factor so it's got this hp beat in that regard😂

  • Ricky Castro
    Ricky Castro 8 months ago +8

    I just love the fine art of product bashing.....but damn everything you say is so darn correct! What keeps these companies in business is that there are a lot of customers that just don't know any better and buy the junk thinking its actually a "good thing". I will continue building my own rigs. Oh by the way...I am a big fan of HP....I own two HP Omens but damn!

  • Crumpled paper
    Crumpled paper Year ago +16

    These builds make me feel a lot better about my build. I built it two years ago and got the gpu for 130 and the cpu for 90. Parts are, ryzen 5 3600, oloy 16 gig 3200 MHz ram, Rx Radeon 580 8gb, tuf b450m pro motherboard, a cooler master case, I forget the exact one. Got a sceptre 24 inch monitor, 144hz. Total was around 1100 dollars including monitor, mouse, keyboard, desk. 600w power supply. And an extra noctua fan I put in the back as an exhaust fan.

    • Artyom Alexandrov
      Artyom Alexandrov 11 months ago +6

      your cpu is basically all you need for gaming even on much newer gpus. Such a good performance for price chip

  • BʟɪᴛᴛᴇʀBᴜɢ
    BʟɪᴛᴛᴇʀBᴜɢ 9 months ago +5

    Little surprised you haven't seen this configuration before, Steve! When you repair PCs for a living you get used to the Chinese puzzle-boxes that HP churn out - their slimline models in particular are a real joy. Only their full-size Envy boxes seem to have more-or-less standard ATX parts inside. In fact I turned one of their pre-built Envy models into a reasonably decent gaming rig with a PSU / GPU swapout.

    • BʟɪᴛᴛᴇʀBᴜɢ
      BʟɪᴛᴛᴇʀBᴜɢ 9 months ago +3

      @Jamie Rutherford Indeed. This is why I was mildly surprised at Steve's surprise. One can see how limited his exposure to 'real world' computing sometimes is, no snark intended.

    • Jamie Rutherford
      Jamie Rutherford 9 months ago +3

      I used to support HP ProDesk 400 and 600 series about five-six years ago, and I still seethe with rage about how often I had to replace power supplies and motherboards. You'd reboot one that had just been working fine, and it just... wouldn't. All of a sudden, no power coming from the power supply. Happened at multiple customer locations so I knew it wasn't a building issue... HP had no solution.

  • Samuel Clemens
    Samuel Clemens Year ago +7

    FYI, Lenovo does a very similar thing with IO and the front panel. This is referring to their full desktop PCs not their Mini PCs

  • Velv
    Velv Year ago +708

    The amount of disrespect you've shown this prebuilt (and HP in general) in this review has me laughing so hard. Thank you so much for being a beacon of light in these murky pre-built swamps!

    • Buck
      Buck 11 months ago

      @Bill Jamal I was replying to a comment lol you can disrespect the disrespectful. The youtuber did great 👍 I was talking about the companies.

    • Bill Jamal
      Bill Jamal 11 months ago

      @Buck referring to hp or the youtuber

    • Buck
      Buck 11 months ago +1

      You can't disrespect a disrespectful setup of what your hard earned money went to. Idk how these folks are allowed to do what they do.

    • Bill Jamal
      Bill Jamal 11 months ago +1

      The 1650 super model is an insanely good value buy for new PC users. $600 for a pc where the card is being sold for $500-600 alone is great.

    • Jakub Lulek
      Jakub Lulek Year ago

      They totally deserve it. ProBooks are pretty good, otherwise average to trash levels of products for not very competitive prices. I am so done buying from them.

  • xelrix
    xelrix 9 months ago +1

    If they are going to go proprietary, might as well go all in and design a space efficient, aio system on a board. The psu can go away with onboard power delivery solution. The traditional towering box can do away with a sleeker, more modern design with maybe a good airflow as an afterthought.

  • paranromal lover
    paranromal lover Year ago +4

    I remember a few years ago Walmart was selling these at hugely discounted prices. Don't think it's gonna happen this year due to all the shortages. But these are definitely not worth the msrp unless you get it dirt cheap at some black Friday sale.

    • Laurits Madsen
      Laurits Madsen 11 months ago

      i've found one for 1000 dollars with ryzen 5 5600G, rtx 3060 and 16 gb RAM, feel like its a pretty good deal for what it is

  • Beerforce
    Beerforce 8 months ago +10

    I remember the first PC I got for myself with my own money was an HP. It had a Pentium 4 with hyperthreading when that was new, before the multi-core revolution. It had 4 ram slots and 5 audio jacks which was rare for MicroATX motherboards. It had a DVD-RW drive with Lightscribe. had a huge hard drive, and it even came with a flat screen monitor. All for $1000 on Woot (a daily deal website.)
    I didn't know much about building computers at the time, but I figured all this computer needed was a video card and maybe some extra RAM and I would be all set to play TES4: Oblivion when it came out that year, since the computer's only weakness was that it was running on Intel integrated graphics.
    When I opened it up to look inside to see if I needed a VGA card or one of the new PCI Express cards I was in for a shock. There was no video card slot. There was room for a PCI-E slot, with all of the soldering points, and it was even labeled PCI Express, but the slot itself wasn't there.
    That could've been a great computer that would have kept me gaming on high settings for years, with a fast processor with hyperthreading to take advantage of the emerging multi-core tech while also having the highest single core speed of any commercially available CPU at the time for games made for single cores. I could've had surround sound without having to buy a separate sound card. The 4 ram slots could allow me to upgrade the ram as needed, and the DVD drive was cutting edge. The only thing this PC was missing was a video card, and to save pennies on manufacturing they just didn't include the slot for some reason despite the motherboard clearly being designed for a PCI-E slot.
    I made do with the integrated graphics for as long as I could. When my brother decided to get his own PC he bought the parts and we built it together so he wouldn't get burned like I did, and I ended up having to play Oblivion on his computer when it released since my integrated graphics didn't support the hardware transform and lighting needed to run the game. Eventually I had enough and bought a MicroATX motherboard with a PCI-E slot that was compatible with my CPU, along with a video card, and switched it out. My new motherboard only had 2 ram slots, so I had to buy expensive big ram sticks (2 1 gigabyte sticks was much more expensive than 4 512 megabyte sticks) just to have the same amount of RAM I had before. Audio was only speakers/headphones, mic, and line in, so I had to ditch the surround sound (with RGB mood lighting.) And to top it all off, since my copy of Windows XP was an HP OEM copy it stopped working when I changed the motherboard so I had to get a new copy (luckily I was able to install it to the HP recovery partition so I didn't have to reformat my whole hard drive and lose my data). Overall the new motherboard was a pretty big downgrade aside from having a video card slot, but I was finally able to play new games for years until the CPU kicked the bucket and I had to get a new one which meant another new Mobo. In all of my shopping around I never saw another MicroATX Motherboard that would have been as good as that HP one would have been if they hadn't omitted the PCI Express slot, but I haven't owned a desktop in 10 years.
    The lesson: Never trust HP, and never buy a pre-built Desktop, especially from a deal of the day website where you can't take your time reading all of the fine print on the system specs because the daily deal often sells out in minutes. It isn't hard to build a PC yourself, it is usually cheaper, and you have full control of what goes into it.
    If you have a Microcenter near you, I recommend them for PC parts. When I last shopped there, they would match the shipped cost of parts from online stores like Newegg, and if a part was DOA you could exchange it in person (Only time I used Newegg the part was DOA, I went through the return process and mailed it back, was charged a restocking fee, and still didn't get a refund). Also if you're not comfortable assembling a PC yourself you can pick out the parts you want online and Microcenter will build the PC for you and make sure everything works and is compatible. They charge $150 for this service ($250 for water cooled systems) which the last time I checked was still much cheaper than the usual markup for a pre-built PC, and you get the peace of mind from knowing that each part is exactly what you wanted.
    Still, if you have an afternoon to spare I'd recommend assembling your computer yourself. I don't know how much has changed in the 12 years since I last built a PC, but it isn't really that hard if me and my brother could do it as teenagers with no experience in the days before Clip-Share tutorials. Building yourself saves money, and you'll know what and where everything is so if you want to upgrade your video card or RAM you'll know exactly what to do.

    • bruh
      bruh 4 months ago

      “5 audio jacks”
      take that phone manufacturers

  • Jdog
    Jdog Year ago +5

    I have an old Compaq desktop that came standard with XP back in '06 or '07 when it was given to me as a christmas gift from grandma. Once he opened it up, the graphics card was the only thing I saw that differentiated the two. Seriously, the motherboard and cpu cooler look indentical.

  • QFAN
    QFAN Year ago +428

    You have to give HP reps better credit. With those bloatware, 16GB will be totally unusable.

    • lil woodie wood
      lil woodie wood 9 months ago

      @Arai Daisuke so your a pirate only pirates know terms like phone home

    • Arai Daisuke
      Arai Daisuke 9 months ago +1

      @x8jason8x Problem is sometimes, bloatware is hard baked even in BIOS (at least technically speaking), I’ve had occasions that I fully format a PC, and it basically “phones home”, redownloading garbage after it connects to the internet.
      I know there’s a way to remove *that* too, but why do we even have to do that, lolz

    • Nathen Vaughn
      Nathen Vaughn 11 months ago +1

      Just uninstall the bloatware, it is not hard. The computer runs fine on 16 GB just get rid of the garbage.

    • x8jason8x
      x8jason8x Year ago +1

      My bad, the BIOS is Omen specific, but that's all. Everything works as it should. There are even controls for the RGB system that do a better job than the Omen bloatware.

    • x8jason8x
      x8jason8x Year ago +1

      @Bulkybear I'm not discounting your subjective experience, but it's not what I've experienced in the least. These components are all manufactured by the same companies (Foxconn, Siemens, Samsung etc.) You can easily find non HP drivers for everything. The Omen I previously mentioned has not a single HP driver or framework. It doesn't know it's an HP at all.

  • StopTheHammering
    StopTheHammering Year ago +4

    I remember buying one of their floor computers back in 02. It ran like crap always with all the hp malware. Some things never change

  • MrTwisted
    MrTwisted 11 months ago +1

    I have to say that I love these series. If it weren't for bad pre-builds I would've never started to build my own.
    I got a pre-build once. I don't remember who was selling it, but it was an ASUS system. It did not even turn on out of the box. So I did an RMA and they sent the new system before they sent the return label for the other, which in fact never came. Got the new system and it too was having issue. It at least turned on though. I decided to open up the first one since the return label never came and the very first thing I spotted was a loose cable, the 24 pin (if it was 24 back then idk, 18 or 20 pin?). Plugged it in all the way and viola, it worked perfectly. This was so far back, this system had no dedicated GPU and as an upgrade I got a year or so old G100 for upgrade. Then took the 2 1gb sticks out of one pc and put them into the other, then took the HDD out of the 1st one to add to this one and now a total of 4 GB RAM, GPU, and 2 500GB HDD's in one system. Thought I was the shit then. That thing lasted for years. Eventually the MB got a boo boo so I just threw everything into the other box I kept and was like a new system again, almost. But I never bought a pre-build again. I've been upgrading and building my own since.

  • Henry Atkinson
    Henry Atkinson 9 months ago +22

    9:30 HP has been using those stupid screws since the 90s. I helped dismantle a school fleet of probably 200 HP towers from between the late 90s and early 2010s, they basically all used the same stupid torx-flat combo head. They really love to strip too, since they're made of crap.

    • bruh
      bruh 4 months ago

      @John DoDo Doe You know what else is good at dealing with equipments? Phillips screws

    • John DoDo Doe
      John DoDo Doe 9 months ago +1

      Combo flat+other type is a way to allow fixing things with whatever kind of screwdriver you have, not making things difficult. HP uses a lot of Torx in their designs, which means having a complete set of Torx screwdrivers is good when dealing with HP equipment.

  • fourbyfourblazer
    fourbyfourblazer 5 months ago +1

    I built my own computer that is incredibly fast. I can't believe it. Thanks to Steve, Jay and Linus.

  • 5GreenTea
    5GreenTea 11 months ago +8

    Thank you for another great review. HP is more disappointing then I expected. Even buying this for a casual computer would be a bad experience because of the factory installed viruses. Imho, I give HP an F- ("F" is a little to high a grade).

  • Diego F.
    Diego F. 10 months ago +1

    I'm so glad I watched this video, even though I wish I'd watched it sooner. I bought this pc with a 2060 super 8gb and ryzen 7 5700g because it was such a great value for parts, but honestly i was left so disappointed. High fps games like cs go and witcher 3 would cause the 400w proprietary psu to nearly burst. It would start whining and screeching and sounded like it was about to explode. After hours and hours of researching ways to try to overcome that issue, I realized it wasn't worth the money or time and exchanged it for a powerspec G509 with an rtx 3060 12gb and ryzen 5 5600x and 650w psu. That Hp pavilion isn't upgradeable at all and I'm so glad I traded it in. Spent an extra $200 for it but it's so worth it. HP pc's are trash is the hard lesson I learned this week.

  • Bart Williams
    Bart Williams 4 months ago

    HP turned me into a pc builder. Back in the day, I bought an HP thinking I could upgrade the system later. Only to discover they had filled all the memory slots, the modem was a multi-use card combo like audio and modem together, digging in I questioned what I had spent my money on. From then on I researched and bought the best I could afford and put them together on my own.
    It was sometimes a tough slog, in the beginning, trying to collect the right drivers, etc,, Glad HP forced me to build my own.

  • Andrew Hunt
    Andrew Hunt 7 months ago

    I seen one of these with a Ryzen CPU and I thought it would be a nice prebuilt for anyone trying to get in. But dang they made everything proprietary in this too. Because if they did use standard form factor stuff, it wouldn't be a terrible starter micro ATX PC. (Back before the market went to hell).

  • Phyrre56
    Phyrre56 Year ago +517

    "It's a timeless design" is my new favorite example of Steve damning with faint praise. Which is saying something, because damning with faint praise is one of his specialties.

    • Drummond Fengdahl
      Drummond Fengdahl Year ago +1

      how about "anachronistic"? makes it sound so sophisticated and "mo' betta'."

    • TechSavvyCat
      TechSavvyCat Year ago +7

      @Ronny Jakobsson It also has unused headers labeled "COM A" "COM B" "PS/2" on the motherboard. Would fit right into 1995.

    • Calyrekt
      Calyrekt Year ago +9

      @LtdCloud that part and 9:46 "it's like I'm being gaslit by HP" hilarious!

    • Ronny Jakobsson
      Ronny Jakobsson Year ago +3

      It has the same massive case cooling like my first build. A Pentium 100 MHz in 1994.

    • LtdCloud
      LtdCloud Year ago +9

      I had to rewatch this part, way too funny. Here's the timestamp for the curious : 15:41

  • Ui38
    Ui38 Year ago +3

    Considering this was posted a month ago, I see why the cost is so high. I bought this gaming pc for 550$ at the time because it was at sale. It came with the ryzen 5 3500 and gtx 1650 super and I’ve been using this gaming pc for over 2 years and it still runs super well. It just depends on how you take care of the pc…

    • the cooked
      the cooked 6 months ago

      Dude the motherboard is fucked

    • Billy pizza
      Billy pizza 11 months ago +2

      Same! Got the 1660 super. 60+ fps on mid to high settings, ultra on older games- no lag no heating issues. Think this pre-built is bad? rgb is terrible and those are the same people trashing this PC. Lmao sit back in your corner and play with your rainbow RGB fans

  • Leo Drews
    Leo Drews 9 months ago +7

    i have a version of this pavilion. it was only $600 with basically the same stats. but i regret not going custom regardless because nothing is easy to upgrade, and most of the pc will be e-waste in a year or two.

    • Maxim095
      Maxim095 4 months ago

      @Jewelz I agree, I bought a pavilion 6 years ago, and it was decent value for its time (even has a m.2 nvme ssd) at a price point of 800 bucks, I can't say I can complain. The only thing that broke was my gpu fan and since they ordered from a brand that sells to consumers too, it was easy to replace. The thing has gone through a lot and still works fine to this day

    • Jewelz
      Jewelz 7 months ago

      If you're a hardcore competitive gamer that needs to run everything at the highest settings at all times, this may not be the route for you. But if you need a solid workstation, with some solid gaming capabilities for years to come and don't particularly want to upgrade your own parts then this is fine.

  • Forleb
    Forleb Year ago +4

    i owned the older office version of this a year ago. needless to say it was the center of my inspiration to get into the pc building community.

  • Doseku
    Doseku 11 months ago

    I must have lucked out when buying pre-builts back in the day because I have never seen any of these issues with the systems I've had. I was even able to upgrade ram and the graphics cards and thankfully not worry about power supplies... up until I screwed up the airflow and caused the system to overheat.

  • Soham Sengupta
    Soham Sengupta Year ago +203

    The alphabet+function key bit of the hp keyboard is literally their low end laptop keyboard slapped onto cheapass plastic, absolutely incredible

    • Arai Daisuke
      Arai Daisuke 9 months ago

      @Exec Holy shit i did not realize that, lol.

    • Soham Sengupta
      Soham Sengupta Year ago +5

      @Exec I'm just impressed that it doesn't have f1 bound to some random hp user manual thingamabob like the 2016 hp laptop I'm familiar with, especially because they almost definitely have some variety of similar bullshit help thing loaded onto the pc somewhere.

    • Exec
      Exec Year ago +11

      Also, it's got brightness setting function keys shipped as a desktop keyboard.

    • Josiah Moore
      Josiah Moore Year ago +4

      Gojira, nice.

  • zeon-911
    zeon-911 11 months ago +17

    My sister bought this in a different config and I think for the lower spec that hers came in (r3 3200g, Rx5500, 8gb dual channel 3200, 512gbssd,1tbhdd) it does great. Good thermals and great performance for the price she paid in this market. At a lower price point it fits its needs in my opinion. At 600 ish yea awesome! At 1400 tho? Absolutely not

  • BlackTea7
    BlackTea7 6 months ago

    Wow, HP Pavillion was my first computer, I've owned two. They are still in my opinion the worst PCs I've ever used. The second one was good but was terrible at anything gaming, somehow this one looks worse than both the XP and Windows 10 Pavillion I had with even less ports in the IO on either of the two. Guess the good thing about HP is that it motivated me to build my own PC.

  • Matthew Reed
    Matthew Reed 5 months ago +2

    I recognise those case screws from the old Compaq pcs that pcworld (one of the largest pc retailers in the uk) used to push as "high quality builds", Compaq used them for pretty much everything inside and out.
    Compaq of course are now a subsidiary of HP.

  • Norinia
    Norinia 9 months ago +1

    I’m getting a different HP computer today (Omen) and damn, I’m glad I saw this one. Definitely validates me buying a new case for what I’m buying. I had a feeling HP’s cases would be an oven.
    I’m limited to buying from Best Buy sadly (doing total tech so they’ll put everything together, but I have to buy every part through them -_-) but hopefully what I’m picking will be much better than the HP case.
    Edit: 32 GB RAM does work for gaming with certain games I believe, like Red Dead Redemption 2, if you want things like Super Water features and the like, I think it goes off of memory for that feature.
    It’s still few and far in between though, so yes, 16 GB of memory will work just fine for the vast, vast majority of games.

  • Chungus Himself
    Chungus Himself Year ago +2

    I wanna start a task force to ward off unsuspecting victi- i mean customers from these horrible pieces of equipment. Like not being informed enough and making the mistake of going with one of these systems would literally ruin the entire experience of getting a first or new system.

  • Vishal Singh
    Vishal Singh 7 months ago

    This reminds me of my dark Compaq days, back in early 2000s. I thought I was getting a good PC. Later when I learned more about the PC building stuff, I found out, that I could have built the best gaming pc at that time for approximately the same amount. Meanwhile this Compaq box, neither did it have a GPU nor a PCIE or VGA slot to install a GPU later on, which I found out in a very heart breaking way because it took me months to convince my dad to buy me a GPU and when he finally agreed there was no slot, the card was infront of me and it had to be returned. Painful experience. I digress, the point I was trying to make is that the motherboard looks exactly the same.

  • HScarlet
    HScarlet Year ago +9

    In terms of PC design, it looks like they've re-purposed a design for an office/media PC, where upgrading would be minimal, and cheaper parts abundant, for gaming use. For office tasks, simple use, media and productivity, that design is fine, it would be a long lasting PC.

    • Arai Daisuke
      Arai Daisuke 9 months ago +4

      I wouldn’t bother, at that point. If you’re really only trying to get something for an office, just buy an office-oriented desktop for a LOT cheaper.

  • Hasira
    Hasira Year ago +2

    I work in so many HPs with this form factor, by the way it's not just them. A lot of Lenovo Idea centers are the same way. We had a power supply die in one for a client and we had to go through Lenovo themselves because we couldn't source out the power supply anywhere else and because of that it was so much more and the customer was pissed

  • Synthetick
    Synthetick Year ago +103

    I love how Hp and Dell use modern parts but make them look fresh out a time warp from 2002 lol

    • depth386
      depth386 Year ago +2

      My Pentium 2 350Mhz from 1998 looked better than this

    • 07wrxtr1
      07wrxtr1 Year ago +3

      Yeah I had a dell around 2011.. the only thing I could "upgrade" on it was going to an SSD for the boot drive... Sadly I was poor and had to just live with it for a few years, then when Ryzen 1 came out, decided I'm going to build myself rather than being stuck in a throw-away computer situation. Atleast by building yourself you can upgrade the MB/CPU as needed, keep your case, power supply... and most of all: It'll actually last 5-7 years.

    • When does the video actually start?
      When does the video actually start? Year ago +2

      The same people that designed the old Sandy Bridge Optiplex were asked to design these and make it LESS modular.

    • Mika Deca
      Mika Deca Year ago +2

      Yeah, stuff looks like the old corpses we used at school to get our "Tech support" grades

    • stevenson720
      stevenson720 Year ago +4

      It does take a certain amount of skill. Do you think they ask the manufacturer for the shit one? 🤔 🤣

  • schlafanzyk
    schlafanzyk 10 months ago +2

    There is a new one of these with a 5600G, 16GB DDR4 and RTX 3060 for €900 available over here. Considering the GPU alone is worth around €600 these days and the CPU around €200, it seems like a much better deal than this - even if the PSU looks like it came from a 2001 prebuilt.

  • a9udn9u
    a9udn9u Year ago

    To HP's defense, no company can hire hundreds of DIY experts to answer customer calls... The level of information their reps tell customers is probably right for people who call them for advises.

  • FIGNAS83
    FIGNAS83 11 months ago +2

    I used to have an HP 735n desktop bundle back in 01' and it was solid. I switched to Asus and MSI since then. Shame quality control has gone down with HP.

  • Kabir Sharma
    Kabir Sharma 4 months ago +1

    You should check if they have locked the RAM. HP used to have a lockout chip on some old PCs, as far as I can remember.

  • James Hall
    James Hall Year ago +256

    "They're doing bizarre things again." A phrase that could absolutely be applied to most pre-builts.

  • RyVixx
    RyVixx Year ago +16

    Considering it’s legit half the price now it’s such a good pre build.

    • YawnaNator
      YawnaNator 6 months ago

      @Billy pizza lol u got scammed or something

    • RyVixx
      RyVixx 11 months ago

      @Billy pizza you definitely got one with something wrong with it. The lowest you could probably get it used is like $300 lmao

    • Billy pizza
      Billy pizza 11 months ago

      Got one for $100

    • Nathan someone
      Nathan someone  Year ago

      yeah i’m thinking about getting it for the bit of gaming that i do and the budget i have

  • Pontus Laestadius
    Pontus Laestadius Month ago +1

    I took apart a 15 year old HP computer my grandma owned last year. It looked EXACLY like this on the inside. Difference being that used a propriatary PSU.

  • Austin .T
    Austin .T 11 months ago

    Hmmm I have a question for you guys @Gamers Nexus, when testing the Lenovo Legion the biggest gripe you had with the system was the memory configuration held it back. BUT here while testing the HP you suggested saving he money and getting the ABS system, then upgrading features that are not ideal.
    If your considering investing in upgrading your system wouldn't the Legion be the better system vs the ABD? you would pay 50$ more for basically 200$ more in parts.
    I think revisiting these systems with some set amount of budget, then going in and attempting to fix the key problem(s) features, will it bring a system into (recommended system).

  • Spoooky
    Spoooky Year ago +2

    Literally bought this from a friends friend for 400€ since i wanted the gpu.
    The hotspot temps instantly got me worried hitting 102 C before undervolting and they are still insanely high. Gonna try to open up the GPU and see wtf is going on with it.
    Atleast the cpu and SSD i can use for an itx project.

  • Efrain Astorga
    Efrain Astorga Year ago +241

    The only good part about these PCs is that they're all over eBay for extremely low prices. If you're lucky, you can get a whole 5700G system for around the price of the 5700G itself.

    • x8jason8x
      x8jason8x Year ago

      It's called embellishment failtroll. Not like it's your strong suit to recognize subtleties though, clearly. lol

    • aleks138
      aleks138 Year ago

      Damn counting must be hard

    • x8jason8x
      x8jason8x Year ago

      You ain't got to lie to kick it Aleksa. Also.... is your standby line "go cry somewhere else"? Like the 3rd time you said that weak asf trash bruh.

    • x8jason8x
      x8jason8x Year ago

      @aleks138 You're literally the most addlepated dude I've come across on this channel. Just go find something else to do, unless you'd rather keep proving you're Zunjic. Tool.

    • aleks138
      aleks138 Year ago

      no idea who the other guy is so better luck next time

  • PCS ProShop
    PCS ProShop 10 months ago

    as always, thank you Steve (the case boot rolf'd me)!
    32GB might have been due to HP's love of populating ONE slot only. 16 GB versions of the OMEN's that I've seen, all have had 16 GB, single channel. this is just observational, of course, so validations would help.
    Another thing that I've only seen with OMEN's, is a reduced VRAM (HP Branded cards)? 2080 series, last seen.

  • Zaira Larsen
    Zaira Larsen 7 months ago +1

    I got this pre-built PC (or something very similar atleast) back in 2016-2017 for around 12,000 NOK. It was my first Gaming pc and I've been very happy to have it, much better using this than a small laptop :) But sadly it's about time I buy a new case and put the parts I can still use in the new case and replace some other stuff, I'm planning on getting a new CPU and more RAM, and maybe another SSD card for more space. I bought games like Battefield, Red Dead Online, etc. And although I could run the games... if I were to keep it on highest graphics I'd lose frames so I couldnt really play much and enjoy it... and I don't enjoy the fan noise coming from the computer when it's working more than it can handle, plus it heats my room up. I'm terrible at building PC's so I'm hoping I replace the correct things and don't mess it up.

  • SOSukelele
    SOSukelele 10 months ago

    THANK YOU! My friend has pretty much one of these and the motherboard is lacking in expansion options, so I've been doing my best to find out what you can fit inside the case
    Edit: we've decided to just upgrade everything that wasn't the gpu or cpu. I guess that the case/motherboard/psu will be heading to the recycling center

  • Dan Gingerich
    Dan Gingerich Year ago

    While this may seem foreign to you, Steve, it seems right in line with HP's past. I used to work a lot with the D510 and D530 models in corporate It back in 2003-2004. I did a migration project for a major bank acquisition (Lehman Bros bought Aurora Loan Services) and we worked with thousands of those D510s and D530s, reformatting systems from Windows 2000 and NT 4.0 installing the highly restrictive Lehman Bros XP image. The designs of the D510 and D530 are just like this box, only with Pentium 4s.

  • Marco Warga
    Marco Warga Year ago +87

    I love those GPU shrouds that actually touch the PCB and rip off SMD components when you press on the shroud during card insertion. Designed to perfection.

  • Fam Bug
    Fam Bug 9 months ago

    I would love to see disassembly of the GPU honestly, and I would love to see ways to fix the thermal issues on the user's end.

  • Mister Woot
    Mister Woot Year ago +2

    This case gives me flashbacks to my days as 1st line support for PCWorld in the UK. HP, Packard bell, etc... The cases haven't changed at all and I've been out of that since 2005!

  • Two_Heads_Talking
    Two_Heads_Talking Month ago +1

    Worry that a computer expert hasnt ever seen a computer that looks like that.
    Its pretty much the way Dell and HP have always been.

  • Julien Pinkard
    Julien Pinkard 11 months ago +3

    I bought this same pc as my first pc then I saw ur review. I was pretty worried. It was slightly diff with a ryzen 7 5700g but the rest was the same. And I couldn't disagree with you more after using it for a month. I literally run every game I've tried on ultra settings while streaming. Doesn't get hot. No issues at all actually. But thanks for the unnecessary stress you caused me lol

    • RTX 3070
      RTX 3070 9 months ago

      @Adrian B. Gros I just bought one and love it! This guy came into this video with just straight hate and to put Hp on blast. I am very pleased with my pavilion! Everyone I see in these comments is saying “thank you I was gonna buy one!”. Like you totally should’ve this guys on some BS. You can get great deals on these systems too especially in tough times like these.

    • Adrian B. Gros
      Adrian B. Gros 11 months ago +2

      Picked up the same Ryzen 7 with a 2060 Super just a few weeks ago for the fiance, and the damn thing runs everything you throw at it on ultra without issues. Stock cooler has the CPu sitting around 72Celsius under full load so that's no worry. GPU at max roughly caps around 78Celsius. Overall, the thing does the work without any hassle, and I gotta disagree with this review as well.

  • Kensworth
    Kensworth Year ago +89

    Yeah I feel the frustration here big time. I work in a local electronics repair shop, and recently had a customer who wanted me to take one of these and "put it in a new case." He was starting to stream and create content and found his performance would drop heavily after ~20 minutes of streaming, and after some diagnostics sure enough he was thermal throttling. Anyway, as you well know moving this system to a new case wasn't as simple as migrating the existing components as *everything* was proprietary. A new board, PSU, and CPU Cooler (yep, another proprietary stock cooler 🙄) all needed to be purchased alongside the new case and fans. The price quickly skyrocketed and I feared losing a customer over something that was neither the customer's fault nor mine, but rather the insistence these OEMs have on making it harder and harder to repair/upgrade your own device and not following industry standards. Luckily the customer was understanding after some explanation, and I essentially took a wash giving them a labor discount, but this is objectively bad design that's harming both consumers and other businesses.
    Here's hoping the journalistic integrity of people like Gamers Nexus and the word of mouth from other tech professionals will be able to help people avoid purchasing these intentionally bad designs. Your average consumer would have no way of knowing these flaws at purchase otherwise. Get your shit together, OEMs.

    • Levia Chan
      Levia Chan Year ago +1

      @aleks138 the Prius analogy doesn't really work here, I mean the client expected to do Prius stuff with his Prius but his Prius doesn't do exactly that, which would be the problem
      I do agree about the leaving side panel on thing tho

    • aleks138
      aleks138 Year ago

      So a customer buys a prius and tries doing racecar stuff with it. When that doesn't work they want you to put the prius engine in a racecar.
      And when that doesn't work it's the manufacturer's fault?
      How about telling the customer to use the right tool for the job. And if he doesn't want to do that he can keep the side panel off

    • Levia Chan
      Levia Chan Year ago +3

      hurting your business is exactly their goal, if you can't fix it they earn more money

    • Violent
      Violent Year ago +3

      You can't really blame the OEM's either though, its a chicken-egg issue and its also partially the customers fault.
      The standards have been brought down so low that in attempting to elevate them you'll kill your business.
      You think if HP cut its profit margins, potentially losing out in sales, to make its PC more upgradable that a customer would appreciate them?
      I mean, maybe a few, but I find it unlikely to have any sort of real impact.
      All the customer is going to weigh is; "RGB, LOOKS COOL, THIS ONE I7, THIS ONE I7, THIS ONE 2060, THIS ONE 2060".
      If its cheaper, looks cooler, they buy it.
      They're far from a casual, let alone an enthusiast.
      I know from first hand EXP, I ran an ebay store selling gaming PC's and I quickly realized that people will buy anything as long as you claim it can do what they want.
      I always went the honest route, because Id rather not deal with a bad review, returns, and I'd rather just be a decent person, but I always knew that it wouldn't get people to buy from me, it never did, without failure, "Can this PC do something a $2000 PC can do", "Nope, only a $2000 PC could do that", then, they probably went and bought elsewhere and still ended up disappointed, its just that someone else was willing to lie to them.
      Its why you never see high-end components sold in OEM's.
      I'd love to sell somebody components with quality, but there is hardly anyone who exist who'd buy one, and that's just the truth.
      Go tell a customer; "Well, my PC is better than Joe blow because my PC won't explode in 2 months" and they go ask Joe blow, and Joe blow is like; "Nope, that's a lie", so they just listen to what they want, its confirmation bias.
      You're just seen as a liar/someone who's trying to take advantage of somebody when you try to talk them out of what they want.

    • Morph
      Morph Year ago +2

      I know exactly what you mean. Total pain to put these prebuilts on another case.

  • GearheadLydia
    GearheadLydia 7 months ago

    What'd be really astonishing is if HP and Dell were using the same non-standard power supply format.

  • myplane150
    myplane150 Year ago +10

    Every time I see a vid like this with a 'professional made' PC, I feel pretty good about the build that I did myself. My system is badass compared to the shite these builders are sending out. ☺
    Heck, the first PC I ever bought was a refurbished Gateway back in '02 and it looked better than this.

  • Atlas Creations
    Atlas Creations 8 months ago +1

    my first pc was a pavilion. After learning to build, im so glad i did.

  • Eric Janes
    Eric Janes 8 months ago +14

    I worked at a call center that was hp customer service back in the 2000s looks like they haven't changed. It had nothing to do with customer service it was all about sales and upsales/add-ons. I have just graduated during the tech bust (computer networks) and I was the only one in my training class with any tech training at all. I actually knew what I was talking about but had the lowest sales. So yeah didn't last long there. Sad after almost 20 years they still focus on hiring confident used car salespeople.

    • thedarkemissary
      thedarkemissary 5 months ago

      Almost as if quantity matters more than quality. Cause it does. Sad, but true. Wallets speak the loudest.

    • You 2be
      You 2be 6 months ago

      Ah, c'mon, don't beat yourself like that, we all make mistakes in life... we all have dirty pages in our life's history book that we're not proud of.
      But cheer up, it could have been worse, you could have been frequently insulted for trying to do upsales/add-ons via "customer service"...

  • Hardware Unboxed
    Hardware Unboxed Year ago +4199

    I told you these were trash and I know because I had to buy two of them to review the 5700G and 5300G :(

    • Hypershell
      Hypershell 11 months ago

      Man, now I want to see@Hardware Unboxed do scathing prebuilt reviews...

    • duwla
      duwla Year ago

      @Gamers Nexus stfu these PCs aren’t bad

    • Hoverbike
      Hoverbike Year ago

      @Gamers Nexus that case genuinely is 20+ years old
      I mean, the plastics are Black now as opposed to blue, but otherwise, it looks bloody identical to my old HP prebuilt. I think it was a 9800GS+core2 duo? All I remember was that the graphics card was a bloody joke, and performed nowhere near what it was supposed to. I believe I wasn’t versed in the difference between “gt” and “gtx”…
      Anyhow. Good thing we have you Steve. My girlfriend was asking if this was a good purchase. 10400f+1060gtx for 800€. I’ve gotten my hands on a 4690s+970gtx which I’m mailing to her for free. I showed her this video, tried to summarise it into “it’s designed to die exactly the day after warranty ends, so in two years, this will just be an expensive, bad experience, and a heavy paperweight.”
      It doesn’t strike me as a coincidence. HP could easily cool the gpu memory appropriately if they wanted to. It’s running hot because it’s *meant* to. As in, HP wants this component to fail, because building pcs of the same quality as us, Steve, lasts for 10 years, give or take. HP couldn’t make money if they were only selling a pc every 10 years.
      Good thing that people like you are here, providing me with the ammunition to fight the good fight. My girl loves her new pc, for instance, it has more than 500gb of ssd storage, from Samsung, not aliexpress, twice the capacity of the HP, and a 3tb HDD for her games, completely absent in the HP.
      I’m not arguing that the pc I built is faster. But 800€ for the garbage they were offering was downright criminal.
      I would love if you used Csgo to do some performance testing. It’s “real-life”, and free.

    • Thomas Jensen
      Thomas Jensen Year ago

      @TechyBen well I Think Some of their products especially their pavillon line was and is criminally bad quality especially compared to the pricing but as I understand hp bought up Compaq or scumpack as I call them and that pavillion was actually a rebranded scumpack Line of IT trash

    • TechyBen
      TechyBen Year ago

      @Thomas Jensen I had the ZD3000 (IIRC). Other than the Prescotts being super hot and power hungry, was a good laptop. Had plasticitus (lots of plastic bits), but was par for the course back then.
      After that? I saw lots of HP laptops where hinges and parts snapped cos so much plastic and so little metal holding it together.

  • Ian Hollis
    Ian Hollis Year ago

    I got an HP Pavilion in 2015 as a warranty replacement from a national (Australia) technology vendor - basically, here is what you can get; just one unit. At the time it served OK, but I always felt it wasn’t living up to the specs. It was only when I took it apart (post warranty) to upgrade it that I discovered how shockingly bad it was. Proprietary mobo., PSU, cheap RAM, and nasty GPU. So I went to a local computer shop and had them build a machine that was better, and cheaper. I recently upgraded that with new mobo, CPU, RAM and GPU and still use the old case and PSU. I’ll never buy a brand like HP or DELL again.

  • TheRedScourge
    TheRedScourge 11 months ago

    Personally I think the 32GB RAM choice was the right choice - it's the only configuration where you don't have to close Chrome before playing a demanding (or inefficient) game. That's what I went with in 2017 and I never looked back. Anyone who has less than 16GB is going to think their machine is slow the first time they run a program like Photoshop.

  • HSMAdvisor
    HSMAdvisor 11 months ago

    I got the same one one with Ryzen 5 with 8gb and 1650 Super. For about $800 US I figured it's 1.5x cheaper than if I were to buy all parts separately. Was really upset about the locked down bios and proprietary MoBo. At least it handles Doom eternal just fine.

  • Micah Harman
    Micah Harman 6 months ago

    Had the opportunity to setup over 100 similar machines to this for a former employer of mine. I quickly built a image and the first boot of the machine I booted to network. They still are terrible machines but once you put a proper Windows install on them

  • Alpagator
    Alpagator Year ago +69

    More of a general comment than for this specific video, but I really appreciate that in your reviews you take into account the environmental aspects, like unneccessary packaging and longevity and reusability on coolers for example. It's really good that a high-profile reviewer with higher outreach to both the consumer and producer sides has this in their reviews.

  • LoopWorthy
    LoopWorthy Year ago

    I bought a similar one of these last year from Walmart for about $750 and within an hour of powering it on spent another hour with HP support. The machine was stuck on the Windows is updating loop. It was promptly returned the next day. 🙃

  • DC73
    DC73 Year ago +1

    Bought one of these HP pavilion gaming desktop computers last week.Had it to for a week & returned it cause every time I downloaded a game from game pass it crashed.Was $629 buck at Walmart with a 5600g & a RX 5500 gpu.Tried Star Citizen on it too & man it was terrible 😂.

  • 13dma1rz
    13dma1rz 7 months ago +5

    Knocking the case off the bench never gets old.

  • Jey Lee
    Jey Lee 9 months ago

    I have one of these, but some very important differences: i7-11700(non K >< ) 550w Plat rated PSU, 3060 12gb, 16gb (2x8) added 3 Corsair SSD, and loaded Win 11. It has not been turned off in over year, other than to be cleaned, or regularly rebooted. It runs what we need it to perfectly, no stressful editing etc, only multiplayer gaming at reasonable fps 55-120 for most games, always Ultra settings except for where it's pointless, as well as media on dual 27" 144hz LG G-Sync ready screens. Obviously I went thru it cleaned up the bloat. added 2 fans, and replaced rear with one that actually sucks(in a good way)setup the 3060 with a mild OC(via afterburner), and proper, or better at least fan scaling. located the hot spots, only one! added an Nvram heat sink that seems to kill 5c, keeping it at a max of 72c,and average of 64c in games like FarCry 5, CotW, Witcher3, GTAV, etc...and well...no problems, not one. Great warranty of length of 2 years, onsight service(have not tested!). We bought 2 at once, the other had the 3060TI, and K CPU. We honestly chose them as the only way to get hands on a 3060, and 3060ti at the time. Rough :'( cost was very close to the same costa s yours. weird...we did end up leaving the cover off, it's just a thing that has to happen I guess for this case. You have to realize that you only buy something like this for a purpose, we got a little lucky, as we've have ZERO issues with the GPU's(could be due to our interventions, I don't know). We're happy with it, but it's loud sometimes because it has to be lol. HP could have done so much better with so little effort. I also would have preferred 2 fans on my GPU's, but I'd be a liar if I said we weren't impressed with it, here we are 7.8k+ hours later, and all it needs is a dusting....that's actually big deal if you're not a tech sometimes, but not an issue for us. We feel like "it is, what it is, and works well because of our multiple interventions" (Our consensus). We use an older gen 1 and 2 G15 KB, and threw away the HP crap, I suggest everyone do the same. If you're willing to do the work, and are limited by options, you could do much worse. I would not suggest these for novice users, but if it's the only way to get a target GPU, be happy you have a path to that solution.

  • Robert McLaren
    Robert McLaren Year ago +691

    I'm pretty sure they recommended the 32 gb of ram for gamming so you can load the game and the bloatware at the same time.

    • MASADA DENIER
      MASADA DENIER 7 months ago

      @Bobby Miller the real problem is playing warzone, but having 32gigs is great when you need it

    • Angel G
      Angel G Year ago

      @ZoeyNerdHouse I guess you're not running this on a PC because even Intel 12 gen is *limited* to 128GB RAM...

    • Stephen Ranger
      Stephen Ranger Year ago

      In HP's defense, 32GB RAM might be the only way to get two DIMMs? 16GB might have been a single DIMM; it shouldn't be that way but maybe it would have been worse for gaming?
      EDIT: nevermind, saw the quick screenshot of the order page with 2x4, 2x8, and 2x16 listed. HP just stupid!

    • Thomas Brown
      Thomas Brown Year ago +2

      Bloatware that has the possibility of bricking your PC. If it updates, you get a soft lock, it updates it's self in the back, it is also forced to reinstall its self if you remove it.
      I have a tg01 that is currently in HP repair, that on the second boot would soft lock Windows.
      You can't even restore your PC without a blue screen.
      And, I could not install a stock version of Windows at all at the time.(Driver hell.)
      It's been 3 months so far with them. Delays after delays, waiting on a new motherboard apparently.

    • ZoeyNerdHouse
      ZoeyNerdHouse Year ago +1

      I loaded up a gigapixel today and it ate up 482GB of ram just loading the finished image eats 7GB of vram making

  • krypton
    krypton 9 months ago

    I just found your series on prebuilts and binge watched it in a day! There's something so satisfying hahah. I'd recommend you guys check out the ASUS ROG prebuilts - they come with a standard ATX mobo (confirmed cause I was able to move it to a different ATX case), a branded ASUS DUAL 3070 and not an OEM one, and an M.2 SSD with dual RAM sticks. I paid around 1200 euros for a 5600X + 3070 + 16GB RAM + 500GB M.2 (all I needed was the card, my brother took the CPU and put it in his own high-end B450 motherboard and we sold the rest of the parts with a Ryzen 3600 CPU and a 1050Ti for a really under-market amount to a kid who wanted a gaming PC).

  • Jeramy's Vintage Hillbilly Shack

    This is the review that I've been waiting months for! I bought a HP Pavilion Gaming Desktop model#TG01-1070m back in June just for the CPU (AMD 4700G) and the GPU (RTX 3060) for $1,076. That was about how much the card alone was going for at the time. I immediately pulled the desired parts out without even powering the system ever. After seeing this review, I'm glad that I did just that, but I still have the carcass with the "e-waste peripherals" in a brown box sitting in my storage locker. E-waste indeed! It had now foam inserts just as Steve said here, but it had formed recycled paper things cushioning the PC making it packed like a hard drive. I might liberate the M.2 drive if it's any better than my 500GB PNY SATA SSD. Thoughts anyone?

    • Itsmejak 78
      Itsmejak 78 11 months ago

      If you have a motherboard with an m.2 slot then you might as well harvest the drive

  • Vetreas
    Vetreas 11 months ago +1

    Never had a pre-built PC, either made my own or had some help when I was younger... never knew it was this bad. It's a horror show, honestly. I always thought they were just... regular PCs that had been built using proprietary variations of standard equipment, picked and assembled for the customer's convenience.
    Instead they look like traps designed to "incentivize" customers to be "loyal" to the brand. Embarrassing is one thing, fucking unscrupulous is what this is.

    • Donnie Adams
      Donnie Adams 11 months ago

      Same. Sucks it's so hard to build now with prices and availability issues.

  • Dub
    Dub 9 months ago +1

    After seeing a lot of prebuilt reviews I’m glad I decided to build my own pc

  • Junko
    Junko Year ago +284

    Funny how all these corporations are always grandstanding on sustainability but keep pumping proprietary garbage out, wasting rare metals and creating more e-waste in the near future.

    • BBernard
      BBernard Year ago +1

      @Carter Thiel I've gotten jobs in IT not based on my degree, but what I know "now". Many companies don't care what you learned 10-20 years ago, they care about now and if you like to challenge yourself.

    • Gamer_Time
      Gamer_Time Year ago +1

      @KIavaxx Askew you know the in-depth information about every topic gamers nexus does just from your own brain?

    • x8jason8x
      x8jason8x Year ago +1

      @Robert Hancock Tell that to the dozens of coders and engineers I've built computers for. It's not in their purview to gaf about hardware at all.
      If you were talking about sysadmins or CAD drafters, I might agree.

    • Carter Thiel
      Carter Thiel Year ago +2

      @Gamer_Time it's not the degree that gets you the knowledge, it's your personal want to know or passion.

    • Gamer_Time
      Gamer_Time Year ago

      @Paul knowing more about the various thing connected to your job is never a bad thing. For example, most doctors are really bad at palpating (essentially feeling) what's going on with soft tissue and joints. Normally this doesn't matter as they can just send off to a Physio or specialist but why not take courses on how to accurately assess damage and range of motion when it makes there overall assessment and recommendations more accurate. Sure knowing what the issue is doesn't change necessarily what the doctors referral will be but knowing more peripheral aspects to your job will only make you better at it and understanding how different treatments change patient outcomes.